Mercedes Benz E280 Sport Tyres

Drive a Mercedes Benz E280 Sport? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Mercedes Benz E280 Sport
Debica Presto UHP2 (24) 89% 85% 86% 84% 78% 92% 81% 85% 147,220
Avon ZZ5 (90) 90% 83% 83% 86% 70% 81% 78% 82% 589,571
Continental Sport Contact 2 (226) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66% 60% 71% 4,138,562
Pirelli PZero Rosso (108) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62% 54% 66% 1,298,806
Nokian Hakka Black (2) 75% 80% 50% 55% 65% 40% 45% 59% 21,000
Maxtrek INGENS A1 (24) 56% 30% 47% 39% 65% 58% 33% 47% 225,330

Mercedes Benz E280 Sport Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Pirelli PZero Rosso given 94% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 23000 average miles
Very good tyre all round, have got 23000 mls so far and will change after another 2000mls.
tyre reviewed on 2010-09-13 10:39:35
Writing about the Avon ZZ5 given 93% (265-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
this is the third set of these that I have bought. The last 2 were on a Subaru outback 2.5 and provided great grip, wet or dry, were reasonably quiet and comfortable and wore very well. last set had covered 15000 when I sold the car and shoed hardly any wear. this time bought to replace budget rubbish that were downright dangerous in the wet/damp and have instantly transformed the car. Cannot recommend highly enough.
tyre reviewed on 2017-07-31 17:39:41
Writing about the Debica Presto UHP2 given 84% (265-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
Good Budget Tyres.Tested them at 260 km/h on motorway no problems even in rain.
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-30 11:10:14
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 2 given 57% (265-35-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 16500 spirited miles
Size: 265/35/R18 97Y (Rear) / 245/40/R18 93Y (Front)

I found the tyres wore evenly front to rear, even though the car is rear wheel drive.

From new I liked the tyres very much. Due to circumstances, we let the tyres wear right down when a rear tyre blew out, fortunately at only 30 mph. Lucky we weren't on the Autobahn. We are talking a 2 inch rip here (5cm for those metrics amongst us). The scary part was that the rip formed a small part of a split extending around the entire circumference of the tyre near (but not at) the point where the tread meets the side wall. This was invisible from the outside as it was on the inner wall of the tyre. I have pictures.

I decided to check the others immediately.

Every single remaining tyre on the car had the same problem.

I have made a formal complaint to Mercedes Benz. The tyre guy at my local Mercedes Benz garage mistook my concerns for a request for compensation. Whilst this would be nice, I urge you to go outside right now with a powerful torch and check out the inner walls of your tyres immediately, particularly if they are high mileage. Look for open cracks where the tyre flexes, as described above.

The tyre man said he had seen this before many times but never all four tyres on one car. He also commented that the Sport Contact 3's were OK. Great.

The tyres are being returned to Continental and I am expecting a weasel (FX: Ooops! strike that out, I meant analysis) letter in the next couple of weeks. Yes, the tyres were very worn. Yes, there was some usage damage. However this does not excuse the catastrophic failure of the carcasses on a car that is barely 16 months old.

Did I like the tyres when they were working? Yes. Would I ever by Continental again? It would be better to ask if I love my family.


Paul.
tyre reviewed on 2009-04-03 09:35:24
Writing about the Maxtrek INGENS A1 given 41% (265-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
I had these on the rear of merc 280cdi and they are horrendous. At the first sign of any dampness or wet, they completely fail to grip. after 20,000 miles no signs of any wear - obviously ridiculously hard compound. now replaced with Avon zz5 and handling is transformed. Be warned do not buy these tyres unless you live somewhere were it never rains.
tyre reviewed on 2017-07-31 17:34:41
Writing about the Nokian Hakka Black given 39% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
2 out of 4 tires was "more oval than round". Visible to the naked eye for anyone, including a couple of mechanics at two different workshops. Nokian on the other hand claimed they were perfect and wouldn't replace them under warranty. Seller replaced them without Nokian's backing.

The tires are rock hard, noisy, creates a bumpy and uncomfortable ride. Even in a Mercedes E-class with new suspension and wheels the tires causes lots of vibration both in low and higher speeds, and makes the car jump around with small constant jumps unless the tarmac is completely perfect.
A Nokian representative uses some fancy measuring devices and concluded the tires was perfect so this type of behavior from the tires was how things was supposed to be.

I've had more noisy tires before, like the Toyo T1 model. But nothing as uncomfortable and horrible to drive as these Nokian Hakka Black.
tyre reviewed on 2015-06-19 18:40:08
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre