Honda CBR1100XX Tyres

Drive a Honda CBR1100XX? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Honda CBR1100XX
Avon Spirit ST (6) 97% 97% 92% 97% 82% 93% 83% 91% 13,806
Michelin Pilot Road 3 (21) 92% 92% 87% 85% 90% 89% 92% 90% 120,499
Bridgestone Battlax Hypersport S22 (5) 96% 80% 93% 95% 82% 90% 86% 89% 18,600
Avon Storm 2 Ultra (26) 86% 70% 75% 75% 88% 83% 80% 80% 169,700
Continental ContiRoad Attack (11) 83% 72% 83% 79% 84% 83% 72% 79% 29,050

Honda CBR1100XX Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Avon Spirit ST given 100% (180-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6 spirited miles
I can say now, after another 5.000 miles on these excellent tyres, that my initial review was a very modest one! I rode for most of these miles with a pillion and hard luggage (total weight of the bike, myself, pillion and hard luggage was at least 500 kilos), on country roads and highways, in dry (very hot...) and wet (very wet...) conditions. The pace was sometimes touring and sometimes faster than it should, considering the weight... The bike felt very stable at high speeds on the highways and it was leaning quite easily at the twisty b-roads... Never had a worry of any kind from the tyres, they were just perfect all the way! And after all these miles, despite the weight, the different weather conditions, the (relatively quick) pace and the variety of roads, the tyres show no sign of wear!!! They look just like they did when they had less than a 1000 miles on them!!! Sounds impossible, yes, but that 's the truth! So, I stick to my initial review and I confirm everything I said back then. Plus I wonder no more about the tyres lasting for a long time. I highly recommend them and I will buy them again (and again...)!
tyre reviewed on 2018-09-06 15:03:11
Writing about the Bridgestone Battlax Hypersport S22 given 99% (180-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-23 00:00:41
Writing about the Continental ContiRoad Attack given 97% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
To all the above who recommend Avon. I would never have one again even if they gave them away free. I used one and it punctured 4 times in the first 4 weeks. The tread wore off so bad my motorcycle condemned it on the 4th puncture after 1000 miles of light town use! From there i rode it across france notching up another 1000 miles on hot roads and fastish speeds but it shredded the tyre to pieces ripping all the tread off Never again!!!
In contrast i am on my third set of continentals that i get a true 8000 miles out of each, even if I hammer it. They grip in all weathers and all conditions and last. I cant fault them.
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-09 19:52:00
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Road 3 given 96% (180-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 80 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2012-05-12 03:47:15
Writing about the Avon Spirit ST given 91% (180-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 600 spirited miles
I have tried these Avons for about 1000 kilometres on a Honda CBR 1100XX. Heavy and powerful bike, mostly riding with a pillion. I do commuting and country rides, plus long touring rides in the summertime. First time on Avons, they replaced Dunlop Roadsmart 3 tyres, one of the best choices I 've ever made for my bike and riding needs. Never had a doubt about them beeing as good as the Dunlops. They are, plus they are much cheaper. During my last ride conditions ghanged rapidly from dry to wet again and again, but the tyres were excellent. Quick warm up, never got me worried about grip. Leaning felt easier than with my previous tyres (when they were new) and efortless cosidering the size and weight of my bike. The rear tyre was perfect, but the front one was awesome! Felt like it was attached or glued(!) to the road like much sportier tyres do and gave me lots and lots of confidence to go faster without thinking twice about the road conditions or the weather. Wear does not seem to be an issue so far, they look brand new after 1000 kms. So far I am very satisfied, I would recommend them and definately would buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-07-16 20:50:37
Writing about the Avon Storm 2 Ultra given 66% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Felt compelled to comment on these tyres as i bought a pair based on the rave reviews on here about all round grip & particularly about how long they last. Ivehota honda blackbird which these tyres were also recommended for so igave them a go. I have ran lots of other sports touring tyres & usually get around 4500mls from a rear & thats a mixture of pillion, loaded with luggage & jyst solo riding. I taken with the reports of the longevity of these tyres as im always after more miles so i gave them a go. I agree with most reviews & i found the dry & wet grip very very good & the bike always felt poised & keen as the triple compound wears the tyre evenly so it tetsins its roind profile rather than the flat middle section you get on most tyres when they start to wear in the middle, those are the possitives & all very good. On to then a najor negative & i haveyo say a real dissapointment! I ride progressively & the rear gets used edge to edge & the power put through all areas of the tyre, it lasted less than 3000mls ?!?!? Thats shocking given the hype of 8000 plus miles by sone reviews. Thats also been mostly 1 up with no luggage on this tyre. Thats shocking, ive hot more miles than that out of pure sports tyres. If you coast along & dont put much power throug it then it will last longer but i sippose any tyre would. So in conclusion yes theyre good but theyre cheap for a reason, they dont last 5 minutes which for a touring tyre is pants, sports tyres will give you much more grip & last about the same miles but if your after more miles spend more money on a set of michelin pilot roads or metzler Z8's same grip & stanility but twice the milage. Conclusion, initialy really good but very very poor distance for a so called touring tyre. I wont be buying them again
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-22 13:57:40
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre