Volkswagen Touareg Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen Touareg? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen Touareg
Toyo Proxes ST (12) 92% 88% 89% 73% 92% 91% 92% 88% 221,714
Hankook Ventus ST (17) 88% 83% 85% 84% 94% 88% 92% 88% 10,526,040
Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme (43) 86% 89% 84% 79% 82% 88% 97% 87% 434,283
General Grabber UHP (19) 90% 85% 83% 76% 86% 85% 85% 84% 607,810
Michelin Latitude Sport 3 (16) 87% 85% 84% 84% 77% 76% 81% 82% 193,700
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric SUV (10) 90% 83% 88% 84% 63% 90% 71% 81% 75,150
Toyo Proxes T1 Sport (49) 90% 79% 86% 84% 67% 78% 74% 80% 393,670
General Grabber AT3 (14) 83% 77% 76% 74% 83% 82% 75% 79% 331,900
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (269) 84% 92% 78% 78% 64% 83% 76% 79% 2,016,705
Uniroyal RainSport 3 SUV (5) 86% 100% 74% 58% 58% 84% 72% 76% 57,000
Avon ZX7 (27) 87% 84% 77% 77% 57% 81% 63% 75% 175,956
Continental Eco Contact 3 (53) 80% 78% 72% 68% 74% 77% 66% 73% 1,132,800
Michelin Diamaris (3) 83% 70% 77% 73% 53% 80% 70% 72% 81,000
Continental Cross Contact UHP (31) 86% 79% 75% 74% 53% 72% 64% 72% 757,387
Pirelli Scorpion Verde (43) 78% 71% 68% 68% 62% 71% 54% 67% 825,949
Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport (65) 79% 64% 68% 63% 72% 63% 58% 67% 965,089
Radar Dimax R8 plus (8) 79% 70% 63% 68% 68% 60% 58% 66% 93,103
Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season (44) 79% 63% 75% 72% 75% 71% 62% 64% 713,557
Bridgestone Turanza ER30 (42) 78% 61% 66% 61% 71% 56% 48% 63% 1,018,238

Volkswagen Touareg Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Toyo Proxes ST given 100% (255-55-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9000 spirited miles
I just took my Touareg for a service having done 9000 miles since I put four Toyo on. The garage recorded that I had 7mm on the fronts and 8mm on the back. A great tyre that suits the car well.
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-07 19:23:58
Writing about the Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport given 100% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 24000 average miles
i've a 2008 Touareg 3TDI v6. The Bridgestone Duellers i fitted last year have given me 24,000 miles (39,000km) which i was very very impressed with. a mix of country roads and motorway. I do no trailer pulling either. The wear is pretty even, good grip etc. I'd definitely recommend paying the bit extra for Bridgestone, as they've given fantastic mileage.
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-15 12:53:44
Writing about the General Grabber UHP given 96% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 230000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-27 11:52:30
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 average miles
I brought a full set of the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 back on 22 June 2016 and put them on my 2014 VW Touareg, These tyres are fantastic, The road grip in all conditions is superb and the mileage I have got from these is 20,000 on the front and 22,000 miles on the back tyres. My service last week advised I change them soon as they are down to 1.6mm on the rear.

I will definately be fitting these again and have also fitted them all around to the wife's Tiguan. These tyres stop very efficiently and quickly, the A rating on the wet grip gives brilliant stopping in the dry. I absolutely recommend these tyres and I'm just starting my second full set after 2 years. I think with the softer rubber manufacturers are using have given me outstanding wear considering I do a combination long, short and medium distance driving and did not rotate my tyres. I also drive spirited and easy going so the tyres have had me giving hard driving into bends to test the grip.

For a 2 ton vehicle to get that sort of mileage nowadays is impressive, very under rated tyre,
Regards
K. Oscar
tyre reviewed on 2018-06-08 08:32:20
Writing about the Michelin Diamaris given 91% (225-55-17-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 50000 average miles
Bought the Touareg with Dunlop tyres, which were very noisy and only lasted 10k miles. Switched to Diamaris all round. A revelation! Much smoother quieter ride and better handling. From memory about 22k miles for the front tyres, and more for the rears.
tyre reviewed on 2011-10-24 16:58:28
Writing about the Toyo Proxes ST given 91% (275-45-19-)
Driving on mostly town for 12500 average miles
After using the premium brands, Conti, Bridge, Pir, I tried Toyo Proxes ST, WOW managed approx. 12500miles on front set and 15000miles on rears normally get between 8-10k on others, always even tyre wear and good rim protector on Toyo Proxes ST . Yes spirited driving some times, not always, due to tyre and fuel prices. Would buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2013-02-24 21:01:49
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme given 90% (255-55-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Tyres are on my 08 Touareg SE 3.0 V6. Exceptional is the word. Tyres are quiet and summer like in the dry, not particularly affecting noise levels or fuel economy at all (perhaps slightly in town traffic). When wet or snowing tyres respond brilliantly. I live in Aberdeenshire - this very morning it snowed and iced up overnight, car handled great with other 4x4's losing traction (which I'm sure mine would have if I'd kept my summer Conti's on!). They are pricey at about ?600 fitted but considering their longevity (wear wise) and the fact that they are not too far behind Michelin for quality, I think all round they're a good option and investment (particularly if you live in an area where road snow is frequent or expected).
tyre reviewed on 2010-11-25 10:45:40
Writing about the Hankook Ventus ST given 89% (275-50-19-W)
Driving on mostly town for 35000 average miles
I ran these tyres twice on my old 2007 VW Touareg V8. That thing chewed up tyres very quickly. These were the longest lasting and most evenly wearing tyre I ran. Other tyres lasted as little as 12,000km. The Hankook Ventus RH06 lasted a good 30,000+km. Not great but still way better than all the other tyres I ran on that car and I clocked up 200,000+km before selling it.
tyre reviewed on 2018-07-16 06:21:30
Writing about the Avon ZX7 given 89% (275-45-20-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5000 spirited miles
2016 VW Touareg 3.0 tdi. OE Continentals were expensive at the time and tbh weren't great, although didn't have much to compare against and lasted 18k which sounds ok for a 2+ ton car (mainly motorway miles). These worked out around 200 less for 4. Just in for MOT, done 5k miles, 5/6/5 (in/centre/out) on fronts and 6/7/6 on rears, think i'll swap them round at service to even it out but looking good to at least match the originals. The car handles well, plenty of grip wet or dry, thick channels run round which is probably why they get a good wet rating but had no issues in dry either. Noise wise, these things are fantastic. The car was quiet enough but the road noise now is negligible - for a big heavy car with fat wheels the cabin is incredibly quiet at, ahem, motorway speeds. If I get c20k miles out of these I will be well impressed and will buy again. Oh, the rubber protects the alloys too, which the originals didn't (unfortunately, when you have to park so close to the kerb in London), so another plus. Might not be a "premium" brand but def a premium tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-20 15:41:18
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric SUV given 83% (275-45-20-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-18 06:01:48
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre