Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 92%
Road Feedback 90%
Handling 86%
Wear 88%
Comfort 92%
Buy again 90%

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2

Show All

Tyre review data from 51 tyre reviews averaging 90% over 136,913 miles driven.

Reports

Tyre Test Highlights

2017 Auto Bild Summer SUV Tyre Test - 1st of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good performance balance, very good results on dry and wet roads, high resistance to aquaplaning
  • Negative - Low traction on grass, expensive

2016 Sport Auto UHP Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent overall grip in the wet, high resistance to aquaplaning, good balance in the wet and dry, very low rolling resistance
  • Negative - None noted
  • Overall - Particularly recommended

2017 Sport Auto UHP and Track Day Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good handling on wet roads, short braking distances on dry roads
  • Negative - Poor handling on dry roads
  • Overall - Recommended
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/40 R17 84W XL   E A 67 7.81kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   C A 69  
205/45 R17 88W XL   C A 69  
215/45 R17 87Y   E A 67  
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 67  
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 68  
225/45 R17 91Y   E A 68  
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 68  
235/45 R17 94Y   C A 68  
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 68  
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 68  
225/50 R17 94Y   C A 67  
225/55 R17 101W XL   B A 68 11.21kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 70 10.20kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 67 9.00kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 68  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 68 9.92kgs
245/40 R18 93Y   C A 69  
225/45 R18 91Y   E B 68  
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 68 9.59kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 69  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   B A 69  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   B A 67 11.38kgs
255/45 R18 99Y   C A 69  
255/45 R18 103Y XL   B A 69  
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 69 11.43kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 69  
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 68 11.53kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL   C A 69  
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C A 69 11.21kgs
245/40 R20 95Y   E A 71 14.50kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3

2016-03-24 - Is it true that asymmetric 3 has a smaller rim protection than asymmetric 2?

Just as an update to this question, we have been in contact with Goodyear regarding the rim protection on the Asymmetric 3 and the answer should be with us shortly!


2016-03-24 - When can we expect a test with the pilot sport 4, sport contact 6 and the asymmetric 3?

You're unlikely to see the Sport Contact 6 in a test with the Pilot Sport 4 due to the sizes they're made in, the Continental rivals the Pilot Super Sport.
The best test so far this year is the GTU test, however that missed the Michelin.


2016-04-27 - Is it true the side wall height has increased on the 3 vs the 2?

As with all Goodyear tyres, the Asymmetric 3 is within ETRTO (European Tyre & Rim Technical Organisation) guidelines, which does allow for a small variation on side wall height. Whether the size increases or decreases can depend on the size.


2016-04-26 - Will the 3 be N rated for Porsche, Cayman GTS specifically, like the 2?

A reply from Goodyear - We continuously work with OEM partners to develop OE Marked versions of the Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3, the tyre is currently approved on the Jaguar XF (J Marked) and the Mercedes-Benz E-Class (MO Marked). The tire will only be N rated if we gain an approval on a Porsche platform.


2016-05-06 - is the goodyear F1 AS3 directional

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is an asymmetric tyre, not directional


2016-05-30 - What does 94y and 98y mean and what is the differance

The 94 and 98 are the load ratings for the Asymmetric 3 tyre. 94 means each tyre is rated to carry 670 kgs, and 98 750 kgs. As a rule of thumb, the high load rating tyre will create slightly more noise, have a slightly harder ride, but will offer a more sporty steering feel.


2016-09-03 - I have Swift Sport 1.6 and I would like to replace my tires with either Dunlop Sport Maxx RT2 or Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric. They are similar but I can't decide. Could you help me ?

Both the latest Dunlop and the Goodyear are extremely similar tyres, you'll be happy with either. We would always side with the Goodyear as we feel longer term the availability would be better.


2016-08-27 - I am about to purchase either Goodyear Efficientgrip Performance or this Asymmetric 3. I think the Efficientgrip is the older design yet has the better fuel efficiency and same wet braking distance. I am surprised by this. It is also cheaper by £10 from Blackcircles. Does the labeling stay consistent such that you can compare older tyer designs against new ones. Why would you buy the Asymmetric 3 over the Efficientgrip? I drive a 2010 Ford Focus 2.0l diesel and do about 22000 miles per year.

The label tests do stay constant. Wet braking is only one performance quality of a tyre, and while it's entirely possible the F1 Asymmetric 3 and EG Performance to have the same wet braking grade, the Asymmetric 3 will have a better balance of overall qualities when you account for wet handling, aquaplaning, dry braking, dry handling etc.


2016-09-16 - I have Lotus Elise s2 sport 135. Its never used on track just occassional road use. Following a blow out on a rear Bridgestone pirenza I am considering replacement tyres with the Goodyear eagle F1 Assyimetric 3. What is your opinion

Sadly we've not yet driven on the Asymmetric 3! One thing to watch out for is that replacing just the rear tyres with the Goodyears could give the car a curious rear-steering feel due to the difference in sidewall strengths between the hard Bridgestone tyres, and the softer Goodyears.


2016-10-16 - I've had the Goodyear asym 2's on my old bmw z4 which were a superb drive although did have to change them fairly often. Now I've got a Toyota gt86 and considering the Goodyear asym 3, Michelin pilot sport 4, or the kumho ku39's? Any advice between them?

The F1 A3 and MPS4 are very closely matched. We've not yet driven them back to back, but would say the F1 A3 would have the slight edge in comfort, and the MPS4 the edge in sporty handling.


2017-01-24 - Where are the Goodyear asy 3 tyres made ?

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is made in a variety of locations depending on the size and market.


2017-03-18 - Hello, tell me when choosing tires efficientgrip performance and asymmetric 3 for durability what will be better?

Unfortunately no one has done the test to compare wear data. The treadwear rating of each tyre should give you an indication of which will perform better.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £82.50 - £98.20 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £69.52 - £86.00 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £120.04 - £151.13 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £133.32 - £144.00 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R20 £156.00 - £188.10 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 47 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 Review

Given 63% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo C30 T5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 miles
I previously had the asymmetric 2's whilst my car runs about 280bhp and 450nm of torque and i hardly ever got any wheel spin with them. On the other hand with asymmetric 3's i get a lot more wheel spin so i would definitely not buy them again and I'd stick to tglhe previous ones..
192 - tyre reviewed on September 24, 2016   

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 Reviews

Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3.

Review Your Tyres >>

Ford fiesta st (205/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Had the Bridgestone Potenzas before this tyre and it was time for a change looking at the reviews it seemed like a great tyre better than the Asymmetric 2 however this isn't the case!

The Asymmetric 3 is a great tyre in the dry good grip and feedback, however in the wet I don't feel confident. It's good in a straight line and doesn't aqua plane however if you corner at normal speed on a normal Road I find they slip a little! Also if you give it a bit of throttle on acceleration they just light up traction control and the front end slips in the wet. I would recommend these tyres mainly for dry driving!

For this reason alone I won't be purchasing again!
0 - tyre reviewed on March 23, 2017   
Given 73% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A7 S Line 245ps (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
When you choose to buy new tires try first to follow the advertising spot of company..if you see a car who is close to yours then you made a good choice, I mean if the spot is with Jaguar XF and you have a sporty car like Porsche Panamera then is a bad choice, or if the spot is with VW Golf 7 and you have Audi RS 6 or BMW M3 it's also a no good choice for sure.
Generally the type of car used to advertise acceptable offer insight for who is the type of tire, do not try to mix them because you will be disappointed.
2 - tyre reviewed on March 20, 2017   
Given 76% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A3 S Line Sportback 2.0 TDI 184 (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Previously had the Eagle F1 Assy 2's, very happy with all aspects, really couldn't fault so purchased again, however GY replaced with assy 3's. Still a great tyre for driveability, however rim protector is almost non existent, the alloy rims basically are level (at the best) with the rubber, this is not what I expected.

As well as looking a little odd my expensive alloys are now at risk, wouldn't purchase again and will change to another make soon with proper rim protectors, will have sell these on Exxxx.
1 - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2017   
Given 97% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall Astra j 2.0 cdti Sri with 230hp 500nm (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 22,000 spirited miles
First off these tyres are simply the best if you want excellent dry and wet grip combined with good wear and good comfort these tires are for you.

I have a astra j 2.0 cdti on eibach springs and shocks with 500nm and 230hp and these tires perfectly compliment them.

They more than handle the power and help the front wheels get the traction they need to put the power down all other tires I had spun even at 20mph under acceleration these only spin from a stand still in the wet.

The dry handling is just .... Amazing simply brilliant , I have had conti contact sport , pirellie, michilin and they are all inferior before these eagle f1 I had the Goodyear efficient grip performance which where good but the eagle f1 are just another league, I drive the A7 daily in Scotland a very windy road and these tires handle the road beautifully they are incredibly responsive to steering input are comfortable when going over pot holes which in Scotland there is plenty, but the most amazing thing is the way they bite into the road in corners where I would take them at 50-55 I can go 70 and still feel more grip for the car to use, ride comfort is also good and they have a nice firm sidewall so the car doesent feel like its falling on its side such as with the conti and michillins, and this tire also shines in the wet it feels just as good in the wet as in the dry. Wear is also really good. Only tire that is anywhere near as good handling is Yokohama advanced sport v105 but the wear on them is pretty poor in comparison.

I would highly highly recommend these tires 10/10 will buy again and again.
5 - tyre reviewed on February 23, 2017   
Given 91% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 318 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 500 easy going miles
Excellent tyre for the BMW. Nice smooth ride. Very quiet and low rolling resistance helping with fuel economy. Excellent grip in all conditions. Highly recommended.
6 - tyre reviewed on February 11, 2017   

See all 45 customer reviews of the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (newest first) >>