Michelin Pilot Super Sport

Dry Grip 96%
Wet Grip 87%
Road Feedback 91%
Handling 86%
Wear 84%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 91%

The Michelin Pilot Super Sport is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

Show All

Tyre review data from 119 tyre reviews averaging 88% over 940,389 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2017 Motor Mag UHP Tyre Test - 2nd of 9 tyres

2016 EVO Summer Performance Tyre Test - 6th of 9 tyres

  • Overall - The Michelin ruled the dry testing, both in outright performance and subjective steering feel, but it struggled in the wet running, one of the slowest on test. Excellent if you prioritise dry running and steering feel.

2016 AutoBild UHP Summer Tyre Test - 3rd of 6 tyres

  • Positive - Fast accurate steering response, high lateral stability and short braking distances in the dry.
  • Negative - Poor resistance to aquaplaning, in the wet the car can oversteer quickly
  • Overall - Good
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/45 R17 88Y XL          
205/45 R17 88Y XL   F A 71  
215/45 R17 91Y XL   F A 71  
225/35 R18 87Y XL   E A 71  
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E B 71  
275/35 R18 99Y XL   F A 73  
295/35 R18 103Y XL   C A 73  
205/40 R18 86Y XL   F A 71  
215/40 R18 89Y XL   F A 71  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   F A 71  
225/40 R18 88Y   E B 71  
245/40 R18 93Y   E C 71  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E B 71  
255/40 R18 95Y   E A 71  
255/40 R18 99Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R18 99Y XL   E A 71  
265/40 R18 101Y XL   E A 71  
265/40 R18 101Y XL   E A 71  
275/40 R18 99Y   E B 72  
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 71  
225/45 R18 95Y XL   E A 71  
235/45 R18 94Y   F A 71  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   E A 71  
265/45 R18 101Y   E A 71  
235/30 R19 86Y XL   F A 71  
235/30 R19 86Y XL   F A 71  
245/30 R19 89Y XL   E A 71  
255/30 R19 91Y XL   F A 71  
255/30 R19 91Y XL   E A 71  
265/30 R19 93Y XL   E A 71  
275/30 R19 96Y XL   E A 73  
285/30 R19 94Y   E C 74  
295/30 R19 100Y XL   E A 73  
305/30 R19 102Y XL   E A 73  
325/30 R19 105Y XL   E A 75  
345/30 R19 109Y XL   E A 73  
225/35 R19 88Y XL   E A 71  
225/35 R19 88Y XL   E A 71  
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 71  
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E B 71  
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E B 71  
245/35 R19 89Y   F A 71  
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 71  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E B 71  
255/35 R19 92Y   E A 71  
255/35 R19 92Y   F B 72  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 71  
265/35 R19 98Y XL   E B 71  
265/35 R19 98Y XL   E A 71  
265/35 R19 98Y XL   E B 71  
265/35 R19 98Y XL   E B 71  
265/35 R19 98Y XL   E A 71  
275/35 R19 96Y   E A 72  
275/35 R19 100Y XL   E A 73  
275/35 R19 100Y XL   E B 73  
285/35 R19 99Y   E C 73  
285/35 R19 103Y XL   E A 73  
295/35 R19 104Y XL   C B 73  
295/35 R19 104Y XL   C B 73  
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 71  
235/40 R19 96Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   F A 71  
265/40 R19 102Y XL   C B 71  
275/40 R19 105Y XL   E A 73  
285/40 R19 107Y XL   E A 73  
285/40 R19 103Y   C A 73  
225/45 R19 96Y XL   F A 71  
255/45 R19 104Y XL   E A 71  
255/45 R19 100Y   E A 71  
285/25 R20 93Y XL   E A 73  
295/25 R20 95Y XL   E A 73  
305/25 R20 97Y XL   E A 73  
325/25 R20 101Y XL   E A 75  
335/25 R20 99Y   E C 74  
235/30 R20 88Y XL   E A 71  
245/30 R20 90Y XL   E A 71  
255/30 R20 92Y XL   E A 71  
265/30 R20 94Y XL   E B 71  
265/30 R20 94Y XL   F A 71  
275/30 R20 97Y XL   E A 73  
275/30 R20 0 XL   E A 73  
285/30 R20 95Y   F B 73  
285/30 R20 99Y XL   E A 73  
285/30 R20 99Y XL   E B 73  
285/30 R20 99Y XL   E B 73  
285/30 R20 0 XL   E A 73  
295/30 R20 101Y XL   E B 73  
295/30 R20 101Y XL   C A 73  
295/30 R20 101Y XL   E B 73  
305/30 R20 103Y XL   E A 73  
305/30 R20 103Y XL   E B 73  
335/30 R20 108Y XL   E A 74  
345/30 R20 106Y   E A 74  
225/35 R20 90Y XL   E A 71  
235/35 R20 92Y XL   F B 71  
235/35 R20 88Y   F A 71  
245/35 R20 95Y XL   E B 71  
245/35 R20 91Y   F A 71  
245/35 R20 95Y XL   E A 71  
245/35 R20 95Y XL   E B 71  
245/35 R20 95Y XL   E B 71  
255/35 R20 0 XL   E A 71  
255/35 R20 97Y XL   E A 71  
255/35 R20 97Y XL   E B 71  
265/35 R20 99Y XL   E B 71  
265/35 R20 95Y   E A 71  
275/35 R20 102Y XL   E A 73  
275/35 R20 102Y XL   E A 71  
275/35 R20 0 XL   E A 73  
285/35 R20 104Y XL   E A 73  
285/35 R20 104Y XL   E B 73  
295/35 R20 105Y XL   C B 73  
295/35 R20 105Y XL   C A 73  
295/35 R20 101Y   E B 73  
315/35 R20 110Y XL   E B 75  
315/35 R20 110Y XL   C B 75  
245/40 R20 99Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R20 99Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R20 101Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R20 101Y XL   E A 71  
235/45 R20 100Y XL   E A 71  
255/45 R20 105Y XL   E A 71  
295/25 R21 96Y XL   E A 73  
305/25 R21 0 XL   E A 73  
305/25 R21 98Y XL   E A 73  
325/25 R21 102Y XL   E A 75  
245/30 R21 91Y XL   E A 71  
255/30 R21 93Y XL   E A 71  
265/30 R21 0 XL   E A 71  
265/30 R21 96Y XL   E A 71  
285/30 R21 100Y XL   E A 73  
285/30 R21 0 XL   E A 73  
295/30 R21 0 XL   E A 73  
295/30 R21 102Y XL   E A 73  
325/30 R21 108Y XL   C B 73  
245/35 R21 0 XL   E A 71  
245/35 R21 96Y XL   E A 71  
285/35 R21 105Y XL   C B 73  
235/30 R22 0 XL   E A 71  
265/30 R22 97Y XL   E A 71  
265/30 R22 0 XL   E A 71  
295/30 R22 103Y XL   C A 75  
305/30 R22 105Y XL   C A 75  
265/35 R22 102Y XL   C A 71  
275/35 R22 104Y XL   C A 71  
305/35 R22 110Y XL   C A 73  
315/25 R23 102Y XL   C A 75  

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Super Sport

2016-04-25 - I'm looking for a bit of advice on some tyres for my Megane RS250. Currently I am running Michelin Pilot Super Sport 225/40 ZR18 92Y XL. The correct size tyre for the car is 235. I've managed to find PSS's in 235/40 ZR18 95Y but not XL and have a DOT of 2012. With the 235 being a larger load rating (95Y), will the performance of the tyre be the same as that of the 92Y XL? And were the PSS made in 2012 different to those made now?

The performance of the two tyres will be very similar, the 235 might be a little stronger on the sidewall, but as it has a little more sidewall it will balance out. There's every chance the PSS will have gone through minor updates since 2012, and has now been discontinued in 235/40 R18. Michelin would recommend you try the Pilot Sport 4 instead.


2018-04-05 - Do you out think there is an appreciable improvement in noise if going from 19" Pirelli P Zero RSC (run-flat) to 18" Pilot Super Sport? (I'd like to consider the 18" PS4 or 19" PS4S, but they are not available in BMW star version. As I run a 1-series xDrive, I am cautious about fitting non-endorsed tires in case of warranty issues with the AWD transfer case / drivetrain.....)

Moving from any runflat tyre to non-runflat will give a big improvement in noise and comfort levels. Regarding * marking and warranty, you do not need to worry about this, legally they can't refuse any work based on tyres as long as you fit the OE size and load rating.


2018-08-07 - I have an E92 M3 that needs new rears (265/35/19). Does it matter if the tyre is not * rated? The prices vary by up to £30 per tyre depending on which of the following you get: 98Y, 98Y*, 98Y TPC, 98Y MO1, 98Y N0, 98Y MO.

I believe the * marked Pilot Super Sport was developed for the M2 not the M3, so it's not something I'd be concerned about having. My own E92 M3 tyres are not star marked.


2018-08-28 - I have a BMW M135i which is currently fitted with run flats. When I come to change them my two options are the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 or the Michelin Pilot Super Sports. I have read a vast array of information on both and am still no closer to deciding which one. The PSS is the OEM tyre for the car so I was inclined to choose those, however I have read multiple reviews saying they are very temperature dependent and not the best in the wet? The PS4 would does not appear not have this problem, however other people have complained that the turn in is quite vague on the PS4 and they feel very soft, something which it certainly isn't at the moment on the run flats. Having said that I believe either will be a major improvement over the run flats. Any advice you can give would be much appreciated.

You have the two tyres qualities understood correctly, so the choice needs to be your choice between comfort and wet grip, or sport handling. As you say both tyres will be a huge improvement.


2019-03-18 - I had understood that the Michelin pilot super sport was being phased out and replaced by the 4s. However I see that some new car models are being fitted with tbr super sports as standard when they could have chosen other rubber. Please can you advise. I have a C63 on 19” wheels. Love the super sports When they are warm but less keen in the wet.

There are existing OE fitments in place which take years to replace. All new OE fitments will be with the 4S.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £104.48 - £125.53 (27 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £143.50 - £172.18 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £141.20 - £156.98 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/35 R18 £139.20 - £147.80 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £127.00 - £183.00 (25 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 82 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin Pilot Super Sport Review

Given 70% while driving a Nissan 370Z (275/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 9,500 spirited miles
Assuming this tyre to be the pinnacle for grip, I am disappointed. The dealer placed the 'star rated' (BMW) tyres on my 370z &there is little grip when cold and or mildly warm. When only properly hot do I start to get grip but that means a lot of wheel spin &sliding prior. Not ideal in public on the street. No issues normal driving or rain. Recently at CONSTANT throttle on a reasonable curving road the rear stepped out and was saved by the electronics. Unacceptable when I can drive that corner faster in a standard NA Ford Focus with no drama, in any other car either? Seems the Star rated is very different from the standard version, more a track tyre &terrible on the street
116 - tyre reviewed on September 10, 2016   

Latest Michelin Pilot Super Sport Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Super Sport tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Pilot Super Sport.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 89% while driving a Ford Focus ST250 (235/35 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 1,500 spirited miles
I bought this tyre, because I like to drive for weekend on country roads. My focus st now has grip, safety and the stearing is on the next level. Great job Michelin !!
0 - tyre reviewed on June 15, 2019   
Given 91% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 (245/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
PSS are great tyres which replaced front pair of PS4. PSS's brought huge improvement in all aspect comparing to PS4's. Wear wise PSS's are by far better than PS4's. After 8000 miles tyres are still in very good condition. I love PSS's.

Sporty driving is excellent especially having PSS's in front.

Only downside on PSS is that manufacturer doesn't offer size 265/35/18 that I can fit on rear. Therefore PS2 fitted instead.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 31, 2019   
Is the new Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport RS the fastest tyre available today? Watch this video now!
Given 84% while driving a Alfa Romeo 4C (245/35 R19 V) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
The stock tires on my car were Pirelli P Zero AR in 205/245 staggered size. ALFA 4Cs are great cars but the stock tires let them down. They emphasize tramming as many reviews mention. They are also only good for about 3 laps tracking before they get greasy. I went plus one size 215/245 and kept same aspect ratio as stock. The tires totally transformed the car! Tramming gone. Responsive tire that has great feedback. Tire wear on the stock tires....rear was worn out at 8000 miles (note amid engine car ) and fronts would give twice that milage. I did a couple of autocrosses and also spirited driving on the original tires. Have done 2 autocrosses with the new MPSS tires. More balanced, over steer and under steer is not an issue....easily controlled with trail braking and judicial use of throttle to rotate the car. Car has suspension upgrades and more power. When the turbo boost comes in it is very hard and tires can keep power to the ground. Wet handling is about on par with Pirelli ARs but dry is better in all ways. They can go more laps before getting greasy but they are still not a R compound so not the ideal track tire but great for DD plus occasional track day or auto cross.
I was hoping to get the newer Michelin Pilot Sport 4S tires but while they are available in 245-19"....they have not come out with smaller than 225-18" for the front. I want to maintain the balance of the smaller 215 front tires on 7" wide rims as the 225s are really over sized for that rim width. The PSS are being replaced by the PS 4S tires so hoping they will have the correct size when my tires wear out. I have heard from other users of the PSS and the PS4S tires that while the newer tires do have a minimal improvement in dry/wet adhesion, the old PSS actually gave better feed back. Bottom line....if you have an ALFA 4C the Michelin PSS in plus one size is a great upgrade....you won't believe how it transforms the car. I am a Super Moderator of the ALFA 4C Forum. Many owners have gone to the PSS tires and haven't heard of any negative comments from users. And all remark on how much better the car drives with them....no tramming is a big deal!
0 - tyre reviewed on May 28, 2019   
Given 76% while driving a Porsche 996 911 Carrera 2 (225/45 R17) on for 3,000 miles
I can compare these with PS2 and Potenza S02A on the same car.

Compared to PS2 the PSS feels more rubbery. It lives more sideways and IMO is a bit sluggish in turn in compared to PS2. However, I feel the PSS might have a bit more ulitmate grip. However, it is a bit vague at the limit and thus I prefer both PS2 and S02A over the PSS. The PSS is definitely a more quiet tyre than the PS2 ... about the same as S02A.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 21, 2019   
Given 80% while driving a Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel (235/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 10,000 average miles
I bought them second hand 2x7.5mm 2x6.5mm and now after ~15.000km they are 2x6.3mm (front axel) and 2x3.3mm (rear axel)

Every day I'm amazed with the grip. The only thing I don't like about them is that they are noisy. I will need to change the tiers and still didn't decided should I buy them again or try the Pilot Sport 4S or GoodYear F1 ASY 3 (ASY 3 are 40euros cheaper / tire then pilot super sport / 4s)
0 - tyre reviewed on March 20, 2019   

See all 111 customer reviews of the Michelin Pilot Super Sport (newest first) >>