Accelera PHI

Dry Grip 69%
Wet Grip 46%
Road Feedback 54%
Handling 53%
Wear 67%
Comfort 58%
Buy again 51%

The Accelera PHI is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre has been replaced by the Accelera PHI R

Show All

Tyre review data from 135 tyre reviews averaging 57% over 1,193,762 miles driven.

Latest Group Test Results

2019 Tyre Reviews UHP Summer Tyre Test - 8th of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Low rolling resistance. Low noise.
  • Negative - Very poor wet grip, extremely long wet braking distances, poor dry grip.
  • Overall - The Accelera PHI was extremely low grip in all scenarios. Do not fit this tyre.
    Not Recommended

2014 Auto Bild 50 Summer Tyre Shootout - 44th of 50 tyres

2012 EVO Max Performance Tyre Test - 10th of 10 tyres

  • Overall - Finishing bottom of the table in nearly every test secured the Accelera its last place, however EVO noted it wasn't as bad as some of the other budgets tested in previous years. As is the norm with budget tyres, it was capable in the dry but lacked grip, composure and safety when the surface changed to wet.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/55 R15 88V   F E 74 8.50kgs
195/45 R16 84W   E C 72 7.00kgs
235/60 R16 104W   E C 72 12.00kgs
235/55 R17 103W   E C 72 11.00kgs
255/35 R18 94Y   E C 72 11.00kgs
265/35 R18 97Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
215/40 R18 89Y   E C 72 9.00kgs
225/40 R18 92Y   E C 72 10.00kgs
245/40 R18 97Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
255/40 R18 99Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
235/45 R18 98Y   E C 72 11.00kgs
255/30 R19 91Y   E C 72 10.00kgs
265/30 R19 93Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
245/35 R19 93Y   E C 72 11.00kgs
265/35 R19 98Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
225/40 R19 93Y   E C 72 10.00kgs
235/40 R19 96Y   E C 72 11.00kgs
245/40 R19 98Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
255/40 R19 100Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
245/45 R19 102Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
225/30 R20 85Y   E C 72 10.00kgs
255/30 R20 92Y   E C 72 10.00kgs
225/35 R20 93Y   E C 72 10.00kgs
235/35 R20 92Y   E C 72 10.00kgs
245/35 R20 95Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
245/45 R20 103Y   E C 72 13.00kgs
255/30 R21 95W   E C 72 11.00kgs
255/30 R22 95Y   E C 72 11.00kgs
245/35 R22 97Y   E C 72 12.00kgs

Questions and Answers for the Accelera PHI

2016-06-26 - Are the Accelera PHI tyres run flat?

We're not currently aware of a runflat version of the Accelera PHI tyre.


2016-08-24 - What side is the front of the tire?

The PHI will have "outside" written on the outside, or front, of the tyre.


2016-10-18 - What is the estimated mileage for the Accelera PHI 225/45 R18? I have a Kia Soul Exclaim (2011) and am looking for four new tires

The mileage of the Accelera PHI depends largely on your car and driving style. It's best to look at other reviews posted to match your driving style and vehicle.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £41.00 - £41.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R19 £60.00 - £60.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/40 R19 £50.00 - £50.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R18 £49.00 - £49.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 25 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Accelera PHI Review

Given 67% while driving a Opel insignia (245/45 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 20 average miles
The varied reviews on the this tyre are insane. Some calling them dangerous to the best tyre ever driven on to date. My review is based on driving at legal speeds. Average 80 to 120kph.
On my Irish dry roads, the car handles well and confortable giving good feed back steering through the corners and braking. In heavy rain, I slowed down and again the tyres are fine. On greasy wet main roads, the tyres were giddy accelerating away from lights, fighting for grip as I put my foot down. So if you don't want spin - don't race! Once I adjusted my driving style to the tyres, they were acceptable.
In summary, my view is that once these tyres are that driven legally, they are good for the money on a family car driving safely. Its like the Top Gear corner Follow Through - different cars and drivers can go at different speeds. (Bring back the old Guys!) But if I had the money and did my research and wanted to enjoy the full potential of my car and all its power, I would go for the drivers tyre- Michelin Pilot Sport 4. If I want to maximise fuel economy and long life I'd drive on the Michelin Primacy 3. Both the same price, but different handling qualities. In my view, Mid range brands are just made to suit peoples budgets.
106 - tyre reviewed on July 2, 2016   

Latest Accelera PHI Reviews

Have you driven on the Accelera PHI tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Accelera PHI? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Accelera PHI >>

Mercedes Benz C63 AMG (255/30 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
These were fitted all round on my C63 AMG when I bought it. Obviously the previous owner was running a sports car on a sportshoe wage. Acceptable in moderate dry road use but in the wet they became a joke. As soon as the road gets damp/wet you may as have 4 blocks of ice on your rims. Break traction at every turn and the worst was the back end breaking traction on the motorway at 70mph during an overtake in the outside lane, luckily traction was on semi otherwise I'd have lost the car at speed. If you are lucky enough to own a RWD car with 480BHP then do not scrimp on tyres. Avoid
0 - tyre reviewed on April 15, 2020   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 69% while driving a BMW 335d (235/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
I have these on the front of a BMW 335D M Sport, fitted by a previous owner. I'm really surprised at how OK these tyres are, considering they are budgets. They grip surprisingly well in the wet, no nasty surprises. Dry grip is fine. They wear very well. You can tell they're a harder compound tyre through the steering, but overall they don't feel too bad. I personally wouldn't put them on the back of my car as it's running 592lb/ft of torque, so you need the best tyres to put the power down, but for the fronts they're perfectly acceptable. These are probably the best budget tyres I've tried.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 21, 2020   
Given 31% while driving a Jaguar F Type (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 miles
I bought the car with these tyres fitted. Not great in the dry, but shocking if it rains. They have worn really quickly. I’m off to buy much better tyres. These tyres are horrific, I really do not recommend them.
3 - tyre reviewed on January 12, 2020   
Given 20% while driving a Lexus ISF (225/40 R19) on mostly country roads for 800 spirited miles
These tyres were fitted on the front by the dealer to my car when I bought them. They are atrocious and should not be on any high performance car. When going for a spirited drive last week I could feel this pushing on very early. There was little feel through the steering either of what they were doing. The cornering limits are very low. I also noticed considerable aquaplaning on a very wet day this week.

I will be taking these off with the full thread depth still on them. Fine for driving around town. If you go over 50mph you will want something much better and safer.
1 - tyre reviewed on January 11, 2020   

See all 129 customer reviews of the Accelera PHI (newest first) >>