Jaguar S Type R (4.2 Supercharged) Tyres

Drive a Jaguar S Type R (4.2 Supercharged)? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Jaguar S Type R (4.2 Supercharged)
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (126) 95% 86% 90% 86% 83% 82% 89% 87% 1,037,402
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (277) 90% 88% 85% 84% 74% 83% 80% 83% 3,731,734
Toyo Proxes T1 Sport (49) 90% 79% 86% 84% 67% 78% 74% 80% 393,670
Pirelli P ZERO ROSSO Asimmetrico (26) 87% 75% 79% 82% 73% 71% 69% 77% 536,516
Falken FK452 (210) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73% 73% 74% 2,708,411
Bridgestone Potenza RE960AS Pole Position (2) 85% 85% 75% 75% 50% 75% 60% 72% 40,500
Accelera PHI (133) 69% 46% 54% 53% 67% 59% 51% 57% 1,182,762

Jaguar S Type R (4.2 Supercharged) Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Toyo Proxes T1 Sport given 87% (275-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 average miles
Pleased with my choice I am about to purchase my third set of Toyo T1 Sports for my tweeked STR. Have found them to be a good combination for grip, ride, noise and wear - I get around 22,000 miles out of a set which includes a fair amount of motorway travel. Needless to say there is less grip in the wet but handling and breakaway is predictable which with 570BHP on tap is a saving grace
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-14 09:38:30
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 87% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 9000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-01 11:35:15
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 86% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 spirited miles
Very good tyre fitted to Jaguar S Type R, despite the weight and spirited driving, they have lasted very well. 10k miles in 6 months and appear to be half worn.
Better than previous tyres on this car ( Pirelli corsa rossos, Goodyear f1a) in respect to grip, noise and wear.

Would certainly buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2010-08-23 12:49:56
Writing about the Pirelli P ZERO ROSSO Asimmetrico given 86% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
The Pirellis were practically new and fitted to the front when I bought the car, and I wasn't sure if I would keep them as they weren't the original spec rubber for the car (Continentals) But I did.

With 400bhp, and a very heavy supercharged V8 upfront, the tyres had never at any point allowed the car drift out into understeer, in the wet or dry and have been impressive even up to the point where one blew out on the A34 at 50MPH+ because of a nail. Somehow, the alloy wheel rode the inside of the carcass of the Pirelli for 1/4 of a mile before I could stop, and incredibly, the tyre managed to protect the metal from the road for the entire distance.

Not a surprised then that after that incident, I replaced the fronts again with the same Pirellis. I owe them at least that much for saving me and the car!
tyre reviewed on 2013-05-20 10:37:04
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 80% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
Very good grip in the dry, and good in wet conditions too. Very sporty tyres which suited my Jag S Type R very well but they seemed very lacking in comfort and a lot noisier than I'd have expected from a top end tyre.

I'm not sure I'd bug again as offerings from Goodyear, Dunlop and continental are cheaper and seem to get similar write ups. I'd hope the Goodyear's/Dunlop's would be quieter given the EU noise ratings they have.
tyre reviewed on 2015-12-05 14:32:18
Writing about the Pirelli P ZERO ROSSO Asimmetrico given 77% (255-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 28000 spirited miles
I warm summer conditions these tyres are hard to beat for grip stability and traction. Wet performance is good too.
Overall the tyre is ok. Wear rate has been good coming up to 30k miles.
Tyres are abit loud especially as there coming to the end of their life.
wouldn't buy again in a hurry just because of the price. There are better tyres out there for much less like the kumho ku39.
tyre reviewed on 2014-05-22 00:55:22
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE960AS Pole Position given 71% (195-45-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 33000 average miles
Heres the deal, are all season weather tyres worth it? thats the question. I live near chicago where we've got all the seasons hitting us. I had these tyres on a 2003 Jaguar S-Type R... 400bhp is tough in the winter.

These tyres are AMAZING in the wet. Ive never felt so planted and never had drama or even a hint of hydroplane. The dry they feel like they should. Cornering feedback is more than usual! never a feel of vague or slushy.

The bottom line:
These tyres dont work in the snow! if you have ice and such where you live... don't expect these to be your savior. They are good for 10 months out of the year! I have gone through 3 sets in 2 years. They dont last but they keep you on the road if its above 38 degrees out!

My opinion however, would be to buy dedicated summer and winter rims and tyres. In the long run it will save money and your car possibly!
tyre reviewed on 2010-03-16 18:23:11
Writing about the Falken FK452 given 53% (275-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3 spirited miles
These tyres perform reasonably in the dry for the price, but breakaway without warning in the wet, especially on performance rear wheel drive. The 275 rears also appeared stretched compared to the Continentals removed and when measured were a good 20mm under sized! The rears have been changed for Goodyear F1s, and what a difference. Better look, better grip, generally miles better all round.
tyre reviewed on 2012-06-12 12:48:10
Writing about the Accelera PHI given 47% (275-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 26000 average miles
DO NOT BUY these tyres for an STR.

When I changed to them it felt like I was driving on an icy surface on a dry summers day. Anything over 70mph is to be avoided and things deteriorate further when it's wet. Cheap yes but I really didn't feel safe on them until I moderated my driving style to something akin to driving in winter conditions.

Definitely would not recommend or buy again - have gone for Michelins this time.
tyre reviewed on 2017-07-29 23:06:20
Writing about the Accelera PHI given 23% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
Just to reiterate about the PH1 or 2 and comments on here the tyres are BUDGET
manufactured in Indonesia by the company that make Continentals under licence you will notice the familiar tread pattern between the two, but they are NOT CONTI,S you get what you pay for in this world and guy,s those with high performance cars you are only destroying your driving experience by fitting these,a set was fitted to my Jag STR by a previous owner since i changed to Yoko Advan 105,s the ride/handling is transformational , i would only use Accelera on cars where performance is not required or expected but been on a budget is the primary reason for fitting them. All in all a 1 star rating if fitted to high performance cars a five star rating on a budget /low performance car.
tyre reviewed on 2014-02-23 07:02:33
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre