Volkswagen Golf Mk IV 1.6SE Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen Golf Mk IV 1.6SE? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen Golf Mk IV 1.6SE
Michelin Alpin A4 (50) 88% 94% 91% 87% 95% 92% 95% 93% 406,112
Pirelli Snowsports (3) 90% 97% 83% 90% 97% 80% 90% 90% 84,500
Goodyear UltraGrip 8 (56) 88% 92% 87% 83% 87% 88% 94% 89% 324,343
Avon ZV5 (110) 84% 79% 77% 78% 71% 78% 74% 77% 1,381,255
Continental Premium Contact 2 (184) 84% 77% 75% 72% 62% 73% 62% 72% 4,228,189
Continental Sport Contact 2 (226) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66% 60% 71% 4,138,562
Pirelli P 7 (81) 79% 69% 71% 68% 74% 66% 57% 69% 1,792,559
Michelin Energy (40) 70% 63% 58% 62% 85% 75% 63% 68% 920,474
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (119) 78% 67% 70% 68% 69% 65% 58% 68% 2,355,806

Volkswagen Golf Mk IV 1.6SE Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip 8 given 96% (195-65-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3500 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-07 12:39:32
Writing about the Michelin Alpin A4 given 93% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
Positive:
Excellent grip and braking on ice.
Good grip and braking on snow.
Fantastic handling, grip and braking performance on wet roads.
Average grip and braking on dry.
Very low road noise.(Surprising - Better compare with my summer tyre Pirelli P7).

Negative:
Average aquaplaning behavior.
Very big rolling resistance.

Conclusion:
Best winter tire if you ride mostly on wet, ice or ice melted.
If you ride mostly on the surface of the snow beaten probably the best choice would be dedicated to something heavy snow tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2011-02-02 10:41:44
Writing about the Pirelli P 7 given 89% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
Positive:
Excellent handling and braking on dry.
Very good grip and braking on wet.
Low rolling resistance.
Negative:
Average aquaplaning behavior.
High road noise.
tyre reviewed on 2011-01-20 10:40:02
Writing about the Pirelli Snowsports given 87% (205-60-15-T)
Driving on mostly town for 2000 average miles
Really nice tyre
tyre reviewed on 2011-03-29 12:02:39
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport 01 given 86% (195-65-15-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20 average miles
For anyone who has suffered from neck injuries this is the ideal tyre, giving a very smooth ride with minimal vibration. (Much smoother than Continental Premium Contact 2.) The added comfort comes at a cost of slightly less grip in icy or muddy conditions, but driving carefully I have never found the tyres to slip or skid in ice or mud. The sidewalls are tough and not vulnerable to kerbing damage. The tread is deep and so should last well. Excellent. Highly recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-26 18:05:22
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport 01 given 79% (195-65-15-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 16000 spirited miles
I had a set of these on my mk4 golf 1.6 and i drive fairly fast... they have been excellent in terms of grip. The tyres let u know when they are losing grip unlike michelins who just all of a sudden spin u off. This help me react. Only ever time they have lost grip is at the back on a wet grate round a bend but say this the golf is a heavy car and i was carry a fair bit... not so great for mile munchers but u cant have grip and expect the miles it cant happen!
just put michelin energy savers on front might stick with these at the rear.
good buy though.
tyre reviewed on 2011-08-12 18:34:15
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 2 given 68% (195-50-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
Tyres slightly oversized for SIV 1.6
The vehicle is not exactly a great performer and compared to my 'fun' car it drives like cold treacle. Bought these tyres for reasonable dry and good wet performance.
They tyres are more than adequate in both conditions
Don't work that well in snow, but you can't have everything.
Paid ?100/tyre fitted
tyre reviewed on 2010-03-25 17:39:22
Writing about the Michelin Energy given 60% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-07 12:43:01
Writing about the Avon ZV5 given 51% (195-65-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Nothing special would be my opening statement. I'm very choosy about tyres, but every now and then I take a steer from the bloke selling them. I've never had a good tip yet. I dont think they have a clue about what there selling. But whenever I've gone with a review and insisted on a particular tyre, I've never been disappointed. If I ran a tyre business, I'd only sell what gets rated here. eg I've just had some bloke try and tell me the ZV5 is as good as the Uniroyal Rainsport2 which I bought for my wifes car. Two words, Alternate Reality!

Anyway, the tyres. Wet grip is better than dry (relatively speaking) It's not a tyre that will forgive you throwing the car around. You have to be quite precise in the way you set the car up for a bend and be smooth all the way round. They don't really seem to respond very well to any sudden changes in steering input.

Feedback is very poor. You find yourself rationalising your faith in their ability to do their job. eg, Car settled, Entry speed correct, line smooth so why wouldn't you go round? You will go round!

To be fair they are ok under braking. But the wear is dissapointing. I'm down to the wear indicators in only 6,000 miles. Although they have worn very evenly, both around and accross the tread.

In summary not a tyre that inspires confidence or makes for an enjoyable drive.

The best tyre I've personally had to date is the Uniroyal 550. Albeit some years ago. They wear out a little quickly as is borne out on here. So I'm going for Rainsport2's this time. They're only ?15 more than the Falken ZE912, a tyre that you can't really knock for the money.
tyre reviewed on 2010-04-08 19:49:56
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 2 given 46% (195-65-15-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 200 average miles
Seems like a good all round tyre with a tread capable of dealing well with icy and muddy conditions. But for anyone who has suffered from neck injuries this is not the best option as the tread tends to grapple with the road causing noise and uncomfortable vibration. Having tried this for a week I returned to Dunlop Sport SP 01 which gives a much smoother ride. The tread is not very deep so might not last long.
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-26 18:16:43
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre