Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 92%
Road Feedback 90%
Handling 85%
Wear 88%
Comfort 92%
Buy again 90%

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2

Show All

Tyre review data from 57 tyre reviews averaging 90% over 156,723 miles driven.

Reports

Tyre Test Highlights

2017 Auto Bild Summer SUV Tyre Test - 1st of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good performance balance, very good results on dry and wet roads, high resistance to aquaplaning
  • Negative - Low traction on grass, expensive

2016 Sport Auto UHP Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent overall grip in the wet, high resistance to aquaplaning, good balance in the wet and dry, very low rolling resistance
  • Negative - None noted
  • Overall - Particularly recommended

2017 Auto Bild UHP Tyre Test - 2nd of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Good handling and a short stopping distance on wet and dry surfaces, high lateral stability on wet roads, low rolling resistance
  • Negative - None mentioned
  • Overall - Exemplary
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/40 R17 84W XL   E A 67 7.81kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   C A 69  
205/45 R17 88W XL   C A 69  
215/45 R17 87Y   E A 67  
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 67  
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 68  
225/45 R17 91Y   E A 68  
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 68  
235/45 R17 94Y   C A 68  
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 68  
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 68  
225/50 R17 94Y   C A 67  
225/55 R17 101W XL   B A 68 11.21kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 70 10.20kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 67 9.00kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 68  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 68 9.92kgs
245/40 R18 93Y   C A 69  
225/45 R18 91Y   E B 68  
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 68 9.59kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 69  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   B A 69  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   B A 67 11.38kgs
255/45 R18 99Y   C A 69  
255/45 R18 103Y XL   B A 69  
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 69 11.43kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 69  
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 68 11.53kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL   C A 69  
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C A 69 11.21kgs
245/40 R20 95Y   E A 71 14.50kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3

2016-03-24 - Is it true that asymmetric 3 has a smaller rim protection than asymmetric 2?

Just as an update to this question, we have been in contact with Goodyear regarding the rim protection on the Asymmetric 3 and the answer should be with us shortly!


2016-03-24 - When can we expect a test with the pilot sport 4, sport contact 6 and the asymmetric 3?

You're unlikely to see the Sport Contact 6 in a test with the Pilot Sport 4 due to the sizes they're made in, the Continental rivals the Pilot Super Sport.
The best test so far this year is the GTU test, however that missed the Michelin.


2016-04-27 - Is it true the side wall height has increased on the 3 vs the 2?

As with all Goodyear tyres, the Asymmetric 3 is within ETRTO (European Tyre & Rim Technical Organisation) guidelines, which does allow for a small variation on side wall height. Whether the size increases or decreases can depend on the size.


2016-04-26 - Will the 3 be N rated for Porsche, Cayman GTS specifically, like the 2?

A reply from Goodyear - We continuously work with OEM partners to develop OE Marked versions of the Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3, the tyre is currently approved on the Jaguar XF (J Marked) and the Mercedes-Benz E-Class (MO Marked). The tire will only be N rated if we gain an approval on a Porsche platform.


2016-05-06 - is the goodyear F1 AS3 directional

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is an asymmetric tyre, not directional


2016-05-30 - What does 94y and 98y mean and what is the differance

The 94 and 98 are the load ratings for the Asymmetric 3 tyre. 94 means each tyre is rated to carry 670 kgs, and 98 750 kgs. As a rule of thumb, the high load rating tyre will create slightly more noise, have a slightly harder ride, but will offer a more sporty steering feel.


2016-09-03 - I have Swift Sport 1.6 and I would like to replace my tires with either Dunlop Sport Maxx RT2 or Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric. They are similar but I can't decide. Could you help me ?

Both the latest Dunlop and the Goodyear are extremely similar tyres, you'll be happy with either. We would always side with the Goodyear as we feel longer term the availability would be better.


2016-08-27 - I am about to purchase either Goodyear Efficientgrip Performance or this Asymmetric 3. I think the Efficientgrip is the older design yet has the better fuel efficiency and same wet braking distance. I am surprised by this. It is also cheaper by £10 from Blackcircles. Does the labeling stay consistent such that you can compare older tyer designs against new ones. Why would you buy the Asymmetric 3 over the Efficientgrip? I drive a 2010 Ford Focus 2.0l diesel and do about 22000 miles per year.

The label tests do stay constant. Wet braking is only one performance quality of a tyre, and while it's entirely possible the F1 Asymmetric 3 and EG Performance to have the same wet braking grade, the Asymmetric 3 will have a better balance of overall qualities when you account for wet handling, aquaplaning, dry braking, dry handling etc.


2016-09-16 - I have Lotus Elise s2 sport 135. Its never used on track just occassional road use. Following a blow out on a rear Bridgestone pirenza I am considering replacement tyres with the Goodyear eagle F1 Assyimetric 3. What is your opinion

Sadly we've not yet driven on the Asymmetric 3! One thing to watch out for is that replacing just the rear tyres with the Goodyears could give the car a curious rear-steering feel due to the difference in sidewall strengths between the hard Bridgestone tyres, and the softer Goodyears.


2016-10-16 - I've had the Goodyear asym 2's on my old bmw z4 which were a superb drive although did have to change them fairly often. Now I've got a Toyota gt86 and considering the Goodyear asym 3, Michelin pilot sport 4, or the kumho ku39's? Any advice between them?

The F1 A3 and MPS4 are very closely matched. We've not yet driven them back to back, but would say the F1 A3 would have the slight edge in comfort, and the MPS4 the edge in sporty handling.


2017-01-24 - Where are the Goodyear asy 3 tyres made ?

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is made in a variety of locations depending on the size and market.


2017-03-18 - Hello, tell me when choosing tires efficientgrip performance and asymmetric 3 for durability what will be better?

Unfortunately no one has done the test to compare wear data. The treadwear rating of each tyre should give you an indication of which will perform better.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £80.40 - £89.00 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £69.25 - £83.05 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £112.99 - £156.84 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £132.75 - £144.49 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/45 R18 £114.00 - £158.76 (25 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 49 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 Review

Given 63% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo C30 T5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 miles
I previously had the asymmetric 2's whilst my car runs about 280bhp and 450nm of torque and i hardly ever got any wheel spin with them. On the other hand with asymmetric 3's i get a lot more wheel spin so i would definitely not buy them again and I'd stick to tglhe previous ones..
265 - tyre reviewed on September 24, 2016   

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 Reviews

Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 92% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 525d Msport (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
good tyre for grip, low road noise
4 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2017   
Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
I've been running Goodyear F1 Asymmetric 2's for the past number of years and I'm now on F1 Asymmetric 3's. Both tire are outstanding. I've had other brands in the past and nothing can touch there performance. I converted a friend of mine who has an Audi A6 Quattro and he too wouldn't now touch anything else. I don't understand why people skimp on tire as its the quality of tire that keeps you safely on the road
1 - tyre reviewed on April 29, 2017   
Given 97% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall Insignia CDTI SRI 160 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 10 average miles
Been through many brands, lots of mid-range such as Kumho and Vredestein, - all very good but never seemed to get past 10k on the front. Fitted the Assymetric 2 to my Insignia VXLine in 19s, superb all round with 25k covered on the front. Now fitted the 3 and seems marginally better. Although looking at another £20 per wheel, they result to be a much more cost effective option with far better handling, noise and performance characteristics. Superb tyre
1 - tyre reviewed on April 29, 2017   
Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0 140 TDI Sport Estate (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
I bought a VW Passat 2:0 tdi with budget tyre fitted and it was dangerous to say the least with terrible understear and braking. I looked at all the reviews for tyres and decided on the goodyears F1's and I have to say it was like driving a different car understear gone good braking performance superb in the wet. I had the same issue with my next car an Audi A 5. 3.0 tdi same result in great improvement in grip. Covered around 12000 miles up to now and probably good for 2 or 3 k more
Recommend
1 - tyre reviewed on April 18, 2017   
Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a Peugeot rcz 200 thp (235/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 300 average miles
I previuosly had gy f1 2, the differences are less rim protection but better damping on bumps, seems a softer compound, only done 300 miles but seems to get a little better, not as planted on the road. Did not have any other option of new uhp tyres with this size..
11 - tyre reviewed on April 14, 2017   

See all 51 customer reviews of the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (newest first) >>