Vauxhall Astra GTC Tyres

Drive a Vauxhall Astra GTC? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Vauxhall Astra GTC
Falken Azenis FK510 (74) 90% 90% 85% 84% 78% 79% 86% 84% 655,171
Yokohama Advan Sport V105S (11) 88% 85% 85% 75% 75% 73% 91% 82% 157,503
Nexen N Fera SU1 (89) 85% 79% 77% 78% 77% 83% 74% 79% 643,701
Nexen N Fera RU1 (18) 82% 73% 75% 75% 75% 84% 76% 77% 54,165
Continental Sport Contact 3 (241) 87% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,233,337

Vauxhall Astra GTC Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nexen N Fera RU1 given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
put four of these tyres on my Astra GTC that was running factory Bridgestones, which i hate. Bridgestones are like driving on solid stone, they are spine shattering. my local fitting centre was doing a deal on the Nexen tyre so i opted to try them and they are a revelation. they offer utter comfort, very low road noise and they have proved to have bags of grip in the wet and dry, even with spirited driving. they may well wear out quicker than other brands but for what i paid for them its manageable. overall i am very impressed with this tyre, it punches well above its weight
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-10 18:18:10
Writing about the Nexen N Fera SU1 given 86% (245-40-20-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 spirited miles
These Nexen N'fera SU1 tyres initially replaced Continental Sport Contact tyres on the front of the car.

These tyres are half the price of the Continentals, so how would they stack up against the standard OEM equipment? 245 40 R20 tyres offer a fair bit of grip and contact patch for a sports coupe/hatchback, but care must be taken if there is surface water with tyres this wide.

My first thoughts were how good these Nexens felt, even from new. New tyres normally start to feel better after they've had a chance to be scrubbed.

A good percentage of my driving takes place on winding country roads in the middle of nowhere, so the tyres get pushed to their limits. If I'm perfectly honest, I immediately preferred these SU1's over the Conti's, in just about every way.

The grip in both wet and dry conditions is very good, reassuringly so on twisty country roads. The noise levels from the tyres are acceptable but get louder once the tread wears below 4mm - this is more appreciable on motorway journeys.

Progressive feel as the tyres reach and exceed their limits can only be described as first rate. These tyres are very nicely mannered and give me very little cause for concern, even when I'm in a hurry.

During a particularly severe deluge on the M4 near Newport, the Motorway basically became a lake. Aquaplaning was the biggest concern, purely due to the shear volume of water. Reducing the speed, the tyres held their own whilst we witnessed 3 Aquaplaning related accidents within a 10 mile stretch! This was when the tyres were around 5mm.

These tyres seem to give decent enough fuel economy, similar to the Conti's, but with better grip levels.

Wear rates are acceptable considering the grip performance, though the Conti's had longer life.

We now have the Nexen N'fera SU1's on all 4 corners of the car and it feels planted and safe. Steering is responsive, braking is good and both cornering and acceleration are exactly what you'd want for the GTC.

All with a tyre costing 50% less.

Now with Nexen RU1's being OE on Porsche Cayenne and Macan models, it's even harder not to take these tyres seriously.
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-08 20:32:50
Writing about the Nexen N Fera SU1 given 86% (245-40-20-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 spirited miles
These Nexen N'fera SU1 tyres initially replaced Continental Sport Contact tyres on the front of the car.

These tyres are half the price of the Continentals, so how would they stack up against the standard OEM equipment? 245 40 R20 tyres offer a fair bit of grip and contact patch for a sports coupe/hatchback, but care must be taken if there is surface water with tyres this wide.

My first thoughts were how good these Nexens felt, even from new. New tyres normally start to feel better after they've had a chance to be scrubbed.

A good percentage of my driving takes place on winding country roads in the middle of nowhere, so the tyres get pushed to their limits. If I'm perfectly honest, I immediately preferred these SU1's over the Conti's, in just about every way.

The grip in both wet and dry conditions is very good, reassuringly so on twisty country roads. The noise levels from the tyres are acceptable but get louder once the tread wears below 4mm - this is more appreciable on motorway journeys.

Progressive feel as the tyres reach and exceed their limits can only be described as first rate. These tyres are very nicely mannered and give me very little cause for concern, even when I'm in a hurry.

During a particularly severe deluge on the M4 near Newport, the Motorway basically became a lake. Aquaplaning was the biggest concern, purely due to the shear volume of water. Reducing the speed, the tyres held their own whilst we witnessed 3 Aquaplaning related accidents within a 10 mile stretch! This was when the tyres were around 5mm.

These tyres seem to give decent enough fuel economy, similar to the Conti's, but with better grip levels.

Wear rates are acceptable considering the grip performance, though the Conti's had longer life.

We now have the Nexen N'fera SU1's on all 4 corners of the car and it feels planted and safe. Steering is responsive, braking is good and both cornering and acceleration are exactly what you'd want for the GTC.

All with a tyre costing 50% less.

Now with Nexen RU1's being OE on Porsche Cayenne and Macan models, it's even harder not to take these tyres seriously.
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-09 23:11:40
Writing about the Nexen N Fera RU1 given 84% (235-45-19-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 14000 average miles
I bought these tyres due to the value for money they offered. I paid £75 a corner which was excellent value for such a large tyre. I find the Roadstone tyres a lot more comfortable than the Contisport 5”s that we’re fitted by the manufacturer. I find the tyres excellent in the wet and dry and I have never driven beyond the limits of the tyre. The tyres have been on my car for 14,000 miles and the wear is excellent. I still have over 5mm on the front and 6mm on the rear. I would highly recommend these tyres to anyone wanting an affordable reliable tyre. I had Roadstone tyres on my previous vehicle and was that impressed I bought them for my current vehicle.
tyre reviewed on 2018-09-21 15:58:09
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 83% (245-40-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
Tyres feel good in the dry. As some of the reviews say they have slow feel initially during a fast turn but then they bite and grip very well. They are good in the wet too and have never lost traction. Feed back is good too you can actually feel what the wheels are doing and can feel the speed you are carrying into a corner. The wear is brilliant so far. Had them 3000 miles now and hardly anything has worn down even with my 200 hp astra gtc biturbo. As I write this the winter weather has hit and temperatures have dropped and you can feel a difference. I don't drive like a mug but you certainly can tell they don't like the cold, but afterall they are a summer tyre. Price is a big advantage too compared to the continental the car came with but seeming falken are made my dunlop quality remains high.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-29 21:48:54
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 given 83% (240-45-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 52000 spirited miles
They were great tyres for the rear of a front wheel drive car. They only lasted 12000 miles on the front but have lasted 52,000 on the rear. Fantastic tyres. Would buy again but only for the rear axle.
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-23 22:32:20
Writing about the Yokohama Advan Sport V105S given 77% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
Good tyres but needed run in for a few miles when new. Rather slippy at first in wet but after some wear, tyres are good in wet. Gave confidence in fast corners. No snaking or fish tailing. Bought 2 years ago and tyres more expensive now. Tyres fitted to front wheel drive whells.
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-23 22:21:12
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre