Pirelli P Zero

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 76%
Road Feedback 79%
Handling 76%
Wear 67%
Comfort 71%
Buy again 66%
 
Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £86.35 - £139.00 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £72.85 - £126.26 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £122.35 - £164.10 (53 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/40 R18 £91.46 - £142.00 (19 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R19 £120.41 - £267.40 (29 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/45 R18 £114.52 - £242.65 (21 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 124 tyre sizes - View all.

Pirelli P Zero Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 67% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz C220 CDI Sports (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 miles
This is the 2nd set of P Zeros that I have put on my car. The 1st set lasted 8500 miles and were the original tyres on the car. I am a great believer in keeping what came on the car on the car but at 8000 miles this is a bit excessive. I do 8000 miles a year of mixed motorway and A road driving. I do not drive fast or aggressively and can't believe the mileage from these tyres. I am going to break my tradition and change from original tyres to something else, not sure what yet.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 2, 2017   
Given 54% (breakdown) while driving a Porsche 997 911 Carrera 4s (235/35 R19 W) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
Unfortunately my 911 (997.2) came with the N-rated Pirelli P Zeros for Porsche. They were barely run in, (they still have the rubber whiskers!) and I only added 8,000km or so before finding longitudinal cracks around the front tyres. They were made in 2013 and as such, they have now reached the end of their life. If you do a quick search, you will see posts on forums complaining about cracking P Zeros dating back to about 2001. This from Subaru, Audi, Cadillac, Ford (Mustang), Porsche and other forums. I'll be replacing with Michelins. These things are useless.
3 - tyre reviewed on August 23, 2016   
Given 76% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus (225/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 11,875 spirited miles
Awesome grip in wet as long the water isn´t high enough for aquaplaning. Very progressive in corners, the feedback is more than OK. Surprises don´t exist. OK, there exist better tyres if you driving in heavy rain, but if the street is only wet the P Zero is a very strong performer.

In dry the P Zero is also very fast, but the progressiveness could be better.

The week point is the temperature. Below 5° celsius the grip is noticeable poorer. The grip drops down and the tyre doesn´t give you the feedback where the limit is.

On my FWD the wear on drive axle will reach about 13000 miles, I guess. It´s not awesome but imho what you can expect from an UHP-tyre with my driveing profile.

Conclusion: The aquaplaning skills could be a bit better, the tyre should be better on lower temperatures. But overall it´s an good tyre if you want good grip in dry and wet.

I dunno how long the old version of P Zero will be available, so I don´t buy it again. The new P Zero PZ4 is available in some dimensions, I guess in near future also in 225/45R17

5 - tyre reviewed on August 7, 2016   
Given 56% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz Mercedes SLK 55 AMG (245/35 R18 W) on mostly town for 4,700 average miles
Bought these as replacements on the rear and got them as they are the Mercedes MO for the car. Although for the most part they did a good job, I did have the back end completely come round at 20mph going round a corner into a car park over a cobbled sleeping policeman. Pretty scary. Have only had 4700 miles out of them and they are down to the limit. I honestly don't power it all the time so showed them to the garage I bought them from. Even he was surprised ! Will try continental sports contact 5 next.
1 - tyre reviewed on July 10, 2016   
Given 76% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 3 series (235/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
I've tried every premium brand on my car including 2 Pirellis - the older P Zero Nero and now have done a year on the latest P Zero. I've had no real problems with the P Zero. Grip in wet and dry has been fine although I did find Continental to be the best.
Wear rate seems good but hard to tell as these are on the front and my car is rear wheel drive. I expect to get another 2 years easily out of them.
Comfort and noise is good as well as feedback although I tend to ease off when I feel the limit is reaching rather than find myself in a ditch.
I probably won't buy these again only because I like to try new tyres and I prefer Continental so will stick with them.
1 - tyre reviewed on June 4, 2016   
Audi Q7 (295/35 R21 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
My Q7 came with Pirelli P Zeros from new. The car recently went in for it's first oil change service at 10k miles and I was told the rear tyres had worn to the limit and needed changing. I previously had a BMW X5 with a set of Bridgestones of similar size which lasted 20k miles before changing. Suffice to say I won't be replacing with Pirelli P Zeros at over £200 per tyre
0 - tyre reviewed on May 26, 2016   
Given 53% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Civic 1.8 VTEC Sport (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
I bought these for my old Honda Civic Type R and am now running them on my slower Civic 1.8 Sport.

The positives :
They grip very well in dry from standstill, and they are outstanding in the wet when driven reasonable. The P Zero design looks really classy.

The negatives :
1) I bought them as a very sporty tire, the old tires on my Volk summerwheels where Neova Advan AD07, and as a true sports tire the P Zero really let me down. They do not give me any sort of road feedback you might expect from such a premium tire brand.
2) They are quite noisy and even after 25000 miles they are still as noisy as when they where new.
I could easily live with the tire noise (not nearly as bad as the Yoko' AD07) if the P Zero provided a thrilling feedback but they don't.

I think that the P Zero tire will probably benefit from being mounted on a bigger wheel then my 17x7.5 inch, so it can get a lower profile. Somewhere between 40 and 35 and possible stretched a bit.

Overall :
The tire feels secure, with great dry and wet grip but it doesn't deliver any thrilling sensation and it is an unnecessary noisy companion for daily commute. I will definitely not buy this tire again and am thinking more along the lines of Yokohamas Advan Sport V105 or Michelins Pilot Sport 4 or maybe the Sport Cup 2.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 31, 2016   
Given 76% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen CC (235/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
these replaced Continue 5 factory fitted on the front of my CC. Much better tyre and are at 3mm after 10k abuse. Given 220 horses going through front wheels any tyre may suffer in the wet , these are no worse than the Contis
0 - tyre reviewed on January 6, 2016   
Given 64% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A6 S line (255/35 R20 W) on mostly motorways for 23,000 spirited miles
driven 23,000 miles and for a premium tyre, just not worth it. It has a no warning limit and slide judders during cornering. Not fuel efficient and rather noisy for the low profile. Just not what you expect for £175 a corner. Its not a terrible tyre but for the brand name I wouldn't buy again. It will be Dunlop Sport Maxx RT.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 6, 2015