Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

Dry Grip 91%
Wet Grip 90%
Road Feedback 86%
Handling 85%
Wear 74%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 82%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

The Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Sport 4

Show All

Tyre review data from 225 tyre reviews averaging 85% over 2,905,490 miles driven.

Reports

Tyre Test Highlights

2013 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Overall - Another old pattern on test, the Michelin seems to have fared better than the Pirelli and matched its 2010 and 2011 results, placing second overall. Winning both the aquaplaning tests the Michelin was extremely strong in all wet tests, fast during wet handling with the only criticism aimed towards the front end bite. The PS3 struggled a little in the dry where it lacked sharpness, but it held on well enough for a fifth place. A quiet tyre, the Pilot Sport 3 struggled a little in rolling resistance but overall placed extremely well. A good tyre.

2013 Sport Auto Max Performance Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Overall - The Michelin Pilot Sport 3 is one of the best in the dry, with a high level of grip and good high speed stability. When wet, the steering feel is still excellent but it lacks some of the ultimate grip of the top wet runners.

2011 Auto Express Ultra High Performance Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Overall - The new Michelin Pilot Sport 3 scored well, matching last years second place with a strong performance. Perhaps indicating the scoring weighting was a little bit too towards aquaplaning (where it finished 1st and 2nd) the Michelin scored 9th in wet corning and 10th in dry braking but pulled back some points with a 3rd in wet handling and 4th in wet braking.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/50 R15 82V   F A 71  
195/45 R16 84V XL   E A 71  
195/45 R16 84V XL   F A 71  
205/45 R16 83V   F A 71  
205/45 R16 87W XL   F A 71  
205/45 R16 87W XL   E A 71  
215/45 R16 90V XL AO E A 71  
215/45 R16 90V XL   E B 71  
205/50 R16 87V   F A 71  
205/50 R16 87V   E A 71  
205/55 R16 91V   F A 71  
205/55 R16 91W   E A 71  
205/55 R16 94W XL   E A 70  
205/55 R16 91W   F A 71  
215/40 R17 87W XL   E A 71  
245/40 R17 91Y   F A 71  
205/45 R17 84W   F A 71  
205/45 R17 88W XL   E A 71  
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 70  
215/45 R17 91W XL   E A 71  
225/45 R17 94W XL   E A 71  
225/45 R17 94Y XL   E A 71  
225/45 R17 91Y   F A 71  
225/45 R17 91V   F A 71  
235/45 R17 97Y XL   E A 71  
245/45 R17 99Y XL   E A 71  
205/50 R17 93W XL   E A 71  
225/50 R17 98Y XL   E A 71  
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 73  
255/35 R18 94Y XL   E A 71  
265/35 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
275/35 R18 99Y XL   E A 71  
275/35 R18 95Y   F A 71  
285/35 R18 101Y XL   E A 73  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 71  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71  
225/40 R18 92W XL   E A 71  
225/40 R18 92W XL   E A 71  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71  
235/40 R18 95W XL   E A 71  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 71  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 93Y   F A 71  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 93Y   F A 71  
255/40 R18 99Y XL   E A 71  
215/45 R18 93W XL   E A 71  
225/45 R18 91V   E A 71  
225/45 R18 95V XL   E A 71  
225/45 R18 91W   E A 71  
235/45 R18 98Y XL   E A 71  
235/45 R18 98Y XL   E A 71  
245/45 R18 96V   E A 71  
245/45 R18 100W XL   E A 70  
285/30 R19 98Y XL   E A 73  
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 70  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 73  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 71  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 71  
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 73  
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R19 94Y   E A 71  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R19 0 XL   E A 71  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 71  
275/40 R19 105Y XL   E A 71  
275/40 R19 0 XL   E A 71  
275/40 R19 101Y   C A 71  
275/40 R19 101Y          
235/45 R19 99W XL   E A 71  
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 71  
285/30 R20 99Y XL   E A 73  
285/35 R20 104Y XL   E A 73  
255/40 R20 101Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R20 101Y XL   E A 71  

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

2016-05-25 - Currently I am using 235/45/18r and planning to change all 4 tyres. Can I replace all 4 tyres to 235/50/18r?

Whether you can make the swap depends on your vehicle suspension layout offering clearance. Usually there should be enough room, but remember changing tyre size affects your vehicle speedo, and is classified as a modification so will need to be declared to the insurance company.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £60.72 - £72.81 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £92.05 - £139.00 (30 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £82.87 - £118.10 (28 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £116.60 - £141.60 (28 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 39 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 Review

Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 530i (235/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
AWESOME.
Stick like stuff to a blanket in the wet, brilliant feedback it's like they are one with the tarmac.
Comfortable, great stopping distance feedback nice understeer. What more can I say.

Replaced Eagle F1's which had developed a nasty vibration due to collapsed casings, even with 5K still left to go.

Purchasing again.

12 - tyre reviewed on July 13, 2016   

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Pilot Sport 3 PS3.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 76% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 1 series (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I had PS3 runflats fitted recently to replace the oem Bridgestone potenza runflats which came factory fitted to my BMW m135i. What a difference!!! I'd heard that the Bridgestones were awful, but I cannot believe how much better the car is in all respects with the ps3s. I'd assumed that the poor steering/ride quality/grip/handling/feedback were due to it being my first experience with runflats. It really does feel like a completely different car now and I'm just so sorry that I didn't replace them two years ago. I'm really struggling to understand how BMW, who I've always respected, could ever have fitted these awful BRIDGESTONE POTENZA runflats to even a lawnmower. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!
0 - tyre reviewed on January 13, 2017   
Given 80% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A5 (245/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 26,000 average miles
After visiting this site and looking at all the reviews at the time, I decided to play it safe and get Michelin PS3's fitted.

To start, the grip and feed back from the tyre to the wheel is superb, especially if you are like me and enjoy occasionally putting your foot down when you find an appealing road.

What surprised me was that this superb feedback remains throughout the life of the tyre.

Another surprise to me was the life of the tyre, given that I have just changed them with 3mm of tyre left, after 26,000 miles, 15,000 miles on the Motorway and the rest on a combination of road surfaces.

Now the downsides...

The tyre noise to start with was fine, but increased with tyre wear, however I must say that I hadn't noticed this until I changed my tyres recently.

What I did notice though was that as my tyre wear increased, the tyre grip in the wet fell off significantly, so I am glad that the feedback was superb because under hard braking it started to lose grip.

I hope this helps for anyone who has a similar powered AWD car.

D.McAlister
0 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2017   
(195/55 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Excellent grip both dry and wet.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2016   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus ST250 (235/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
The PS3's were factory fitted from new. After 12,000 miles the fronts still have over 5mm of tread left and the rears over 6. This from a combination of local short and long European journeys and everything else in between.
1 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2016   
Given 79% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A6 S line, LeMans 2.0 TDi 170 (255/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 27,850 average miles
We switched to PS3 after Pirelli Rosso which we found to wear quickly and easily damaged. Often lasted under 5000 miles. The SP3 set felt better driving in all conditions except wet. They lasted 27000 miles wearing evenly. Very pleased. Now have SP4 set. These feel better than the SP3 in all conditions.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2016   

See all 224 customer reviews of the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (newest first) >>