Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

Dry Grip 91%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 85%
Handling 85%
Wear 74%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 81%

The Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Sport 4

Show All

Tyre review data from 252 tyre reviews averaging 84% over 3,354,354 miles driven.

Reports

Tyre Test Highlights

2013 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Overall - Another old pattern on test, the Michelin seems to have fared better than the Pirelli and matched its 2010 and 2011 results, placing second overall. Winning both the aquaplaning tests the Michelin was extremely strong in all wet tests, fast during wet handling with the only criticism aimed towards the front end bite. The PS3 struggled a little in the dry where it lacked sharpness, but it held on well enough for a fifth place. A quiet tyre, the Pilot Sport 3 struggled a little in rolling resistance but overall placed extremely well. A good tyre.

2013 Sport Auto Max Performance Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Overall - The Michelin Pilot Sport 3 is one of the best in the dry, with a high level of grip and good high speed stability. When wet, the steering feel is still excellent but it lacks some of the ultimate grip of the top wet runners.

2011 Auto Express Ultra High Performance Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Overall - The new Michelin Pilot Sport 3 scored well, matching last years second place with a strong performance. Perhaps indicating the scoring weighting was a little bit too towards aquaplaning (where it finished 1st and 2nd) the Michelin scored 9th in wet corning and 10th in dry braking but pulled back some points with a 3rd in wet handling and 4th in wet braking.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/50 R15 82V   F A 71  
195/45 R16 84V XL   E A 71  
195/45 R16 84V XL   F A 71  
205/45 R16 83V   F A 71  
205/45 R16 87W XL   F A 71  
205/45 R16 87W XL   E A 71  
215/45 R16 90V XL AO E A 71  
215/45 R16 90V XL   E B 71  
205/50 R16 87V   F A 71  
205/50 R16 87V   E A 71  
205/55 R16 91V   F A 71  
205/55 R16 91W   E A 71  
205/55 R16 94W XL   E A 70  
205/55 R16 91W   F A 71  
215/40 R17 87W XL   E A 71  
245/40 R17 91Y   F A 71  
205/45 R17 84W   F A 71  
205/45 R17 88W XL   E A 71  
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 70  
215/45 R17 91W XL   E A 71  
225/45 R17 94W XL   E A 71  
225/45 R17 94Y XL   E A 71  
225/45 R17 91Y   F A 71  
225/45 R17 91V   F A 71  
235/45 R17 97Y XL   E A 71  
245/45 R17 99Y XL   E A 71  
205/50 R17 93W XL   E A 71  
225/50 R17 98Y XL   E A 71  
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 73  
255/35 R18 94Y XL   E A 71  
265/35 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
275/35 R18 99Y XL   E A 71  
275/35 R18 95Y   F A 71  
285/35 R18 101Y XL   E A 73  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 71  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71  
225/40 R18 92W XL   E A 71  
225/40 R18 92W XL   E A 71  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71  
235/40 R18 95W XL   E A 71  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 71  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 93Y   F A 71  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 93Y   F A 71  
255/40 R18 99Y XL   E A 71  
215/45 R18 93W XL   E A 71  
225/45 R18 91V   E A 71  
225/45 R18 95V XL   E A 71  
225/45 R18 91W   E A 71  
235/45 R18 98Y XL   E A 71  
235/45 R18 98Y XL   E A 71  
245/45 R18 96V   E A 71  
245/45 R18 100W XL   E A 70  
285/30 R19 98Y XL   E A 73  
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 70  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 73  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 71  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 71  
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 73  
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R19 94Y   E A 71  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R19 0 XL   E A 71  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 71  
275/40 R19 105Y XL   E A 71  
275/40 R19 0 XL   E A 71  
275/40 R19 101Y   C A 71  
275/40 R19 101Y          
235/45 R19 99W XL   E A 71  
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 71  
285/30 R20 99Y XL   E A 73  
285/35 R20 104Y XL   E A 73  
255/40 R20 101Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R20 101Y XL   E A 71  

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

2016-05-25 - Currently I am using 235/45/18r and planning to change all 4 tyres. Can I replace all 4 tyres to 235/50/18r?

Whether you can make the swap depends on your vehicle suspension layout offering clearance. Usually there should be enough room, but remember changing tyre size affects your vehicle speedo, and is classified as a modification so will need to be declared to the insurance company.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £81.62 - £95.60 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £101.32 - £148.92 (18 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £103.70 - £112.70 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £128.30 - £172.10 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 37 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 Review

Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 530i (235/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
AWESOME.
Stick like stuff to a blanket in the wet, brilliant feedback it's like they are one with the tarmac.
Comfortable, great stopping distance feedback nice understeer. What more can I say.

Replaced Eagle F1's which had developed a nasty vibration due to collapsed casings, even with 5K still left to go.

Purchasing again.

36 - tyre reviewed on July 13, 2016   

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Pilot Sport 3 PS3.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Polo Sedan 1.6 (195/55 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Just change from Toyo NE03 to PS3. Its a nice upgrade. Immediate feel on comfort, and tyre noise level is good. I did not feel anything when run over water splash on the road.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 27, 2017   
Given 89% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 330d (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
BMW 330d. I'm using the tyres since 2015 (late spring til late autum, than I change to winter tyres). The tyres are verry good, the road feel is great, the comfort is great and the grip is great. The rubber hardens when it start getting cold, arround 7-8 on celsius. I think they will be good for one more summer. So the usage will be about 4 years and about 25000-30000 km.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 24, 2017   
Given 96% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Accord (225/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 44,000 average miles
This tyre lasted me 4 years with 70,000km on the clock. It would last me another 10,000km if it wasn't for a misaligned toe/camber on one of my front tyre which as a result made the outer wall worned out to it's minimum legal thickness. The other 3 tyres are fine and still have about 1.5-2mm above the tyre tread indicator. I drive conservatively and on occasions spirited when driving through the mountains. Compared to my OEM Michelin MXV8 in torrential rain, the PS3 cuts through water like a hot knife through butter. The level of grip is outstanding and the car felt secured and planted. In the dry, grip is good too as you would expect. Being this model is end of life now, i still highly recommend them if you can get it. But if you can't, there's always the PS4 which i have just replaced on all 4 corners.
2 - tyre reviewed on October 27, 2017   
Given 92% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen up! (185/55 R15 V) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
These tyres replaced Toyo NanoEnergy 3s which I ran for about 30,000km. They were replaced not due to wear, but because the wet grip reduced dramatically and tyre noise and impact harshness increased.
PS3s were the best performance tyres available in this size, so I bought a set!

Ride comfort over sharp imperfections in the road (such as reflectors) has improved markedly, and surprisingly road noise seems lower (even though the Toyos had a 69dB rating, where the Michelins are 70 or 71dB).

Steering feel and immediacy has taken a dramatic leap forward with these tyres. Steering feel on initial turn-in is light but quick, and weight builds progressively as steering angle is increased. Now the Bilstein B12 kit fitted to my car really shines! My up! is now an overgrown go-kart.
1 - tyre reviewed on October 8, 2017   

See all 246 customer reviews of the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (newest first) >>