Avon ZV7

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 84%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 73%
Wear 77%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 79%

The Avon ZV7 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

Replacing the acclaimed Avon ZV5, the newly-developed ZV7 incorporates a range of advanced technologies that mean it offers a host of added features and benefits.

The distinctive tread pattern of the new Avon ZV7 is designed with large circumferential grooves that clear water quickly and efficiently to reduce aquaplaning in the wet. It features sequenced tread blocks to reduce noise generated from the road, providing a quieter driving experience.

The Avon ZV7 tread pattern also features 3D sipes, which have interlocking three dimensional points inside the sipe. The 3D sipes provide the same benefits of a traditional sipe, including helping the tyre warm up and providing enhanced wet grip, but limit the amount of flex in the tread block which helps control the amount of heat generation in the dry and keeps the tread block stable.

Using the latest available polymer technology and advanced mixing techniques, the ZV7’s tread compound delivers excellent wet and dry grip while also reducing rolling resistance for great fuel efficiency.

This tyre replaced the Avon ZV5

Show All

Tyre review data from 70 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 405,660 miles driven.

Latest Group Test Results

2020 ACE Mid Range Summer Tyre Test - 9th of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Low noise
  • Negative - Long braking distances and poor handling in the dry, high rolling resistance
  • Overall - Conditionally recommended

2019 Summer 53 Tyre Braking Shootout - 25th of 45 tyres

2018 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test - 10th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Quietest tyre on test.
  • Negative - Weakest tyre in the dry and wet.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/50 R15 82V   E A 69 8.20kgs
185/55 R15 82V   E A 68 8.42kgs
195/55 R15 85V   E A 69 8.27kgs
195/60 R15 88V   E A 69 8.62kgs
205/60 R15 91V   E A 69 9.27kgs
195/65 R15 91V   E A 69 9.07kgs
205/65 R15 94V   E A 69 9.32kgs
195/45 R16 84V XL   E A 70 7.92kgs
205/45 R16 87W XL   E A 70 8.53kgs
205/45 R16 83W   E A 69 8.53kgs
215/45 R16 90V XL   C A 69 9.58kgs
195/50 R16 88V XL   E A 70 8.40kgs
205/50 R16 87W   E A 69 8.87kgs
225/50 R16 92W   E A 69 10.50kgs
185/55 R16 83V   E A 68 8.19kgs
195/55 R16 87V   E A 69 8.68kgs
205/55 R16 94W XL   C A 70 9.31kgs
205/55 R16 91V   E A 69 9.77kgs
205/55 R16 91W   E A 69 9.31kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 70 9.77kgs
215/55 R16 93V   C A 69 9.69kgs
215/55 R16 97W XL   C A 70 9.54kgs
225/55 R16 99Y XL   C A 70 10.38kgs
225/55 R16 99W XL   C A 70 10.38kgs
195/60 R16 89V   E A 69 9.22kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL   C A 70 9.80kgs
215/60 R16 99V XL   C A 70 10.24kgs
205/40 R17 84Y XL   E A 70 8.26kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   E A 70 8.49kgs
245/40 R17 91Y   E A 69 9.53kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL   E A 70 9.11kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   E A 70 9.32kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   E A 70 8.61kgs
215/45 R17 91W XL   E A 70 8.61kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 70 9.33kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   E A 69 9.33kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 70 9.33kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 70 9.48kgs
235/45 R17 97W XL   C A 70 9.48kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 70 9.75kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   C A 70 9.52kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 70 9.42kgs
215/50 R17 95W XL   C A 70 9.89kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 70 9.72kgs
225/50 R17 98W XL   C A 70 9.72kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   C A 70 9.87kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL   C A 70 10.63kgs
215/55 R17 94W   E A 69 10.63kgs
225/55 R17 101Y XL   C A 70 10.66kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   C A 70 10.66kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 69 10.81kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 70 10.12kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL          
265/35 R18 97Y XL   E A 71 10.99kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL   C A 70 9.42kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 70 9.42kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 70 10.23kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 70 10.68kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   E A 70 9.87kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   E A 70 10.48kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   E A 70 11.13kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   E A 71  
255/30 R19 91Y XL         10.10kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL         9.25kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 70 10.07kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 70 10.18kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL          
225/40 R19 93Y XL   C A 70 10.05kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   E A 70 10.92kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 70 11.17kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 71 11.89kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL   E A 70 12.16kgs

Questions and Answers for the Avon ZV7

2016-09-06 - Hi, when did the Avon ZV7 replace the ZV5? thanks

The Avon ZV7 was launched in April 2016


2017-05-03 - Could you let me know ZV7 tyres are unidirectional please? I have purchased a pair of 225/40/R18 for my VW Golf online, I request a pair suitable for my front axle, nearside and offside front, however they have arrived today and appear to for one side only, ie inline. I would be grateful for your advice.

The Avon ZV7 is asymmetric, which means it can run in any direction. The tyre must be mounted correctly on the wheel, but it can go either side of the car, even if the tread pattern does look slightly different side to side.


2019-06-07 - Would the Avon ZV7 fitted to my Volvo V70 2009, be ok as I tow a caravan. Within the specification it states for passenger cars.

Yes, as long as you're within the specified load rating.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
205/50 R16 £60.40 - £68.00 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £40.90 - £61.39 (39 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/45 R17 £63.18 - £78.20 (29 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £62.65 - £80.28 (19 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £53.30 - £70.00 (29 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 55 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Avon ZV7 Review

Given 90% while driving a BMW 320D M Sport (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Great dry grip in any direction! Wet grip is excellent when starting and stopping; they do slide a bit when pushed to the limits although you do have to push it very hard!
The ride is smooth at all speeds although this does limit the feedback you get for them.
Overall they are fantastic value and they definitely keep up with tyres over twice the price.
303 - tyre reviewed on August 17, 2016   

Latest Avon ZV7 Reviews

Have you driven on the Avon ZV7 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the ZV7.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 51% while driving a Ford Focus 2.0 TDCI Titanium (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 3,500 easy going miles
I suppose the results of a review are dependent upon when the review is done. Had I reviewed these tyres shortly after purchase, my review might have been 'glowing'. I am however, reviewing my tyres just over one year and about 3500 miles after purchase and in that time my opinion has changed considerably. When looking for a new set of tyres, I did do my research. I opted for the ZV 7 on the basis of good wet and dry braking results, a mid range, trustworthy brand and the fact that I was led to believe the Avons were one of only several tyres still produced in the UK (desire to support the 'home front' etc.). One year on, while the tyres perform perfectly adequately on a day-to-day basis, I have found that one tyre developed a bulge on the sidewall (out of warranty-of course). I am not aware of having damaged the tyre, but with potholes so prevalent, one hardly notices the number one drives over any more. I am prepared to concede this bulge could therefore have been inadvertent damage. While having this tyre replaced however, the fitter showed me that the tyre had deteriorated considerably with noticeable cracking radially around the tyre in the 'roots' of the treads. Examination showed similar rubber deterioration on the other tyres. This I did not expect after one year and about 3500 miles use. My close inspection also revealed that my (I thought) UK made Avons were in fact made in Serbia! This has left me with a serious distrust of Avon tyres generally, and a huge question regarding the ongoing safety of these tyres. If a tyre is 'bald', it is obviously at end of life, you've had your money's worth and it's obvious that it must be replaced. With this rubber deterioration and radial cracking, when do I replace these tyres? The tread is obviously barely touched after my low 3500 mile usage and will thus be technically 'legal' for a long time to come, so at what point do I decide that I no longer want to trust these tyres at motorway speeds and replace them having had little wear from them? I have to say, I am now not comfortable at all using these tyres, but want to get some value from them rather than change 1 year old, 3500 mile usage tyres. That is a difficult dilemma to balance. In summary, I am obviously very disappointed in the poor quality of these tyres, especially from a brand name like Avon, and am now constantly nervous about their safety (especially at speed) every time I drive the car. I expect said nervousness will eventually win over my desire to get at least some use from these tyres and I will have to replace them for peace of mind. That being the case, they will probably prove to be the worst value tyres I have ever bought. In years gone by, I have had many, many more miles from cheaper 'budget' tyres. I will certainly not be buying Avon tyres again, I could also not recommend these tyres to anybody and I would urge anyone who has these tyres to keep the condition of the rubber under close inspection.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2020   
Given 87% while driving a MINI Cooper S Works (205/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 12,500 spirited miles
3rd time purchasing these tyres and often recommend them to friends. went around Nürburgring on these tyres and was very impressed. heading back this year on the same tyres. very good performance and very good in the wet
1 - tyre reviewed on March 11, 2020   
This is the ultimate tyre test! Watch now!
Given 86% while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 miles
Bought a skoda vrs 230 in september that came with p zeros on which i found great in the dry but shocking in the wet so ordered some Avons zv7s on offer £67.00 per tyre ! Soooo glad i did it transformed my car no horrid wheelspin in wet and after 6000 miles can say the tyres fill you with confidence on wet or dry roads a superb all round tyre will be putting on again as i drive a lot in our ever increasing wet weather , well done Avon !
7 - tyre reviewed on February 29, 2020   
Given 94% while driving a Renault Clio 172 (195/50 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
The huge plus points are wear rate & price.
Fitted as a set of 4, I rotated the tyres front to back at 15k miles, when the fronts had worn to 5mm of tread remaining, and the rears still had 7mm. I am expecting to get 30k miles out the set at £136 for all 4 tyres.
Dry and wet grip is very acceptable when you take the wear rate into consideration.
I have used Michelin PS3`s & Uniroyal Rainsport 3`s prior to the ZV7`s, and whilst the Avons do not match these for ultimate grip, left on the same axle, the front PS3`S are worn out at 8k miles, & the RS3`s at 5k miles.
4 - tyre reviewed on January 25, 2020   
Given 89% while driving a Vauxhall Insignia CDTI SRI 160 (215/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 24,454 spirited miles
Not bad at all if u do say so myself Great dry grip in cornering and is strong in braking performance. Wet weather is a much the same and can really stick it in on the corners but sadly bought new tyres continental premium contact 5’s which were a big mistake
6 - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2020   

See all 69 customer reviews of the Avon ZV7 (newest first) >>