Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 83%
Handling 82%
Wear 81%
Comfort 89%
Buy again 80%

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2

This tyre has been replaced by the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

Show All

Tyre review data from 148 tyre reviews averaging 85% over 1,333,238 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 VS Asymmetric 3 VS Continental PremiumContact 6 - In depth test - 3rd of 3 tyres

  • Positive - Shortest dry braking.
  • Negative - The replacement Asymmetric 5 improves this tyre in nearly all areas.

2018 Test World Summer Tyre Test - 8th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Good wet handling.
  • Negative - Understeer in the dry.

2018 Ace 235/45 R18 Summer Tyre Test - 8th of 11 tyres

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/40 R17 84W XL   E A 67 7.92kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   C A 69 8.13kgs
245/40 R17 95Y XL   C A 69 9.86kgs
245/40 R17 91Y XL   E A 68 9.86kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL   C A 69 8.24kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL * A B 69 8.68kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   E B 69 8.23kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   C A 69 8.24kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL *RSC B B 69 8.68kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 69 8.24kgs
215/45 R17 87Y   E A 67 8.70kgs
215/45 R17 91W XL AO C B 69 8.70kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL * A B 70 9.48kgs
225/45 R17 91W XL   C B 71 9.75kgs
225/45 R17 91Y XL   B A 69 9.07kgs
225/45 R17 91W XL LRR B A 70 9.73kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 68 9.10kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   E A 68 9.10kgs
235/45 R17 94Y   C A 68 9.48kgs
245/45 R17 95Y XL   C A 68 9.60kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 68 9.60kgs
205/50 R17 93Y XL   C A 67 8.65kgs
205/50 R17 89V XL   B A 70 8.24kgs
225/50 R17 94Y   C A 67 9.55kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL *RSC B B 67 11.73kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 68 9.55kgs
225/55 R17 101V XL J A B 70 9.80kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL J B A 69 11.19kgs
225/55 R17 97W XL *RSC C B 68 12.72kgs
225/55 R17 97Y   C A 68 9.95kgs
225/55 R17 97W XL   B B 70 9.98kgs
225/55 R17 97W XL   B B 70 11.43kgs
225/55 R17 97Y   C A 68 10.12kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL J B A 68 11.19kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 68 12.48kgs
225/35 R18 87W XL   E A 68 8.70kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 69 9.90kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 70 10.28kgs
275/35 R18 99Y XL   C A 69 10.75kgs
205/40 R18 86W XL *RSC B B 70 9.47kgs
215/40 R18 89Y XL AO C B 70 9.20kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 67 9.23kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL * A B 70 9.45kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 68 9.60kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 68 9.65kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 68 9.86kgs
245/40 R18 93Y   E A 67 10.36kgs
245/40 R18 93H XL AO B A 71 9.48kgs
245/40 R18 93Y   C A 69 9.86kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL *RSC B B 67 12.43kgs
255/40 R18 95Y XL AR C A 71 12.50kgs
275/40 R18 99Y XL * RSC MOE C B 71 15.06kgs
275/40 R18 103Y XL * A B 71 11.11kgs
275/40 R18 103Y XL MO A B 71 11.11kgs
205/45 R18 90V XL   B A 71 7.80kgs
215/45 R18 89V XL   B A 70 8.66kgs
225/45 R18 91Y XL AR E B 68 12.39kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL *RSC B B 67 11.47kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 68 9.53kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   E B 68 12.34kgs
225/45 R18 91Y XL AR C B 70 12.00kgs
235/45 R18 94W XL   B A 71 11.78kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 69 9.90kgs
245/45 R18 96W XL   B B 68 14.59kgs
245/45 R18 96W XL   B B 68 12.03kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL * A B 69 10.18kgs
245/45 R18 96W XL   A B 69 13.98kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   B A 69 9.90kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL MO A B 69 10.18kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   B A 68 11.25kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL * RSC MOE C B 69 14.20kgs
245/45 R18 96W XL   A B 69 9.70kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL J B A 67 11.34kgs
245/45 R18 100W XL MO-V B B 72 11.84kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   B A 69 10.70kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   B A 68 10.76kgs
255/45 R18 99Y XL   C A 69 10.50kgs
215/50 R18 92V XL ULRR B B 69 9.87kgs
215/50 R18 92V XL   C A 69 10.00kgs
225/50 R18 95W XL *RSC C C 67 12.62kgs
225/50 R18 95W *RSC C C 67 11.00kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   C A 68 11.13kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   C A 68 11.30kgs
235/55 R18 104Y XL AO B B 69 12.70kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   C A 69 10.22kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   C A 68 9.11kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 69 9.78kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   C A 68 9.98kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 69 10.75kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL *RSC B B 67 11.94kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL * RSC MOE C B 71 14.15kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   C A 69 11.37kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL MO A B 71 11.38kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   C A 68 14.79kgs
225/40 R19 93V XL   B B 70 9.94kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL *RSC B C 67 10.64kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL * A B 71 10.20kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL * RSC MOE C B 68 12.74kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL MO A B 71 10.20kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL J E A 68 11.50kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 69 10.77kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL *RSC B B 71 10.40kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL * RSC MOE C B 68 12.32kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 69 11.10kgs
275/40 R19 101Y XL MGT C C 72 12.83kgs
275/40 R19 101Y XL MGT C C 72 12.75kgs
295/40 R19 108Y XL N0 C A 70 13.45kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL *RSC B B 70 11.68kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   C A 68 14.79kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL * A B 70 11.36kgs
245/45 R19 98Y XL MGT C C 71 11.65kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 69 11.18kgs
245/45 R19 98Y XL MGT C C 71 11.33kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL AO C A 68 13.40kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL AO1 B A 69 13.07kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL AO1 B A 69 12.60kgs
255/45 R19 104Y XL AO C A 68 12.55kgs
265/45 R19 105Y XL N0 B A 69 12.15kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL   C A 69 10.41kgs
265/30 R20 94Y XL   C A 69 10.65kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL * RSC MOE C A 71 13.72kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL * RSC MOE REV1 C B 71 13.72kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL * RSC MOE C B 72 13.00kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL   C A 69 11.50kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL * RSC MOE C B 72 12.48kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL * RSC MOE REV1 C B 71 12.30kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL NA0 E B 69 11.58kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL * RSC MOE B B 71 12.10kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL J C A 69 11.23kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL   C A 70 11.10kgs
275/35 R20 98Y XL TPC SPEC E B 72 15.27kgs
225/40 R20 94Y XL *RSC B B 70 10.70kgs
245/40 R20 95Y XL TPC SPEC E A 71 13.25kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   B A 70 12.42kgs
265/40 R20 104Y XL AO C B 70 13.55kgs
265/40 R20 104Y XL AO C B 70 13.30kgs
265/40 R20 104Y XL AO C B 70 13.30kgs
255/45 R20 101V XL   B A 68 15.38kgs
255/45 R20 101V XL   B A 70 12.25kgs
305/30 R21 104Y XL NF0 C B 73 13.90kgs
305/30 R21 104Y XL NA0 E B 72 15.00kgs
265/35 R21 101Y XL AO C B 72 12.00kgs
265/35 R21 101Y XL NF0 C A 72 12.00kgs
265/35 R21 101Y XL AO C B 72 12.89kgs
315/30 R22 107Y XL   C A 69 15.00kgs
265/35 R22 102W XL   E B 72 14.67kgs
265/35 R22 102W XL   E B 72 14.69kgs
285/35 R22 106W XL   E B 73 16.14kgs
285/35 R22 106W XL   E B 72 16.13kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3

2016-03-24 - Is it true that asymmetric 3 has a smaller rim protection than asymmetric 2?

Just as an update to this question, we have been in contact with Goodyear regarding the rim protection on the Asymmetric 3 and the answer should be with us shortly!


2016-03-24 - When can we expect a test with the pilot sport 4, sport contact 6 and the asymmetric 3?

You're unlikely to see the Sport Contact 6 in a test with the Pilot Sport 4 due to the sizes they're made in, the Continental rivals the Pilot Super Sport.
The best test so far this year is the GTU test, however that missed the Michelin.


2016-04-27 - Is it true the side wall height has increased on the 3 vs the 2?

As with all Goodyear tyres, the Asymmetric 3 is within ETRTO (European Tyre & Rim Technical Organisation) guidelines, which does allow for a small variation on side wall height. Whether the size increases or decreases can depend on the size.


2016-04-26 - Will the 3 be N rated for Porsche, Cayman GTS specifically, like the 2?

A reply from Goodyear - We continuously work with OEM partners to develop OE Marked versions of the Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3, the tyre is currently approved on the Jaguar XF (J Marked) and the Mercedes-Benz E-Class (MO Marked). The tire will only be N rated if we gain an approval on a Porsche platform.


2016-05-06 - is the goodyear F1 AS3 directional

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is an asymmetric tyre, not directional


2016-05-30 - What does 94y and 98y mean and what is the differance

The 94 and 98 are the load ratings for the Asymmetric 3 tyre. 94 means each tyre is rated to carry 670 kgs, and 98 750 kgs. As a rule of thumb, the high load rating tyre will create slightly more noise, have a slightly harder ride, but will offer a more sporty steering feel.


2016-09-03 - I have Swift Sport 1.6 and I would like to replace my tires with either Dunlop Sport Maxx RT2 or Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric. They are similar but I can't decide. Could you help me ?

Both the latest Dunlop and the Goodyear are extremely similar tyres, you'll be happy with either. We would always side with the Goodyear as we feel longer term the availability would be better.


2016-08-27 - I am about to purchase either Goodyear Efficientgrip Performance or this Asymmetric 3. I think the Efficientgrip is the older design yet has the better fuel efficiency and same wet braking distance. I am surprised by this. It is also cheaper by £10 from Blackcircles. Does the labeling stay consistent such that you can compare older tyer designs against new ones. Why would you buy the Asymmetric 3 over the Efficientgrip? I drive a 2010 Ford Focus 2.0l diesel and do about 22000 miles per year.

The label tests do stay constant. Wet braking is only one performance quality of a tyre, and while it's entirely possible the F1 Asymmetric 3 and EG Performance to have the same wet braking grade, the Asymmetric 3 will have a better balance of overall qualities when you account for wet handling, aquaplaning, dry braking, dry handling etc.


2016-09-16 - I have Lotus Elise s2 sport 135. Its never used on track just occassional road use. Following a blow out on a rear Bridgestone pirenza I am considering replacement tyres with the Goodyear eagle F1 Assyimetric 3. What is your opinion

Sadly we've not yet driven on the Asymmetric 3! One thing to watch out for is that replacing just the rear tyres with the Goodyears could give the car a curious rear-steering feel due to the difference in sidewall strengths between the hard Bridgestone tyres, and the softer Goodyears.


2016-10-16 - I've had the Goodyear asym 2's on my old bmw z4 which were a superb drive although did have to change them fairly often. Now I've got a Toyota gt86 and considering the Goodyear asym 3, Michelin pilot sport 4, or the kumho ku39's? Any advice between them?

The F1 A3 and MPS4 are very closely matched. We've not yet driven them back to back, but would say the F1 A3 would have the slight edge in comfort, and the MPS4 the edge in sporty handling.


2017-01-24 - Where are the Goodyear asy 3 tyres made ?

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is made in a variety of locations depending on the size and market.


2017-03-18 - Hello, tell me when choosing tires efficientgrip performance and asymmetric 3 for durability what will be better?

Unfortunately no one has done the test to compare wear data. The treadwear rating of each tyre should give you an indication of which will perform better.


2017-06-08 - I am about to renew the front tyres on my 2014 Ford Focus st. The car came with Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 tyres. Should I stick with those or go for the Asymmetric 3 tyres.

The Asymmetric 3 is the natural replacement for the Asymmetric 2 so it would make sense to upgrade to the new and improved model.


2018-01-04 - Are these run flat tyres?

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 has a runflat option in certain sizes.


2018-03-28 - I have Honda Civic 1.8 8th gen on 225/40/R18 XL. Bridgestone Potenza on front, Michelin PS3 rear. Rears due for replacement soon. I want to improve ride comfort, Thinking of putting Potenzas on rear and new Goodyear Asymmetrical 3 or Pirelli P Zero PS4 on front. Which of these tyres would give best comfort? Is there much difference as far as comfort is concerned between them? Would handling be significantly affected by having stiffer walled Potenzas on the rear, requiring all tyres to be replaced

Personally I would go for the A3, put them on the rear and wear through whatever is left as quickly as possible on the front so I can have 4 matching tyres.


2018-12-27 - Hi I'm from Australia and have a BMW F20 125i M Sport on 18 " Bridgestone Potenza RFT that need replacing- I'm thinking of changing to non-RFT (plus repair kit) due to NVH/ride issues (especially on our roads) 1. My local tyre place suggests non-RF Goodyear Eagle F1 AS3- as first line on the drivers door sill plate reads '225/40 R 18 92 M&S XL' and according to him the G/Ys are only ones rated as 'extra load'. Do you think this is the best tyre to reduce NVH and improve ride (I don't mind the trade-off) 2. Another dealer stated that the XL isn't as important as the '92' load rating which opens the options to range of other tyres e.g. Pirelli P Zeros; Continentals; Michelin PSS. Is this correct, and if so which would you choose if the priority is to reduce NVH and improve ride? Many thanks Andrew

Your dealer is correct, the 92 is the important part, not XL. Many people switch from the runflats to the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 and speak extremely positive of the improvements they bring.


2019-03-21 - Looking at getting some 215/45/17s for my car. Some websites show XL rated on the 91Y tyres some don't. Are they all XL tyres or are some not?

I believe they are all XL in that load and speed rating, however it's worth double checking you're not looking at OE versions of the tyre.


2019-04-29 - Buying the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (J) XL 245/40R19 replacing Bridgestone Potenza RE05A which replaced Bridgestone Turanza T001. This is in Australia for my Holden Calais VF V Sedan. (1) Is the Goodyear a good replacement? (2) Is Asymmetric 3 the same tyre as Asymmetric 3 (J) XL.

Yes, it's a great replacement. The J version of the tyre is likely the Jaguar OE specific version of the tyre, so try and get one that isn't OE marked.


2020-02-05 - I am in a dilemma because I need tires in the size 245/45 R18 100Y XL and the label scores of the asymm 3 B/A/68 are better than the scores of the asymm 5 C/A/72 but in your and in other reviews the asymm 5 performs better. Are these scores biased or false? In what results should I trust?

Wet braking is only one aspect of a tyres performance, and the EU label tests are done under a very specific condition. The Asymmetric 5 is an improvement over the three in many ways, you can see more information here.


2019-11-26 - What are these tyres like in snow and icy conditions, thank you.

The Asymmetric 3 is a summer tyre, and as such will have a very poor level of grip in snow and ice compared to all season and winter tyres.


2020-03-11 - what tyre should I use for my Audi Q5 2009 3.0TDI with 255/45R20 rims? The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 255/45 R20 101V spec or the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 SUV 255/45 R20 105 W XL spec?

I would probably select the SUV version of the tyre for the increased sidewall strength for the relatively heavy Audi Q5.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
215/45 R17 £75.00 - £124.29 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £81.00 - £119.19 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £70.00 - £108.19 (44 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R17 £84.00 - £88.67 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 87 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 Review

Given 63% while driving a Volvo C30 T5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 miles
I previously had the asymmetric 2's whilst my car runs about 280bhp and 450nm of torque and i hardly ever got any wheel spin with them. On the other hand with asymmetric 3's i get a lot more wheel spin so i would definitely not buy them again and I'd stick to tglhe previous ones..
788 - tyre reviewed on September 24, 2016   

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 Reviews

Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 >>

Given 87% while driving a Mercedes Benz E220Cdi (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
A very nice summer tire all around.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 21, 2020   
Given 44% while driving a (225/45 R17 W) on for 0 miles
The experience at first was great but... after few months of using 70% Town 30% Highway - I had 3 blow outs on the side - one on pothole. Now I am into 3rd season and they started to loose grip. In normal city trafic on tight turnes. They are 4 years old and they have quite some tread left. I really developed aversion againts GoodYear. Maybe I just happend to land some bad batch but it should not suppose to happend to such big and expensive manufactore.
2 - tyre reviewed on August 13, 2020   
Trying to pick the very best all season tyre? Watch this!
Given 71% while driving a Mercedes Benz E400 4 Maitc Coupe (245/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 21,000 average miles
Excessive wear in the front insides only lasted 21000 km
0 - tyre reviewed on August 9, 2020   
Given 71% while driving a BMW 530D M sport (245/35 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
Had to replace a number of these due to tyre wall bubbles appearing without any physical damage accruing to them.
9 - tyre reviewed on July 26, 2020   
Given 80% while driving a Chevrolet camaro (275/35 R20) on mostly motorways for 28,375 average miles
This is the only tire we have had on the Beast. I I love the dry grip , the wet is not to bad either but the car is only summer driven and 95% has been in great weather. So wet grip has very little track time . The car handles amazing . This is the summer run flat OEM . Tire wear seems less the average with the kind of driving I do. But I do understand itís a max performance tire so in the real worl would have to try out different tires to see if I notice a difference from other brands. As for road noise I find the tire to be less noisy then I thought it would be , the top is 99.5% down we I love the rag top . The Beast has never seen gravel so I cant give a rating on loose road and compfort in that area. Over all I Love the feel and ride and the grip seems the tire was made for the car. Hope this helps any future purchases that may come about . I would most likely stick wit these tires again. Tires are way to expensive to in my opinion trying out other options and not liking them . Kinda stick to what I know works . Is that right or wrong not to experiment only someone with the same car in my opinion would know .. thanks for reading .
0 - tyre reviewed on June 29, 2020   

See all 129 customer reviews of the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (newest first) >>