Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3

Dry Grip 91%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 83%
Handling 81%
Wear 81%
Comfort 91%
Buy again 81%

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2

Show All

Tyre review data from 106 tyre reviews averaging 85% over 422,681 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2018 Ace 235/45 R18 Summer Tyre Test - 8th of 11 tyres

2018 Test World Summer Tyre Test - 8th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Good wet handling.
  • Negative - Understeer in the dry.

2018 EVO UUHP Tyre Test - 2nd of 6 tyres

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/40 R17 84W XL   E A 67 7.81kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   C A 69  
205/45 R17 88W XL   C A 69  
215/45 R17 87Y   E A 67  
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 67  
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 68  
225/45 R17 91Y   E A 68  
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 68  
235/45 R17 94Y   C A 68  
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 68  
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 68  
225/50 R17 94Y   C A 67  
225/55 R17 101W XL   B A 68 11.21kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 70 10.20kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 67 9.00kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 68  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 68 9.92kgs
245/40 R18 93Y   C A 69  
225/45 R18 91Y   E B 68  
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 68 9.59kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 69  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   B A 69  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   B A 67 11.38kgs
255/45 R18 99Y   C A 69  
255/45 R18 103Y XL   B A 69  
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 69 11.43kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 69  
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 68 11.53kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL   C A 69  
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C A 69 11.21kgs
245/40 R20 95Y   E A 71 14.50kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3

2016-03-24 - Is it true that asymmetric 3 has a smaller rim protection than asymmetric 2?

Just as an update to this question, we have been in contact with Goodyear regarding the rim protection on the Asymmetric 3 and the answer should be with us shortly!


2016-03-24 - When can we expect a test with the pilot sport 4, sport contact 6 and the asymmetric 3?

You're unlikely to see the Sport Contact 6 in a test with the Pilot Sport 4 due to the sizes they're made in, the Continental rivals the Pilot Super Sport.
The best test so far this year is the GTU test, however that missed the Michelin.


2016-04-27 - Is it true the side wall height has increased on the 3 vs the 2?

As with all Goodyear tyres, the Asymmetric 3 is within ETRTO (European Tyre & Rim Technical Organisation) guidelines, which does allow for a small variation on side wall height. Whether the size increases or decreases can depend on the size.


2016-04-26 - Will the 3 be N rated for Porsche, Cayman GTS specifically, like the 2?

A reply from Goodyear - We continuously work with OEM partners to develop OE Marked versions of the Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3, the tyre is currently approved on the Jaguar XF (J Marked) and the Mercedes-Benz E-Class (MO Marked). The tire will only be N rated if we gain an approval on a Porsche platform.


2016-05-06 - is the goodyear F1 AS3 directional

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is an asymmetric tyre, not directional


2016-05-30 - What does 94y and 98y mean and what is the differance

The 94 and 98 are the load ratings for the Asymmetric 3 tyre. 94 means each tyre is rated to carry 670 kgs, and 98 750 kgs. As a rule of thumb, the high load rating tyre will create slightly more noise, have a slightly harder ride, but will offer a more sporty steering feel.


2016-09-03 - I have Swift Sport 1.6 and I would like to replace my tires with either Dunlop Sport Maxx RT2 or Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric. They are similar but I can't decide. Could you help me ?

Both the latest Dunlop and the Goodyear are extremely similar tyres, you'll be happy with either. We would always side with the Goodyear as we feel longer term the availability would be better.


2016-08-27 - I am about to purchase either Goodyear Efficientgrip Performance or this Asymmetric 3. I think the Efficientgrip is the older design yet has the better fuel efficiency and same wet braking distance. I am surprised by this. It is also cheaper by £10 from Blackcircles. Does the labeling stay consistent such that you can compare older tyer designs against new ones. Why would you buy the Asymmetric 3 over the Efficientgrip? I drive a 2010 Ford Focus 2.0l diesel and do about 22000 miles per year.

The label tests do stay constant. Wet braking is only one performance quality of a tyre, and while it's entirely possible the F1 Asymmetric 3 and EG Performance to have the same wet braking grade, the Asymmetric 3 will have a better balance of overall qualities when you account for wet handling, aquaplaning, dry braking, dry handling etc.


2016-09-16 - I have Lotus Elise s2 sport 135. Its never used on track just occassional road use. Following a blow out on a rear Bridgestone pirenza I am considering replacement tyres with the Goodyear eagle F1 Assyimetric 3. What is your opinion

Sadly we've not yet driven on the Asymmetric 3! One thing to watch out for is that replacing just the rear tyres with the Goodyears could give the car a curious rear-steering feel due to the difference in sidewall strengths between the hard Bridgestone tyres, and the softer Goodyears.


2016-10-16 - I've had the Goodyear asym 2's on my old bmw z4 which were a superb drive although did have to change them fairly often. Now I've got a Toyota gt86 and considering the Goodyear asym 3, Michelin pilot sport 4, or the kumho ku39's? Any advice between them?

The F1 A3 and MPS4 are very closely matched. We've not yet driven them back to back, but would say the F1 A3 would have the slight edge in comfort, and the MPS4 the edge in sporty handling.


2017-01-24 - Where are the Goodyear asy 3 tyres made ?

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is made in a variety of locations depending on the size and market.


2017-03-18 - Hello, tell me when choosing tires efficientgrip performance and asymmetric 3 for durability what will be better?

Unfortunately no one has done the test to compare wear data. The treadwear rating of each tyre should give you an indication of which will perform better.


2017-06-08 - I am about to renew the front tyres on my 2014 Ford Focus st. The car came with Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 tyres. Should I stick with those or go for the Asymmetric 3 tyres.

The Asymmetric 3 is the natural replacement for the Asymmetric 2 so it would make sense to upgrade to the new and improved model.


2018-01-04 - Are these run flat tyres?

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 has a runflat option in certain sizes.


2018-03-28 - I have Honda Civic 1.8 8th gen on 225/40/R18 XL. Bridgestone Potenza on front, Michelin PS3 rear. Rears due for replacement soon. I want to improve ride comfort, Thinking of putting Potenzas on rear and new Goodyear Asymmetrical 3 or Pirelli P Zero PS4 on front. Which of these tyres would give best comfort? Is there much difference as far as comfort is concerned between them? Would handling be significantly affected by having stiffer walled Potenzas on the rear, requiring all tyres to be replaced

Personally I would go for the A3, put them on the rear and wear through whatever is left as quickly as possible on the front so I can have 4 matching tyres.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
215/45 R17 £74.80 - £106.40 (22 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £78.40 - £89.00 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £65.40 - £76.90 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £106.93 - £162.70 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 83 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 Review

Given 63% while driving a Volvo C30 T5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 miles
I previously had the asymmetric 2's whilst my car runs about 280bhp and 450nm of torque and i hardly ever got any wheel spin with them. On the other hand with asymmetric 3's i get a lot more wheel spin so i would definitely not buy them again and I'd stick to tglhe previous ones..
632 - tyre reviewed on September 24, 2016   

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 Reviews

Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 70% while driving a Volkswagen Scirocco 2.0 TSI 201 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
2018 VW Scirocco 2.0 tsi 180 bhp fwd. Bought these after having Continental Conti Sport Contact 3. The continentals lasted 11,500 miles with about 2ml left very spirited driving style. Wet grip: does not make me feel confident at all. Dry grip: not too bad, struggle to put full throttle/gas down in 1st unless they are warmed up. Handling: the Scirocco traction control is unbelievably good but I don't think these tyres go well with the car. Compared to the Conti sport hands down conti sport.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 13, 2018   
Given 100% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class AMG (275/30 R20) on mostly motorways for 300 easy going miles
These tyres are very round and very black. Quite rubbery and they also have a rubbery smell. Only complaint is Mayne they could be pink and a little bit square
8 - tyre reviewed on November 5, 2018   
What's better in the snow, a 4x4 or winter tyres? Watch the video to find out!
Given 90% while driving a BMW 523I (225/50 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
not bad
0 - tyre reviewed on November 4, 2018   
Given 93% while driving a Vauxhall corsa sri (215/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
I've had these on my Mk7 Golf R Estate for a few months and they are superb. So when my wife's Corsa E 1.4t VX-Line needed some new front tyres these were near the top of the list of ones I wanted to get. I found them for a good price online.

They are just as good on the Corsa as they are the Golf. Grip in the dry is fantastic and they inspire confidence. They are very quiet and also give a supple ride. I would thoroughly recommend these. I have yet to find their limits on the Golf on public roads, in the wet or dry.

On the little Corsa they are first class. They replaced a pair on Continentals which were well past their best, they had made the front of the Corsa rather skittish. Now the Goodyears are on, it feels like a new car.

6 - tyre reviewed on October 25, 2018   

See all 97 customer reviews of the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (newest first) >>