Ford Fiesta ST180 Tyres

Drive a Ford Fiesta ST180? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Ford Fiesta ST180
Vredestein Quatrac Pro (6) 95% 92% 92% 75% 90% 93% 95% 88% 2,400
Nexen WinGuard Sport 2 (11) 87% 82% 75% 84% 93% 90% 94% 86% 56,750
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (48) 88% 84% 85% 83% 82% 83% 78% 83% 205,744
Avon ZZ5 (82) 89% 83% 83% 85% 70% 82% 78% 81% 530,567
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (250) 84% 93% 79% 79% 64% 83% 77% 80% 1,784,205
Davanti DX640 (52) 79% 71% 76% 75% 66% 80% 70% 74% 426,046
Continental Sport Contact 5 (179) 87% 83% 79% 76% 51% 74% 56% 72% 1,923,448
Rovelo RPX 998 (21) 80% 66% 72% 65% 63% 77% 72% 71% 77,055
Pirelli PZero Nero (129) 83% 66% 71% 71% 68% 64% 60% 69% 2,197,506

Ford Fiesta ST180 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Vredestein Quatrac Pro given 91% (215-40-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
I may be in the under powered segment of what the manufacturers were aiming for. But I wanted a good all round tyre on my 220bhp fiesta st. And I can say I’m more than pleased, almost as good wet performance as the rainsport 3’s I had on(which says a lot) and definitely better dry grip. Will wait to see about snow/ice however I already have confidence in the ability!
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-05 20:13:50
Writing about the Avon ZZ5 given 83% (205-40-17-R)
Driving on mostly town for 500 spirited miles
I Have a Fiesta ST180 and have done 500 miles at moment these are a lot better than the Potenza fitted £69 each at National Tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-04 18:09:13
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 given 83% (205-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5500 spirited miles
I bought these tyres instead of Asy 3's or PS3's (PS4's wasn't available at the time of purchase), because they was slightly cheaper at the time of purchase and I was curious to see how they performed. In the Fiesta ST180 world, the majority of people tend to go for PS3's or Rainsports as a cheaper alternative however I didn't see the point in getting rainsports when they apparently don't last very long. Back to the Sport Maxx RT2. I am quite an aggressive driver in terms of late braking when safe to do so, typical spirited drive around country side etc. I am very impressed with how they handle. After a couple of thousand miles of typical commuting and the odd country drive, I went for a driving day with some friends around the lake district. The weather was typical beginning of summer / end of spring, and was a mixture of greasy roads and sunshine throughout the day. I gave the car some beans through the country roads expecting oversteer or a bit of a wobble, however the RT2's just kept me planted. Especially when they are warm they are superb handling in the dry and are very impressive in the wet. They give you a lot of confidence going into a corner and again with the braking and sort of let you know when your pushing a bit too much in the wet and give you a chance to sort yourself out. The wear rate so far is absolutely fine, I have had a unknown tracking issue which has lead one tyre to wear a lot faster however overall they have taken a beating and have plenty of life left. I'm hoping to take them on track soon. A potential downside for some but equally a good thing for daily driving is the side walls. They seem a little soft in comparison to say the PS3's and have a similar contrast to the Ays 3's in that respect. The road noise is minimal and as expected when you go over a poorly tarmac road and are very comfortable. I would most certainly buy these tyres again, however I am tempted to try PS4's further down the line to see if they are as good as people make out. But for a lesser popular tyre, I would most definitely recommend the Sport Maxx RT2. Well done Dunlop.
tyre reviewed on 2018-07-31 11:46:06
Writing about the Davanti DX640 given 73% (205-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
Ok well, this is just an initial review but so far guys, not bad not bad at all!!! i mean right now I'm strapped for csh and really didn't want to have to do this , my fiesta ST is a performance machine, handles so well and is quick little car, it really puts the hurt on those from tyres with its snappy turbo charged motor, it came on bridgestone protenza which i thought were decent actually, I'm PLEASED to report that the dx640 hasn't ruined the car, they are grippy , very comfortable and quiet, they seem be lacking in dry grip in comparison , wet grip seems to have improved, feedback is about the same, the rear end of the car has always been mobile and these tyres seem about the same as the bridge stones, with 4 tyres i got a lifetime warranty for punctures and damage to them which is insane!!! This hasn't turned out to be one of my worst decisions and I'm hoping they will get better as they are, I'm currently on less than 100 miles, but as with everything you get what you pay for so I'm looking forward to seeing where the compromises are!!
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-11 12:03:00
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 given 70% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6500 average miles
Bought these tyres 6 months ago. The grip they give the car is extremely good in both dry and wet, you can have confidence going into a corner. However, however however, I have had these on the car for 6 months and only covered 6,500 miles and my front tyres are on the limit, barely legal and needing replaced. The rear still have a couple of months left in them. I simply don't know how anyone can afford to run these permanently. I will also say that I don't drive the car too heavy footed as well. Simply won't buy these again mainly down to the wear.
tyre reviewed on 2017-06-06 13:17:25
Writing about the Nexen WinGuard Sport 2 given 68% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 spirited miles
Tires are a bit noisy and the handling got a bit vague. Good anti aquaplaning (160kmh+ in heavy rain) and an overall safe feeling
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-11 16:55:50
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given 63% (205-40-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 22000 average miles
Very soft sidewall, not precise steering, good in dry and with normal driving good in wet. Average wear.
tyre reviewed on 2018-09-15 20:52:54
Writing about the Pirelli PZero Nero given 38% (205-40-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 310 spirited miles
Switched over from the OEM Bridgestone RE050A's and these tyres are kinda crap (from an everyday/comfort standpoint)

My experience:
- Noticeable increase in road noise, across all surfaces, over the Bridgestones (had to increase the volume from 3 to 5 just to be able to hear the radio again. Conversations are more difficult)
- Steering feels more vague in the dry so I don't feel confident pushing these in the wet

Haven't tried these on the track to compare, dont really want to based on the lack of steering feel.
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-11 01:19:46
Writing about the Rovelo RPX 998 given 33% (205-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 miles
Got these on my 2nd hand Fiesta St on the back two tyres. Have two middle of the road on the front and i feel when going round roundabouts at even slowish speeds i can feel these start to slide out at the back. The front hold fine even with the power going through them. In the dry if you drive hard you can get it out reletivly easily but in the wet they are nearly useless. Would never consider them again. Well worth paying a bit extra for the extra saftey you get from a better tyre. I never thought tyres made as big a difference until i tried these paired with a good set. Night and day.
tyre reviewed on 2017-06-20 18:22:38
Writing about the Avon ZZ5 given 0% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
i bought these to replace the stock bridgestone potenzas they peforme great in the dry and wet would highly reccomend these as a alternative and save a lot of money most of the time your just paying for a name .
tyre reviewed on 2018-09-14 23:49:17
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre