225/50 15 Tyres

The following tyres have been reviewed in 225/50 15.
Yokohama A022 (1) 90% 80% 90% 90% 100% 90% 100% 91% 34,500
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Hankook Ventus RS2 Z212 (13) 91% 61% 82% 80% 74% 69% 85% 77% 79,524
Bridgestone Potenza s02 (15) 88% 79% 86% 84% 66% 64% 69% 77% 160,300
Falken ZE912 (197) 82% 74% 76% 70% 71% 79% 73% 75% 2,160,908
Toyo T1R (278) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,615,683
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (153) 83% 77% 76% 73% 60% 65% 65% 71% 2,261,801
Toyo Proxes 1 (5) 88% 66% 75% 60% 62% 60% 54% 66% 59,510
Dunlop SP Sport 9000 (58) 74% 65% 64% 60% 65% 62% 52% 63% 1,281,195
Toyo T1S (10) 66% 49% 63% 57% 65% 65% 59% 61% 84,300
Falken ZE512 (27) 67% 47% 52% 50% 45% 55% 33% 50% 242,782
Toyo Proxes FZ4 (1) 70% 20% 30% 20% 50% 90% 10% 41% 9,000

225/50 15 Tyre Review Highlights

Uniroyal Rainsport 2 rated 91% while driving a Renault Clio 172
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Well where do I start... After weeks of searching for a decent tyre I finally plunged for these. £56ea fitted through black circles. A couple of weeks in and WOW! I do drive my car hard and every thing I thrown at it with the new tyres it's taken and responded much better than the Mich'es I had on before. If you want a tyre you can trust in the rain and brill grip in the dry then give these a whirl!!! For the money you can't complain... FAB!
tyre reviewed on 2012-01-19 21:23:46
Yokohama A022 rated 91% while driving a Toyota MK2 MR2 NA
Driving on mostly country roads for 34500 spirited miles
Actually the AO22 tyre.
Best tyres I have driven on with MR2. Allow for hard cornering and just stick as you throttle through. Endurance, time has come to change them after 34,500miles of fantastic driving. They are now on the legal limit. Not only did they cope with the snow and ice, they actually gave reassurance. Unfortunately, like all good things, they have come to an end and they are not producing them anymore. Struggling to get a decent replacement.
tyre reviewed on 2011-10-06 12:14:51
Hankook Ventus RS2 Z212 rated 88% while driving a Toyota MK2 MR2 Turbo
Driving on track for 2000 spirited miles
Used on a couple of trackdays.
Slightly less grip than R888s previously but not that much wear, 2mm maybe, where the R888s only lasted 2 days !
feedback's good & nice & progressive.
Recommended.
Not used in wet yet but have deep trad so should be ok.
tyre reviewed on 2008-05-21 15:17:34
Toyo T1R rated 86% while driving a Toyota MK2 MR2 Turbo
Driving on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
The Toyo T1R's look great and perform very well giving lots of confidence when driving. Dry grip is excellent and you can just push the car hard into the corners without any problem at all. Wet grip also seems very good although can start to slip slightly if you overdo it.
I have found the Toyo's to be very quiet on the road and despite being a soft compound they have lasted very well. 12k miles on the rear of a 240bhp RWD car is quite impressive. The fronts still have loads of tread left.
Would certainly buy these again!
tyre reviewed on 2008-10-18 20:57:11
Bridgestone Potenza s02 rated 84% while driving a TVR 450seac
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2011-06-08 06:10:39
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 rated 80% while driving a Toyota MK2 MR2 Turbo
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
A very good all round road tyre, very impressive in the wet.
tyre reviewed on 2007-05-17 23:36:19
Dunlop SP Sport 9000 rated 76% while driving a Toyota MK2 MR2 Turbo
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
Strong sidewalls, so not much flex - perhaps a slightly harsher ride because of this, but the car always feels well planted. Wear is a slight guess as I haven't got through a set yet, but after 3k there's still not much sign of wear.
tyre reviewed on 2007-05-11 10:02:28
Toyo T1R rated 76% while driving a Toyota MK2 MR2 NA
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 spirited miles
Compared to the ditch-finders currently fitted to the front of the car, the T1Rs perform very well on normal UK roads. When the tyres were in their prime, I was unable to get them to step out of line (in the dry) however hard I tried. My only warning factor with these tyres is that they wear very quickly (I've managed less than 8k miles on this pair) and although the car is RWD, I would've expect a little bit more life out of them.
tyre reviewed on 2007-05-11 16:08:59
Toyo T1R rated 71% while driving a Toyota MK2 MR2 NA
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 average miles
Don't feel these are as good as the T1-S which they don't seem to make anymore but still a good tyre. Not as good as the Bridgestone S-03's the car came with but also a lot cheaper. Don't feel they make that much difference on the front so have stuck with Nasty Nangkangs which last ages. Seem a waste of money at front as don't last that long and don't make that much difference. on the rear however wouldn't try another tyre unless Bridgestone decided to make the s03 potenza again!!!!!!!!
tyre reviewed on 2007-07-08 00:35:52
Toyo T1R rated 67% while driving a Toyota MK2 MR2 NA
Driving on mostly country roads for 10 average miles
If you have an mr2 on original 15" rims, good rear tyres are to find. It's a choice of Pirelli p-zero (£220+) Falken ze912 or the Toyo t1r, if you can find them!!!!
The Toyo t1r offers very good dry grip (track days) for a very good price, road noice is average and front end braking is fantastic, even in the wet. The two downsides are soft side walls, which reduces steering feel & response, compared to your top end brands & the wear rate is high, but this is a track focused tyre & lower profile tyres will have much smaller side wall to move on.
The falken ze912 I felt it had better response & feel and has lasted longer, rides smooth but then it's not so track focused. Have not used the pirelli p-zero..
tyre reviewed on 2014-02-21 19:11:41
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre