Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 85%
Handling 84%
Wear 74%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 80%

The Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Sport 4

Show All

Tyre review data from 263 tyre reviews averaging 84% over 3,520,472 miles driven.

Reports

Tyre Test Highlights

2013 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Overall - Another old pattern on test, the Michelin seems to have fared better than the Pirelli and matched its 2010 and 2011 results, placing second overall. Winning both the aquaplaning tests the Michelin was extremely strong in all wet tests, fast during wet handling with the only criticism aimed towards the front end bite. The PS3 struggled a little in the dry where it lacked sharpness, but it held on well enough for a fifth place. A quiet tyre, the Pilot Sport 3 struggled a little in rolling resistance but overall placed extremely well. A good tyre.

2013 Sport Auto Max Performance Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Overall - The Michelin Pilot Sport 3 is one of the best in the dry, with a high level of grip and good high speed stability. When wet, the steering feel is still excellent but it lacks some of the ultimate grip of the top wet runners.

2011 Auto Express Ultra High Performance Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Overall - The new Michelin Pilot Sport 3 scored well, matching last years second place with a strong performance. Perhaps indicating the scoring weighting was a little bit too towards aquaplaning (where it finished 1st and 2nd) the Michelin scored 9th in wet corning and 10th in dry braking but pulled back some points with a 3rd in wet handling and 4th in wet braking.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/50 R15 82V   F A 71  
195/45 R16 84V XL   E A 71  
195/45 R16 84V XL   F A 71  
205/45 R16 83V   F A 71  
205/45 R16 87W XL   F A 71  
205/45 R16 87W XL   E A 71  
215/45 R16 90V XL AO E A 71  
215/45 R16 90V XL   E B 71  
205/50 R16 87V   F A 71  
205/50 R16 87V   E A 71  
205/55 R16 91V   F A 71  
205/55 R16 91W   E A 71  
205/55 R16 94W XL   E A 70  
205/55 R16 91W   F A 71  
215/40 R17 87W XL   E A 71  
245/40 R17 91Y   F A 71  
205/45 R17 84W   F A 71  
205/45 R17 88W XL   E A 71  
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 70  
215/45 R17 91W XL   E A 71  
225/45 R17 94W XL   E A 71  
225/45 R17 94Y XL   E A 71  
225/45 R17 91Y   F A 71  
225/45 R17 91V   F A 71  
235/45 R17 97Y XL   E A 71  
245/45 R17 99Y XL   E A 71  
205/50 R17 93W XL   E A 71  
225/50 R17 98Y XL   E A 71  
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 73  
255/35 R18 94Y XL   E A 71  
265/35 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
275/35 R18 99Y XL   E A 71  
275/35 R18 95Y   F A 71  
285/35 R18 101Y XL   E A 73  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 71  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71  
225/40 R18 92W XL   E A 71  
225/40 R18 92W XL   E A 71  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71  
235/40 R18 95W XL   E A 71  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 71  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 93Y   F A 71  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 93Y   F A 71  
255/40 R18 99Y XL   E A 71  
215/45 R18 93W XL   E A 71  
225/45 R18 91V   E A 71  
225/45 R18 95V XL   E A 71  
225/45 R18 91W   E A 71  
235/45 R18 98Y XL   E A 71  
235/45 R18 98Y XL   E A 71  
245/45 R18 96V   E A 71  
245/45 R18 100W XL   E A 70  
285/30 R19 98Y XL   E A 73  
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 70  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 73  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 71  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 71  
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 73  
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R19 94Y   E A 71  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R19 0 XL   E A 71  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 71  
275/40 R19 105Y XL   E A 71  
275/40 R19 0 XL   E A 71  
275/40 R19 101Y   C A 71  
275/40 R19 101Y          
235/45 R19 99W XL   E A 71  
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 71  
285/30 R20 99Y XL   E A 73  
285/35 R20 104Y XL   E A 73  
255/40 R20 101Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R20 101Y XL   E A 71  

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

2016-05-25 - Currently I am using 235/45/18r and planning to change all 4 tyres. Can I replace all 4 tyres to 235/50/18r?

Whether you can make the swap depends on your vehicle suspension layout offering clearance. Usually there should be enough room, but remember changing tyre size affects your vehicle speedo, and is classified as a modification so will need to be declared to the insurance company.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £120.20 - £123.90 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £94.82 - £136.00 (33 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £119.95 - £134.10 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 34 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 Review

Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 530i (235/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
AWESOME.
Stick like stuff to a blanket in the wet, brilliant feedback it's like they are one with the tarmac.
Comfortable, great stopping distance feedback nice understeer. What more can I say.

Replaced Eagle F1's which had developed a nasty vibration due to collapsed casings, even with 5K still left to go.

Purchasing again.

54 - tyre reviewed on July 13, 2016   

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Pilot Sport 3 PS3.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 41% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus ST250 (235/35 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
.. not friendly tyre if you have a sport hothatch. PS4 is 1000 times better.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 6, 2018   
Given 97% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (205/55 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 60,000 easy going miles
These were fitted after BR Turanza ER30. Bought for 75€ / tyre in 2014.
Grip on the dry surface was perfect and handling/feedback awesome. I made with this set even 60.000km in 5 Seasons. Ok, the residual tread has finished on markers. However, wear is upon driving style dependent. They are noisy almost same as ER30.
Now I bought Dunlop Sport Maxx RT because successor PS 4 is from my point of view expensive and PS3 was no more available. The first impression comparing with PS3:
- they are not noisy such as PS3, noise reduction is noticable.
- side walls are softer and this have impact on handling (subjective: rear side of car have tensions to swimming if you change direction suddenly. ) Dispite to this feeling, they keep you on track.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 1, 2018   
Looking for the fastest tyres for your car? Watch this video!
Given 77% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A6 S line, LeMans 2.0 TDi 170 (255/35 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Had new Continentals AO before I went for The Pilot Sport 3 but they only lasted about 15,000 miles on the front on my Audi A6 and about 28,000 on the rear. Can confirm that the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 have lasted 25,000 miles on the front and an incredible 47,000 miles on the the rear and still have 1mm left on the rear before I go illegal. Maybe I could of swopped the front for the rear at about 20,000 but didn't. That said I am going onto the Pilot sport 4 and hoping for more longevity as my past experience with Michelin is all about Longevity. Forget all that wet and dry braking stuff, no average driving can fully be accurate on this subjectivity. But hard facts on millage...now thats something we can all accurately report on. I know they could make a tyre that could last for 100,000 miles but where would the profit be in that? Proving Michelin use a compound better and longer lasting than any other.
2 - tyre reviewed on July 7, 2018   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Honda 1.8 iVTEC Es (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Tyres came with Honda Civic 2010 1.8 petrol. 225/40/R18 XL Y. I was completely amazed at how tactile these tyres were. They communicated everything that was happening, the steering felt precise and direct. While traveling on motorways the car felt very stable and secure. I couldn't believe how good the tyres were.
Dry grip was brilliant as was handling, grip in wet also very good although being older and wiser I never tried to imitate Ayrton Senna! But equally in the wet the car never slid unless I purposely pushed it and then the tyres let you know in good time when they were starting to lose grip.
However, 8th Gen Civic's do have firm suspension, the one big negative of the tyres was the harsh ride. The tyres would crash loudly over poor road surfaces and didn't cushion the ride at all. Brilliant on good, flat roads, poor on imperfect road surfaces. I had the fronts replaced by Potenzas S001, the ride is still quite harsh, but not quite so severe, maybe 30% improvement, grip levels similar but only half the tactile feedback now.
One caveat to remember is the Civic's ride is known to be firm and rims are size 18 and both tyres reinforced. I would definitely buy Michelin again, and would get the latest PS4, but not while I have the Civic. I plan to replace all tyres with either Continental Premium Contact 6 or Goodyear Asymmetric 3s in the near future. I suspect PS4s probably have good comfort as well as their other test winning attributes, however the main focus on my next purchase will be ride comfort as the roads where I live are pretty poor.
2 - tyre reviewed on May 1, 2018   

See all 221 customer reviews of the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (newest first) >>