Land Rover Defender Tyres

Drive a Land Rover Defender? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Land Rover Defender
General GRABBER HTS (1) 90% 90% 70% 80% 100% 90% 100% 89% 7,000
Goodyear Wrangler AT SA Plus (6) 95% 87% 85% 83% 80% 93% 93% 88% 72,000
Goodyear Wrangler AT SA (12) 89% 83% 89% 84% 85% 89% 88% 87% 97,000
BFGoodrich All Terrain TA KO2 (8) 91% 76% 83% 76% 90% 81% 81% 84% 111,950
General Grabber UHP (19) 90% 85% 83% 76% 86% 85% 85% 84% 607,810
BFGoodrich Mud Terrain TA KM2 (5) 88% 70% 66% 88% 93% 84% 100% 84% 190,020
Michelin Latitude Cross (43) 87% 85% 80% 77% 91% 81% 91% 83% 673,266
Cooper Discoverer STT Pro (2) 80% 65% 75% 80% 90% 75% 100% 81% 18,000
Goodyear Wrangler All Terrain Adventure (3) 90% 90% 60% 90% 93% 60% 63% 80% 64,130
Kumho Road Venture MT KL71 (7) 86% 84% 82% 59% 93% 77% 76% 80% 100,123
Nokian Rotiiva AT Plus (1) 80% 80% 70% 70% 0% 80% 90% 78% 100
Cooper Discoverer MS (7) 87% 85% 73% 73% 76% 67% 85% 78% 83,020
BFGoodrich AllTerrain TA KO (10) 87% 66% 67% 71% 78% 67% 78% 72% 321,320
Continental Cross Contact AT (12) 84% 73% 84% 80% 84% 77% 75% 71% 341,778
Goodyear Wrangler MT R (3) 67% 53% 60% 57% 73% 57% 67% 68% 48,012
Achilles Desert Hawk XMT (12) 73% 45% 59% 59% 59% 66% 59% 62% 137,920
Silverstone MT117 Xtreme (1) 100% 30% 10% 10% 70% 100% 100% 60% 5,000
General GRABBER AT2 (4) 73% 48% 38% 47% 80% 80% 40% 56% 524,000
Yokohama Geolander MT (1) 100% 80% 50% 50% 20% 80% 10% 56% 25,000

Land Rover Defender Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Wrangler All Terrain Adventure given 100% (235-85-16-Q)
Driving on a combination of roads for 130 spirited miles
Best tyre I have had on my deffender
tyre reviewed on 2020-08-17 13:05:49
Writing about the BFGoodrich AllTerrain TA KO given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 40000 easy going miles
Fantastic, I had these on a 90 td5. No issues with these once I had them on the vehicle, went everywhere (at the time lived in rural N/E Scotland) snow, rivers, muddy fields, forests and roads. They wore really well, were extremely robust and didn't make much noise. Fuel economy wasn't great, but I was driving a un-aerodynamic brick with a roof rack.
tyre reviewed on 2015-10-11 10:14:36
Writing about the Continental Cross Contact AT given 97% (235-85-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 average miles
bought as new-take offs with new wheels for my 2004 Land Rover, and these are well behaved on the road, with good support for offroad sites. Not brilliant in the mud as a full on MT tyre, but these are 50/50 M&S rated tyres which suit my 20,000 miles a year very well.
I recommend them over the UHP (General Grabber TR) which I had before, as a better all round all season tyre. For sure, slightly noisier and slightly lower (about 1-2mpg) than the TR, but the TR is 70% road biased. There's always a trade off, and this is one I'm happy with. I average 29.5-33.7 mpg depending on traffic and terrain.
tyre reviewed on 2014-12-10 13:37:51
Writing about the Michelin Latitude Cross given 95% (235-85-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 50 average miles
After seven years on the factory fitted Grabbers I had all four replaced with these Michelins. The difference in drive, road noise, comfort and handling was staggering! I thought I was in a different car. Amazing the difference a tyre makes! No hesitation in recommending these tyres for a big 4x4 (Defender 110 in my case).
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-09 23:01:22
Writing about the BFGoodrich Mud Terrain TA KM2 given 94% (235-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 45000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2014-11-13 11:49:06
Writing about the Continental Cross Contact AT given 94% (235-85-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 80778 average miles
These tyres were original tyres fitted to my new 2015 Land Rover Defender. They were subjected to varied on road and off road conditions in Southern Africa. They are now being replaced at 130 000km (80778 mi) with legal tread on all tyres. They handled well in both wet and dry conditions with no punctures on any tyre. The performance in sand was better than mud. My one complaint is that the tread traps and throws stones, require checking for stone boring into the tread. I have long been a fan of BFG All Terrain KO but I have never had a tyre last like these tyres, note I maintain a rigorous rotation, balancing and alignment program. I can strongly recommend these tyres as 70/30 multi purpose tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2020-04-23 22:21:33
Writing about the BFGoodrich Mud Terrain TA KM2 given 94% (225-85-16-Q)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2014-04-08 22:04:18
Writing about the Continental Cross Contact AT given 93% (235-85-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 24000 average miles
Cannot understand some of the reviews for the Cross Contact AT. These tyres are an excellent all round performer. They are less than half worn at 24,000 miles so I am looking to get around 50k+ out of them. They perform wet or dry are capable off road and have an acceptable noise level on a defender which is not exactly quiet anyway. My usage is 70% county roads 25% "A" roads or motorways and 5% off road. For any tyre to have to handle all of the above summer and winter is a big ask and this tyre is very good.
tyre reviewed on 2013-09-08 15:04:04
Writing about the General Grabber UHP given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 60000 average miles
Driving Land Rover Defender. 26,000 mile Towing 2 ton trailer and 34,000 mile on M roads, A & b roads total of 60,000 miles,renewing in another 2k mile rear tyres would get about 5k more but will replace the 4.Will I be replacing with General Grabbers you bet, It's a no brainer!
tyre reviewed on 2013-09-23 23:08:52
Writing about the Continental Cross Contact AT given 91% (235-85-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2012-06-14 07:06:06
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
https://bs.serving-sys.com/serving/adServer.bs?cn=display&c=19&mc=imp&pli=29943428&PluID=0&ord=[timestamp]&rtu=-1