Volkswagen Golf mk6 GTD Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen Golf mk6 GTD? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen Golf mk6 GTD
Goodyear UltraGrip 8 (57) 88% 92% 86% 82% 86% 87% 94% 86% 324,343
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (394) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,769,737
Vredestein Snowtrac 3 (33) 85% 91% 83% 76% 83% 87% 97% 83% 271,289
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (64) 85% 80% 80% 81% 77% 81% 71% 79% 441,244
Pirelli Dragon Sport (8) 80% 79% 77% 68% 84% 70% 84% 77% 40,409
Avon ZV5 (110) 84% 79% 77% 78% 71% 78% 74% 77% 1,381,255
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (164) 88% 86% 80% 76% 61% 83% 66% 77% 1,559,456
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (138) 84% 75% 75% 76% 74% 75% 67% 75% 1,832,142
Goodride SW601 (7) 76% 71% 66% 63% 79% 79% 77% 73% 68,600
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (206) 83% 70% 75% 72% 66% 60% 58% 69% 3,455,628
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (119) 78% 67% 70% 68% 69% 65% 58% 68% 2,355,806
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62% 54% 66% 1,308,806
Goodyear EfficientGrip (123) 77% 66% 61% 59% 70% 71% 53% 65% 1,490,297
BCT S800 (84) 51% 30% 38% 37% 61% 32% 24% 39% 381,346

Volkswagen Golf mk6 GTD Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip 8 given 100% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2011-09-21 10:38:00
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 91% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 40000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2015-11-20 21:36:38
Writing about the Vredestein Snowtrac 3 given 84% (215-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Purchased these back in September and have had them on the car since October. Found that they are quieter than the standard Bridgestone tyres and have improved fuel economy by an average 4mpg. In the snow these tyres are excellent, never once have I been stuck they always pull you out of even relatively deep snow and give you a lot more confidence in braking and cornering. I'd recommend these tyres to anyone they do everything Vredestein say they can and even better than that they give you a bit of confidence in knowing what the car will do. Will definitely buy again but that may be a while away as they are wearing fairly slowly so I should get another 2 winters out of them.
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-09 09:43:00
Writing about the Pirelli Dragon Sport given 82% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 100 average miles
Pirelli have released a performance tyre in the Asia Pacific market called the Dragon Sport (same name as the Euro motorbike tyre). Feedback on chat forums is very positive. They are extremely cheap for a Pirelli tyre. As this UK website is read across the world, I thought I should give an initial review on them here.

First impressions are very good. They are quiet and give excellent feedback, much better than the original fitment Bridgestone Turanza ER300s. There is some slight 'slap' from road joins, but not like a hardcore track-ready tyre (eg: PS4).

Wide grooves give excellent wet grip and wet braking. USTQ rating of 400 indicates a relatively hard compound, so they aren't for track use and may not be so great in emergency dry braking. But they should last a long time.

It is too soon to give a considered opinion, but at this point they seem to be an excellent choice for anyone upgrading from standard rubber to something better. I will be recommending them to friends who say "I need some tyres but don't know what to buy."

For enthusiasts, I would say "Buy the Adrenalin RE003s, Michellin PS4s or PZeros instead". (All Continental tyres are overpriced out of contention here in Australia, as our coarse chip roads can eat them in less than a year.)
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-02 20:21:12
Writing about the Avon ZV5 given 81% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 spirited miles
On my last 2 cars Volvo T4 & Golf GT TDI fitting Avon ZV5 has transformed the cars. Just bought a Golf GTD with Pirellis on and they grip in a straight line but I nearly ended up in the side of a BMW at modest speed on a damp road. Will replace with Avons next time. Excellent tyre
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-10 23:31:13
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A given 79% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 6000 easy going miles
Have these fitted to a Golf GTD. Have been fine until the snow has come. On the snow they are not good even in a couple of inches. The car just sits and spins even on the slightest slope and its not even rear wheel drive! Have invested in a pair of AutoSock's to go over the front tyres which has enabled me to get easily up the hills. Without these the car would be going no where!
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-18 19:10:38
Writing about the Goodride SW601 given 77% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-09 20:52:03
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 given 77% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 11000 spirited miles
Have done 17,500km/11,000 miles on these fitted to a Golf GTD, rotated at 15,000km/9,300miles still less than half worn. Very quiet and comfortable compared to previous Bridgestone ER-300. Handle very well in dry and good in occasional wet (Brisbane,Australia). Good road feel all the way to 220kph/135mph, giving warning well before limit in dry. Recently did interstate run of 2,100km/1,300miles in 2 days in wet, no dramas. Definitely will look for these again when required.
tyre reviewed on 2013-06-05 15:52:15
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A given 71% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Oke.. i came from 225/45/17 alloys with hankook evo 2 tyres (was very satisfied with them) . When they worned out, i replaced them with new 18"alloys and a pare of bridgestone's. My first impression was.. wow are these tyres made of rocks or what? I lost all comfort, fellt literally every imperfection in the road. BUT.. after i got used to them i found out they give excellent feedback and grip(if not the best of all tyres i've had in the past) in warm condititons. You've got to love it.

So if you prefer comfort, these tyres are not for you.

thanks for reading. bye.

tyre reviewed on 2018-05-17 09:48:13
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip given 70% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 spirited miles
cant comment on wear as only had for 4 weeks however had conties then verderstain and pirellis before and on my 184bhp front wheel drive Golf Covering 30k a year, they where the best tyre by far! Shocking I know but these really are good tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2015-08-09 23:27:01
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre