tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2


Show all: Goodyear tyres, Passenger Car Summer Max Performance tyres
The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 280 tyre reviews averaging 88% over 2,244,323 miles driven.

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric
 


Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2
Dry Grip
92%

Wet Grip
90%

Road Feedback
87%

Progressiveness
85%

Wear
82%

Comfort
90%

Buy again
88%


 
Size Price Range  
225/45 R17 £69.14 - £89.60 (12 prices)
225/40 R18 £81.22 - £115.20 (8 prices)
235/35 R19 £113.11 - £129.50 (2 prices)
Available in 58 tyre sizes - View all.

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 Reviews

Given 31% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Changed my Continental Conti Sport Contact 5 with a new set of GoodYear F1 Asymmetric 2. Probably my worst decision. Corners that previously taken with 80km/h and more, without any issues now with 60km/h is an adventure, the car is shaking, sliding and etc. I do not feel safe with this set. Almost 3000km drive with them and I put the on e-bay and olx to sell. Already mount again new set of Continental.
Conclusion: I change summer and winter tyres every season with new set (drive almost 60000km per year). Try Michelin, Nokia and the mentioned 2 brands. The GoodYear model is the worst one driven on my Benz.
tyre reviewed on May 27, 2015   
Given 69% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall (215-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8 spirited miles
Taking into account I've covered 22,500 miles in my Corsa VXR which has seen the factory set of Continentals on factory 18'' wheels, a full set of Falken FK452 tyres on 17'' wheels and the current tyres that are over 12 month old Goodyear Eagle F1 Assymetric 2s on 17'' wheels that have currently covered around 8,000 miles. With the three set ups I've driven easy whilst on the main roads, spirited driving on some good roads and used all three tyres on various tracks.

Out of the three it's hands down Goodyear Eagle F1's all the way, dry grip is very good for a road tyre that's sold a very competitive price, you can feel the try progressing in grip as heat builds in them and in the wet the feedback is incredible.

I drove Oulton Park on the Contis and FK452s in the dry only but I have used the Eagle F1's on my last two track days, the first was at Knockhill second was at Rockingham. Both days were dry in the morning then rained in the afternoon, weighing very close to the standard weight (1180kg) with a little over standard power (196bhp/201lb-ft) the car was well within its boundaries to push on comfortable in both conditions due to knowing exactly where the grip levels where especially in the wet which made both days perfect.
Sitting out whilst it rained wasn't even an option partly because of having confidence in the rain (Rockingham is one of the slippiest wet tracks in the UK) but majorly by knowing the car and it's capabilities at standard weight/power with the positive feedback from a well priced road tyre that gave good feedback whilst progressing.

I can't really comment on comfort because the car is on a harsher setup (poly bushes, springs, stripped interior etc) but the tyres aren't the noisiest to me but they will be to others.

If I was sticking with road tyres I probably wouldn't try another brand just yet and atleast have another set to replace these which won't be happening anytime soon because I'm average 5mm thread depth across all four.

tyre reviewed on May 25, 2015   
Looking to buy the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2? Click here to search for the best price for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 or any other tyre.
 
Given 89% (breakdown) while driving a Holden calais V 6Ltr (245-40-19-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 45,000 average miles
I have run the Goodyear Eagle Asymmetric 2 for 40-45,000kms and the rears are now below the wear limits(actually bald !!!). Front tyres on my big heavy 6 litre Calais V redline are still way above the wear limits and will go on the rear and two fresh Eagles on the front. I have read many of the tyre reviews and have to agree that for the small amount of crazy spirited driving I do I would like more dry grip but the wet grip can not be faulted nor the wet stopping distance. These tyres I rate as well above average for dry grip but importantly for me don't seem to change that much when your driving in the wet. I get good fuel economy with these tyres and they have worn virtually flat on the rear running 42 psi. I will run slightly lower pressure(40psi) in the new set as they are slightly more worn on the centre line so 42 psi is just a whisker high. Oh and these tyres have seen most long country driving at Australian ridiculously slow 110 kms/hr but I also run at 130-140 on roads without revenue raising blue lights. Tyres have seen the fun side of 230 km/hr but only 2 or 3 time. Never put her on the track as I believe its too heavy and should be running 275/35 for this type of thing.
tyre reviewed on May 21, 2015   
Given 94% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Octavia VRS (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 100 average miles
I had Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2's fitted to my Octavia yesterday. So far so good. Grip feels strong, and the ride comfort is an improvement over the previously fitted Dunlop Sport Maxx RT's.

I found it very difficult to decide what tyres to buy as there are so many on the market these days and with the top 6 brands all offering a very premium product.

After reading a lot of the user reviews as well as reviews such as Auto Express and Evo's tyre tests I found that the Goodyear Eagle F1's always scored highly usually receiving 1st or second place.

I had decided on either Continentals ContiSportContact 5's or Goodyear Eagle F1's and went with the Goodyears for the better wear rating, and rolling resistance.
tyre reviewed on May 19, 2015   
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo V70D5 (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 45,000 average miles
I drive Volvo estates (not for a living, nee naar etc…before you ask) and have done for many years in various guises, T5s, D5s etc, not sports cars by definition but more than quick enough to warrant decent tyres. When I bought my latest a v70 D5 it was shod with Pirellis, the car handled like a Tesco’s trolley, they came off within a week and were replaced with Contis. The Continentals are a fabulous tyre, quiet, great grip in wet or dry but lacking in longevity, They were replaced with Michelins, they gave a longer life but were very noisy especially under heavy cornering, they also lacked the feel and the confidence the Contis gave, so just the fronts were taken off early and replaced with these Goodyear Eagle F1s. They now have been joined by a set on the rear. I am very happy with them as they are almost as good as the Contis performance wise, they are quiet and grippy and seem to be lasting much better than anticipated. Will definitely re-shoe the Volvo with these again.
tyre reviewed on May 14, 2015   
Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Kia Motors (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 100 spirited miles
The tyre is just great!
tyre reviewed on May 1, 2015   
Given 56% (breakdown) while driving a Subaru 2006 impreza wrx STI (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
After reading lots of good reviews about this tyre I replaced my Re070 for the Goodyear eagle f1 as2.

Massive mistake!

First impression were good the car felt more comfortable over bumps and there was less road noise.

Handling was terrible the car felt like it had flat tyres. Fast direction changes made the rear tyres squirm. Hard cornering also pushed the tyre over on to its side wall.

Even after playing around with tyre pressures and upping them to silly pressures the handling was still soft and unresponsive.

After a few thousand miles they had to come off the car. When we removed them the side walls are so thin you can fold the tyre flat with one hand.

After talking to the tyre fitter he mentioned there a very light weight tyre construction designed to reduce rotating mass to help reduce fuel consumption and not what he would recommend for a performance car.

Personally I think this tyre is more suited to a family car or a daily commuter.


tyre reviewed on April 26, 2015   
Given 95% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda 6 Sport 2.3L (215-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 250 spirited miles
Recently (250 miles ago) fitted on Mazda 6 Sport. Previously had Dunlops sportmaxx TT. So far I'm positively surprised by these new tires. Grippyyy, very nice brake performance, lateral grip and progressiveness could be a bit better when cornering aggressively, however fronts seems a bit underinflated and I suspect that this is the cause (will check the presure and update the review later after more miles driven). Subjectively I would say F1 asymm2 are more comfortable and quieter compared to previous dunlops. I would never expect sporty tires to be so much comfortable, thumbs up for that! I also tested them on empty highway last weekend, incredibly stable at speeds around 200km/h (125mph). So far, so good, I'm very happy with my choice. Only had a change to drive in a dry so far, looking forward to test wet performance as well because wet is where these tires are supposed to show its huge potential!
tyre reviewed on April 14, 2015   
Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda 2010 2.3mps (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 9,000 spirited miles
car came with dunlop factory fitted and they were rubbish changed fronts to michelin ps2s they were good but noisy then change all 4 to the goodyears and they are smoother,quieter, better in the wet and dry and they even look better than the others mite struggle to get the same miles as the michelins but your only talking 2000 miles less and they are a bit cheaper anyway.iv went through a lot of tyres in my life and iv learnt do not buy cheap tyres if you can go for one of the top six makers best bet michelins,continental or goodyear and i can safely say that another 2 goodyear asymmetric 2s will be fitted to the front in the coming months 9.5 out of 10
tyre reviewed on April 5, 2015   
Given 68% (breakdown) while driving a Honda FRV (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Sidewall to soft , all ways look flat, a lot of road noise not comfortable
tyre reviewed on April 4, 2015   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: