Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

Dry Grip 94%
Wet Grip 91%
Road Feedback 85%
Handling 88%
Wear 91%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 84%

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

The MICHELIN PILOT SPORT 4 S is an ultra-high performance tyre which replaces the MICHELIN Pilot Super Sport in the range of outstanding tyres from the French manufacturer.

Designed for sports cars and high performance saloons, the MICHELIN PILOT SPORT 4 S offers unparalleled driving pleasure thanks to its exceptional steering precision and directional stability. It provides maximum performance and safety on all surfaces due to its optimised tread footprint which grips the road in all situations, even the most extreme.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Super Sport

Show All

Tyre review data from 20 tyre reviews averaging 88% over 42,500 miles driven.

Reports

Tyre Test Highlights

2018 Sport Auto 19 inch UHP and Track Day Tyre Test - 1st of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Super sporty and excellent in all dry tests. Excellent feedback, outstanding cornering stability and the best vehicle balance.
  • Negative - Weaker wet traction and average aquaplaning results.

2018 Auto Bild 20 inch UHP Tyre Test - 1st of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Test winner with a very balance result. Excellent handling in the wet and dry, precise steering with good feedback, short wet and dry braking distances.
  • Negative - Average comfort, high price.

2017 Car and Driver UHP Tyre Test - 1st of 5 tyres

  • Overall - The Pilot Sport 4 S bundled the test’s highest lateral grip and shortest stopping distance into the only sub-30-second lap time. That betters the next-fastest tire, Pirelli’s P Zero, by 0.5 second.
    In driving, speed usually grows as confidence grows, and this Michelin exemplifies that idea. The Pilot Sport 4 S assures the driver with its tenacious grip, stellar lateral stiffness, and progressive at-the-limit behavior. It is easy and rewarding to drive aggressively, and it allows the driver to return to full throttle earlier than any other tire in this test.
    Out in the real world, the Michelin demonstrated a subtle tendency to follow grooves in the road. Otherwise, the Pilot Sport 4 S is as docile in traffic as it is around a racetrack, never hammering down imperfections nor singing on the smooth stuff.
    As with the Pilot Super Sport, Michelin is likely to be faced with so many automakers eager to fit the 4 S to their sports cars that it will turn customers away. Fortunately, you don’t need Michelin’s approval to fit your car with Pilot Sport 4 S tires.
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

2016-10-06 - What sizes does it come in?

A full list of Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S launch sizes can be found here.


2017-04-23 - Which are the differences between Michelin pilot sport 4 and Michelin pilot sport 4S?

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4S is the larger, more performance orientated version of the Pilot Sport.


2017-10-03 - ust wondering where the directional indicator is on these tyres ? All I can really find is the word "outside" which seems to suggest the tyres can be run on both Left and Right sides of the vehicle.. Is this correct ? I recently had 4 tyres fitted and when I look at the tread pattern from the rear of the vehicle, the outer tread grooves slant up on one side, whilst on the other side they slant downwards.. Just checking to see if this model of Tyre is actually Asymmetrical, and when looking at the tyre pattern from the rear, they should flow in the same direction ? Overall - do Michelin make these tyres in both Left and Right variations ? or only one variation ?

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S is an asymmetric tyre, and are mounted based on outside and inside. There are slight variations of tread directions when looking at left and right side tyres mounted, but these have no affect on performance.


2018-02-22 - How have people found the 4 and 4S for driving from cold? I have used Asymmetrics 2s which will need replacing soon and would miss the fact that they seem to have the full complement of grip from the first turn of the wheel ,wet or dry. (Car is a B7 RS4).

The warm up of the 4S is incredibly impressive from cold on my M3. It's mentioned in the latest youtube video here


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
235/35 R19 £158.70 - £172.40 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/30 R19 £192.00 - £205.40 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 £182.00 - £203.00 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R20 £188.60 - £208.30 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
275/35 R19 £215.00 - £237.20 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
275/40 R19 £240.00 - £310.50 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
305/30 R20 £253.00 - £355.40 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 57 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S Review

Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a BMW M3 (275/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Replaced the Pilot Super Sports on my F80 M3 and it's better in every way. The wet grip is insane, it's like you're driving in the dry. Best tyre on the market.
123 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2017   

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Pilot Sport 4 S.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 77% (breakdown) while driving a Audi S4 (255/35 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 2,000 spirited miles
grip in wet and sub zero T conditions is phenomenal. quite predictable. lightweight. road feedback is not as direct as expected. relatively soft sidewall. comfy ride
9 - tyre reviewed on March 19, 2018   
Given 60% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 3 series (255/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 4,500 spirited miles
I am not a dear friend of these tires, not even at gunpoint.
On race tracks or on roads that have the surface of a good racetrack, these tires are very good both wet and dry, the grip is very good in turns, the handling and response is way up there with the very best tires.
In fact the category of grip in turns is at the level of scaring the gee-bees out of me.
However, even on racetracks I have a little issue with the direction stability both in straights and turns, these tires have a tendency to make their own choices where they want to go when they hit something that is not totally flat.
Out on normal roads these tires loose big time with me, as others have stated here, they do make the car bounce around and ruin the stability of the ride, it is jerky.
When I hit bumps or irregularity on the road the car reacts with instability and sometimes shakes and jumps around, the car needs constant corrections and in high speeds there is no room for mistakes.
Compared to my OEM tires it is extremely little difference in feel handling and response but I did prefer my OEM tires, they had that little edge and they certainly did not bounce around and loose stability like the Michelin's.
Despite the very good grip, I give dry and wet grip only 7 points because of the bouncing and loss of stability, without that problem it would be easily maximum 10 points.
Not for me, not for my cars, there are better tires with more complete performance for normal roads and on track-days there are real race tires that will do the job better.
6 - tyre reviewed on March 17, 2018   
Trying to pick the BEST tyre possible for your car? Watch this!
Given 63% (breakdown) while driving a Honda FK2 type r (235/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
I have to say, I believed the hype around these tyres. I changes from sport contact 6 to these and I'm disappointed.

At slow speeds they are good, Comfortable and the starting is noticeably lighter, but that's whhe positivity ends I'm afraid.

At speed the tyre is less responsive than the contact 6 and feels like the tyre wall has a lot more give/flex. When the tyre actually grips under moderate acceleration it kind of upsets the whole stability of the car. It's hard to describe what I mean by that to be honest. The grip while cornering and acceleration at the same time is not solid, firm and smooth like the contact 6, it's jerky.

My advise would be although the contact 6 will not last you long as maybe the PS4S will, it's a better tyre and the OEM tyre of choice for a reason.

5 - tyre reviewed on February 23, 2018   
Given 74% (breakdown) while driving a Renault Megane RS250 CUP (235/35 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Second thoughts after my initial review... starting to get disappointed a little bit.
The tyre excells at slow - medium speed corners on low grip surfaces (either wet or low grip dry - old tarmac, very often met in Greece)

But the sidewalls are weak at high speeds (>120 kph)

The car is bounching - swaying upon the tyres midcorner and the steering feels soft during sudden direction changes.

I really miss the "stiff" - "direct" feel of bridgestones.

Not buying again. Not for me.

2 - tyre reviewed on February 9, 2018   
BMW M240i (245/45 R19) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
I changed wheels to 19 inch genuine 361 rims with PS4S on my BMW M240i.
Totally different car, no tyre shiver under full acceleration,
huge levels of grip, great lateral strength in side walls allowing
great handling through the corners, comfortable ride & different car when overtaking at high speed.
I had a 135i with P Zero tyres on last car which were pretty good but these tyres are on another level should also be great on a 135.
4 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2018   

See all 20 customer reviews of the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (newest first) >>