Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

Dry Grip 97%
Wet Grip 95%
Road Feedback 92%
Handling 95%
Wear 89%
Comfort 91%
Buy again 95%

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3

Show All

Tyre review data from 24 tyre reviews averaging 94% over 67,620 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2019 Gute Fahrt Summer 18 Inch Tyre Test - 2nd of 12 tyres

  • Positive - Best wet braking on test, high aquaplaning resistance, good dry handling, low fuel use, good levels of comfort.
  • Negative - Slight oversteer during wet handling.
  • Overall - Highly Recommended.

2019 Summer 53 Tyre Braking Shootout - 1st of 45 tyres

2019 EVO Summer Tyre Test - 6th of 7 tyres

  • Overall - An unusually poor result for the Asym5, with a lack of steering feel and grip in the dry and wet testing.
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

2019-03-16 - How is sidewall stiffness, steering response and precision characteristics of this comparing to Falken Azenis FK510, Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (not S), Conti PremiumContact 6 ? Thank you.

I am testing the Asymmetric 5 against the PC6 (and Asym 3) next week, keep an eye on youtube for the video :)


2019-04-05 - Merc E350 amg coupe 2015. The front and rear have different size tyres. The asymmetric 5 make a size to fit the rear, but not the front. Any problems with asymmetric 5 on the rear and asymmetric 3 on the front?

While it's not ideal, there's no problem to run that combination of Asym 3 and Asym 5.


2019-04-21 - do you think the correct tire pressure for 225/45 r17 91Y PS? (vehicle: dsg golf 1.2 2015 110hp)

The tyre pressure for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is vehicle and load specific. The correct tyre pressure for your vehicle can usually be found on a sticker in the door shut of the driver's door, or in the manufacturer's handbook.


2019-05-29 - Does anyone know if / when Goodyear will release a 205/40r17 in the Asymmetric 5. Currently using the Asymmetric 3 but this tyre size has now been discontinued. Also looking for it in a 225/45r19 again just recently discontinued in the Asymmetric 3 range.

Both 205/40 17 and 225/45 19 are now available in Asymmetric 5, so you should be able to find them in the marketplace :)


2019-06-21 - When will 255/30/19 and 265/30/19 sizes be released within the UK please?

The Eagle Asymmetric 5 in size 255/30R19 is now on sale it was released earlier this month. It looks like Goodyear won’t be producing the tyre in size 265/30R19 as they haven’t produced an Eagle Asymmetric tyre in that size since the Goodyear Eagle Asymmetric 2.


2019-09-10 - Can't decide between these ASM5 and Michelin PS4. My my top requirements is Comfort, Wet and Dry Stopping performance, Aquaplaning and Wear rate. the PS4 is now quite a bit more expensive, so that is also a factor. To be fitted to an Audi A6 Avant 255/35/19

There there is a big difference in price, I would go for the Goodyear as the two tyres are very close in all other aspects.


2019-11-10 - Deciding between the standard ASM5 or the ASM5 XL 225/45R17. prices are the same but the XL boasts better fuel economy according to the labelling, however will the ride quality suffer due to the reinforced tyre? are there any reasons not to go with the XL variant? or are the differences relatively unnoticeable?

The differences between the non-XL and XL versions of tyres are usually very small, and in some cases, they're actually the same tyre. As these have different label scores, there are differences in the tyre for the Asymmetric 5, but I wouldn't let that put you off the XL version as they're likely to be small.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £70.60 - £92.40 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £62.00 - £80.10 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £91.40 - £122.88 (18 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 £118.00 - £141.84 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 46 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Review

Given 100% while driving a BMW 3 (225/50 R18) on mostly motorways for 5,000 spirited miles
I have had fitted in my BMW and they are absolutely great. Precise steering, great on wet and excellent on dry roads.
300 - tyre reviewed on January 1, 2019   

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Reviews

Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 95% while driving a Jaguar Jaguar XE (225/40 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 400 average miles
Too new has only covered 450 miles.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 10, 2019   
Given 100% while driving a BMW 3 series (245/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Great tyre!, fantastic grip in dry and wet condition.
I needed a tire that offered me total road safety and these Eagle F1 asymmetric 5 have surprised me very pleasantly.
I used to ride a Conti SportContact but they provided me with a regular grip, constantly skipped the ESP and they also worn out very irregularly (always with adequate pressures). With these new tires I have forced the exit and the curve tracing even in the wet and I still have not got the ESP light on.
Comfort noise is also lower than the Continental.
4 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2019   
Are cheap winter tyres safe, or a false economy? Watch this video to find out!
Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
Had worn out efficient grip performance set on front from previous owner, after rotating the front asym3's to the rear after a while I really thought the car needed suspension work due to body roll and understeer but after fitting these Asym 5's I can see it was all the tyres! Understeer is gone and has made such a different to body roll, sidewall seems much firmer. Only driven in the wet but seems to feel like it only struggles to grip in hard accel in 1st gear on wet roads which is understandable for a hot hatch with an open diff so very good. I was tempted by the new super sports but glad I went with these, cheaper, feel fantastic in the wet, will undoubtedly last longer and I'm sure I won't notice the difference for 99% of the time.
1 - tyre reviewed on October 31, 2019   
Given 81% while driving a Audi S5 (245/45 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 6,500 spirited miles
Previously used Asymmetric 3's which were very good and I were really happy with those. Opted for newer version as newer usually is better.
Grip in dry and wet has been excellent, including handling, taking faster curves or braking. Have not noticed any downsides from road feedback either (have not taken these tyres to the track either). Wear appears to be very good as well.
Comfort on the other hand is really bad due to the noise it is generating, never seen or hear any tyre that is even remotely close to this noise level, not even winter tyres (e.g. goodyear Ultra Grip Performance G1 XL). Did the wheel alignment when tyres were changed, not sure what is causing such noise levels.
1 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2019   
Given 100% while driving a Audi Q3 (255/40 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
It is a sensational tire... Excellent performance in both dry and wet... In curve the vehicle goes on rails, it is noted that they have improved the flank with respect to the previous Asymmetric 2 and 3... They have a more energetic braking... Previously I was riding a PZero and with these new GY I noticed a lot of improvement in terms of rolling noise.
21 - tyre reviewed on October 4, 2019   

See all 25 customer reviews of the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (newest first) >>