Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

Dry Grip 95%
Wet Grip 92%
Road Feedback 88%
Handling 89%
Wear 91%
Comfort 87%
Buy again 87%

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

The MICHELIN PILOT SPORT 4 S is an ultra-high performance tyre which replaces the MICHELIN Pilot Super Sport in the range of outstanding tyres from the French manufacturer.

Designed for sports cars and high performance saloons, the MICHELIN PILOT SPORT 4 S offers unparalleled driving pleasure thanks to its exceptional steering precision and directional stability. It provides maximum performance and safety on all surfaces due to its optimised tread footprint which grips the road in all situations, even the most extreme.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Super Sport

Show All

Tyre review data from 25 tyre reviews averaging 90% over 67,600 miles driven.

Reports

Tyre Test Highlights

2018 Sport Auto 19 inch UHP and Track Day Tyre Test - 1st of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Super sporty and excellent in all dry tests. Excellent feedback, outstanding cornering stability and the best vehicle balance.
  • Negative - Weaker wet traction and average aquaplaning results.

2018 Auto Bild 20 inch UHP Tyre Test - 1st of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Test winner with a very balance result. Excellent handling in the wet and dry, precise steering with good feedback, short wet and dry braking distances.
  • Negative - Average comfort, high price.

2017 Car and Driver UHP Tyre Test - 1st of 5 tyres

  • Overall - The Pilot Sport 4 S bundled the test’s highest lateral grip and shortest stopping distance into the only sub-30-second lap time. That betters the next-fastest tire, Pirelli’s P Zero, by 0.5 second.
    In driving, speed usually grows as confidence grows, and this Michelin exemplifies that idea. The Pilot Sport 4 S assures the driver with its tenacious grip, stellar lateral stiffness, and progressive at-the-limit behavior. It is easy and rewarding to drive aggressively, and it allows the driver to return to full throttle earlier than any other tire in this test.
    Out in the real world, the Michelin demonstrated a subtle tendency to follow grooves in the road. Otherwise, the Pilot Sport 4 S is as docile in traffic as it is around a racetrack, never hammering down imperfections nor singing on the smooth stuff.
    As with the Pilot Super Sport, Michelin is likely to be faced with so many automakers eager to fit the 4 S to their sports cars that it will turn customers away. Fortunately, you don’t need Michelin’s approval to fit your car with Pilot Sport 4 S tires.
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

2016-10-06 - What sizes does it come in?

A full list of Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S launch sizes can be found here.


2017-04-23 - Which are the differences between Michelin pilot sport 4 and Michelin pilot sport 4S?

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4S is the larger, more performance orientated version of the Pilot Sport.


2017-10-03 - ust wondering where the directional indicator is on these tyres ? All I can really find is the word "outside" which seems to suggest the tyres can be run on both Left and Right sides of the vehicle.. Is this correct ? I recently had 4 tyres fitted and when I look at the tread pattern from the rear of the vehicle, the outer tread grooves slant up on one side, whilst on the other side they slant downwards.. Just checking to see if this model of Tyre is actually Asymmetrical, and when looking at the tyre pattern from the rear, they should flow in the same direction ? Overall - do Michelin make these tyres in both Left and Right variations ? or only one variation ?

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S is an asymmetric tyre, and are mounted based on outside and inside. There are slight variations of tread directions when looking at left and right side tyres mounted, but these have no affect on performance.


2018-02-22 - How have people found the 4 and 4S for driving from cold? I have used Asymmetrics 2s which will need replacing soon and would miss the fact that they seem to have the full complement of grip from the first turn of the wheel ,wet or dry. (Car is a B7 RS4).

The warm up of the 4S is incredibly impressive from cold on my M3. It's mentioned in the latest youtube video here


2018-04-23 - I have a 1-year old AMG C63 which will shortly need new tyres all round. After research I would like to fit Michelin Pilot Sport 4S tyres all round but they don't come in a size for my rears. My fronts are 255/35 ZR19 and the rears are 285/30 ZR19. Do you think it would be okay to fit Pilot Sport 4S tyres to the fronts and Pilot Super Sport to the rears? Neither tyre comes in both the sizes I need. If it is not a good idea to fit these two types what would you recommend? My car currently has Continental ContiSport Contact 5P all round but these are wearing out so quickly. My annual mileage is about 6 - 7,000 miles of which a number are not done too gently. Thanks for your assistance.

I'd be more inclined to fit the PSS all round (you can get it in your front size) as I find a balanced car key to driving enjoyment. There's sadly no current plans for 285/30 R19 PS4S.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
235/35 R19 £146.12 - £160.60 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/40 R19 £171.97 - £185.10 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 £170.23 - £182.80 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
265/35 R19 £241.00 - £351.00 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
275/35 R19 £204.36 - £216.00 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
285/30 R20 £227.33 - £262.30 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 60 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S Review

Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a BMW M3 (275/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Replaced the Pilot Super Sports on my F80 M3 and it's better in every way. The wet grip is insane, it's like you're driving in the dry. Best tyre on the market.
135 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2017   

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Pilot Sport 4 S.

Review Your Tyres >>

Mercedes Benz (245/35 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Purchased 4 Michelin Pilot 4 S tires for my Mercedes sport car. These are fantastic tires! Far quieter and smoother than
the other brand replaced. The performance is great and braking top rate. The difference is amazing and I would recommend these to anyone. I have Michelins on many of my cars.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 12, 2018   
Given 97% (breakdown) while driving a Lexus GS (235/40 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 100 spirited miles
I switch from Dunlop Sport Max 050 which come from my Lexus GS 200t when I brought my car one year ago. The Dunlop one after 10,000km become slippy when wet and noisy, just right after the switching, thr passengers also noticed the breaking distance is much less, at least 2m shorter than Dunlop, also the handling and grip are excellent, the car now stick to the road which provide confidence and I can drive faster with low noise. I like this tyre very much.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 10, 2018   
Trying to pick the BEST tyre possible for your car? Watch this!
Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Audi rs3 (235/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Better than the OE PIrellis
0 - tyre reviewed on May 16, 2018   
BMW M3 (265/35 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 7,000 spirited miles
Have it for around 2 year now. I have fitted PSS and cup 2 before.
The tyres were ok initially.
Dry performance was not as good as PSS. Feels a bit weird on extreme driving.
Wet performance is better than PSS and cup 2.
However, after around 8000km of driving, the performance of the tyres drop drastically.
For the next set of tyres, if I am looking for longavity, I will go back to PSS. Will go back to cup 2 if looking for out right extreme performance types.
2 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2018   
Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Jaguar XF (255/35 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
This tyre is a revelation! My XF never did feel quite right of Dunlop Sport Maxx tyres, these are totally different. Responsive, excellent road feel, much quieter than the Dunlops, good fuel consumption.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 3, 2018   

See all 24 customer reviews of the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (newest first) >>

Advertisement