Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

Dry Grip 91%
Wet Grip 90%
Road Feedback 86%
Progressiveness 85%
Wear 74%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 81%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

The Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Sport 4

Show All

Tyre review data from 211 tyre reviews averaging 84% over 2,704,529 miles driven.

Reports

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/50 R15 82V   F A 71  
195/45 R16 84V XL   E A 71  
195/45 R16 84V XL   F A 71  
205/45 R16 83V   F A 71  
205/45 R16 87W XL   F A 71  
205/45 R16 87W XL   E A 71  
215/45 R16 90V XL AO E A 71  
215/45 R16 90V XL   E B 71  
205/50 R16 87V   F A 71  
205/50 R16 87V   E A 71  
205/55 R16 91V   F A 71  
205/55 R16 91W   E A 71  
205/55 R16 94W XL   E A 70  
205/55 R16 91W   F A 71  
215/40 R17 87W XL   E A 71  
245/40 R17 91Y   F A 71  
205/45 R17 84W   F A 71  
205/45 R17 88W XL   E A 71  
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 70  
215/45 R17 91W XL   E A 71  
225/45 R17 94W XL   E A 71  
225/45 R17 94Y XL   E A 71  
225/45 R17 91Y   F A 71  
225/45 R17 91V   F A 71  
235/45 R17 97Y XL   E A 71  
245/45 R17 99Y XL   E A 71  
205/50 R17 93W XL   E A 71  
225/50 R17 98Y XL   E A 71  
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 73  
255/35 R18 94Y XL   E A 71  
265/35 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
275/35 R18 99Y XL   E A 71  
275/35 R18 95Y   F A 71  
285/35 R18 101Y XL   E A 73  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 71  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71  
225/40 R18 92W XL   E A 71  
225/40 R18 92W XL   E A 71  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71  
235/40 R18 95W XL   E A 71  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 71  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 93Y   F A 71  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 93Y   F A 71  
255/40 R18 99Y XL   E A 71  
215/45 R18 93W XL   E A 71  
225/45 R18 91V   E A 71  
225/45 R18 95V XL   E A 71  
225/45 R18 91W   E A 71  
235/45 R18 98Y XL   E A 71  
235/45 R18 98Y XL   E A 71  
245/45 R18 96V   E A 71  
245/45 R18 100W XL   E A 70  
285/30 R19 98Y XL   E A 73  
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 70  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 73  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 71  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 71  
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 73  
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R19 94Y   E A 71  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R19 0 XL   E A 71  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 71  
275/40 R19 105Y XL   E A 71  
275/40 R19 0 XL   E A 71  
275/40 R19 101Y   C A 71  
275/40 R19 101Y          
235/45 R19 99W XL   E A 71  
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 71  
285/30 R20 99Y XL   E A 73  
285/35 R20 104Y XL   E A 73  
255/40 R20 101Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R20 101Y XL   E A 71  

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

2016-05-25 - Currently I am using 235/45/18r and planning to change all 4 tyres. Can I replace all 4 tyres to 235/50/18r?

Whether you can make the swap depends on your vehicle suspension layout offering clearance. Usually there should be enough room, but remember changing tyre size affects your vehicle speedo, and is classified as a modification so will need to be declared to the insurance company.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £60.72 - £153.50 (25 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £86.30 - £118.30 (22 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £74.81 - £94.06 (28 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £115.76 - £140.86 (28 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 40 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 Reviews

Given 89% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Ibiza FR 1.8T (215/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 21,000 spirited miles
The best tyres I've ever had, extremely grippy wet and dry. The tyres lasted a lot longer than i expected. I highly recommend these tyres, I've just ordered a new pair. Very confident in tyre performance on a wet road.

3 | - tyre reviewed on March 29, 2016   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a Renault Megane (205/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
context :
after several sports cars i had to settle on this wagon for money and familly reasons.
bought the car with half worn cheap silverstone evol8 on 4 corners.
ditched them before the limit as they where bad and wore too slowly
my engine is low power but i don't like to slow down in corners so now with just 4 ps3 and 4 bilstein shocks it is a momentum car
tyre :
in the dry i obviously can't fault traction but it is very hard to make it understeer anymore and not reasonably on public road
in the wet grip is impressive and they let go very progressively and grip back very early. I recently made 200 km of motorway at 135 km/h gps speed with governor under heavy rain with great confidence
braking is good especially in the wet
confort and especially noise are an improvement over previous cheap tyre
i was surprised my fuel consumption went down about 0.5 L from 10 to 9.5l/100km and wear is good so far (35000 km estimated)
steering could be more precise but as my car is not a sports car anyway i am happy trading a little steering for more confort

i would choose a different tyre for a real sports car (pss, ps4, csc6; eagle F1 asym3) but for fast and safe touring they are great even if they are a bit expensive (500 euros for 4 fitted)
2 | - tyre reviewed on May 28, 2016   
Given 94% (breakdown) while driving a Subaru Legacy 3.0R Spec B (225/40 R18 W) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
Started by buying these tyres after having a asian made cheap tyre. Thought of it as a treat for myself.
From the outset I the car felt better! Half the road noise and much less rolling resistance. In the dry felt planted to the road. In the wet you still felt attached to the road, took a fair push to make the tyres break traction. The fuel consumption in my case went from 13.8 to 13.4 over time. I am very happy with the tyres paying some of their cost back that way. Living in Melbourne Australia, the road conditions never get that bad in real terms. But these tyres are great!
1 | - tyre reviewed on December 7, 2015   

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 Reviews

Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Fabia vRS (205/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 27,961 average miles
Exceptional tyre from the beggining.I use them in both urban and highway use,very little in gravel and 5 or 6 times in snow.In dry conditions and with good tarmac they are just superb.There is no need to warm them before use such as other tyres because they have soft rubber,even if you want to push them with high speeds or in fast bends.The same performance you will meet in worse quality tarmac where other tyres will slip,these ones just gives you full grip.In wet roads and in heavy rain, they are awesome, not even thinking of aquaplaning, these tyres gives you freedom to drive the car as you want with no fear at all.In snow,i use them a little.As long as they are summer tyres you do not seek too much grip but with low speed and carefull driving they are ok. The wear is what are you waiting for a soft tyre,after 1 year and about 12.500 miles (20000 km) the first signs of wear shown up,from the inside first,because the car is lowered from its factory unlike the cheaper versions of fabias, and some other very small split and cracks in the sidewalls.Unti then no problems in handling.They are very very comfort in driving,the car runs smoothly in every surface and no noises from the road and tyres comes into the cabin.The second year of use,i change the front tyres to the back and use them for another 15.500 miles (25000 km). They were still very good in dry and wet roads but when second year passed, the first months they show enough "tired" and it slips a little if you puss them hard,or in slippery surfaces.I don't say they are dangerous but the show you that its time to change them...With carefull driving and no "street races" etc they are very safe,very comfort,they dont become harder and it will last you 3 years for sure.The noise stays in teh same levels (very quiet) such as the driving comfort and road feedback.I strongly recommend to everyone to choose them.
0 | - tyre reviewed on July 23, 2016   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda mx 5 (195/50 R15) on mostly country roads for 15,000 average miles
No comments left
0 | - tyre reviewed on July 18, 2016   
Given 79% (breakdown) while driving a Kia Motors (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 17,000 easy going miles
The wet and dry is really good. This tyre enable to cut puddles of water confident in high speed of 90km/h. Only disappointed is the wear off is pretty fast.
0 | - tyre reviewed on July 16, 2016   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 530i (235/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
AWESOME.
Stick like stuff to a blanket in the wet, brilliant feedback it's like they are one with the tarmac.
Comfortable, great stopping distance feedback nice understeer. What more can I say.

Replaced Eagle F1's which had developed a nasty vibration due to collapsed casings, even with 5K still left to go.

Purchasing again.

1 | - tyre reviewed on July 13, 2016   
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Peugeot 106 (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Replaced my Continental Sport Contact 2 tyres with these. The handling and grip is excellent both on wet and dry. Very good for sport driving. Hope they don't wear fast.
0 | - tyre reviewed on July 3, 2016   

See all 215 customer reviews of the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (newest first) >>

Write a customer review >>
Advertisement