Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

Dry Grip 91%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 85%
Handling 84%
Wear 74%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 81%

The Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Sport 4

Show All

Tyre review data from 244 tyre reviews averaging 84% over 3,248,354 miles driven.

Reports

Tyre Test Highlights

2013 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Overall - Another old pattern on test, the Michelin seems to have fared better than the Pirelli and matched its 2010 and 2011 results, placing second overall. Winning both the aquaplaning tests the Michelin was extremely strong in all wet tests, fast during wet handling with the only criticism aimed towards the front end bite. The PS3 struggled a little in the dry where it lacked sharpness, but it held on well enough for a fifth place. A quiet tyre, the Pilot Sport 3 struggled a little in rolling resistance but overall placed extremely well. A good tyre.

2013 Sport Auto Max Performance Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Overall - The Michelin Pilot Sport 3 is one of the best in the dry, with a high level of grip and good high speed stability. When wet, the steering feel is still excellent but it lacks some of the ultimate grip of the top wet runners.

2011 Auto Express Ultra High Performance Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Overall - The new Michelin Pilot Sport 3 scored well, matching last years second place with a strong performance. Perhaps indicating the scoring weighting was a little bit too towards aquaplaning (where it finished 1st and 2nd) the Michelin scored 9th in wet corning and 10th in dry braking but pulled back some points with a 3rd in wet handling and 4th in wet braking.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/50 R15 82V   F A 71  
195/45 R16 84V XL   E A 71  
195/45 R16 84V XL   F A 71  
205/45 R16 83V   F A 71  
205/45 R16 87W XL   F A 71  
205/45 R16 87W XL   E A 71  
215/45 R16 90V XL AO E A 71  
215/45 R16 90V XL   E B 71  
205/50 R16 87V   F A 71  
205/50 R16 87V   E A 71  
205/55 R16 91V   F A 71  
205/55 R16 91W   E A 71  
205/55 R16 94W XL   E A 70  
205/55 R16 91W   F A 71  
215/40 R17 87W XL   E A 71  
245/40 R17 91Y   F A 71  
205/45 R17 84W   F A 71  
205/45 R17 88W XL   E A 71  
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 70  
215/45 R17 91W XL   E A 71  
225/45 R17 94W XL   E A 71  
225/45 R17 94Y XL   E A 71  
225/45 R17 91Y   F A 71  
225/45 R17 91V   F A 71  
235/45 R17 97Y XL   E A 71  
245/45 R17 99Y XL   E A 71  
205/50 R17 93W XL   E A 71  
225/50 R17 98Y XL   E A 71  
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 73  
255/35 R18 94Y XL   E A 71  
265/35 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
275/35 R18 99Y XL   E A 71  
275/35 R18 95Y   F A 71  
285/35 R18 101Y XL   E A 73  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 71  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71  
225/40 R18 92W XL   E A 71  
225/40 R18 92W XL   E A 71  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71  
235/40 R18 95W XL   E A 71  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 71  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 93Y   F A 71  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 93Y   F A 71  
255/40 R18 99Y XL   E A 71  
215/45 R18 93W XL   E A 71  
225/45 R18 91V   E A 71  
225/45 R18 95V XL   E A 71  
225/45 R18 91W   E A 71  
235/45 R18 98Y XL   E A 71  
235/45 R18 98Y XL   E A 71  
245/45 R18 96V   E A 71  
245/45 R18 100W XL   E A 70  
285/30 R19 98Y XL   E A 73  
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 70  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 73  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 71  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 71  
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 73  
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R19 94Y   E A 71  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R19 0 XL   E A 71  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 71  
275/40 R19 105Y XL   E A 71  
275/40 R19 0 XL   E A 71  
275/40 R19 101Y   C A 71  
275/40 R19 101Y          
235/45 R19 99W XL   E A 71  
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 71  
285/30 R20 99Y XL   E A 73  
285/35 R20 104Y XL   E A 73  
255/40 R20 101Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R20 101Y XL   E A 71  

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

2016-05-25 - Currently I am using 235/45/18r and planning to change all 4 tyres. Can I replace all 4 tyres to 235/50/18r?

Whether you can make the swap depends on your vehicle suspension layout offering clearance. Usually there should be enough room, but remember changing tyre size affects your vehicle speedo, and is classified as a modification so will need to be declared to the insurance company.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £86.17 - £93.00 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £98.65 - £138.00 (25 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £95.64 - £116.30 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £127.85 - £170.00 (23 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 38 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 Review

Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 530i (235/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
AWESOME.
Stick like stuff to a blanket in the wet, brilliant feedback it's like they are one with the tarmac.
Comfortable, great stopping distance feedback nice understeer. What more can I say.

Replaced Eagle F1's which had developed a nasty vibration due to collapsed casings, even with 5K still left to go.

Purchasing again.

29 - tyre reviewed on July 13, 2016   

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Pilot Sport 3 PS3.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Ford AU wagon (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 40,000 spirited miles
I had these on one of my cars for 20kmiles then when that car went to the graveyard I put them on the Fairmont which has slightly softter suspension. I had to put some more air in as they had lost a little. This caused a high road noise but as the tread blocks wore down the noise went away.

On the Falcon SR Wagon I never found their limits on cornering in fact the SR suspension likes hard acceleration to increase cornering ability. The grip in the wet is also very good, The Pirelli's I had once would fish tail down the dry road if they touched a wet spot. I can't break traction in the wet.

I usually get 70-80k km from a set in 8 months of driving.

Definately recommend them for spirited driving on all types of roads. They have saved me many times from Kangaroo's on the road.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 23, 2017   
Given 51% (breakdown) while driving a Mitsubishi FTO GPvR (205/50 R16) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Not bad tyres, but not exceptional either. Too soft and squidgy for really decent handling but at the same time it's not sliding out of shape on every bend, wet or dry. Similar to Uniroyal Rainsport 2/3 and Goodyear Efficient Grip Performance in feel, slightly better then the Goodyears maybe not quite as nice as the Rainsports. Wear is truly terrible, less than 5000 miles on the front of my FTO. Don't think I'll buy again but for something small and light or a shopping wagon I think these could be a real winner. For a FWD Sports Coupe, find something else. Sadly there's very little choice for the OEM wheel size for me.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 11, 2017   
Given 91% (breakdown) while driving a Peugeot 307 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 28,000 spirited miles
Probably the best tire I have ever fitted in my car. Exceptional dry and wet grip, exceptional handling.

What really impressed me the most was the road feedback they give. On slippery surface on open turns (average 80-90km/h) when they begin to reach their limit BEFORE they start to lose grip they sent a subtle, yet noticeable tik-tik, or tapping, feeling to the steering wheel. At first, I thought it was my imagination, but tested it again and again I had the same results. Really impressive, hats off to Michelin engineers.

Not even once was I able to make them squeak. I turned hard, but in the end I stopped trying because the odometer was reading 3-digit figures on country roads. In other words, not once did I feel that I brought them to their limit; rather, they broke ME in ;)

Wear was what a lot better than what you'd expect from a sports tire. At 35.000km when they were replaced, there was still 4.5mm of tread, really nice.

For comfort, I cannot comment, as I seem to be the only one around here not being able to understand whether the tires are comfortable, the sidewalls soft or hard etc. What I can comment on though was the rather high noise they made.

As for fuel economy, they gave me the same consumption as the Energy Savers I had before, increased by a 2%.

If they hadn't been replaced, I would totally recommend them. PS4 should be a better tire, but if I found the PS3s at a considerably lower price than the PS4s, I'd honestly go for them, you can't go wrong.

Thank you for taking the time to read this.
3 - tyre reviewed on April 20, 2017   

See all 238 customer reviews of the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (newest first) >>