Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

Dry Grip 91%
Wet Grip 90%
Road Feedback 86%
Progressiveness 85%
Wear 74%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 81%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

The Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Sport 4

Show all

Tyre review data from 210 tyre reviews averaging 84% over 2,703,529 miles driven.

Reports

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/50 R15 82V   F A 71  
195/45 R16 84V XL   E A 71  
195/45 R16 84V XL   F A 71  
205/45 R16 83V   F A 71  
205/45 R16 87W XL   F A 71  
205/45 R16 87W XL   E A 71  
215/45 R16 90V XL AO E A 71  
215/45 R16 90V XL   E B 71  
205/50 R16 87V   F A 71  
205/50 R16 87V   E A 71  
205/55 R16 91V   F A 71  
205/55 R16 91W   E A 71  
205/55 R16 94W XL   E A 70  
205/55 R16 91W   F A 71  
215/40 R17 87W XL   E A 71  
245/40 R17 91Y   F A 71  
205/45 R17 84W   F A 71  
205/45 R17 88W XL   E A 71  
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 70  
215/45 R17 91W XL   E A 71  
225/45 R17 94W XL   E A 71  
225/45 R17 94Y XL   E A 71  
225/45 R17 91Y   F A 71  
225/45 R17 91V   F A 71  
235/45 R17 97Y XL   E A 71  
245/45 R17 99Y XL   E A 71  
205/50 R17 93W XL   E A 71  
225/50 R17 98Y XL   E A 71  
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 73  
255/35 R18 94Y XL   E A 71  
265/35 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
275/35 R18 99Y XL   E A 71  
275/35 R18 95Y   F A 71  
285/35 R18 101Y XL   E A 73  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 71  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71  
225/40 R18 92W XL   E A 71  
225/40 R18 92W XL   E A 71  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71  
235/40 R18 95W XL   E A 71  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 71  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 93Y   F A 71  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 93Y   F A 71  
255/40 R18 99Y XL   E A 71  
215/45 R18 93W XL   E A 71  
225/45 R18 91V   E A 71  
225/45 R18 95V XL   E A 71  
225/45 R18 91W   E A 71  
235/45 R18 98Y XL   E A 71  
235/45 R18 98Y XL   E A 71  
245/45 R18 96V   E A 71  
245/45 R18 100W XL   E A 70  
285/30 R19 98Y XL   E A 73  
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 70  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 73  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 71  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 71  
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 73  
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R19 94Y   E A 71  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R19 0 XL   E A 71  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 71  
275/40 R19 105Y XL   E A 71  
275/40 R19 0 XL   E A 71  
275/40 R19 101Y   C A 71  
275/40 R19 101Y          
235/45 R19 99W XL   E A 71  
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 71  
285/30 R20 99Y XL   E A 73  
285/35 R20 104Y XL   E A 73  
255/40 R20 101Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R20 101Y XL   E A 71  

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

2016-05-25 - Currently I am using 235/45/18r and planning to change all 4 tyres. Can I replace all 4 tyres to 235/50/18r?

Whether you can make the swap depends on your vehicle suspension layout offering clearance. Usually there should be enough room, but remember changing tyre size affects your vehicle speedo, and is classified as a modification so will need to be declared to the insurance company.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

 
Size Price Range  
195/50 R15 £46.18 - £56.50 (11 prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £60.72 - £85.20 (20 prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £77.60 - £104.54 (21 prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £74.40 - £97.96 (28 prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £106.73 - £137.50 (27 prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 40 tyre sizes - View all.

Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 Reviews

Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a Renault Megane (205/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
context :
after several sports cars i had to settle on this wagon for money and familly reasons.
bought the car with half worn cheap silverstone evol8 on 4 corners.
ditched them before the limit as they where bad and wore too slowly
my engine is low power but i don't like to slow down in corners so now with just 4 ps3 and 4 bilstein shocks it is a momentum car
tyre :
in the dry i obviously can't fault traction but it is very hard to make it understeer anymore and not reasonably on public road
in the wet grip is impressive and they let go very progressively and grip back very early. I recently made 200 km of motorway at 135 km/h gps speed with governor under heavy rain with great confidence
braking is good especially in the wet
confort and especially noise are an improvement over previous cheap tyre
i was surprised my fuel consumption went down about 0.5 L from 10 to 9.5l/100km and wear is good so far (35000 km estimated)
steering could be more precise but as my car is not a sports car anyway i am happy trading a little steering for more confort

i would choose a different tyre for a real sports car (pss, ps4, csc6; eagle F1 asym3) but for fast and safe touring they are great even if they are a bit expensive (500 euros for 4 fitted)
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on May 28, 2016   
Driving a Ford (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
I bought these tyres two and a half years ago and have driven them for 20000 miles. They are the worst Michelin set I have had for years .The car was spining during the start and braking deteriorated after 10000 miles especially when cold or in the city.The wear rate was fast.This was not what i expected from michelin sport tyres.This was the reason i switched to contisport contact 5 for my other car which proved to be a trully superior tyre.Sorry Michelin but u should take care of longstanding customers by the performance you advertise..
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on May 14, 2016   
Given 91% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Leon Cupra R 225 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
i brought these tyres February last year and certainly wasn't disappointed, i needed a pair of tyres on the front of the car to replace the mullered conti sport contact 3's that i bought the car on. for me given the car and the power it had, i wasn't going to settle with cheap tyres or ones that had less than great reviews. i have worked in the tyre industry for nearly 10 years and through customer recommendations and through my knowledge i took the plunge and bought ps3's. so glad i did. nice and quiet, stick to the road like the proverbial to a blanket, great in the wet, amazing feedback, soft forgiving sidewalls but nothing in the way of understeer, absolutely love them, probably got around 12000miles to a pair which i consider good for my car as its driven quite hard. I'm looking to replace very soon, now I'm torn weather to stick to what i know or up[grade to the ps4...
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on April 26, 2016   
Given 89% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Ibiza FR 1.8T (215/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 21,000 spirited miles
The best tyres I've ever had, extremely grippy wet and dry. The tyres lasted a lot longer than i expected. I highly recommend these tyres, I've just ordered a new pair. Very confident in tyre performance on a wet road.

Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on March 29, 2016   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI (225/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 50,000 spirited miles
amazing tyres! great in all respects
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on March 16, 2016   
Given 89% (breakdown) while driving a Subaru wrx turbo (205/50 R16) on mostly town for 5,000 spirited miles
Very comfortable tyre and brilliant compliance compared to previous Bridgestone RE001s on there. They don't feel anywhere near as sticky however the wear and comfort between the 2 are on completely different levels. Would definitely buy again and helps especially with the road noise and harshness of a classic model WRX.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on March 2, 2016   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A4 1.8T Quattro (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 22,000 average miles
Very good tyres. Superb handling in dry and wet. Never had any problem although they did wear a bit too fast. Recently sold my car so I don't know how they did when worn more. For the 35k kilometers I drove them they were excellent. For the hot Greek roads in the summer the soft compound of Michelin is currently the best.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on February 9, 2016   
Driving a Ford c max (235/40 R18 V) on mostly country roads for 13,000 average miles
Wet and dry grip are excellent and the tyres are comfortable enough. Noise is not an issue as any tyres tend to be noisy on the rough finish secondary roads of the rural area where they are used. This means that I am much more concerned about grip and stability and these tyres do this very well indeed particularly so when travelling quickly on twisting narrow roads with sudden dips and climbs off camber. Wear is not what you may reasonably expect from a premium tyre even allowing for the abrasive surfaces that they spend most of the time on. The fronts lasted 13K before they needed replacing and dropped off quite quickly. On long distance motorway/autobahn trips they were fine, not intrusively noisy.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on February 4, 2016   
Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a Ford c max (225/40 R18 V) on mostly country roads for 13,000 average miles
Wet and dry grip are excellent and the tyres are comfortable enough. Noise is not an issue as any tyres tend to be noisy on the rough finish secondary roads of the rural area where they are used. This means that I am much more concerned about grip and stability and these tyres do this very well indeed particularly so when travelling quickly on twisting narrow roads with sudden dips and climbs off camber. Wear is not what you may reasonably expect from a premium tyre even allowing for the abrasive surfaces that they spend most of the time on. The fronts lasted 13K before they needed replacing and dropped off quite quickly. On long distance motorway/autobahn trips they were fine, not intrusively noisy.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on February 4, 2016   
Given 94% (breakdown) while driving a Subaru Legacy 3.0R Spec B (225/40 R18 W) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
Started by buying these tyres after having a asian made cheap tyre. Thought of it as a treat for myself.
From the outset I the car felt better! Half the road noise and much less rolling resistance. In the dry felt planted to the road. In the wet you still felt attached to the road, took a fair push to make the tyres break traction. The fuel consumption in my case went from 13.8 to 13.4 over time. I am very happy with the tyres paying some of their cost back that way. Living in Melbourne Australia, the road conditions never get that bad in real terms. But these tyres are great!
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on December 7, 2015   
Advertisement