tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2

Show all: Goodyear tyres, Passenger Car Summer Max Performance tyres
The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 294 tyre reviews averaging 87% over 2,408,323 miles driven.

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2
Dry Grip

Wet Grip

Road Feedback




Buy again

Size Price Range  
225/45 R17 £67.77 - £89.10 (17 prices)
225/40 R18 £75.70 - £114.33 (10 prices)
235/35 R19 £107.99 - £117.40 (3 prices)
Available in 93 tyre sizes - View all.

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 Reviews

Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 21,000 spirited miles
00021000 Tyres have been great in all weather conditions & comfortable quite but they continued to lose tyre pressure at one to two Psi per week for the last year. That was all. 4 tyres. MOT due today and 2mm above legal limit bars. And 2 of the 4. Tyres are cracked on inner rims not good and wasn't expecting it. As the three all looked at a glance.. They were fitted for last MOT.
tyre reviewed on October 5, 2015   
Given 67% (breakdown) while driving a Ford mondeo 2.2 (245-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Generally good tyres, but I did have PS3's fitted when I bought the car and they were far better. I was recommended the Eagles for cost / wear ability, but hells bells, they are extremely NOISY.
And for this and only this I would not consider them again.
tyre reviewed on October 3, 2015   
Looking to buy the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2? Click here to search for the best price for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 or any other tyre.
Given 97% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 320d (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
changed from continental rfts and ride is transformed no tramlining supple yet excellent grip highly recommend
tyre reviewed on October 3, 2015   
Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class (245-40-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 6,500 average miles
By far superior than the Continental Sport Contact 3 they replaced. Very Low noise and comfort is more than the expected at that size. Car Mercedes W211 Sport Pack with mixed tyres front 245 40 18 rear 265 35 18
tyre reviewed on September 24, 2015   
Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen (235-35-19-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 8,000 average miles
As a tyre development engineer at a company other than Goodyear, I still have to say that for dry grip, these tyres are incredible! They stick like semen to a hooker's face which is expected given these tyres are soft as melted chocolate.
People slate the wear on the shoulders of these tyres which is going to happen when cornering, can't knock the wear given the dry grip but the balance between grip and abrasion is terrible.
If Goodyear increased wear resistance and sacrificed a little grip, this would be a winning tyre. If you drive nice and careful and take corners slow then buy these but if you like a spirited drive, steer clear. Michelin and Pirelli both wear better but are much less responsive, noisier, less comfortable.
tyre reviewed on September 17, 2015   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda RX8 (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Very good tires. Stable at speeds above 200kmh and tyres doesn't wander unlike the P Zeros.
It has good reaction but side wall is considered soft for an XL tyre. You can feel the side wall rolling when you go hard in the corners.

Overall, still a good tyre and will buy again.
tyre reviewed on September 9, 2015   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 330 Msport (275-35-19-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 spirited miles
Went from Conti Sport's on the rear of my E60 530i and it transformed the acceleration from a standing start, previously the traction control was cutting all of the time with the Conti's, now the DSC light never lights up, so i get all of the power down, seems to the same in the wet, great tyres, one of the best i have tried, and i have tried a lot..
tyre reviewed on September 7, 2015   
Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Superb II combi 2.0 tdi cr (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30,000 average miles
Conti ContactSports both cracked circumferentially, were replaced prematurely. Over-edgy feedback, really raucous noise at most speeds on most surfaces.
Michelin Pilot Sports lost traction in wet without real provocation, when only a 3rd worn. Good feel and slightly less noisy.
Eagle F1's astonishingly quieter, car way more civilised, no grip drop-off with wear. On second set. Steering less chatty, but corners fine - overall much prefer these. No pothole-induced sidewall bulges appeared either, which other tyre types suffered from. Initially it may feel like "driving on balloons" as some say but controllable and progressive enough, plus usefully cheaper than the other two
tyre reviewed on August 24, 2015   
Given 67% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo V70R (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
I've run these tyres on two separate applications. A Volvo V70R on which they came fitted, they were very good albeit that the wear rate was atrocious but given that it was a FWD performance car I was forgiving of the wear on the front and persisted with fitting a replacement pair of fronts, even on the track they were to be fair a very good all round tyre. However, I fitted them to my Jag XJ and I was shocked at the results, the grip was only marginally better than the Pirellis they replaced and in dry traction they were markedly WORSE! Then there was the wear, the car had been 4-wheel laser aligned by XJK yet the wear was all over the place, the fronts wore the outside edges and the rears the middle, the tyres lasted barely 10000 miles before I had to replace them. Incidentally, I went for Uniroyal RS3 following these - no wear issues, better tractibility and wet grip and equally good grip in the dry, given the price differential, well, I'm fitting Uniroyals to my XF now!!!
tyre reviewed on August 20, 2015   
Given 79% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen (235-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 19,000 average miles
Great tyres overall. I have not put them at the limit, but you feel very secured with great grip. Especially impressive on wet. In one trip to Spain, I drove pretty high speeds with heavy rain for several hours. The car behaved very well with throughout with no aquaplaning whatsoever, and at that time the tyres were already 70% wear out. The only problem of this tyre is wear as the 4 tyres lasted less than 20k miles. I am now switching to touring tyres.
tyre reviewed on August 1, 2015   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!

Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Speed Rating: