tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Pirelli P Zero


Show all: Pirelli tyres, Passenger Car Summer Max Performance tyres
The Pirelli P Zero is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 45 tyre reviews averaging 76% over 408,969 miles driven.
 


Pirelli P Zero
Dry Grip
88%

Wet Grip
77%

Road Feedback
81%

Progressiveness
77%

Wear
68%

Comfort
73%

Buy again
71%


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £101.38 - £110.32 (2 prices)
225/45 R17 £78.14 - £127.42 (6 prices)
225/40 R18 £89.96 - £179.06 (8 prices)
235/35 R19 £133.22 - £186.60 (15 prices)
Available in 112 tyre sizes - View all.

Pirelli P Zero Reviews

Given 91% (breakdown) while driving a Porsche BOXSTER 2.7 (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2,500 spirited miles
Granted, a lot of the grip of this car comes from the excellent chassis and suspension but these tyres are a perfect pairing for the car. The only minor point is that they seemed to wear a little quickly but that could be down to the driving style as much as the tyre itself.
In the wet and dry they are a grippy, safe and fun tyre that I'd imagine would be a great choice on any sports car.
tyre reviewed on September 22, 2014   
Given 64% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Cupra R 305psi import (235-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 19,500 spirited miles
Had these tyres for 19,500miles, with 3-4mm left on all four. So as far as wear goes - well impressed.
Had cupra from new n driven damn hard. wet grip lets the pirelli's down for me
tyre reviewed on August 9, 2014   
Looking to buy the Pirelli P Zero? Click here to search for the best price for the Pirelli P Zero or any other tyre.
 
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Jaguar XF S (245-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22,000 average miles
I've a jag xf 275cv. This tyres has and excellent grip in dry, also last millage. You can go on a cornering roads extremly fast and tyres answer is impresive. On wet condicions results are really good but not impresive only in last millage grip starts to be only aceptable, specially on raining conditions when aquaplaning apears.
On motorway has also an excellent grip but noise isn't the best. Fuel consumtion is good for this kind of tyres.. however I've changed with 16700 miles because was finished, from my point a short millage.
50% motorway 20% city drive 30% country roads.
tyre reviewed on August 8, 2014   
Given 50% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz SL500 (295-30-19-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 6,000 average miles
Just plain rubbish

Had on a merc SL - The back end was dreadful - wear was horrendous. fronts randomly wore to steel ribbing which I have never had on any tyres before and none since.

I don't get why these tyres are rated so highly
tyre reviewed on August 3, 2014   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Scirocco 1,4 TSI 160hp (235-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on June 4, 2014   
Given 56% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Jetta 1.4TSi 170Sport (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30,000 easy going miles
Very noisy, don't know if it was a bad pick for my car or if these tyres are just a bad mix of rubber and etc. Seemed very good for the first 1000km, then they got very noisy and ruff. Stopping is like the car is rolling on chains. Changing lanes is like going over railway tracks.
tyre reviewed on May 11, 2014   
Given 80% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Scirocco 2.0 TSI 210hp (235-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 16,000 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on April 3, 2014   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Porsche BOXSTER 2.7 (305-30-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
The P-zero does not get a lot of rave reviews, and many enthusiast drivers bang on about other brands from the "Premium" suppliers.

However I really like Pirelli P-Zero. They are superbly made, of the nicest construction quality, and really good all round.

They look very nice, with an attractive modern asymmetric pattern. Their roadholding is very good, and the comfort levels in terms of noise and harshness are also great. I've not had them long enough to establish longevity and wear rates however. They do have a nice sidewall design with an integral yet unobtrusive kerb-protector. Not all high-performance tyres even have this, and it's a very useful feature for any road car.

All in all, in the "ultra-high performance" segment the P-zero is kind of ignored against the Michelin and Goodyear brands, who all have a very vocal fan-base.

But it's worth remembering that the P-Zero is OEM fitment on Porsche, Ferrari, Jaguuar, McLaren, Audi to name but a few.

The only problem with P-Zeros is the confusing nature of the range. Each OEM fitment mentioned above has a specific tyre in each size, so you need a tyre marked N0 for Porsche, MC1 for McLaren etc. This can get confusing when changing them, and often great cost differences exist even with the same tyre sizes.

Another thing is the P-Zero is a particular tyre in the P-zero range. There are also P-zero Rosso (comfortable and quiet with soft tread), Nero (ultra-low profile for aftermarket fitments), Silver (hard tread for high mileage users), and System (different tread types front and rear), and corsa (road/race fitment)

This review is for the basic P-Zero, which as mentioned is an all rounder for any high-performance car that comes in a large variety of sizes.

It's a great all round tyre that should please everybody. I have them on the back of my Porsche Boxster now, and have just bought two more for the front.
tyre reviewed on March 28, 2014   
Given 73% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo S60 T5 250bhp (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
I've tried out lot's of tires the last years and found what others seem to know from the beginning; quality comes from the same brand over again. The last years I've gone from Hankook, Barum, Good Year, Sunny, Nokian, Michelin to Continental, Bridestone and now last season to Pirelli Zero.

What a fantastic tyre, grips, holds, responses and performs. Bare in mind I drive a Volvo which is among the worst cars made. I've also been very happy with Bridgestone 050's, but they weigh 1 kg more at the same size, so my choice goes to Continental Sport-series or as now, Pirelli Zero. After 10 km of efficient driving, the surface is already warmed up and grips.

The only downside is the wear. Mine lasted for 12000 km on front axle untile they were below 0,5 mm and I had to change for a set of new ones, the same brand of course.

Very happy with these, but next choice might also be Continental. Both C. and Pirelli are ligher than competitors, Pirelli is also slightly narrower on same size, where Bridgestone meets the full measure it specifies. Conti in between.
tyre reviewed on March 14, 2014   
Given 57% (breakdown) while driving a BMW M3 (265-35-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12,000 average miles
Have these on the rears of a BMW M3, they are fine until they wear and then they become a death trap. Replaced with Goodyear Eagle F1s although louder a much better tyre. I've had Continential, Vredesteins, Maxxis on various cars over the years and these P Zeros are so dangerous when wet or worn, I cannot recommend them at all for that reason alone (as others have said too). Wear was average.
tyre reviewed on February 14, 2014   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: