Mercedes Benz s420 Tyres

Drive a Mercedes Benz s420? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Mercedes Benz s420
Falken FK451 (10) 79% 77% 73% 71% 81% 79% 87% 78% 119,010
Michelin Primacy 3 (155) 86% 81% 78% 78% 69% 81% 69% 77% 2,240,483
Nankang SV1 Winter Plus (14) 80% 72% 72% 71% 81% 82% 76% 76% 100,000
Nokian eNTYRE (23) 79% 64% 68% 57% 78% 68% 54% 67% 296,990

Mercedes Benz s420 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Falken FK451 given 86% (255-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 55000 average miles
I have bought these to replace Michelin pilots that were three times the price! I can't tell any difference in performance from them - they even look the same as the michelins. Even with a V8 under the bonnet and two tons of load from a W140 S-Class, I cannot fault them and will be buying more next time around
tyre reviewed on 2008-02-23 03:57:09
Writing about the Nankang SV1 Winter Plus given 76% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 average miles
very supprised. no problems at all. don't drive very quick max 150km/h on highways
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-12 12:50:35
Writing about the Nokian eNTYRE given 71% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Unlike most reviewers here, I'm based in the United States. I wanted to give the eNTYRE a try as I've always heard good things about Nokian and I found them on sale on Amazon for an unbeatable price. Although it was very hard to find any domestic write-ups of these tires I was willing to take a chance for the price.

I drive a 1995 Mercedes S420, which is a big and heavy car, and these replaced a set of Michelin Primacy MXV4, which were worn down to almost nothing after about 50,000 miles. I had initially considered upgrading to the Michelin Premier, but as I said the price for the Nokian was hard to resist.

Anyway, thus far I've been very pleased with the performance. They were very easy to balance and run whisper quiet on the highway and are exceptionally smooth. Road feedback is good, and cornering is every bit as good as my Michelins were. Wet handling is also just as good as what I'd expect from my previous tires.

I've taken the car out in the snow just once with the Nokian, and was pleasantly surprised. This car isn't known for it's snow performance but the Nokians made it as competent as it could possibly be without dedicated winters.

The only downside is that these tires do seem to transmit bumps and imperfections more than the Michelins did. If you're on a smooth road they're dead quiet, but bumps are louder than they used to be. I've spoken directly to Nokian customer service and they told me that when the tires are brand new they'll be somewhat louder until they're broken in. Thus far they've been correct, as the noise as gotten better with more driving. But I still expect that even after break-in they'll continue to be at least marginally louder than the Michelins.

Overall I'm happy with the purchase and would recommend these tires. In reading the reviews here, I have noticed that owners with premium/luxury cars seem to give better feedback than owners of more economy-focused cars. Just an observation, but seems to bear out my experience as well.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-11 06:18:07
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 3 given 70% (225-60-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 18000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-13 09:18:18
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre