Michelin Pilot Super Sport

Dry Grip 96%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 91%
Handling 86%
Wear 84%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 91%

The Michelin Pilot Super Sport is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

Show All

Tyre review data from 109 tyre reviews averaging 89% over 867,889 miles driven.

Reports

Tyre Test Highlights

Michelin Pilot Super Sport VS Continental Sport Contact 6 - 1st of 2 tyres

2015 Top 5 Summer Performance Tyres - 1st of 5 tyres

2011 Tirerack Max Performance Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 4 tyres

  • Positive - "Wow" handling and ultimate traction
  • Negative - We'd soften the ride just a little on big bumps to make everyday commuting more civilized
  • Overall - This is the new super star in the Max Performance Summer category
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/45 R17 88Y XL          
205/45 R17 88Y XL   F A 71  
215/45 R17 91Y XL   F A 71  
225/35 R18 87Y XL   E A 71  
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E B 71  
275/35 R18 99Y XL   F A 73  
295/35 R18 103Y XL   C A 73  
205/40 R18 86Y XL   F A 71  
215/40 R18 89Y XL   F A 71  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   F A 71  
225/40 R18 88Y   E B 71  
245/40 R18 93Y   E C 71  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E B 71  
255/40 R18 95Y   E A 71  
255/40 R18 99Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R18 99Y XL   E A 71  
265/40 R18 101Y XL   E A 71  
265/40 R18 101Y XL   E A 71  
275/40 R18 99Y   E B 72  
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 71  
225/45 R18 95Y XL   E A 71  
235/45 R18 94Y   F A 71  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   E A 71  
265/45 R18 101Y   E A 71  
235/30 R19 86Y XL   F A 71  
235/30 R19 86Y XL   F A 71  
245/30 R19 89Y XL   E A 71  
255/30 R19 91Y XL   F A 71  
255/30 R19 91Y XL   E A 71  
265/30 R19 93Y XL   E A 71  
275/30 R19 96Y XL   E A 73  
285/30 R19 94Y   E C 74  
295/30 R19 100Y XL   E A 73  
305/30 R19 102Y XL   E A 73  
325/30 R19 105Y XL   E A 75  
345/30 R19 109Y XL   E A 73  
225/35 R19 88Y XL   E A 71  
225/35 R19 88Y XL   E A 71  
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 71  
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E B 71  
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E B 71  
245/35 R19 89Y   F A 71  
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 71  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E B 71  
255/35 R19 92Y   E A 71  
255/35 R19 92Y   F B 72  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 71  
265/35 R19 98Y XL   E B 71  
265/35 R19 98Y XL   E A 71  
265/35 R19 98Y XL   E B 71  
265/35 R19 98Y XL   E B 71  
265/35 R19 98Y XL   E A 71  
275/35 R19 96Y   E A 72  
275/35 R19 100Y XL   E A 73  
275/35 R19 100Y XL   E B 73  
285/35 R19 99Y   E C 73  
285/35 R19 103Y XL   E A 73  
295/35 R19 104Y XL   C B 73  
295/35 R19 104Y XL   C B 73  
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 71  
235/40 R19 96Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   F A 71  
265/40 R19 102Y XL   C B 71  
275/40 R19 105Y XL   E A 73  
285/40 R19 107Y XL   E A 73  
285/40 R19 103Y   C A 73  
225/45 R19 96Y XL   F A 71  
255/45 R19 104Y XL   E A 71  
255/45 R19 100Y   E A 71  
285/25 R20 93Y XL   E A 73  
295/25 R20 95Y XL   E A 73  
305/25 R20 97Y XL   E A 73  
325/25 R20 101Y XL   E A 75  
335/25 R20 99Y   E C 74  
235/30 R20 88Y XL   E A 71  
245/30 R20 90Y XL   E A 71  
255/30 R20 92Y XL   E A 71  
265/30 R20 94Y XL   E B 71  
265/30 R20 94Y XL   F A 71  
275/30 R20 97Y XL   E A 73  
275/30 R20 0 XL   E A 73  
285/30 R20 95Y   F B 73  
285/30 R20 99Y XL   E A 73  
285/30 R20 99Y XL   E B 73  
285/30 R20 99Y XL   E B 73  
285/30 R20 0 XL   E A 73  
295/30 R20 101Y XL   E B 73  
295/30 R20 101Y XL   C A 73  
295/30 R20 101Y XL   E B 73  
305/30 R20 103Y XL   E A 73  
305/30 R20 103Y XL   E B 73  
335/30 R20 108Y XL   E A 74  
345/30 R20 106Y   E A 74  
225/35 R20 90Y XL   E A 71  
235/35 R20 92Y XL   F B 71  
235/35 R20 88Y   F A 71  
245/35 R20 95Y XL   E B 71  
245/35 R20 91Y   F A 71  
245/35 R20 95Y XL   E A 71  
245/35 R20 95Y XL   E B 71  
245/35 R20 95Y XL   E B 71  
255/35 R20 0 XL   E A 71  
255/35 R20 97Y XL   E A 71  
255/35 R20 97Y XL   E B 71  
265/35 R20 99Y XL   E B 71  
265/35 R20 95Y   E A 71  
275/35 R20 102Y XL   E A 73  
275/35 R20 102Y XL   E A 71  
275/35 R20 0 XL   E A 73  
285/35 R20 104Y XL   E A 73  
285/35 R20 104Y XL   E B 73  
295/35 R20 105Y XL   C B 73  
295/35 R20 105Y XL   C A 73  
295/35 R20 101Y   E B 73  
315/35 R20 110Y XL   E B 75  
315/35 R20 110Y XL   C B 75  
245/40 R20 99Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R20 99Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R20 101Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R20 101Y XL   E A 71  
235/45 R20 100Y XL   E A 71  
255/45 R20 105Y XL   E A 71  
295/25 R21 96Y XL   E A 73  
305/25 R21 0 XL   E A 73  
305/25 R21 98Y XL   E A 73  
325/25 R21 102Y XL   E A 75  
245/30 R21 91Y XL   E A 71  
255/30 R21 93Y XL   E A 71  
265/30 R21 0 XL   E A 71  
265/30 R21 96Y XL   E A 71  
285/30 R21 100Y XL   E A 73  
285/30 R21 0 XL   E A 73  
295/30 R21 0 XL   E A 73  
295/30 R21 102Y XL   E A 73  
325/30 R21 108Y XL   C B 73  
245/35 R21 0 XL   E A 71  
245/35 R21 96Y XL   E A 71  
285/35 R21 105Y XL   C B 73  
235/30 R22 0 XL   E A 71  
265/30 R22 97Y XL   E A 71  
265/30 R22 0 XL   E A 71  
295/30 R22 103Y XL   C A 75  
305/30 R22 105Y XL   C A 75  
265/35 R22 102Y XL   C A 71  
275/35 R22 104Y XL   C A 71  
305/35 R22 110Y XL   C A 73  
315/25 R23 102Y XL   C A 75  

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Super Sport

2016-04-25 - I'm looking for a bit of advice on some tyres for my Megane RS250. Currently I am running Michelin Pilot Super Sport 225/40 ZR18 92Y XL. The correct size tyre for the car is 235. I've managed to find PSS's in 235/40 ZR18 95Y but not XL and have a DOT of 2012. With the 235 being a larger load rating (95Y), will the performance of the tyre be the same as that of the 92Y XL? And were the PSS made in 2012 different to those made now?

The performance of the two tyres will be very similar, the 235 might be a little stronger on the sidewall, but as it has a little more sidewall it will balance out. There's every chance the PSS will have gone through minor updates since 2012, and has now been discontinued in 235/40 R18. Michelin would recommend you try the Pilot Sport 4 instead.


2018-04-05 - Do you out think there is an appreciable improvement in noise if going from 19" Pirelli P Zero RSC (run-flat) to 18" Pilot Super Sport? (I'd like to consider the 18" PS4 or 19" PS4S, but they are not available in BMW star version. As I run a 1-series xDrive, I am cautious about fitting non-endorsed tires in case of warranty issues with the AWD transfer case / drivetrain.....)

Moving from any runflat tyre to non-runflat will give a big improvement in noise and comfort levels. Regarding * marking and warranty, you do not need to worry about this, legally they can't refuse any work based on tyres as long as you fit the OE size and load rating.


2018-08-07 - I have an E92 M3 that needs new rears (265/35/19). Does it matter if the tyre is not * rated? The prices vary by up to £30 per tyre depending on which of the following you get: 98Y, 98Y*, 98Y TPC, 98Y MO1, 98Y N0, 98Y MO.

I believe the * marked Pilot Super Sport was developed for the M2 not the M3, so it's not something I'd be concerned about having. My own E92 M3 tyres are not star marked.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £108.35 - £136.10 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £155.00 - £171.30 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £154.70 - £173.90 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/35 R18 £133.55 - £147.60 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £132.00 - £169.00 (17 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 93 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin Pilot Super Sport Review

Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a Nissan 370Z (275/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 9,500 spirited miles
Assuming this tyre to be the pinnacle for grip, I am disappointed. The dealer placed the 'star rated' (BMW) tyres on my 370z &there is little grip when cold and or mildly warm. When only properly hot do I start to get grip but that means a lot of wheel spin &sliding prior. Not ideal in public on the street. No issues normal driving or rain. Recently at CONSTANT throttle on a reasonable curving road the rear stepped out and was saved by the electronics. Unacceptable when I can drive that corner faster in a standard NA Ford Focus with no drama, in any other car either? Seems the Star rated is very different from the standard version, more a track tyre &terrible on the street
90 - tyre reviewed on September 10, 2016   

Latest Michelin Pilot Super Sport Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Super Sport tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Pilot Super Sport.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 95% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Leon Cupra ST 290 (FWD) (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
Initial review of an 'old' tyre. Originally discounted the PSS as they don't win any tests anymore.

But with 18" downsized rims, which on the hot hatch MQB format is a great size on real roads, unfortunately there is no PilotSport 4S available. Which could be a reason to stay at 19". But I'm more of a back road handling driving enthusiast, and want the sidewall and the light weight of an 18". Anyhow, in 18" I have been using Pilot Sport 4 tyres for two years, and objectively they are the best tyres. They justs work in all conditions. But when I set out to make my hot hatch a bit more focused in the handling department, I realised the PS4 don't give that much feedback, and I was left wanting for more. With the TR youtube videos of the PPS vs SC6 and vs PS4, I started to realise I don't need to go all mental with a Cup2 or semi slick on a daily driven car, and that perhaps the PSS could be the solution. It is still delivered on quite a few good hot hatches: the 308 GTI, the new Fiesta ST, Mini JCW and I30N (18") amongst others. I got the HN spec for the latter on my car, and I have not regretted the change. This tyre has loads of feedback and is a lot more dynamic in it's behavior than the otherwise excellent PS4. Dynamic in the sense that the whole car is just more eager to change direction. This is with running quite aggressive toe settings and more camber front than rear. Really makes the handling that much more enjoyable and that is the very reason to run this kind of car.

The catch is.. not the comfort, I don't notice a, well, noticeable reduction in road manners which I feared for. I've yet to have some rain, but I'm pretty sure they will be worse than the PS4 which are hard to beat for grip in the rain, they stick as good as the average tyre on dry tarmac. Still, I think I'm sticking with the PSS anyhow, I can drive a bit more carefully in the rain, or make hard progress so they heat and grip there too, a bit of a challenge.

So initially, I'm happily surprised by this tyre, and it is probably still the go to daily road driving enthusiast tyre under 19". I understand now why the above hot hatches still use this 'old' tyre...
2 - tyre reviewed on May 24, 2018   
Given 94% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Much better traction than previous Continental SportContact 2, better maneuverability and driving comfort is also at a higher level. Overall, a class better than the previous tire.
2 - tyre reviewed on April 12, 2018   
Looking for the fastest tyres for your car? Watch this video!
Given 82% (breakdown) while driving a BMW M235i (245/35 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 16,000 average miles
Having had M Sport BMWs with runflats before, I ordered this M235i with the non-runflat option hoping they would give less of a 'thumpy' ride. The car arrived on Michelin Pilot Super Sports and they are definitely an improvement but the basic low-profile harshness & noise are still there. I have completed 16,000 miles so far and am down to 4.5 mm rear / 5mm front so expect to change at around 20,000 miles. The grip in wet and dry is very good so I will probably stay with Michelin but the lack of a spare wheel is concerning me as major tyre damage cannot be fixed with the can of sealant and most tyre depots do not carry specialist sizes so I may go back to runflats despite the extra harshness.
4 - tyre reviewed on December 20, 2017   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium X Sport (235/40 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 10,500 spirited miles
I changed all 4 tyres from Bridgestone 050's to Michelin Pilot Super Sport for £175 each (Sept 2016). They feel softer than the Bridgestone's, so a slightly better ride. Also quieter, but don't have much in the way of rim protection. I didn't have these on for long (1500 miles) before I swapped over to my winter wheels/tyres (235/45/18 Nokian WR A3), but they grip really well in the dry and wet, although initial turn in isn't as sharp as the previous tyres (as they are softer). As someone else has mentioned, they need a little warming up before they function at their best.
These were then refitted in the beginning of May 2017, the wheels/tyres that were on the rear were fitted to the front and vice versa. Now it's November 2017 and the fronts are down to 2.5mm and covered another 9000 miles, so 10500 miles in total. The rears have also worn quite a lot too, down to 3 - 3.5mm. Slightly disappointed at that, though sort of what I was used to on my previous car for the fronts . For comparison, the Bridgestone 050's lasted for 15000 miles. They still perform well in the dry and wet at normal commuting speeds, though not so well in heavy rain at higher speeds due to their inability to dissipate water due to lack of tread depth.
I wouldn't buy these again now that they have been replaced by the Pilot Sport 4 S, but also not sure if I want to try those either, though I will consider them depending on price.

I mainly drive on minor A and B roads, short stretches of major A roads, towns/ villages at either end of my journeys and occasional motorways. I would say that the majority is spirited driving.
2 - tyre reviewed on November 7, 2017   
Given 79% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz SLK 200 (245/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 22,000 average miles
First six months (5000 km) it was the perfect tire. No slip at any conditions. Wet roads felt like dry ones regarding my previews continental sport contact 3. I was feeling that i had discovered fire with them! The next six months tires were great but not unbelievable as the first six months. From 12 to 24 months everything changed (15000 km +). Slip came often on dry. Breaking became more difficult at slow speeds with ABS involvement when more than 50% breaking power used. After 24 months and 30000 km the tire was really bad at any conditions except of highways were heating did its work and the car behaved good.
Front 225/45/18 rear 245/35/18. 30 months and 35000 km since initial condition tires performance is unacceptable. Thread is up to 5 mm at the front and 4 at the rear. Cars alignment and correct pressure are the reasons for the remaining thread. Normal driving mostly, high speeds only on highways. I wouldn't buy again not considering that it was the most expensive tire i could buy , but its perfect performance that i got used to at the beginning and vanished after 12-18 months giving me a great disappointment. Have not tried good year yet maybe i ll give it a shot. I will read some reviews and decide.

I hope i helped you, don't forget that this is the perfect tire when new and that the performance will be lost after 18 months in an every day car.
10 - tyre reviewed on November 5, 2017   

See all 101 customer reviews of the Michelin Pilot Super Sport (newest first) >>