Skoda Superb II combi 2.0 tdi cr Tyres

Drive a Skoda Superb II combi 2.0 tdi cr? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Skoda Superb II combi 2.0 tdi cr
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (92) 94% 85% 90% 88% 85% 86% 87% 88% 801,635
Michelin Pilot Alpin PA3 (11) 93% 91% 91% 90% 92% 95% 95% 86% 104,303
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (390) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,740,737
Michelin CrossClimate (113) 89% 86% 85% 81% 86% 91% 87% 82% 1,403,839
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (205) 88% 86% 78% 79% 74% 86% 75% 81% 2,636,045
Dunlop SP Sport 01 AS (6) 92% 82% 95% 95% 97% 97% 85% 80% 71,001
Vredestein Ultrac Cento (22) 83% 78% 76% 73% 86% 82% 79% 80% 243,204
Continental Sport Contact 3 (241) 87% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,233,337
Nokian WR A3 (73) 93% 88% 89% 83% 91% 92% 86% 75% 505,743
Bridgestone DriveGuard (23) 86% 86% 79% 75% 45% 72% 60% 72% 287,860
Continental Sport Contact 2 (225) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66% 60% 71% 4,138,532
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (145) 80% 69% 70% 67% 64% 64% 54% 67% 2,105,560
Rovelo RCM 836 (2) 25% 20% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 14% 2,500

Skoda Superb II combi 2.0 tdi cr Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Cento given 99% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9000 average miles
Excellent!!!! (if slightly noisy)
tyre reviewed on 2011-10-22 11:27:53
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Alpin PA3 given 99% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 35000 average miles
Hi I'm a sales rep and have done over 35,000 miles on these tyres. I'd ordered Primacy Alpin PA3 but these turned up by mistake and I think they are less manufactured for deep snow and more 3-4 inches, slush, wet and ice.

Nonetheless, they got me through thousands of miles of really poor conditions including the bad snow of 2010. I also kept them on alway through the summer and they wore 5mm and would have got me through two winters if not for a puncture. If you do similar mileage but swap to summer tyres you will easily get through 3 or 4 winters with them.

In the dry you will notice a little more road noise but not intrusive. In the summer you do notice that the stopping distances are a little longer but better in wet and wintery conditions.

In conclusion, these tyres are best for all but deep snow where I think you will want something with a more 'snow' focus.
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-10 07:38:02
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 35000 average miles
I'm seriously impressed with these tyres.
I had a set of 4 Crossclimates fitted to my superb 20 months ago and have since covered around 35,000 miles. The fronts still have 4mm of tread left on them and there's no sign of the levels of grip diminishing (as a comparison my car (second-hand) came with a virtually brand new set of Goodyear Eagles on it and they lasted for around 15,000 miles.)

They grip well in all conditions and are especially impressive in mud (I do a lot of outdoor sports so am frequently driving on farm tracks and parking in fields).

I'd buy these again without hesitation.
tyre reviewed on 2017-08-01 10:27:39
Writing about the Nokian WR A3 given 93% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Excellent tyre. I am havin it for the seocnd winter season now. Mostly, it was dry and this tyre works just perfect there. Fells just like my summer tyres in the dry, really. Extremely nice. They are a bit noisier but still ok. On the wet the tyres are not as well. They are good there, too, but ist is not their stregth. Unfortunately I had not much chance to test it in the snow, but whenever there was snow, I felt safe and comfortabel with this tyre.

All in all, a pretty good deal that I would always recommend.
tyre reviewed on 2014-02-21 11:23:43
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Vorti given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 23000 average miles
Very pleased with these tyres. They always felt secure, especially in poor conditions. I got good economy and they lasted well (about 25% better than the OE Continentals that my Skoda Superb arrived on). They deserve the good reviews. They are a bit noisier than the Contis and my new Michelins however.
But I haven't replaced like with like. Why? I live in North Essex and the nearest place that sells Vedrestein tyres is 50 miles away. My local tyre places aren't interested. I just got back from the West Country and drove 300 miles on a spacesaver because I couldn't get a replacement tyre easily before the journey back. Why are such good tyres as Vedrestein so difficult to source? It's been a dealbreaker for me unfortunately.
tyre reviewed on 2014-07-05 12:36:44
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
Very good tire, very stable at 180-200 on dry road and at 160-180 on wet road
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-10 12:17:07
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 81% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30000 average miles
Conti ContactSports both cracked circumferentially, were replaced prematurely. Over-edgy feedback, really raucous noise at most speeds on most surfaces.
Michelin Pilot Sports lost traction in wet without real provocation, when only a 3rd worn. Good feel and slightly less noisy.
Eagle F1's astonishingly quieter, car way more civilised, no grip drop-off with wear. On second set. Steering less chatty, but corners fine - overall much prefer these. No pothole-induced sidewall bulges appeared either, which other tyre types suffered from. Initially it may feel like "driving on balloons" as some say but controllable and progressive enough, plus usefully cheaper than the other two
tyre reviewed on 2015-08-24 17:23:11
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport 01 AS given 76% (225-45-18-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
In @ 10000 km i've scraped 3 due to weak sidewall.it's like throwing cash out the window.the worst set of tyres in my life.never again Dunlop.
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-01 14:23:57
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 67% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 39573 easy going miles
After lots of reading I had these fitted in February 2014. They ran a total of 798 days, for 39573 miles, when I had a blowout on the motorway. No idea what caused the initial puncture.

Thread had still another 5-6.000 miles on them, but I decided to change them for 4 Michelin Primacy 's. This mainly because the last 5-8.000 miles were VERY noisy. So noisy I had the car checked for bad bearings, however turned out the tires were unevenly worn (sawtoothing). Alignment was checked and adjusted BEFORE I had them fitted, and alignment was checked again after diagnosing the problem, and was declared ok. I rotated the wheels front-to-back every 10.000 miles, and they didn't run in winter.

Had alignment checked when fitting the Michelins (and the rim was checked aswell) and all was still in order. Car is quiet again, no more 'singing' noise at certain speeds.

We'll see if the Michelins last as long (they bloody better) and if the sawtoothing returns. MPG is still the same at 64,20MPG measured.

in conclusion, I was very happy with the Goodyears' mileage, handling, price, but the sawtoothing problem was a major pain. What bothers me most is that the definite cause is not known, so I can't do anything to prevent it from happening again with the Michelins. I just hope it was a combination of my car + my driving + my roads + my tires that just didn't work out.

IF the sawtoothing hadn't happened, I would have fitted them again.
tyre reviewed on 2016-08-10 07:23:52
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 2 given 63% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 average miles
The tyres perform incredibly well in both wet and dry condition. The road feedback is excellent throughout and in the wet always gave me lots of confident. I have now got to the point where I have to replace the front at 22k with the rear still at 5mm (but I will replace the full set). Performance is constant throughout the tyre's life and even now the front are down to 3mm I still have plentu of feedback and even in the wet there is no issue whatsoever.
The main issue I have is not how they worn (can't complain having covered 22k from new) but how noisy these tyres are. The noise is unbearable unless you drive on a perfectly smooth surface and it is always been like this, doesn't really matter how old the tyre is. I have tried different tyres pressure without achieving a decent level of comfort.
I will now replace the full set with Dunlop Sport Maxx RT2 hoping to achieve a better mileage/gallon (I found the rolling resistance of the continental being quite high) and, most of all, a better comfort.
I repeat, the only reason for me not to go with a new set of Continental (I think the design of the new CSC6 is absolutely beautiful) is merely based on the noise/comfort level.
tyre reviewed on 2017-08-04 10:30:47
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre