Uniroyal RainExpert

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 91%
Road Feedback 81%
Progressiveness 76%
Wear 74%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 85%
Uniroyal RainExpert

The Uniroyal RainExpert is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Uniroyal RainMax 2

This tyre has been replaced by the Uniroyal RainExpert 3

Show all

Tyre review data from 123 tyre reviews averaging 83% over 1,192,762 miles driven.

 
Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £31.90 - £49.36 (9 prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £54.14 - £78.56 (3 prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 51 tyre sizes - View all.

Uniroyal RainExpert Reviews

Given 71% (breakdown) while driving a Fiat Panda (155-80-13-T)
Driving on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
4 of these on my Fiat Panda 1.1. They have been on my car for slightly over 1 year(Rear tyres about 18 months) and have driven in a wide variety of conditions from winding muddy broken UK country roads to high sustained speeds on the autobahn and also unpaved farm tracks. They have been used in icy conditions but not in snow.

General: Excellent tyre which gives a nice soft ride (probably due to soft side walls) with good progressive grip that lets me know what its doing.
Icy: Not great, managed well in straight lines, but quick to lose traction when breaking.
Wet:Excellent, I always seemed to have as much grip as in the dry. Very impressive.
Mud: Surprisingly good. Aggressive chicane like tread grips well and grip on muddy gravel tracks has been excellent.
Dry:Always seemed very safe and on the occasions when I have taken corners quickly my bravery has always gone before the grip.

Wear: This is more of a mixed review. Rear tyres have been on for about 20000 miles and show little sign of wear, but the front tyres have been on for only 13000 miles and are well over half worn. I rarely drive aggressively and my car does not weigh much so I've found this quite poor. Levels of grip in all conditions bar dry have also decreased at the front as the tyre wears so the review above is only really for tyres under 10000 miles.

Would I buy again: I'm not sure. Previous tyres have lasted for about 25000 miles and performed well despite wear, whereas the rainexperts on the front will likely only manage 18000, maybe 20000 at best and have shown a noticeable decline in performance. Probably I will go for something from a more premium brand, or try all seasons.

Conclusions: Initially a great tyre in all conditions tested, but wears quickly when on driven wheels and performance drops off quickly once half worn in all conditions apart from dry. I would recommend that if you do not rotate your tyres having a pair of these on the rear axle is recommended, but if used on the front axle will need frequent replacement.
tyre reviewed on February 6, 2016   
Given 71% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda (195-60-15-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20,000 average miles
Fantastic tyre in wet weather, dry grip also very good, tyre a bit noisy but is expected from a rain tyre,tyre wear is also good, I have 25k kms on them now ,will need replacing in the coming weeks , will try Uniroyal rain sport 3 as i have hear good reviews on them, these tyres are not cheap but if you are looking for tyre that is good in the rain/wet weather then I would recommend them
tyre reviewed on November 11, 2015   
Given 91% (breakdown) while driving a Lancia (165-55-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
Had these on a Lancia Delta 1.6 16V.
Dry grip is exceptional in the price range. They have a softer side wall, so inflated them to 2.8 Bar - no problems there. Wet grip is more than phenomenal!!
I even used them on a trackday with the delta, pushing them to the limit, no problems whatsoever. They just grip and squeal, you can hear when they're about to let go.

The price you pay for this is wear: they wear out faster than other tires, however you can get them for a lot less money.

Comfort and noiselevels are good.

Highly recommended, very safe!
tyre reviewed on July 26, 2015   
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Prius (195-55-16)
Driving on mostly town for 12,000 easy going miles
Got this tyre after a traumatic wet+cold braking experience with Bridgestone ER30. This is a safe and confortable (I guess the central rolling band on sizes >195 might help with that), economical tyre that won't let you down when you need it the most. Suitable for moderately cold climates where wear is actually very good so far, but don't take it for a highway trip when it's 30C outside or it'll age much quicker. Fuel economy is plain bad (I suspect inversely correlated, just like wear, to wet road handling, especially on inexpensive tyres). 2 years after this Bridgestone scare that prompted me to switch to Rainexpert, I had the same type of emergency braking, only much, much worse (faster ~25mph, on 3cm of fresh snow rather than cold rain, steep descent + corner, fully loaded car) and came safely to a stop after a bit of ABS intervention. They're not "good" on snow, just not plain dangerous, which can be nice as I'm not going to buy snow tyres for one day of snow per year, nor do I want to have an accident on that day every year! Can't comment on feedback or handling at the limit as these are mounted on a Prius.
tyre reviewed on March 5, 2015   
Given 89% (breakdown) while driving a Kia Motors (185-65-14-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Done 15k miles with them and they are the best summer tyres I had. The grip in wet and dry is excellent. Progressiveness is quite good, but the limit of the tyres is very high. Due to the softer compound, their wear is a bit higher but they do repay themselves in the outstanding performance. Would buy again for sure.
tyre reviewed on January 29, 2015   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda MX5 (185-60-14-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 700 spirited miles
Very good tyre. Have done about 700 miles of town, motorway and country roads and feel very confident with their grip. It would seem that you would need to push them quite a bit to get them to become unstable.

Had a set of mix 'n' match tyres originally which became quite squirmy with acceleration out of corners but not with these.

I understand what some say about the soft walls giving a tendency for a bit of roll. I have noticed this on occassion when heading down country roads that undulate quite a lot but not really a problem on typical cornering. I think the soft wall adds to the overall drive comfort.
tyre reviewed on January 18, 2015   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Renault Grand Scenic (205-60-16-H)
Driving on mostly town for 15,000 spirited miles
Put these on as Grand Scenic can be a handful in bad weather and impossible in icy conditions. The improvement was amazing and in all but icy conditions it sticks like a car half its size (my nerve goes first). Downside is that they don't wear as well on the front (the backs go for ever) but I am quite exuberant particularly where roundabouts are concerned. This said I am probably on course to do 25k+ on fronts with very little motorway driving.
tyre reviewed on November 28, 2014   
Given 74% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda 3 Series (195-65-15-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Got them at a good price last year and they've done 20000 miles. Really good in the wet.
tyre reviewed on November 1, 2014   
Given 82% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class Estate (195-65-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Just an initial review after doing around 1000 miles, for the price these are hard to beat. Loads of grip, good in wet & dry, low noise, look good and comfortable ride. The only downside to these tyres are their soft sidewalls- I have them on the front of my heavy old Diesel Merc estate and they were too soft at normal pressures (32psi). Upped them to 36psi and there's a massive improvement without sacrificing comfort. Probably not an issue on a lighter car, or if you have a low-profile version but these really need to run a relatively high pressure to be at their best, especially if you have a car requiring 'balloon' tyres with a large sidewall area! Can't comment on wear yet but otherwise recommended.
tyre reviewed on September 17, 2014   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A4 1.9 TDI (195-65-15-T)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5,150 spirited miles
These tyres were a bargain @ £37 a tyre. They are not suitable for large cars or luxury cars as the sidewalls are too soft. Initially the tyre sidewall flexed a good bit on cornering but After inflating to the full load pressure they are more assuring and I don't notice the sidewall flex anymore. Wet and dry rip are excellent and tyre noise is no worse than other good makes I've used.
Tyre wear seems good after 5k miles and I expect to get at least 20k miles out of these.
They perform well in all conditions including spirited driving but lack a bit on driver feedback and flex a bit but am reassured by the level of grip on corners.
Compared to many other tyres I've used these have got no punctures or lose any air at all so am pleased.
I will buy these again as they are great tyres for the money, but not for the sporty driver or heavy car.
tyre reviewed on September 7, 2014