205/45 15 Tyres

The following tyres have been reviewed in 205/45 15.
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (261) 84% 93% 79% 78% 64% 83% 77% 80% 1,926,205
Nankang AR 1 (21) 91% 49% 87% 89% 77% 70% 87% 79% 53,791
Kumho IZen KW27 (29) 77% 76% 75% 73% 82% 84% 76% 77% 290,800
Yokohama Advan A048 (9) 96% 53% 96% 81% 51% 56% 86% 74% 22,310
Toyo T1R (278) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,615,683
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (126) 70% 48% 57% 54% 69% 48% 43% 55% 1,244,457

205/45 15 Tyre Review Highlights

Uniroyal Rainsport 3 rated 94% while driving a Honda Integra DC2
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
I bought these tyres for my Honda Integra Type R (1996).

All I can say is WOW, the first time I pushed them after wearing them in, was in the wet and could not believe the amount of "first gear launch" grip. It gripped just like my old tyres did in the dry, but in the wet!
The wet grip is the best I have ever experienced from a tyre.

The dry grip, still, absolutely outstanding, far better than a lot of tyres I have used, I would say probably the best for the road! The only downside is that the sidewalls are a bit soft, so you will notice a bit of "tyre roll" when flicking in and out of bends.

These tyres are very soft, so don't expect them to last a huge amount of time, for me they still last long enough to keep me from complaining.
The downside to the softness, is when using these in a track environment, they will get TOO hot and will start melting away and losing you grip, as for the road though, these are the best you can buy.

I have just bought two more of these for the front wheels on my TDI Ibiza to see how they grip with the 300ft lb of torque, if I am happy, I will replace the rears with these also.
tyre reviewed on 2014-10-28 16:06:08
Toyo T1R rated 81% while driving a Peugeot 106 gti
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
I have these tyres on my Peugeot 106 GTi and my Ford Fiesta Van. Very good tyre in the dry, you really feel like you can push them to the limit and have confidence. Totally different story in the wet I found. I live in Scotland, it's wet A LOT of the time. I found the tyres quite poor in wet conditions, roundabouts were my main concern. Having to slow right down before being confident in the tyre.

The wear on them is extremely low and there is very little road noise. I'd think twice about buying again due to the wet feedback.
tyre reviewed on 2012-10-03 19:15:55
Yokohama Advan A048 rated 80% while driving a Caterham R400
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
Especially for a Caterham or Lotus this is probably the best thing out there, the amount of dry grip is truly insane - at the end of the day it's a semi-slick so it's going to be good. Even in the wet this is still a great tyre - I've driven through torrential rain storms in southern france, through several cm's standing water at 70mph+ and I'm still here. In the dry go round a few corners hard, the tyres will warm up and you'll stick to the road like nothing else!
tyre reviewed on 2013-03-31 22:34:22
Toyo T1R rated 76% while driving a Honda Prelude
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 spirited miles
I've had several sets of these and have tried different profiles 2.2 VTEC with Bilstein/Eibach suspension.

On a hot summer's day when warmed up, these tyres are absolutely unbeatable for flat out acceleration, cornering, and braking. Far better than the sport equivalent Good Year's, Continental's, Pirelli's, Dunlop's and other lesser value brands I've driven on. Feedback is excellent, tyre roll is minimal, and progressive break-away is controllable with a little experience. They are extremely predictable which inspires great confidence late braking and tight corners.

On a warm (10 degrees C plus) wet road, they are also very grippy.

However old cold or freezing roads, they are only above average on dry roads. On a cold wet road, the performance is fairly poor - comparible to a good budget brand (eg CEAT Spider).

On snow, slush and ice, they are absolutely useless. It's unfortunate really as these tyres cost me £50-60 each, yet I've spent £100+ per tyre for other big brands and not has as good grip in the warm and dry.

Overall a fantastic SUMMER tyre. A average/below average WINTER tyre. Wear is average to poor, but I'd expect that from such a soft grippy tyre. Expect 10-15K miles with a high performance car and spirited driving.
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-08 15:08:43
Kumho IZen KW27 rated 74% while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 JTD
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
Very good tyre for winter. Good on snow/icy... Drops on wet/rainy surface...
Weariness is awesome. Was driven on summer too...

tyre reviewed on 2013-10-07 12:45:25
Nankang AR 1 rated 71% while driving a Toyota MR2 mk3 Roadster
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Great track tyre, great value for money, on the same class as R888 and R888R by Toyo. Not especially good in wet roads, of course not recommended for a daily driver due to noise, stiffness, warm up times etc. A great tire for the weekend track car and the occasional mountain road, as long as you warm them up a bit first, then push the car. I tried both 195/50/15 and 205/45/15 and i can recommend the latter, as they basically are a 215 width tire, branded as a 205. Can achieve the same lap times for 5-10 fast laps, then they need cooldown. Tread is very few mm, will wear down very fast if you hit the track often, but the dry grip stays high even when worn.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-19 15:42:49
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL rated 29% while driving a Vauxhall corsa sri
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Pretty woeful.
Put these on my old 1.4 corsa and even the mighty 80bhp was too much for these tyres. They would happily spin up in the dry let alone the wet.
Even had some oversteer on a wet roundabout a couple of times, and this was hardly even pushing them. Worse thing was it wasn't even progressive, would just let go out of no where.
Quickly changed to yoko's spec 2's. Awesome tyre in comparison.
tyre reviewed on 2016-11-02 22:53:57
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre