Triumph tiger 1050 Tyres

Drive a Triumph tiger 1050? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Triumph tiger 1050
Michelin Pilot Road 3 (21) 92% 92% 87% 85% 90% 89% 92% 90% 120,499
Bridgestone Battlax BT 023 (38) 92% 85% 89% 89% 89% 92% 91% 90% 180,950
Metzeler ROADTEC 01 (12) 92% 91% 93% 86% 74% 92% 75% 86% 52,008
Michelin Pilot Road 4 (14) 90% 84% 83% 78% 83% 85% 88% 85% 62,115
Michelin Pilot Road 2 (14) 90% 81% 85% 80% 88% 85% 74% 83% 95,000
Pirelli Angel ST (5) 78% 80% 78% 76% 86% 90% 74% 80% 26,050
Metzeler Roadtec Z8 Interact (7) 83% 76% 70% 73% 80% 84% 64% 76% 40,703

Triumph tiger 1050 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Bridgestone Battlax BT 023 given 94% (180-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2500 spirited miles
I have these fitted to my 1050 Tiger and so far I'm very impressed with them. The wet grip is superb, best I've had in the wet so far i think. Dry grip is very good too and they allow me to keep up with my mates R1 on the road. I've done 2,500 miles on them so far and thet're not showing much signs of wear.
tyre reviewed on 2010-04-06 12:56:54
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Road 2 given 94% (180-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
Best all-round tyres I have ever had on any bike! Plenty of grip dry or wet and lots of life. Still not squared off after 7000 miles.
tyre reviewed on 2011-06-16 18:08:05
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Road 3 given 89% (180-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6 average miles
Took them into the mountains of Spain and Portugal within weeks of buying them for my Tiger 1050. Tentative at first as it took some running in to get feedback going, but they soon wear in. They kept grip even when going through sudden transitions from hot roads on to meltwater streams running across the road on blind bends. They also handle the load better than previous Pilot2. I commute on them and still have the confidence in wet conditions that I never had with the old pilot 2 tyres. They are still good at 6,000 miles but I was an early adopter and paid a premium price, so I'm hoping they will get cheaper.
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-06 20:00:00
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Road 2 given 86% (120-70-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Driving over 4,500 miles still has 3.5mm left has not gone square like last one,mostly two up on tiger 1050
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-14 20:52:23
Writing about the Metzeler Roadtec Z8 Interact given 86% (180-55-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 9500 average miles
Ive run a couple of sets of these in all kinds of weather on my 2012 Triumph 1050se Tiger an have been a great allrounder. Getting 15000klm out of rear easily. Playing spiritedly on the mts or just cruising ha e suited the bike well.
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-12 13:30:43
Writing about the Metzeler ROADTEC 01 given 80% (180-55-17-R)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
This is a review of 01's fitted to 3 x Triumphs in pairs.
Pair 1; A 2010 Sprint ST was the first in 2016, after running all the main rivals previously. First used on a tour of Northern Spain & Portugal, which involved some spirited riding. Immediate noticeable improvement in turn in, comfort and feedback from front and rear. Pushed the lifespan out to 5k but rear was flatted off at 4.5k, never having had a slide dry or wet. Just a bit disappointed in lifespan, but best S/T tyres I have used. Subsequent pairs fitted to the Sprint for a trip the Balkans, and then Morocco, same lifespan.
I decided to fit 01's to my 2012 Street Triple R in 2017 rather than sport tyres. The rear has flatted off after 6k miles, will last at a push until 6.5k. Adequate grip for spirited road use.
In 2018 I bought a 2016 Tiger 1050 Sport and had 01's fitted for a 3,800 mile lap around Spain & Portugal. Immediate improvements felt over standard tyres as descibed above, rear flatted off at 4.5k.
I feel the rear center tread could be harder, heaven only knows how some guys get 8k - 10k from a set.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-14 18:28:58
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Road 4 given 80% (180-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8800 average miles
Dry & wet grip is quite good clears the water fine according to my pal following behind. The front is wearing out faster then the rear but I've never had more than 7k'ish miles before from any year, currently on 8,800, should be good for 10k I'd guess. Comfort is on a par with similar top of the range st tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-29 14:37:16
Writing about the Metzeler Roadtec Z8 Interact given 66% (180-55-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-02-13 10:11:33
Writing about the Pirelli Angel ST given 63% (180-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4550 average miles
Wore out badly, especially the rear. Grip ok in dry not so confident in wet. comfort ok. rear tyre wears quick once past half worn, replaced at 4,550.
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-29 14:42:48
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Road 2 given 54% (120-70-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 1500 average miles
I have only had these for about 1,500 miles and this is their first winter. There is plenty of wear left on these but frankly when they're cold (5-0 C) they scare me shitless. Corners have to be taken tentatively as the front slides at any chance. Until they get warmed up they will track any deviations in the road. Awful. Will go back to bridgestones.
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-29 23:49:57
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre