Vauxhall Omega Tyres

Drive a Vauxhall Omega ? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Vauxhall Omega
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (148) 94% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85% 88% 87% 2,677,203
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,266,907
Matador MP 44 Elite 3 (16) 90% 84% 85% 71% 81% 78% 88% 82% 65,313
Vredestein Sportrac 3 (60) 85% 91% 80% 80% 76% 79% 85% 82% 658,266
Avon Ice Touring ST (40) 81% 86% 74% 72% 82% 81% 88% 81% 292,536
Continental Sport Contact 3 (242) 87% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,243,337
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74% 74% 76% 1,643,400
Michelin Primacy HP (196) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 76% 65% 75% 4,323,594
Michelin Pilot Primacy (50) 79% 75% 71% 68% 85% 71% 65% 73% 974,067
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT (47) 84% 74% 74% 75% 63% 64% 51% 69% 491,560
Nexen N3000 (45) 73% 55% 63% 62% 63% 67% 57% 63% 753,482
Accelera Alpha (128) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 57% 49% 55% 1,078,616
Pirelli P6000 (170) 66% 47% 55% 48% 67% 61% 38% 55% 2,433,782
Runway ENDURO 916 Plus (45) 66% 53% 52% 54% 62% 41% 44% 53% 487,884
Falken ZE512 (27) 67% 47% 52% 50% 45% 55% 33% 50% 242,782
Sunny SN3980 (3) 47% 30% 27% 37% 53% 47% 23% 38% 47,000

Vauxhall Omega Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Pirelli P6000 given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 70000 spirited miles
I'm currently on my third set of these tyres, and I'm really happy with them. They last for ever (20,000m plus), and just work. I used to have Pirelli P7s on the car until my local garage told me that these would be better (due to it not getting warm enough here for the P7s to get up to temperature fast enough etc), and as these were cheaper, I couldn't resist.

I've been really surprised by all the negative reviews on here - I wonder how much of it is due to driver behaviour? I've only slightly lost the back end of my car once, and it was really raining at the time - I should have known better...
tyre reviewed on 2012-11-01 23:52:32
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 93% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 21000 spirited miles
Fitted a set of 4 of these to my rear wheel drive V6 Omega. Lasted for around 21000 miles all round which i thought was pretty good going. Amazing grip in the wet and even better in the dry. Through the car into alot of corners and the tyres never gave up even down to the last 2mm. Highly recommend them.
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-13 19:06:30
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 given 91% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
First, in south uk we rarely get snow so not worth winter tyres, but when we did in 2010/11, abandon all hope all those who drive on sc3. Stay at home. They fail to stop, ever.
Very pleased in all other areas though, as they seem to suit large rear wheel drive cars, would ask for less noise, although quieter than Dunlop sportmax/tt. Wear approaching 20k if my notes are correct, with exceptional wet/dry grip, straight line high speed stability, feedback, with plenty of warning before they let go. Excellent tyre IMO.
Massive improvement over appallingly unstable Falken 452/912(how are these tyres allowed on sale?) although they get good reviews on smaller front wheel drive cars somehow. Very quiet though.
Merc owner a few pages back said beware inner shoulder wear. That is a camber set up issue fault of the car. Do not blame the tyre for this.
...And the two Audi owners rightly state this is a summer tyre only but there's no way I'm paying out £4-500 on winter tyres in southern England for 1 week of bad weather. Beware the snow.

Am I the only one not suprised front wheel drive cars wear more on the front, yet the owners don't mention rotating them to the back axle...?
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-22 07:06:38
Writing about the Avon Ice Touring ST given 90% (195-65-15-T)
Driving on mostly motorways for 3000 easy going miles
Last winter I drove from UK back to camp in Germany. In germany we have a lot more snow... and winter tyres are a common site on cars.
The journey i did is over 400miles. When i got back their was 3-4 foot of snow, and similar all across europe. The ICE TOURING Tyres were fantastic, the grip and confidence they give is well worth the cost outlay. ive covered about 3000miles on these tyres in snow and ice.
This year I have refitted the same tyres as they are NOT worn out. I would recommend to everyone to use these or any winter tyres. My father was so impressed he has now got these on his car.
Anyone that tells you that winter tyres dont work and are a waste of money< you can be sure they have never used them.. Why would it be LAW in Austria, latvia, Finland, Sweden and now Germany, if they did not work?
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-01 09:53:29
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT given 86% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 24000 spirited miles
One of the best tyres I've driven on a Vauxhall Omega, if not the best. Directional stability, raw grip, braking performance are all superb for a road tyre. The downside is a life of about 11-12k from the rears (RWD) and double from fronts. Grip and stability maintained to long below the UK legal limit. The level of feedback allows you to get the maximum out of them, and with a predictability that inspires confidence. All this with a comfortable ride, although a bit of tyre noise.
tyre reviewed on 2013-03-18 16:14:07
Writing about the Michelin Primacy HP given 84% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 24000 spirited miles
Fitted a set of 4 to my rear wheel driver V6 Omega. Previously to these I had a set of 4 Michelin PS2's which last for around 21000 miles. I replaced with the Primacy HP's as it was all they had in stock. Whilst the ride was very slightly more comfortable I did lose some grip. That said, I drive my cars very hard and to the average driver you probably wouldn't notice. The grip, however, was still very good and these lasted a bit longer - around 24000 miles all round.
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-13 19:09:58
Writing about the Vredestein Sportrac 3 given 81% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 18000 spirited miles
I put these on an Omega which previously was lethal in the wet. After I fitted these it would drive like it was on rails, wet or dry - highly recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2011-03-24 17:20:57
Writing about the Avon ZZ3 given 80% (225-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 spirited miles
A good performance tyre with a great tread pattern which helps stability these were great replacements for the awful Yokos that I bought the car with.
tyre reviewed on 2010-05-23 17:01:41
Writing about the Accelera Alpha given 79% (225-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 50000 spirited miles
Perhaps these are better suited to RWD cars. I'm on my 2nd set on a large saloon car and find them quite good. They are, after all, a "budget tyre" but seem to handle well. Perhaps geometry setup plays a big part too as I have recently changed the track rod ends for an MOT and the handling is slightly worse than it was before. Needs another full setup to give a fair comparison though. I found them quite capable in the snow/ice as long as consideration was given to the conditions.
tyre reviewed on 2011-03-01 14:26:20
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 77% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Along with the (no longer available) Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3, these are probably one of the best sets of tyres I've ever had fitted to my car. Whilst they do have a few very minor points against them, in terms of pure grip and safety (even when pushed hard) these Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta tyres do a great job of holding the road.

Grip in the dry is awesome for both acceleration/braking and cornering, better than the old Goodyear Eagle F1s they replaced.
Despite their somewhat unique tread pattern, wet grip is equally impressive although I feel/suspect that the newer Eagle F1s would be fractionally better. In terms of handling, it would be hard to fault these tyres.

Progressiveness and feedback are good and you do get a sense of when the tyres are reaching their limit of adhesion, again better than the old F1 GSD3 tyres they replaced (which although very grippy would just snap away when the limit was reached), but I still think they could be just a little better in this area (if that's how you wish to drive around).

Comfort is good for this type of higher performance tyre and it doesn't give a 'solid' ride, but leads me on to the minor irritations. Road feedback, whilst still good is not as good as some other great tyres, and the Ultrac Sessanta just doesn't give you as good a sense of being connected. I suspect that is more down to the tyre being a bit softer than others. Depending on what you want you may see this as a good or bad thing.

The real areas I can fault them on are:
Wear is not a great aspect of these tyres, but there's no reason you wouldn't see maybe 10000 miles out of a set even with slightly spirited driving.

Also road noise. Inside the car there is no issue, but if you have your windows open you can definitely hear them at speed. Also, and this may be down to my particular tyre size, at certain speeds they can make a particularly irritating noise (again, on the outside, not inside the car). On the plus side though, as they have worn down, they haven't really gotten worse.
tyre reviewed on 2012-09-06 21:50:07
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre