Michelin Pilot Sport 4

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 91%
Road Feedback 86%
Handling 88%
Wear 77%
Comfort 82%
Buy again 81%

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

Show All

Tyre review data from 162 tyre reviews averaging 85% over 1,571,623 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2020 AMS 18 Inch Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Very high grip and good handling in the wet, good aquaplaning resistance, confident and sharp handling in the dry, quiet.
  • Negative - Only slightly high rolling resistance.
  • Overall - Very good - Strong braking in the dry and wet.

2020 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test - 3rd of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Sporty steering behaviour, excellent driving dynamics, good aquaplaning resistance, short braking distances.
  • Negative - Expensive.
  • Overall - Exemplary.

2020 ADAC 18 Inch Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Very balanced, very good in the dry and wet, low fuel consumption
  • Negative - None mentioned
  • Overall - Highly Recommended
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
225/50 R16 92Y   E A 70 9.63kgs
205/55 R16 91W   E A 70 9.16kgs
205/55 R16 94Y XL   C A 71 9.20kgs
205/55 R16 91Y   E A 70 9.13kgs
205/40 R17 84Y XL   E A 71 8.24kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   E A 71 8.90kgs
245/40 R17 95Y XL   C A 71 10.10kgs
255/40 R17 98Y XL   C A 71 10.67kgs
195/45 R17 81W   E A 70 8.09kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL         9.26kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL   E A 71 8.82kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   E A 71 8.70kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL G1 C A 71 8.80kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL DT1 E B 71 8.60kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 71 8.97kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 71 9.58kgs
225/45 R17 91W   E A 70 11.34kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 71 9.51kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   E A 70 9.66kgs
225/45 R17 91V   E A 70 9.44kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   E A 70 11.34kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 9.99kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 71 10.29kgs
255/45 R17 98Y   E A 70 11.07kgs
205/50 R17 93Y XL   C A 71 9.35kgs
205/50 R17 89W   C A 70 10.98kgs
215/50 R17 95Y XL   C A 71 9.69kgs
225/50 R17 98W XL   C A 71 9.99kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 71 10.00kgs
225/55 R17 101Y XL   C A 71 10.72kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 71 10.21kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 71 11.41kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 71 12.33kgs
275/35 R18 99Y XL   C A 71 12.32kgs
205/40 R18 86Y XL   E B 71 9.12kgs
205/40 R18 86W XL   E A 70 9.20kgs
205/40 R18 86Y XL DT1 C A 71 8.90kgs
215/40 R18 89Y XL DT1 E A 71 9.35kgs
215/40 R18 89Y XL   E A 71 9.27kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL   C A 71 9.66kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 71 9.78kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL DT1 C A 71 10.20kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 71 10.31kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL MO1 C A 71 10.05kgs
235/40 R18 91W   E A 70 10.20kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL DT1 E A 71 10.85kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL MO1 C A 71 10.78kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 71 10.73kgs
245/40 R18 93Y AO E A 70 11.25kgs
245/40 R18 93Y   E A 70 10.74kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL   C A 71 11.22kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL * B B 71 12.89kgs
265/40 R18 101Y XL   C A 72 13.10kgs
215/45 R18 93Y XL   C A 71 9.26kgs
215/45 R18 89Y   E A 70 9.30kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL * C A 71 10.00kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL * B B 71 11.70kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 71 9.77kgs
225/45 R18 95W XL MO C A 71 9.80kgs
225/45 R18 91W   E A 70 9.70kgs
225/45 R18 91W MO C A 70 9.65kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 71 10.40kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL A T0 B B 71 11.00kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 71 10.89kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 71 11.74kgs
275/45 R18 107Y XL   C A 72 13.46kgs
225/50 R18 99Y XL   C A 70 11.22kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   C A 70 11.26kgs
245/50 R18 100Y   C A 70 11.83kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 71 10.53kgs
235/35 R19 87Y   E A 70 10.43kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 11.80kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   C A 71 13.16kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL * B A 72 13.60kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 71 10.85kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 11.00kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL * A B 72 10.75kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 71 11.32kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL * B A 72 12.70kgs
255/40 R19 100W XL VOL C A 71 12.35kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 71 11.32kgs
255/40 R19 100W XL A VOL C A 71 12.52kgs
275/40 R19 105Y XL   C A 71 13.86kgs
295/40 R19 108Y XL N0 B B 73 14.28kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL * A B 71 10.20kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   B A 71 10.55kgs
235/45 R19 99Y XL MO C A 71 11.38kgs
235/45 R19 99Y XL   C A 71 11.41kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   B A 71 11.30kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 71 11.38kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL A AO B A 71 11.65kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL   C A 71 12.88kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL AAOS1 B A 71 12.65kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL A AO C A 71 13.04kgs
265/45 R19 105Y XL N0 C B 71 13.56kgs
275/45 R19 108Y XL NF0 B A 71 15.10kgs
225/55 R19 103Y XL NF0 B A 71 13.40kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL   E A 72 13.49kgs
315/35 R20 110Y XL A N0 C A 73 15.30kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL   C A 71 12.76kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL A AO C A 71 12.80kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   C A 71 13.67kgs
275/40 R20 106Y XL A N0 C A 71 14.00kgs
285/40 R20 108Y XL NF0 B B 71 14.96kgs
245/45 R20 103Y XL NF0 B A 71 13.34kgs
315/30 R21 105Y XL A N0 C B 73 15.50kgs
325/30 R21 108Y XL A N0 C B 73 15.50kgs
275/35 R21 103Y XL A N0 E B 71 13.98kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4

2016-06-21 - I have a Nissan Leaf (electric). The fuel economy is important to me. How does the fuel economy of the Pilot Sport 4 compare with the original factory fitted Bridgestone Ecopia

The OE Ecopia tyre is a dedicated low rolling resistance tyre, whereas the Pilot Sport 4 is a sport tyre with low rolling resistance. While they've not been tested together, we would expect the Bridgestone to have the slight edge in rolling resistance, but the PS4 to have vastly better wet grip. You can also check the EU rolling resistance label score in your size to give you a better idea.


2016-05-21 - Are the pilot sport ok for a lotus evora 2009 na?

Assuming you can get the correct tyre size, there's no reason the Pilot Sport 4 wouldn't be a great tyre on a light car like the Evora. If you're coming from a more dry / track focused tyre, you might find you lose some steering feel with the Pilot Sport 4, but gain comfort.


2016-08-08 - Which is the country origin of the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 , 245/45/17 ?

Here is the response from Michelin:
Pilot Sport 4 is made in Germany, France, Spain and Italy (in that order predominantly) but may be the odd ones from other plants.
We never have a definitive list size by size, because our quality structures are the same country to country, plant to plant and in most cases the compounds and carcass materials come from the same plants and are "assembled".
We know from testing we've done, we don't have the big differences with identical tyres made in different plants that some manufacturers have.


2016-10-13 - I am about to change my tyres on my merc E220. I have opted for the reviews on the Michelin Pilot sport 4 but cannot find a 225/50/R17 /98W or Y. Is it available and from where?

It doesn't look like a 225/50 R17 Pilot Sport 4 is available yet. More sizes are being produced all the time.


2017-04-05 - I have a mazda mx 5 . Is this tyre too good for this car . ? Is it quiet and comfortable ?

Yes, the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is both quiet and comfortable. There are quieter tyres on the market however you would lose some sporty feel, which is important on a car like the MX5.


2017-08-17 - I am driving 2013 BMW 330D Xdrive with dimensions 225/45/R18 and I cant decide is it better to purchase Michelin Pilot Sport 4 or Continental Premium Contact 6??? It is very hard to find those two tyres in comparison in this dimensions! I am looking only for the best tyre!

This test should answer your questions. Pilot Sport 4 in 1st place, Premium Contact 6 in 3rd, using your size.


2017-09-06 - Hi there, I have an e39 M5.. usually use Michelin Super Sports which are priced the same as the PS4.. I have 18" wheels to PS4s isn't available in my size.. Which is a better tyre the Super Sport or the standard PS4 (no s)...

In 99% of cases, the newer PS4 is the better tyre. The PSS has the edge in dry grip, feedback and track day work, but if you're using the tyre on the road you won't be disappointed with the PS4.


2017-11-14 - BMW 318i with Contipremiumcontact 2, im looking to get some new tires didn't mind how these handled although they had slight under steer in wet if pushed im looking at PS4 and the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance only problem is the PS4 dont come in the current size on the car and the Goodyears do. My question is would there be a benefit coming down from 225/50/16 to 205/55/16 so i can fit these tires are they really that much better in the wet/dry/ect... that the loss of with wont matter

Without specific testing it is too difficult to answer properly, however it's worth noting you will have to declare the new tyre size as a modification to your insurance company which is reason enough to stay with the OE size.


2018-02-27 - Shouldn't this tire be labeled as "Ultra High Performance" and not "Max Performance" as it is the direct replacement for the Pilot Sport 3? The Pilot Sport 4 S is the "Max Performance" as it is the direct replacement for the Pilot Super Sport.

It's an interesting question. The Pilot Sport 4 is the direct replacement of the Pilot Sport 3, but Michelin moved the game on so much with regards to sporty handling and feel of the tyre it deserves to be in the higher category.


2018-03-17 - Hi, for a Honda Civic 1.8 petrol 2010 tyres 225/40/R18 Y XL would Michelin PS4 or Pirelli PZero PZ4 give best ride comfort? I know Goodyear Asmm. 3 offer good ride but currently I have Potenza S001 at front PS3 rear so concerned about softer sidewall of Goodyears. Many thanks.

I've not tested them back to back so I'm unsure which would be more comfortable, but if I had to guess based on experience I would say the P Zero PZ4 would be slightly more comfortable than the Pilot Sport 4.


2018-05-07 - Hello. My Audi A4 Quattro needs only Front Tyres at the moment. I would like to fit Pilot Sport 4. Do you think these will behave ok with the standard fit Hankook Ventus S1evo2 that are on the back? Thanks

Both tyres are produced within the allowable size guidelines so technically they should work fine together, however it might be worth checking owners forums to be sure.


2018-06-15 - Hi guys! I am using this tyre (Pilot Sport 4) on a Hyundai Genesis Coupe also equipped with B14 Bilstein coilovers... I have 225/40/19 front and 245/40/19 rear... BUT I still havenít found a proper pressure tyre to set, in order to feel a good feedback and feeling from the car... I feel it not coumicative, and on the fast straight I find a little vagueness in the center if I move left/right of few cm on the steering (with pressure at 2.3 bar) What di you recommend??

Sadly the PS4 is a little vague due to the higher levels of comfort. I can't recommend anything specific, but a small amount of over inflation can help with steering response.


2018-07-31 - I really want PS4"S" for my 18inch E46 M3. BUT they are only 19 inch at the moment right? So given I want decent performance on track, do I go Cup2 or would these non "S" PS4's be ok?

Good news, subscribe to our youtube channel and hit the bell icon as in the next 2 weeks we have a PS4 vs PS4S vs Cup 2 video :)
https://www.youtube.com/user/tyrereviews


2018-09-05 - Hey there. I own a '06 Mercedes E550. I just bought a set of lighter 18'' rims and next summer, I want to fit new 245/40 tyres. I only drive 4000kms in the summer, rarely spirited, so wear is not a concern. Yet I demand a good steering response and light weight to make for a more nimble feel of the car. I think I wanna go with the PS4, yet I think about the Falken 510 also. In the past, I regretted fitting mid range tyres. But due to the low miles, and the good test, I feel like giving the 510s a try. Yet I fear that they will be overwhelmed by the weight of the car and the V8 on the front axle. Would you recommend just going with the PS4 or could the 510s be an option?

I'm not sure either the PS4 or FK510 will be the answer to your question, both have quite soft sidewalls. If steering precision is your drive above all else, something like the Vredestein Vorti R might be a good tyre to look into.


2018-10-29 - I going to replace my Jaguer XF3.0 tyre, previously I tried Pzero and Pilot Super sport. could you please comment if I change to PS4 (no S), I'm not an aggressive driver, want maintain the sport feeling but a little more comfort and silent...

The PS4 won't feel as sporty as the Pilot Super Sport, but will certainly more comfortable and quieter and it has excellent wet grip, so would be a good choice for your Jag.


2019-03-18 - Hello! I'm about to replace the Michelin Energy tires on my VW Golf5. I'd like to extract more sportiness and feel out of the car while retaining a solid and safe daily driver with nice comfort and low noise. Aiming for the Pilot Sport 4 or the PremiumContact 6. The Golf is not a sports car but since i dont wear tyres too fast, the price premium is not that much considering the relative small 205/55 R16 size, so both fits within my budget. Which one would you think suit me (or the car) better? I heard a few complaints about the PS4-s behaving jelly-like when pushed. Im aware that a road tyre in this size, no matter the brand, wont give the kind of feedback as a smaller sidewall variant with a bigger wheel would, so that behaviour might still be the same with a PC6-s in the same size. Whats your take on this? Thank you in advance, and keep up the great content!

The differences between the Pilot Sport 4 and PremiumContact 6 are now so small both tyres will be an excellent option if available in your size.


2019-05-05 - I am driving 2008 Audi A5 1.8 TFSI 170 FWD and I can't decide whether to go for Michelin Pilot Sport 4 245/40 ZR18 (93Y) or Michelin Pilot Sport 4 245/40 ZR18 93Y AO. Would there be any differences? May AO tire be "outdated" in 2019? What is your recommendation?

Generally with OE marked tyres it's recommended to go with the correct version where possible as this will have been tuned to work with the vehicle suspension etc. The PS4 isn't old enough to worry about the AO version being out of date.


2019-08-19 - There I have a VW Mk5 GTI (FWD) with coilover suspension and the car is modified around 300hp, I mainly drive on the road and would like to do a bit of track during the year (also we have around 185 days of rain in average per year). Do you think that tire would be suitable for that use? (225/40R18 92Y)

We suggest looking at our video comparing all three Michelin Pilot tyres here.


2019-08-30 - I have a Volvo V60 with 235/40R18 W95 fitted. As the Ixion alloys seem to have a ridiculously wide edge to the rim, is the rim protector on the Pilot Sport 4 a decent size? Also, would up-sizing to a 245 width increase the size of said rim protection? Are there any other recommendations you can make for the largest rim protection you're aware of?

Rim protection varies by tyre size, and wheel width also plays a huge factor so it's impossible to say with any accuracy. Changing tyre size is also impossible to recommended due to the many other factors it effects.


2019-10-22 - Hi guys, i'm driving a Ford Fiesta MK8 with this Michelin Pilot Sport 4. I'm in italy and here temperatures never go below 0C, or in any case there is never snow and ice but just rain. I've to buy winter tires, or can I go with this Michelin all of the year? I used them for a winter, and seems they went very cool.

Below around 5c in the wet, a winter tyre will offer an advantage, but in the dry, the PS4 will always have the better grip. If you're not seeing snow or ice, there's no issues with running the Pilot Sport 4 all year.


2019-12-02 - I want to replace the standard Bridgestone Potenza's on my MX-5 ND 2.0 with a set of Michelin Pilot Sport 4 but which exact spec is best? Michelin's website recommends 205/45 ZR17 (88Y) DT1, 205/45 ZR17 88W or 205/45 ZR17 (88Y). However, the dealership also mentioned a choice of 205/45 R17 88V G1. Speed index of V should be sufficient for the car (240km/h rated tyre should be fine for the car's 214km/h top speed). But what does G1 mean? The G1 model is has a C fuel efficiency label while the others all have E. Should the G1 behave the same as the Y DT1, Y or W tyre?

Interestingly, G1 indicates that the outside diameter or tread width differ from a tyre without this marking. We recommend to fit matching G1s on the same axle, or a set of 4 for all wheel drive. In this case, I'd go with a normal, non g1 fitment.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
205/45 R17 £102.80 - £152.10 (32 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £87.19 - £103.99 (18 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £81.00 - £100.63 (42 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £122.82 - £171.45 (44 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R18 £129.25 - £155.00 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 65 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin Pilot Sport 4 Review

Mercedes Benz C250 CDI Blutec (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
First opinions on new Pilot Sport 4

I have today (11/01/16) received some of the first available Pilot Sport 4's in the UK. They are to replace my worn out Goodyear Eagle ASY 2's on the rear of my GAD Tuned C250 Cdi.

I will review again in a few weeks when I have had chance to thoroughly try the tyre out, however my initial observations are as follows:

Aesthetic appeal: They look good and sit well on the rims, a pleasant development over the PS3, both in tread pattern and sidewall appearance, without being 'over the top'.

Cost: For my size I paid £145 per corner delivered from mytyres, however tyreloader(?) have them currently at £135. As they are new on the market I expected to pay a premium, and I anticipate as they become more established the price will come down in the coming months.

Other: They have a good size/width kerbing protection ring which is welcome, especially as they did not state they had one in the sellers description. A must for expensive alloys!

Potential downsides are that when measured from new I have gotten a reading of 7.2mm tread depth, as opposed to the 8mm once seen from new on sport tyres. This seems to be a growing trend as the Hankooks and Bridgestones I have used on my other cars in recent months have also been supplied with 7mm from new as opposed to the 8mm expected.
I have also noticed that the grooves (in my size at least) seem wider than the PS3's I have used in the past. Whereas I am sure that the performance of this tyre on our British roads esp. in the wet will excel, I am concerned about the longevity of this tyre and its potential wear rate as simply there is less rubber contacting the road. Lets hope the compound will make up for it! I have found on my other cars that these wider grooves and lesser tread depth is causing my tyres to need to be changed much more often than their predecessors (under much the same driving conditions and mileages), so despite the marketing bluff about increased longevity, I am sceptical.

I will re-review when I have had chance to get some miles done on these tyres.
4294967295 - tyre reviewed on January 11, 2016   

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 4 Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Pilot Sport 4.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 99% while driving a (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Before this i use 4 kumho Hs51 tires.. then my front tyre worn out, i buy 2 Michelin Ps4 and put at rear.. when i'm driving, my front tires (kumho) very loud.. but rear i can't hear anything. very silent.. then i'm try push my car at the corner, i feel the rear tyre more Sharp when corner... wet driving in Asian tropical weather very superb.. i will buy this Ps4 for my front tyres next..
1 - tyre reviewed on March 14, 2020   
This is the ultimate tyre test! Watch now!
Given 99% while driving a Audi S3 (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 3,500 spirited miles
SUPERB ! I fitted a full set of these @15k miles to replace the tired O.E. Pirelli P Zeros on my 2018 Audi S3. It would have been difficult to imagine better traction on an already brilliant car but the PS4's have improved the traction, ride quality and steering by some margin. At £ 111.00 each they were money very well spent.
11 - tyre reviewed on January 17, 2020   
Given 50% while driving a SEAT Toledo (215/40 R17) on mostly motorways for 1,000 spirited miles
For my my car this tyres are not good, previously had for 6 years 70000miles Dunlop SP sport max and I can say that Michelin tires on 215 40 17 are worse tires I ever had , I've been back to the garage 2 times for them to double check that they're fitted right... Very loud , very vibrant , unresponsive, unpredictable ,worse fuel consumption by over 10 miles per gallon . 100 miles behind Dunlop performance. I've always brought Michelin for quality but now I am very disappointed
29 - tyre reviewed on December 13, 2019   
Given 90% while driving a Toyota 86 GT (225/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Fantastic wet grip, did a track day in heavy rain and they were performing better than most semi slick tyres do in wet. Dry grip is similarly good I can't see a road tyre being any better than this, comfort and noise level is surprisingly good and fuel economy doesn't suffer, can't comment on longevity as I used these tyres on track however they do perform fairly well on track
9 - tyre reviewed on December 1, 2019   

See all 139 customer reviews of the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (newest first) >>