Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3

Dry Grip 91%
Wet Grip 90%
Road Feedback 86%
Handling 83%
Wear 82%
Comfort 90%
Buy again 82%

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2

Show All

Tyre review data from 89 tyre reviews averaging 86% over 350,386 miles driven.


Tyre Test Highlights

2017 Auto Bild Summer SUV Tyre Test - 1st of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good performance balance, very good results on dry and wet roads, high resistance to aquaplaning
  • Negative - Low traction on grass, expensive

2016 Sport Auto UHP Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent overall grip in the wet, high resistance to aquaplaning, good balance in the wet and dry, very low rolling resistance
  • Negative - None noted
  • Overall - Particularly recommended

2017 Auto Bild UHP Tyre Test - 2nd of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Good handling and a short stopping distance on wet and dry surfaces, high lateral stability on wet roads, low rolling resistance
  • Negative - None mentioned
  • Overall - Exemplary
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/40 R17 84W XL   E A 67 7.81kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   C A 69  
205/45 R17 88W XL   C A 69  
215/45 R17 87Y   E A 67  
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 67  
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 68  
225/45 R17 91Y   E A 68  
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 68  
235/45 R17 94Y   C A 68  
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 68  
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 68  
225/50 R17 94Y   C A 67  
225/55 R17 101W XL   B A 68 11.21kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 70 10.20kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 67 9.00kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 68  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 68 9.92kgs
245/40 R18 93Y   C A 69  
225/45 R18 91Y   E B 68  
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 68 9.59kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 69  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   B A 69  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   B A 67 11.38kgs
255/45 R18 99Y   C A 69  
255/45 R18 103Y XL   B A 69  
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 69 11.43kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 69  
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 68 11.53kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL   C A 69  
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C A 69 11.21kgs
245/40 R20 95Y   E A 71 14.50kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3

2016-03-24 - Is it true that asymmetric 3 has a smaller rim protection than asymmetric 2?

Just as an update to this question, we have been in contact with Goodyear regarding the rim protection on the Asymmetric 3 and the answer should be with us shortly!

2016-03-24 - When can we expect a test with the pilot sport 4, sport contact 6 and the asymmetric 3?

You're unlikely to see the Sport Contact 6 in a test with the Pilot Sport 4 due to the sizes they're made in, the Continental rivals the Pilot Super Sport.
The best test so far this year is the GTU test, however that missed the Michelin.

2016-04-27 - Is it true the side wall height has increased on the 3 vs the 2?

As with all Goodyear tyres, the Asymmetric 3 is within ETRTO (European Tyre & Rim Technical Organisation) guidelines, which does allow for a small variation on side wall height. Whether the size increases or decreases can depend on the size.

2016-04-26 - Will the 3 be N rated for Porsche, Cayman GTS specifically, like the 2?

A reply from Goodyear - We continuously work with OEM partners to develop OE Marked versions of the Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3, the tyre is currently approved on the Jaguar XF (J Marked) and the Mercedes-Benz E-Class (MO Marked). The tire will only be N rated if we gain an approval on a Porsche platform.

2016-05-06 - is the goodyear F1 AS3 directional

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is an asymmetric tyre, not directional

2016-05-30 - What does 94y and 98y mean and what is the differance

The 94 and 98 are the load ratings for the Asymmetric 3 tyre. 94 means each tyre is rated to carry 670 kgs, and 98 750 kgs. As a rule of thumb, the high load rating tyre will create slightly more noise, have a slightly harder ride, but will offer a more sporty steering feel.

2016-09-03 - I have Swift Sport 1.6 and I would like to replace my tires with either Dunlop Sport Maxx RT2 or Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric. They are similar but I can't decide. Could you help me ?

Both the latest Dunlop and the Goodyear are extremely similar tyres, you'll be happy with either. We would always side with the Goodyear as we feel longer term the availability would be better.

2016-08-27 - I am about to purchase either Goodyear Efficientgrip Performance or this Asymmetric 3. I think the Efficientgrip is the older design yet has the better fuel efficiency and same wet braking distance. I am surprised by this. It is also cheaper by £10 from Blackcircles. Does the labeling stay consistent such that you can compare older tyer designs against new ones. Why would you buy the Asymmetric 3 over the Efficientgrip? I drive a 2010 Ford Focus 2.0l diesel and do about 22000 miles per year.

The label tests do stay constant. Wet braking is only one performance quality of a tyre, and while it's entirely possible the F1 Asymmetric 3 and EG Performance to have the same wet braking grade, the Asymmetric 3 will have a better balance of overall qualities when you account for wet handling, aquaplaning, dry braking, dry handling etc.

2016-09-16 - I have Lotus Elise s2 sport 135. Its never used on track just occassional road use. Following a blow out on a rear Bridgestone pirenza I am considering replacement tyres with the Goodyear eagle F1 Assyimetric 3. What is your opinion

Sadly we've not yet driven on the Asymmetric 3! One thing to watch out for is that replacing just the rear tyres with the Goodyears could give the car a curious rear-steering feel due to the difference in sidewall strengths between the hard Bridgestone tyres, and the softer Goodyears.

2016-10-16 - I've had the Goodyear asym 2's on my old bmw z4 which were a superb drive although did have to change them fairly often. Now I've got a Toyota gt86 and considering the Goodyear asym 3, Michelin pilot sport 4, or the kumho ku39's? Any advice between them?

The F1 A3 and MPS4 are very closely matched. We've not yet driven them back to back, but would say the F1 A3 would have the slight edge in comfort, and the MPS4 the edge in sporty handling.

2017-01-24 - Where are the Goodyear asy 3 tyres made ?

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is made in a variety of locations depending on the size and market.

2017-03-18 - Hello, tell me when choosing tires efficientgrip performance and asymmetric 3 for durability what will be better?

Unfortunately no one has done the test to compare wear data. The treadwear rating of each tyre should give you an indication of which will perform better.

2017-06-08 - I am about to renew the front tyres on my 2014 Ford Focus st. The car came with Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 tyres. Should I stick with those or go for the Asymmetric 3 tyres.

The Asymmetric 3 is the natural replacement for the Asymmetric 2 so it would make sense to upgrade to the new and improved model.

2018-01-04 - Are these run flat tyres?

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 has a runflat option in certain sizes.

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address


To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.

Size Price Range  
215/45 R17 £75.50 - £87.80 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £82.00 - £87.40 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £69.79 - £81.40 (17 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £108.20 - £174.70 (18 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R17 £81.70 - £97.30 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 64 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 Review

Given 63% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo C30 T5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 miles
I previously had the asymmetric 2's whilst my car runs about 280bhp and 450nm of torque and i hardly ever got any wheel spin with them. On the other hand with asymmetric 3's i get a lot more wheel spin so i would definitely not buy them again and I'd stick to tglhe previous ones..
490 - tyre reviewed on September 24, 2016   

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 Reviews

Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 99% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus ST250 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Had the Asymmetric 2s on my ST before this, and both are excellent tyres.
The new ones, are very close to the 2's however I did notice slightly better fuel economy with the 3s and less tyre spin when accelerating (to the speed limit, obviously)

0 - tyre reviewed on March 23, 2018   
Given 96% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Leon FR tdi (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 13,000 average miles
Great tyres. Changed from conti sport 5 to these and noticed comfort improvement imeadiatly. Rears have been on for 13000 miles and still have 6.5 mm. Fronts been on for 5000 miles and have 6.5mm. Great grip wet and dry.
9 - tyre reviewed on February 23, 2018   
Trying to pick the BEST tyre possible for your car? Watch this!
Given 97% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A6 Avant 2.7Tdi Quattro S Line (245/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
Quite possibly the best tyre you can put on your car for the day to day requirements. I replaced my Michelin PS3s with the Goodyear’s and the ride Quality is smooth and far less tyre noise. They have tremendous wet weather grip, coupled to the Quattro system and I won’t be going back to Michelin’s... I had previous experience of Asym 2 on my TTS and they transformed the car from the Avon’s. Highly recommended, just review the official tests to see how highly they score in proper testing environments.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 18, 2018   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 535d msport touring (245/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
I replaced Dunlop runflats with these Asymmetric 3 245/40 R18's and the difference in ride comfort, grip, both wet and dry, and feel was night and day. The only issue I encountered was it took approximately 1500 miles to bed in which for my mileage was a little under two weeks. During this period they were a little skittish and would have the traction control stepping in on occasion where previously it didn't. Once worn in however, they are simply brilliant, much like the Asymmetric 2's I had on my previous car. Economy was up enough to notice a difference, noise was far lower than the runflats and comfort massively increased. I'm a bit surprised the rears need replacing after 15000 miles but that is par for the course when you have 700NM going through the rear apparently (although the fronts still have 5mm left). Despite this for the performance, price and confidence they inspire I'll be replacing them with a new set soon.
4 - tyre reviewed on February 14, 2018   
Given 62% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Mondeo TDCI (235/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 14,000 average miles
Had lots of Asymmetric 2s in the past and found them to be a really strong all-rounder so presumed the new Asymmetric 3s would be good too. They certainly perform as well on the road but they just don't last, I'm 10k miles short of what I was getting out of the 2s and they are near the limit. My commute and driving style haven't changed so must be the new rubber....
28 - tyre reviewed on January 25, 2018   

See all 83 customer reviews of the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (newest first) >>