Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

Dry Grip 91%
Wet Grip 90%
Road Feedback 86%
Progressiveness 85%
Wear 74%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 81%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

The Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Sport 4

Show all

Tyre review data from 204 tyre reviews averaging 84% over 2,591,529 miles driven.

Reports

 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £60.72 - £85.00 (19 prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £74.98 - £82.34 (24 prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £87.76 - £111.80 (19 prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £148.00 - £186.20 (5 prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 41 tyre sizes - View all.

Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 Reviews

Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A4 1.8T Quattro (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22,000 average miles
Very good tyres. Superb handling in dry and wet. Never had any problem although they did wear a bit too fast. Recently sold my car so I don't know how they did when worn more. For the 35k kilometers I drove them they were excellent. For the hot Greek roads in the summer the soft compound of Michelin is currently the best.
tyre reviewed on February 9, 2016   
Given 0% (breakdown) while driving a Ford c max (235-40-18-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 13,000 average miles
Wet and dry grip are excellent and the tyres are comfortable enough. Noise is not an issue as any tyres tend to be noisy on the rough finish secondary roads of the rural area where they are used. This means that I am much more concerned about grip and stability and these tyres do this very well indeed particularly so when travelling quickly on twisting narrow roads with sudden dips and climbs off camber. Wear is not what you may reasonably expect from a premium tyre even allowing for the abrasive surfaces that they spend most of the time on. The fronts lasted 13K before they needed replacing and dropped off quite quickly. On long distance motorway/autobahn trips they were fine, not intrusively noisy.
tyre reviewed on February 4, 2016   
Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a Ford c max (225-40-18-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 13,000 average miles
Wet and dry grip are excellent and the tyres are comfortable enough. Noise is not an issue as any tyres tend to be noisy on the rough finish secondary roads of the rural area where they are used. This means that I am much more concerned about grip and stability and these tyres do this very well indeed particularly so when travelling quickly on twisting narrow roads with sudden dips and climbs off camber. Wear is not what you may reasonably expect from a premium tyre even allowing for the abrasive surfaces that they spend most of the time on. The fronts lasted 13K before they needed replacing and dropped off quite quickly. On long distance motorway/autobahn trips they were fine, not intrusively noisy.
tyre reviewed on February 4, 2016   
Given 94% (breakdown) while driving a Subaru Legacy 3.0R Spec B (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
Started by buying these tyres after having a asian made cheap tyre. Thought of it as a treat for myself.
From the outset I the car felt better! Half the road noise and much less rolling resistance. In the dry felt planted to the road. In the wet you still felt attached to the road, took a fair push to make the tyres break traction. The fuel consumption in my case went from 13.8 to 13.4 over time. I am very happy with the tyres paying some of their cost back that way. Living in Melbourne Australia, the road conditions never get that bad in real terms. But these tyres are great!
tyre reviewed on December 7, 2015   
Given 80% (breakdown) while driving a Jaguar S Type R (4.2 Supercharged) (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Very good grip in the dry, and good in wet conditions too. Very sporty tyres which suited my Jag S Type R very well but they seemed very lacking in comfort and a lot noisier than I'd have expected from a top end tyre.

I'm not sure I'd bug again as offerings from Goodyear, Dunlop and continental are cheaper and seem to get similar write ups. I'd hope the Goodyear's/Dunlop's would be quieter given the EU noise ratings they have.
tyre reviewed on December 5, 2015   
Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TDI 140 SLine (245-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15,000 easy going miles
great tyre but wear not as good as expected
tyre reviewed on November 8, 2015   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a BMW Z4 E86 3.0si Coupe (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
A tremendous tyre. In earlier days ran Bridgestone RFT's which without exaggeration were dangerous for their tramlining habits - on a Z4 coupe at least. Moved to [non-run-flat] Pilot Sport 3's on the rear after also fitting non-run-flat PS2's to the run, and the difference is night and day: the car rides beautifully considering a fairly stiff set-up to start with, behaves impeccably as a rule - no more tramlining to speak of, is a generally comfortable and pleasant tyre, and they have lasted very well indeed - 33,000 miles, which for a Z4 coupe I think is incredible. Finally need replacing now though, so a second set of PS3's has just been ordered. If your car suffers from tramlining or has a tendency to wear prematurely on cheaper tyres I can recommend the PS3 wholeheartedly - all in all they're fantastic value.
tyre reviewed on November 7, 2015   
Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Land Rover Range Rover Sport (275-40-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20,000 easy going miles
Beste tyre I ever had on the Range Rover Sport TDV8...Not noisy, very good handling dry and wet, absolut perfect..
What a difference after Continental 4x4 Sportcontact and Pirelli P Zero
tyre reviewed on November 1, 2015   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz E250 CDI (265-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Absolutely fantastic tyre. Not comparable to anything I have had before. The grip in dry conditions is truly amazing.
tyre reviewed on October 4, 2015   
Given 89% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.2 TSI 105HP (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22,000 spirited miles
Driven for 34,000KMs now, tyre starting to worn out at the inside cause of camber, still has 20% from the safety indicator. Very good tyre, grips great during dry and wet is pretty much just as good. Spirited driving and some trackdays.
tyre reviewed on September 25, 2015