Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 85%
Handling 85%
Wear 74%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 80%

The Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Sport 4

Show All

Tyre review data from 266 tyre reviews averaging 84% over 3,551,684 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2016 Test World Performance Tyre Test - 7th of 13 tyres

  • Positive - High resistance to aquaplaning
  • Negative - Poor lateral grip on wet surfaces, longer braking distance on dry roads

2016 ADAC Tyre Test - 225/45 R17 - 10th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Particularly good on dry roads, good in the wet
  • Negative - Relatively high wear

2015 Auto Express Tyre Test - 3rd of 11 tyres

  • Overall - While the Michelin Primacy 3 is a few years old, it still managed a great performance, excelling particularly in the aquaplaning tests where it won both the straight and curved aquaplaning.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/50 R15 82V   F A 71  
195/45 R16 84V XL   E A 71  
195/45 R16 84V XL   F A 71  
205/45 R16 83V   F A 71  
205/45 R16 87W XL   F A 71  
205/45 R16 87W XL   E A 71  
215/45 R16 90V XL AO E A 71  
215/45 R16 90V XL   E B 71  
205/50 R16 87V   F A 71  
205/50 R16 87V   E A 71  
205/55 R16 91V   F A 71  
205/55 R16 91W   E A 71  
205/55 R16 94W XL   E A 70  
205/55 R16 91W   F A 71  
215/40 R17 87W XL   E A 71  
245/40 R17 91Y   F A 71  
205/45 R17 84W   F A 71  
205/45 R17 88W XL   E A 71  
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 70  
215/45 R17 91W XL   E A 71  
225/45 R17 94W XL   E A 71  
225/45 R17 94Y XL   E A 71  
225/45 R17 91Y   F A 71  
225/45 R17 91V   F A 71  
235/45 R17 97Y XL   E A 71  
245/45 R17 99Y XL   E A 71  
205/50 R17 93W XL   E A 71  
225/50 R17 98Y XL   E A 71  
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 73  
255/35 R18 94Y XL   E A 71  
265/35 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
275/35 R18 99Y XL   E A 71  
275/35 R18 95Y   F A 71  
285/35 R18 101Y XL   E A 73  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 71  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71  
225/40 R18 92W XL   E A 71  
225/40 R18 92W XL   E A 71  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71  
235/40 R18 95W XL   E A 71  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 71  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 93Y   F A 71  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 93Y   F A 71  
255/40 R18 99Y XL   E A 71  
215/45 R18 93W XL   E A 71  
225/45 R18 91V   E A 71  
225/45 R18 95V XL   E A 71  
225/45 R18 91W   E A 71  
235/45 R18 98Y XL   E A 71  
235/45 R18 98Y XL   E A 71  
245/45 R18 96V   E A 71  
245/45 R18 100W XL   E A 70  
285/30 R19 98Y XL   E A 73  
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 70  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 73  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 71  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 71  
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 73  
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R19 94Y   E A 71  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R19 0 XL   E A 71  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 71  
275/40 R19 105Y XL   E A 71  
275/40 R19 0 XL   E A 71  
275/40 R19 101Y   C A 71  
275/40 R19 101Y          
235/45 R19 99W XL   E A 71  
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 71  
285/30 R20 99Y XL   E A 73  
285/35 R20 104Y XL   E A 73  
255/40 R20 101Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R20 101Y XL   E A 71  

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

2016-05-25 - Currently I am using 235/45/18r and planning to change all 4 tyres. Can I replace all 4 tyres to 235/50/18r?

Whether you can make the swap depends on your vehicle suspension layout offering clearance. Usually there should be enough room, but remember changing tyre size affects your vehicle speedo, and is classified as a modification so will need to be declared to the insurance company.


2018-12-31 - Which tyres are better for those who tried these 3? RE003 potenza by bridgestone or michelin ps3 or Hankook Ventus 12 evo 2? There is no ps4 option for 15 inch rims.

As far as I'm aware, no one has tested all three officially. The RE003 gets great reviews in America, but the people I know in the UK tend to prefer the Michelin.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £95.80 - £119.92 (32 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £118.00 - £138.40 (22 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 33 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 Review

Given 86% while driving a BMW 530i (235/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
AWESOME.
Stick like stuff to a blanket in the wet, brilliant feedback it's like they are one with the tarmac.
Comfortable, great stopping distance feedback nice understeer. What more can I say.

Replaced Eagle F1's which had developed a nasty vibration due to collapsed casings, even with 5K still left to go.

Purchasing again.

67 - tyre reviewed on July 13, 2016   

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Pilot Sport 3 PS3.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 86% while driving a Ford Focus ST250 (235/35 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 26,212 spirited miles
I bought my 2017 Focus ST3 with Michelin Pilot Sport 3 tyres fitted as standard. The grip of the tyres were very amazing, especially in the dry. In the wet they don't perform as good, but when they road is really wet with standing water, the tyres feel very sketchy and the car feels skittish. The comfort and noise levels are good and the they are remarkably comfortable for such a low profile on such a stiff chassis. I have put about 42'000 km on my set and I am yet to see serious signs of wear. My driving style is dynamic, I do not ever, not drive on the limit whenever I find a great or flat stretch of tarmac, just kidding, but I am an enthusiast. However, when the tyres are cold, they struggle for grip when have more the 400 ft.lbs. Overall, it is a really great tyre.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2019   
Given 90% while driving a Toyota Verso S (195/50 R15) on for 0 miles
Only tyre brand that maintains damp grip all the way down to the thread limiter and possibly beyond. Comfort over sporty at my profile.
2 - tyre reviewed on September 24, 2018   
What's better in the snow, a 4x4 or winter tyres? Watch the video to find out!
Given 77% while driving a Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel (195/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Iv had 2 sets of these PS3s now, one set on a Ford Fiesta mk6 1.242 and the other on a Ford Fiesta mk6 1.6tdci. These cars arent fast but fun and great to drive. The PS3s have always been amazing in all dry and wet conditions. The wet grip is amazing and compared to some other brands iv used it almost turns wet roads dry.
7 - tyre reviewed on September 2, 2018   
Given 41% while driving a Ford Focus ST250 (235/35 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
.. not friendly tyre if you have a sport hothatch. PS4 is 1000 times better.
9 - tyre reviewed on August 6, 2018   
Given 97% while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (205/55 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 60,000 easy going miles
These were fitted after BR Turanza ER30. Bought for 75€ / tyre in 2014.
Grip on the dry surface was perfect and handling/feedback awesome. I made with this set even 60.000km in 5 Seasons. Ok, the residual tread has finished on markers. However, wear is upon driving style dependent. They are noisy almost same as ER30.
Now I bought Dunlop Sport Maxx RT because successor PS 4 is from my point of view expensive and PS3 was no more available. The first impression comparing with PS3:
- they are not noisy such as PS3, noise reduction is noticable.
- side walls are softer and this have impact on handling (subjective: rear side of car have tensions to swimming if you change direction suddenly. ) Dispite to this feeling, they keep you on track.
2 - tyre reviewed on August 1, 2018   

See all 224 customer reviews of the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (newest first) >>