Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3

Dry Grip 91%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 82%
Wear 81%
Comfort 91%
Buy again 81%

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2

Show All

Tyre review data from 101 tyre reviews averaging 86% over 391,081 miles driven.

Reports

Tyre Test Highlights

2017 Auto Bild Summer SUV Tyre Test - 1st of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good performance balance, very good results on dry and wet roads, high resistance to aquaplaning
  • Negative - Low traction on grass, expensive

2016 Sport Auto UHP Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent overall grip in the wet, high resistance to aquaplaning, good balance in the wet and dry, very low rolling resistance
  • Negative - None noted
  • Overall - Particularly recommended

2018 EVO UUHP Tyre Test - 2nd of 6 tyres

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/40 R17 84W XL   E A 67 7.81kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   C A 69  
205/45 R17 88W XL   C A 69  
215/45 R17 87Y   E A 67  
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 67  
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 68  
225/45 R17 91Y   E A 68  
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 68  
235/45 R17 94Y   C A 68  
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 68  
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 68  
225/50 R17 94Y   C A 67  
225/55 R17 101W XL   B A 68 11.21kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 70 10.20kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 67 9.00kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 68  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 68 9.92kgs
245/40 R18 93Y   C A 69  
225/45 R18 91Y   E B 68  
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 68 9.59kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 69  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   B A 69  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   B A 67 11.38kgs
255/45 R18 99Y   C A 69  
255/45 R18 103Y XL   B A 69  
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 69 11.43kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 69  
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 68 11.53kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL   C A 69  
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C A 69 11.21kgs
245/40 R20 95Y   E A 71 14.50kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3

2016-03-24 - Is it true that asymmetric 3 has a smaller rim protection than asymmetric 2?

Just as an update to this question, we have been in contact with Goodyear regarding the rim protection on the Asymmetric 3 and the answer should be with us shortly!


2016-03-24 - When can we expect a test with the pilot sport 4, sport contact 6 and the asymmetric 3?

You're unlikely to see the Sport Contact 6 in a test with the Pilot Sport 4 due to the sizes they're made in, the Continental rivals the Pilot Super Sport.
The best test so far this year is the GTU test, however that missed the Michelin.


2016-04-27 - Is it true the side wall height has increased on the 3 vs the 2?

As with all Goodyear tyres, the Asymmetric 3 is within ETRTO (European Tyre & Rim Technical Organisation) guidelines, which does allow for a small variation on side wall height. Whether the size increases or decreases can depend on the size.


2016-04-26 - Will the 3 be N rated for Porsche, Cayman GTS specifically, like the 2?

A reply from Goodyear - We continuously work with OEM partners to develop OE Marked versions of the Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3, the tyre is currently approved on the Jaguar XF (J Marked) and the Mercedes-Benz E-Class (MO Marked). The tire will only be N rated if we gain an approval on a Porsche platform.


2016-05-06 - is the goodyear F1 AS3 directional

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is an asymmetric tyre, not directional


2016-05-30 - What does 94y and 98y mean and what is the differance

The 94 and 98 are the load ratings for the Asymmetric 3 tyre. 94 means each tyre is rated to carry 670 kgs, and 98 750 kgs. As a rule of thumb, the high load rating tyre will create slightly more noise, have a slightly harder ride, but will offer a more sporty steering feel.


2016-09-03 - I have Swift Sport 1.6 and I would like to replace my tires with either Dunlop Sport Maxx RT2 or Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric. They are similar but I can't decide. Could you help me ?

Both the latest Dunlop and the Goodyear are extremely similar tyres, you'll be happy with either. We would always side with the Goodyear as we feel longer term the availability would be better.


2016-08-27 - I am about to purchase either Goodyear Efficientgrip Performance or this Asymmetric 3. I think the Efficientgrip is the older design yet has the better fuel efficiency and same wet braking distance. I am surprised by this. It is also cheaper by £10 from Blackcircles. Does the labeling stay consistent such that you can compare older tyer designs against new ones. Why would you buy the Asymmetric 3 over the Efficientgrip? I drive a 2010 Ford Focus 2.0l diesel and do about 22000 miles per year.

The label tests do stay constant. Wet braking is only one performance quality of a tyre, and while it's entirely possible the F1 Asymmetric 3 and EG Performance to have the same wet braking grade, the Asymmetric 3 will have a better balance of overall qualities when you account for wet handling, aquaplaning, dry braking, dry handling etc.


2016-09-16 - I have Lotus Elise s2 sport 135. Its never used on track just occassional road use. Following a blow out on a rear Bridgestone pirenza I am considering replacement tyres with the Goodyear eagle F1 Assyimetric 3. What is your opinion

Sadly we've not yet driven on the Asymmetric 3! One thing to watch out for is that replacing just the rear tyres with the Goodyears could give the car a curious rear-steering feel due to the difference in sidewall strengths between the hard Bridgestone tyres, and the softer Goodyears.


2016-10-16 - I've had the Goodyear asym 2's on my old bmw z4 which were a superb drive although did have to change them fairly often. Now I've got a Toyota gt86 and considering the Goodyear asym 3, Michelin pilot sport 4, or the kumho ku39's? Any advice between them?

The F1 A3 and MPS4 are very closely matched. We've not yet driven them back to back, but would say the F1 A3 would have the slight edge in comfort, and the MPS4 the edge in sporty handling.


2017-01-24 - Where are the Goodyear asy 3 tyres made ?

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is made in a variety of locations depending on the size and market.


2017-03-18 - Hello, tell me when choosing tires efficientgrip performance and asymmetric 3 for durability what will be better?

Unfortunately no one has done the test to compare wear data. The treadwear rating of each tyre should give you an indication of which will perform better.


2017-06-08 - I am about to renew the front tyres on my 2014 Ford Focus st. The car came with Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 tyres. Should I stick with those or go for the Asymmetric 3 tyres.

The Asymmetric 3 is the natural replacement for the Asymmetric 2 so it would make sense to upgrade to the new and improved model.


2018-01-04 - Are these run flat tyres?

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 has a runflat option in certain sizes.


2018-03-28 - I have Honda Civic 1.8 8th gen on 225/40/R18 XL. Bridgestone Potenza on front, Michelin PS3 rear. Rears due for replacement soon. I want to improve ride comfort, Thinking of putting Potenzas on rear and new Goodyear Asymmetrical 3 or Pirelli P Zero PS4 on front. Which of these tyres would give best comfort? Is there much difference as far as comfort is concerned between them? Would handling be significantly affected by having stiffer walled Potenzas on the rear, requiring all tyres to be replaced

Personally I would go for the A3, put them on the rear and wear through whatever is left as quickly as possible on the front so I can have 4 matching tyres.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
215/45 R17 £75.50 - £82.70 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £78.00 - £82.10 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £63.63 - £76.00 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £113.50 - £143.90 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/40 R18 £101.50 - £120.40 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 80 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 Review

Given 63% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo C30 T5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 miles
I previously had the asymmetric 2's whilst my car runs about 280bhp and 450nm of torque and i hardly ever got any wheel spin with them. On the other hand with asymmetric 3's i get a lot more wheel spin so i would definitely not buy them again and I'd stick to tglhe previous ones..
606 - tyre reviewed on September 24, 2016   

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 Reviews

Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 64% (breakdown) while driving a MG ZR (205/45 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
Replaced a set of Continental Sport Contact 2.

Pro's:
-Very quiet
-Lighter steering
-Comfortable
-Good wet and dry grip

Con's:
-Slow steering response, car doesn't feel as sharp
-Steering feedback is very poor

Good tyres for long distance cruisers and grocery getters, but dont fit these tyres to a sports car or if you like spirited driving, you will be dissapointed.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 19, 2018   
Given 37% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda 3 Skyactiv 2012 (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Rubbish tyre, they shouldn't call it a max performance tyre, it is a passenger tyre which is for the Moms to take their kids to school. The sidewall is ridiculously soft which gives no feedback at all. I am running KW V3 coilover at a relatively stiff setup and -2.2 deg of front camber on my car, the tyre still can't support itself at all while I am trail braking into a corner, and I am using 39psi cold pressure already.........Tyre wear is not good, already more than halfway out at 2500km. Won't buy it again
7 - tyre reviewed on August 29, 2018   
Looking for the best all season tyre? Watch this video!
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Golf R estate (235/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Great tyre, first thing I noticed was how quiet they are. Very comfortable ride too. Dry grip is fantastic and the wet grip is good too. Can't comment on wear so early but I would use them again.
5 - tyre reviewed on August 18, 2018   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A4 Avant 2.0T Quattro (245/40 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 3,000 average miles
This tire takes a while (over 1K miles) to break-in. Initially I was a little disappointed on its grip and comfort, but after a couple thousand miles the tires have started to shine with good traction wet or dry, offer good level of comfort and quietness.

Right before F1A3 I ran Hankook S1 EVO 2, also great tire for the price, but F1A3 feels somewhat more refined in its road manners, especially on road noise.

The steering feedback is a little numb but it can be the car and not tire, because I remember when I ran 1st generation F1A1 on my previous Subaru Legacy BPE 3.0R it had wonderful steering feel.

So I have no major complaint about this tire.
1 - tyre reviewed on August 17, 2018   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI MK7 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 200 miles
Bought these tyres after reading good reviews on the web. I have driven them on motorways and street roads and can’t fault the comfort and grip of these tyres. After driving other GTIs with Michelin’s and Pirelli’s, the grip levels are very similar but comfort of the Goodyear’s are way better than its competitors. The comfort does however sacrifice road feedback when compared to the other tyres. For the price of nearly half the PSS this tyre definitely provides excellent value for money.
1 - tyre reviewed on August 12, 2018   

See all 93 customer reviews of the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (newest first) >>

Advertisement