tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric


Show all: Goodyear tyres, Passenger Car Summer Max Performance tyres
The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 126 tyre reviews averaging 82% over 1,546,883 miles driven.

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3
This tyre has been replaced by the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2
 


Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric
Dry Grip
92%

Wet Grip
89%

Road Feedback
84%

Progressiveness
79%

Wear
71%

Comfort
81%

Buy again
80%


 
Size Price Range  
225/45 R17 £79.58 - £98.36 (4 prices)
225/40 R18 £123.43 - £123.43 (1 prices)
235/35 R19 £138.70 - £182.82 (3 prices)
Available in 45 tyre sizes - View all.

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric Reviews

Given 88% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A8 (255-45-19-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 8,000 easy going miles
After owning the (2012) Audi for about 8 months, I had been a little disappointed with the level of road noise on poor surfaces (particularly rough /worn asphalt at high speed on the motorway) being transmitted through to the cabin.

Needing to replace the original Pirelli P Zero front tyres due to wear at 19k miles, I chose the Goodyears specifically due to the low noise rating, although I was unsure whether low external noise would translate to reduced internal noise. They turned out to be a revelation - far quieter.

Recent 200 mile motorway journey London-B'ham, set at usual cruise setting, returned identical fuel figures to the Pirelli's, but noise reduced significantly making the journey far more relaxing. On porous asphalt the car is now silent (just a whisper of wind), on the worst bits of worn asphalt just a gentle rumble instead of a roar.

Since owning the car the fronts have had 4mm or less tread, so I don't know if the noise reduction is just new vs worn tyre, or really a function of the Goodyears, but I'm (almost) looking forward to replacing the rears when they wear further, although I suspect the impact will be reduced as I believe most of the noise transmission comes through the steering gear.

As noted above fuel consumption seems the same as the Pirelli's, and my driving style makes no demands on "performance" so cannot comment on these areas. Quattro drive always feels secure anyhow.

Too soon to tell how the tyres will wear, but 19k on the Pirelli's was poor I feel.
tyre reviewed on May 5, 2014   
Given 14% (breakdown) while driving a Dodge Challenger (225-45-20-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 19,000 average miles
If you value your life, stay away.

These tires are not only bad in wet weather but even in dry. In addition, they wear down in about 20,000 miles of highway driving.

These are the worst tires I have ever owned.

If I could give a negative set of starts I would!
tyre reviewed on February 26, 2014   
Looking to buy the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric? Click here to search for the best price for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric or any other tyre.
 
Given 97% (breakdown) while driving a Fiat Bravo (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 23,500 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on February 14, 2014   
Given 73% (breakdown) while driving a BMW M3 (265-35-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
Got these for £150 each which for a premium tyre is very good. Much better than the Pirellis I had before. The only problem is that they are quite loud and make a thud on potholes. However for the price the wear is good the feedback is great, if only they were a bit quieter, but if that doesn't bother you then get these. Will update when they need replacing but all signs are good so far.
tyre reviewed on February 14, 2014   
Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 320 d (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on January 21, 2014   
Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a Alfa Romeo GT 1.9 JTD (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9,000 spirited miles
excellent tyre in both dry and wet conditions. Gives real confidence in rain but be careful in snow as it does not deal with these conditions so well. Noisy in the beginning first 4k but then hardly noticed. Gives good road feedback




tyre reviewed on November 25, 2013   
Given 96% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz SLK 350 (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 500 average miles
I put these onto my 350SLK, after driving it for 10 months on the tyres it came with when I bought it second hand. Wow what a difference they made. They are really grippy, the back wheels no longer wheel spin if you pull off quickly, I no longer have to ease the accelerator in when wanting to overtake (it would spin and skid with the old tyres) and they grip around corners, are quieter and feel really positive when you're driving. Can't comment on wear yet as I've only done a few hundred miles on them, but would certainly buy again
tyre reviewed on November 8, 2013   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Civic Type R (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
These are great tyres. The added grip has made the car much more fun and the road feedback you receive means you can push it into a corner knowing what grip you have left. Standing starts on these don't lose time and grip spinning the wheels, they just hook up.
tyre reviewed on October 9, 2013   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Alfa Romeo MiTo (215-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 14,000 average miles
One of the best tyres that you can put on in a hot hatch. In the wet they are just perfect. It's like driving on dry surface, even when its pouring with rain.
tyre reviewed on June 6, 2013   
Given 47% (breakdown) while driving a Audi Q7 (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Purchsed the tires last spring and now have to replace them after only 15000 km. due to wear. I would not recommend the tires.
tyre reviewed on May 22, 2013   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: