Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 91%
Road Feedback 90%
Handling 87%
Wear 88%
Comfort 91%
Buy again 91%

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2

Show All

Tyre review data from 43 tyre reviews averaging 90% over 104,513 miles driven.

Reports

Tyre Test Highlights

2016 Sport Auto UHP Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent overall grip in the wet, high resistance to aquaplaning, good balance in the wet and dry, very low rolling resistance
  • Negative - None noted
  • Overall - Particularly recommended

2016 EVO Summer Performance Tyre Test - 2nd of 9 tyres

  • Overall - Not as strong as the best in the test in the dry, but an excellent all round wet ability combined with the lowest rolling resistance and best levels of comfort win the new Goodyear joint second place.

2016 GTU Performance Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 14 tyres

  • Overall - Highly Recommended
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/40 R17 84W XL   E A 67 7.81kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   C A 69  
205/45 R17 88W XL   C A 69  
215/45 R17 87Y   E A 67  
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 67  
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 68  
225/45 R17 91Y   E A 68  
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 68  
235/45 R17 94Y   C A 68  
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 68  
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 68  
225/50 R17 94Y   C A 67  
225/55 R17 101W XL   B A 68 11.21kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 70 10.20kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 67 9.00kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 68  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 68 9.92kgs
245/40 R18 93Y   C A 69  
225/45 R18 91Y   E B 68  
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 68 9.59kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 69  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   B A 69  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   B A 67 11.38kgs
255/45 R18 99Y   C A 69  
255/45 R18 103Y XL   B A 69  
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 69 11.43kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 69  
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 68 11.53kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL   C A 69  
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C A 69 11.21kgs
245/40 R20 95Y   E A 71 14.50kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3

2016-03-24 - Is it true that asymmetric 3 has a smaller rim protection than asymmetric 2?

Just as an update to this question, we have been in contact with Goodyear regarding the rim protection on the Asymmetric 3 and the answer should be with us shortly!


2016-03-24 - When can we expect a test with the pilot sport 4, sport contact 6 and the asymmetric 3?

You're unlikely to see the Sport Contact 6 in a test with the Pilot Sport 4 due to the sizes they're made in, the Continental rivals the Pilot Super Sport.
The best test so far this year is the GTU test, however that missed the Michelin.


2016-04-27 - Is it true the side wall height has increased on the 3 vs the 2?

As with all Goodyear tyres, the Asymmetric 3 is within ETRTO (European Tyre & Rim Technical Organisation) guidelines, which does allow for a small variation on side wall height. Whether the size increases or decreases can depend on the size.


2016-04-26 - Will the 3 be N rated for Porsche, Cayman GTS specifically, like the 2?

A reply from Goodyear - We continuously work with OEM partners to develop OE Marked versions of the Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3, the tyre is currently approved on the Jaguar XF (J Marked) and the Mercedes-Benz E-Class (MO Marked). The tire will only be N rated if we gain an approval on a Porsche platform.


2016-05-06 - is the goodyear F1 AS3 directional

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is an asymmetric tyre, not directional


2016-05-30 - What does 94y and 98y mean and what is the differance

The 94 and 98 are the load ratings for the Asymmetric 3 tyre. 94 means each tyre is rated to carry 670 kgs, and 98 750 kgs. As a rule of thumb, the high load rating tyre will create slightly more noise, have a slightly harder ride, but will offer a more sporty steering feel.


2016-09-03 - I have Swift Sport 1.6 and I would like to replace my tires with either Dunlop Sport Maxx RT2 or Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric. They are similar but I can't decide. Could you help me ?

Both the latest Dunlop and the Goodyear are extremely similar tyres, you'll be happy with either. We would always side with the Goodyear as we feel longer term the availability would be better.


2016-08-27 - I am about to purchase either Goodyear Efficientgrip Performance or this Asymmetric 3. I think the Efficientgrip is the older design yet has the better fuel efficiency and same wet braking distance. I am surprised by this. It is also cheaper by £10 from Blackcircles. Does the labeling stay consistent such that you can compare older tyer designs against new ones. Why would you buy the Asymmetric 3 over the Efficientgrip? I drive a 2010 Ford Focus 2.0l diesel and do about 22000 miles per year.

The label tests do stay constant. Wet braking is only one performance quality of a tyre, and while it's entirely possible the F1 Asymmetric 3 and EG Performance to have the same wet braking grade, the Asymmetric 3 will have a better balance of overall qualities when you account for wet handling, aquaplaning, dry braking, dry handling etc.


2016-09-16 - I have Lotus Elise s2 sport 135. Its never used on track just occassional road use. Following a blow out on a rear Bridgestone pirenza I am considering replacement tyres with the Goodyear eagle F1 Assyimetric 3. What is your opinion

Sadly we've not yet driven on the Asymmetric 3! One thing to watch out for is that replacing just the rear tyres with the Goodyears could give the car a curious rear-steering feel due to the difference in sidewall strengths between the hard Bridgestone tyres, and the softer Goodyears.


2016-10-16 - I've had the Goodyear asym 2's on my old bmw z4 which were a superb drive although did have to change them fairly often. Now I've got a Toyota gt86 and considering the Goodyear asym 3, Michelin pilot sport 4, or the kumho ku39's? Any advice between them?

The F1 A3 and MPS4 are very closely matched. We've not yet driven them back to back, but would say the F1 A3 would have the slight edge in comfort, and the MPS4 the edge in sporty handling.


2017-01-24 - Where are the Goodyear asy 3 tyres made ?

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is made in a variety of locations depending on the size and market.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
215/45 R17 £76.84 - £83.33 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £82.28 - £89.00 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £66.32 - £76.00 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £116.00 - £154.41 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R20 £151.00 - £159.80 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 45 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 Review

Given 63% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo C30 T5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 miles
I previously had the asymmetric 2's whilst my car runs about 280bhp and 450nm of torque and i hardly ever got any wheel spin with them. On the other hand with asymmetric 3's i get a lot more wheel spin so i would definitely not buy them again and I'd stick to tglhe previous ones..
124 - tyre reviewed on September 24, 2016   

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 Reviews

Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 91% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 318 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 500 easy going miles
Excellent tyre for the BMW. Nice smooth ride. Very quiet and low rolling resistance helping with fuel economy. Excellent grip in all conditions. Highly recommended.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 11, 2017   
Given 99% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 520d Tourer (225/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
It is the perfect tyre for a BMW 5 series. I no longer have wheel spin, control and handling are superb. Much better than the original Continental Premium Contact 2 that are the default tyres for a 5 series. Tyres are relatively quiet and fuel usage has improved. So if you want a sporty tyre but you don't want to sacrifice comfort this is your choice.
7 - tyre reviewed on January 31, 2017   
Given 85% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT LEON 1.6 105 bhp (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 400 spirited miles
before i had the achilles atr sport 2, very bad tyre. from the begining that i put the assymetric 3 ........ my men its very good , im waiting to drive in the rain. i have 500 km on the road with these tires and im very satisfied. im sure i will buy them again. the unique defect is that it has big side profile and im worring that maybe has problem when i pushed it in the corners in his limit.
13 - tyre reviewed on December 13, 2016   
Given 79% (breakdown) while driving a Opel Calibra V6 (215/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 3,500 average miles
I used to have the Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 tyres before these, but those were down to about 2mm and I sadly got some damage on the sidewall of one of the tyres. So when I heard there was a version 3 out from the Asymmetric tyres, I almost blindly chose those. This because my experience with the Asymmetric 2 tyres was fantastic; very good dry grip, excellent wet grip, very good steering feel and decent comfort. When I saw that the version 3's were even a bit cheaper, I went for it.

Now, after a few thousand kilometers, I kind of regret that decision. Not that these are bad tyres, not in the slightest, but the Asymmetric 2's were just better and more to my liking.

Starting off on a positive note though, the comfort on these tyres has become quite a bit better. Bumps and potholes in the road are less noticeable and they seem to be ever so slightly quieter. The wear, for the short bit that I've used them, seems fine. Wet grip is also still very good, only slightly behind or on par with the version 2's.
Dry grip seems to be a bit worse, I seem to get wheelspin quicker with these when for example driving off at at roundabout that is slightly uphill. This I never had on the previous tyres.

The most noticeable difference however is the feedback. I assume that with the tyres being more comfortable, the steering feel has gone downhill and it's much harder to predict where the limit is during cornering. The Asymmetric 2's were outstanding in that regard, you could feel everything going on through the steering wheel and you would know exactly where the limitations of grip were. I really miss that with these tyres.

In conclusion: if you have already ordered these tyres, no worries, they are pretty good. But if you're still browsing, get the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 tyres; slightly "harder" and less comfortable, but more grip and much more feedback.
18 - tyre reviewed on December 2, 2016   

See all 41 customer reviews of the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (newest first) >>