Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

Dry Grip 99%
Wet Grip 95%
Road Feedback 90%
Handling 97%
Wear 96%
Comfort 90%
Buy again 96%

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

The MICHELIN PILOT SPORT 4 S is an ultra-high performance tyre which replaces the MICHELIN Pilot Super Sport in the range of outstanding tyres from the French manufacturer.

Designed for sports cars and high performance saloons, the MICHELIN PILOT SPORT 4 S offers unparalleled driving pleasure thanks to its exceptional steering precision and directional stability. It provides maximum performance and safety on all surfaces due to its optimised tread footprint which grips the road in all situations, even the most extreme.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Super Sport

Show All

Tyre review data from 13 tyre reviews averaging 95% over 24,100 miles driven.

Reports

Tyre Test Highlights

2017 Car and Driver UHP Tyre Test - 1st of 5 tyres

  • Overall - The Pilot Sport 4 S bundled the test’s highest lateral grip and shortest stopping distance into the only sub-30-second lap time. That betters the next-fastest tire, Pirelli’s P Zero, by 0.5 second.
    In driving, speed usually grows as confidence grows, and this Michelin exemplifies that idea. The Pilot Sport 4 S assures the driver with its tenacious grip, stellar lateral stiffness, and progressive at-the-limit behavior. It is easy and rewarding to drive aggressively, and it allows the driver to return to full throttle earlier than any other tire in this test.
    Out in the real world, the Michelin demonstrated a subtle tendency to follow grooves in the road. Otherwise, the Pilot Sport 4 S is as docile in traffic as it is around a racetrack, never hammering down imperfections nor singing on the smooth stuff.
    As with the Pilot Super Sport, Michelin is likely to be faced with so many automakers eager to fit the 4 S to their sports cars that it will turn customers away. Fortunately, you don’t need Michelin’s approval to fit your car with Pilot Sport 4 S tires.
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

2016-10-06 - What sizes does it come in?

A full list of Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S launch sizes can be found here.


2017-04-23 - Which are the differences between Michelin pilot sport 4 and Michelin pilot sport 4S?

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4S is the larger, more performance orientated version of the Pilot Sport.


2017-10-03 - ust wondering where the directional indicator is on these tyres ? All I can really find is the word "outside" which seems to suggest the tyres can be run on both Left and Right sides of the vehicle.. Is this correct ? I recently had 4 tyres fitted and when I look at the tread pattern from the rear of the vehicle, the outer tread grooves slant up on one side, whilst on the other side they slant downwards.. Just checking to see if this model of Tyre is actually Asymmetrical, and when looking at the tyre pattern from the rear, they should flow in the same direction ? Overall - do Michelin make these tyres in both Left and Right variations ? or only one variation ?

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S is an asymmetric tyre, and are mounted based on outside and inside. There are slight variations of tread directions when looking at left and right side tyres mounted, but these have no affect on performance.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
235/35 R19 £177.13 - £182.00 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/35 R19 £183.00 - £187.10 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/30 R19 £199.00 - £210.56 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
275/35 R19 £234.66 - £244.00 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
305/30 R20 £288.00 - £298.94 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 37 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S Review

Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a BMW M3 (275/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Replaced the Pilot Super Sports on my F80 M3 and it's better in every way. The wet grip is insane, it's like you're driving in the dry. Best tyre on the market.
83 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2017   

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Pilot Sport 4 S.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 89% (breakdown) while driving a Jaguar F Type coupe (305/30 R20) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Put these on the F-Type after removing the standard fit P-Zeros - the difference is night and day. Better grip in all conditions - trying to put the power down in a straight line in damp conditions was impossible with the Pirellis but these really dig in. It's a 550hp RWD car so of course you can light them up but it's genuinely impressive how the 4Ss handle the power. At the limit they are much more progressive than the Pirellis ever were - you feel them start to give way and can react - to have a scary moment in the wet with these tyres requires massive commitment / stupidity. Again with the P-zeros it just required you to want to accelerate before the car was arrow straight. Honestly I've not got close to the limit in the dry, but the feel is more communicative and they are quieter and more comfortable than the P-zeros they replaced. Just a massive upgrade in every department. Not sure about wear yet but they are sold with a much better wear rating off the shelf.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 6, 2017   
Given 72% (breakdown) while driving a Jaguar XF S (255/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Definite improvement over the OEM Dunlops for grip, wet grip in particular. Haven't had the TC come on at all since getting this installed. I don't really push the car but you can tell that they do grip very well.

I don't feel that they suit the car. The road noise is no better (actually a bit worse over concrete sections of the motorway), comfort is improved a touch and MPG is a little worse. With a cruiser like the XFS noise, comfort and MPG would be better.

Wish I'd of gone for Goodyear Asym 3's, they'd be more comfortable, better economy and quieter while still retaining 95% of the grip (although not the handling from what I've read), however if I had an XFR (or XFR-S) the Michelin's would be the way to go. The V8 noise would help drown out the tyre noise, and would really benefit from the improved grip.

My XFS will be getting Goodyear's next time, my XK Dynamic R will be getting Michelin's (against the OEM Pirelli).
3 - tyre reviewed on October 16, 2017   
Given 97% (breakdown) while driving a Audi S3 (235/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Well I did not know a tyre can change a car so much. These tyres are in a different league to the continental contact 5p that was fitted to the Audi S3 Saloon as standard. Tyres change the car completely so much quieter and the feed back is amazing. The car even looks amazing with these tyres fitted. Will defetnly fit these tyres all the time now. Please try these for you self as it's such a eye opener.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 2, 2017   
Given 94% (breakdown) while driving a Audi 1.8T Quattro (225/35 R19) on for 5,000 spirited miles
I replaced the G.Y. ASYM.2 with 4s. The tyre is just what i really wanted. The best untill today...! Perfect everywhere! I'll buy it again and again and again...! (Too expensive)...
4 - tyre reviewed on August 31, 2017   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Leon 2.0 TFSI (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 3,000 easy going miles
Before I had the Vredestein Ultrac Vorti, with whom I found it very well, but I wanted to change on the advice of my tire men. The tires are very similar, and both are wonderful tires, both dry and wet, the only difference there is that the Michelin keeps the road little better but they have softer sides and are therefore not quick In steering gear change direction is not accurate.
I recommend Comunqie even if I prefer the ultrac vorti for my stile driving
7 - tyre reviewed on August 19, 2017   

See all 13 customer reviews of the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (newest first) >>