tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Vredestein Ultrac Cento


Show all: Vredestein tyres, Passenger Car Summer Ultra High Performance tyres
The Vredestein Ultrac Cento is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 14 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 98,020 miles driven.
 


Vredestein Ultrac Cento
Dry Grip
84%

Wet Grip
79%

Road Feedback
75%

Progressiveness
74%

Wear
82%

Comfort
84%

Buy again
83%


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £59.00 - £71.30 (6 prices)
225/45 R17 £71.19 - £85.00 (6 prices)
225/40 R18 £81.43 - £90.70 (3 prices)
Available in 30 tyre sizes - View all.

Vredestein Ultrac Cento Reviews

Given 79% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo S80 2.4 petrol (225-50-17-R)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
Impressed with these types, good fuel economy, lasted 20,000 miles on a big Volvo, good grip too. My last types on this car were Goodyears and the Vredesteins lasted a touch longer and gripped just as well.
tyre reviewed on April 1, 2014   
Given 80% (breakdown) while driving a Peugeot (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9,400 average miles
Very good dry grip, when wet the fronts start wiggling a bit. Not as comfortable as michelin primacies but way more comfortable than the dunlops I had before. After 15.000km signs of excessive wear, very little wear in fact.
Good tyres with great pricetag!

Definetly recommend them and would buy them again. Also like to try out the ultrac sessanta´s though.
tyre reviewed on December 12, 2013   
Looking to buy the Vredestein Ultrac Cento? Click here to search for the best price for the Vredestein Ultrac Cento or any other tyre.
 
Given 60% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4,000 easy going miles
Am trying a pair for the first time. Only done 4000 so far, but 1000 of that was fast motorway driving 10 months ago. They replaced Michelin Primacy's. I was initially a little concerned with the central ribbing with these, and how they would be in the bad weather, so I put them on the front.
By the very fact that I don't have a lot to say about them, tells the story. So far, they have been great - nothing wrong. They were very slightly softer on the steering wheel than the Michelins,,,,, but there is always 'some' difference when fitting new tyres.

I am now going to dump the quarter worn Marangonis on the rear (before someone gets killed) so will try another model Vredestein - with more chunky tread for better drive grip.
Will update when its done.
tyre reviewed on December 30, 2012   
Given 91% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 318D (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 35,000 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on April 24, 2012   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Alfa Romeo 159 (225-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 3,000 spirited miles
Did some research and compared these to the Bridgestone's I had on before. Bridgestone's were quite and grippy but £50 a tyre more expensive.
So I wanted the Sessantas but there are none suited to my Alfa. I was advised to give these a go. I cover a lot of miles and did 1000 in the first week on the new Centro's (design by the stylist for my car coincidentally).
The tyres took a while to bed in and as a result MPG suffered failing to get above 46MPG compared to the usual 50. Since then and in mixed conditions they have added an extra 4mpg (54mpg) compared to the Bridgestones.
The weather is getting worse and I read some other reviewers concerns about these tyres in snow and ice so will update when the weather reaches that stage.
Overall great tyres so far, would say slightly more road noise than Bridgestones but it's not too bad considering the cost saving
tyre reviewed on December 7, 2011   
Given 99% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Superb II combi 2.0 tdi cr (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9,000 average miles
Excellent!!!! (if slightly noisy)
tyre reviewed on October 22, 2011   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen GT TDI 150 PD (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Was after a set of Sessantas after they came so highly recommended, but they were unavailable from local stockist so took a punt on these instead and i can say i've never looked back! Worth every penny, handling and grip is outstanding in all conditions, road noise is extremely low and they have out standing durability, looking as fresh as they did the day the were fitted back in December 2010.
tyre reviewed on August 16, 2011   
Given 97% (breakdown) while driving a Renault Megane (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Good tyres!
tyre reviewed on November 20, 2010   
Given 74% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Octavia (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on August 13, 2010   
Given 76% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Tdi 4 motion (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3,000 average miles
The Vredestein Cento does what it says; a very good all round tyre.
I replaced the Continental Sportcontact 3 which where on the car with these tyres.
The Conti Sport 3 is a very good tyre for handling and braking in both the dry and wet. However, it has a few drawbacks:-
Expensive
Poor wear rate
Increased fuel consumption; around 2 MPG less.
Tram lining
Tyres aged and went soft causing an acceleration lag

The Cento is virtually as go as the Conti Sport 3 for handling in the dry and wet.
Like the Conti, it is one of the few tyres which can cope with the Golf's torque in the wet.

Cento plus points:-
An all rounder.
Good handling in dry and wet.
Refined and comfortable, for a directional reinforced high performance tyre.
Strong tyre so very little acceleration lag.
Sit well on narrower width rims.
Reduced fuel consumption.
Reinforced tyre in 225/45 R17 is standard.
Very good value for money.

Cento lesser points:-
Feedback is acceptable, however, room for improvement.
Braking is good, just not excellent like the Conti Sport 3.
Limited availability.

Will I choose the Vredestein or Conti next time?
It would mainly come down to cost.
The Conti is the slightly better performer; just not worth the premium price, and then some more for the reinforced option.
tyre reviewed on April 16, 2010   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: