tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3


Show all: Michelin tyres, Passenger Car Summer Max Performance tyres
The Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 166 tyre reviews averaging 85% over 2,146,709 miles driven.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2
 


Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3
Dry Grip
91%

Wet Grip
90%

Road Feedback
86%

Progressiveness
85%

Wear
76%

Comfort
85%

Buy again
82%


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £62.41 - £93.60 (7 prices)
225/45 R17 £12.00 - £126.00 (14 prices)
225/40 R18 £91.36 - £213.34 (11 prices)
Available in 40 tyre sizes - View all.

Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 Reviews

Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus ST (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
5 weeks owning my focus mk2 st2 and first thing was to get the barum budgets off and some proper rubber on. Im running 320bhp with mods trough the front wheels so it needs a dam good tyre. Im pleased to say Im so happy with the pilot sport 3. They have totally changed to feel and ride and the grip is phenomenal in both dry and wet. In my opinion a must have for the st. 500 I paid for 4 spankers which may seem steep but it feels safe and planted with these bad boys on. Look no further.
tyre reviewed on July 20, 2014   
Given 97% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 328i Coupe (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Absolutely superb, these are a million miles better than £10-20 cheaper options

Dry and wet grip are very very good, I have used these on track and they don't come a far off the grip I get from Toyo Proxes R888 semi-slicks on the same car.

Road feeling is superb, they are quiet and you know all the time whats happening
tyre reviewed on July 18, 2014   
Looking to buy the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3? Click here to search for the best price for the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 or any other tyre.
 
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Alfa Romeo MiTo (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 32 spirited miles
Put 4 of these on to my Alfa Mito 1.4 turbo (155bhp) and have been impressed with their overall performance, as good in the wet as dry even good in snow. Have driven 52,000Kms on some challenging NZ road surfaces and they are just ready for replacement, excellent tyres.
tyre reviewed on July 5, 2014   
Given 63% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen MKV GTI (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
I BOUGHT A VW GOLF GTI EDITION 30 X4 BRAND NEW PILOT 3 SPORT.
PUSH THE CAR HARD INTO CORNERS AND THE CAR UNDERSTEERS??? PUSH IT HARD ON A ROUNDABOUT OR HARD BEND, THE BACK END OUT, CARNT DRIVE THIS CAR HARD AT ALL WITH THESE TYRES, I WILL DO MY RESEARCH, BUT I HAD BRIDGESTONE REO40'S ON THE HONDA AND PUT THE CAR WHERE I WANTED IT WITHOUT DRAMA. CAR OR TYRES? CARNT WAIT TO GET THEM OFF
tyre reviewed on June 24, 2014   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Suberb MkII (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12,500 spirited miles
I purchased my Superb last year (second hand 1.8TSI) and it had to have 3 new tyres for the MOT. I was expecting WingWong SuperSkiddy ditchfinders (as seems to be dealer practise these days). I was pleasantly surprised to find Michelin PS3s all round. These tyres have been nothing but almost faultless over the 12500 miles.

The ride is excellent and when the tyres are new have excellent dry and wet grip. They really are incredible in how much grip they can generate. In the biblical weather we had at Christmas / New Year they never put a foot wrong and made for a very comfortable and secure drive. I can't imagine being in a car with poor and cheap tyres in that weather (like the Gentleman at my office with an S63 AMG and Primewell tyres!).

However, when they get down below 2.5mm they go from neutral handling to understeer much quicker and the TCS light seems to wink at me much more. The noise levels increased as well and became droney at 70mph. This was quite a surprise given the handling with more tread depth. The only other tyre that I can remember doing this was the Vredestein Ultrac Sessantas. I never experienced the same level of drop off with the previous Hankook V12 Evo or S1 Evos on my Octavia Estate.

Wear was fair given the journey I do (30 mile commute with 18 roundabouts on NSL DC so is fairly hard on tyres). Previous Ultrac Sessantas lasted 8000miles and Hankook V12 Evos around 10,000miles. Given the grip levels and quality of the tyre I am fairly happy with that. I don't hang around and like to minimise my journey times.

Would I buy again? Yes but not this time. With the rave reviews of the Goodyear F1 Asymmetric 2, I have given that ago instead.

Summary: Excellent tyre in the dry and wet with a keen turn in and good ride comfort. Wear is better than previous tyres on the same road. Would buy again.
tyre reviewed on June 23, 2014   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo S40 (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
Very good set of tires...I have changed again for PS3
tyre reviewed on June 23, 2014   
Given 53% (breakdown) while driving a Nissan 200sx (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Very good traction while accelerating and braking on dry and wet, but not while cornering. Hard dry cornering makes the tire collapse under. Vague feedback, didnt feel I can trust my tires. Some feedback is there but it comes half a second too late. Side walls are very, very soft making it really comfortable and silent tire. Like you´re driving on a cloud. Car continues to wobble after you push its side while parked or make sudden steering on freeway. Really scary. Tested with many tire pressures also.

I had everything else checked in my car cause I could not believe it was the tires. Loaned a different brand set from a friend and problem solved..

This tire is marketed as sporty but in my opinion it is not for the spirited nor sporty driver, but for your grandma. Will not buy again. Ever.
tyre reviewed on June 13, 2014   
Given 56% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Leon Cupra R 225 (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Had these put on my cupra r as they were recomended too me. Have had them on for 8 months and done about 10,000 miles. Where resonably quiet on the motorway and handled well in corners on the country lanes.

The front 2 are now on the 1.6mm bar and rears are not far behind. Are great tyres when driving but expected them too last longer.

Had an issue with major wheel spinning wnen setting off quick, thought these might solve it but no, still spins alot in dry and very bad in the wet.
tyre reviewed on May 22, 2014   
Given 96% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Fiesta ST (205-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Awesome tyres ! Never experienced grip this good before ! When driving in the rain I notice no loss of grip whereas with my previous new tyres the car slid during fast cornering. The car used to lean when cornering which I assumed was the suspension but with the PS3s' it takes cornering at warp speed to lean as the tyres have such great shoulders....it just grips ! Placed different tyres on the back and became a drifter round fast corners and on wet roads so just put PS3s'on back to match the front and car is incredibly fun to drive. Best tyres for Fez and if you buy through F1 using the price promise and apply for the Michelin fuel card when on offer you get premium tyres for lower mid-range cost !
tyre reviewed on May 7, 2014   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 520d M Sport (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 36,000 average miles
Excellent performance. My front tyres did 36,000 miles and rear did 18,000 on a rear wheel drive car. £175 fitted at Kwikfit online. Easily recommend.
tyre reviewed on May 2, 2014   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: