Continental WinterContact TS 860

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 94%
Road Feedback 87%
Handling 88%
Wear 83%
Comfort 90%
Buy again 90%
Snow Grip 83%
Ice Grip 69%

The Continental WinterContact TS 860 is a Premium Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Continental WinterContact TS 850

Show All

Tyre review data from 27 tyre reviews averaging 86% over 203,671 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2019 Winter Tyre Test Market Overview - 5th of 47 tyres

2019 ADAC 185/65 R15 Winter Tyre Test - 4th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent results on wet roads, Good results on dry roads and snow
  • Negative - Relatively weak grip on ice
  • Overall - Excellent

2019 Auto Center Winter Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - High aquaplaning resistance, very well balanced tyre, excellent snow braking.
  • Negative - None mentioned.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
155/70 R13 75T   E B 71 5.31kgs
165/70 R13 79T   E B 71 5.77kgs
155/80 R13 79T   E B 71 5.70kgs
185/55 R14 80T   E B 71 6.81kgs
165/60 R14 79T XL   E B 71 5.97kgs
185/60 R14 82T   C B 71 6.47kgs
155/65 R14 75T   E B 71 5.59kgs
165/65 R14 79T   E B 71 6.01kgs
175/65 R14 82T   E B 71 6.44kgs
175/65 R14 86T XL   E B 71 6.43kgs
185/65 R14 86T   E B 71 7.10kgs
165/70 R14 81T   C B 71 6.17kgs
175/70 R14 84T   E B 71 6.64kgs
175/70 R14 88T XL   C B 71 6.65kgs
185/70 R14 88T   C B 71 7.30kgs
175/80 R14 88T   C B 71 7.52kgs
195/50 R15 82H   E B 72 6.80kgs
195/50 R15 82T   E B 72 6.80kgs
185/55 R15 86H XL   E B 71 6.94kgs
185/55 R15 82T   E B 71 6.94kgs
185/55 R15 82H   E B 71 6.94kgs
195/55 R15 85H   E B 72 7.48kgs
165/60 R15 77T   E B 71 6.34kgs
175/60 R15 81T   E B 71 6.66kgs
185/60 R15 84T   E B 71 7.43kgs
185/60 R15 88T XL   C B 71 7.43kgs
195/60 R15 88T   E B 72 7.52kgs
195/60 R15 88H   E B 72 7.52kgs
205/60 R15 91T   C B 72 8.04kgs
205/60 R15 91H   C B 72 8.04kgs
155/65 R15 77T   E B 71 5.72kgs
165/65 R15 81T   E B 71 6.16kgs
185/65 R15 92T XL   C B 71 7.59kgs
185/65 R15 88T   C B 71 7.27kgs
195/65 R15 95T XL   C B 72 7.70kgs
195/65 R15 91H   C B 72 7.68kgs
195/65 R15 91T   C B 72 7.53kgs
205/65 R15 94H   C B 72 8.61kgs
205/65 R15 94T   C B 72 8.61kgs
215/65 R15 96H   C B 72 9.43kgs
195/45 R16 84H XL   C B 72 7.08kgs
195/45 R16 80T   E B 72 7.08kgs
205/45 R16 87H XL   C B 72 7.53kgs
215/45 R16 90V XL   C B 72 7.73kgs
185/50 R16 81H   E B 71 6.60kgs
205/50 R16 87H   E B 72 8.45kgs
185/55 R16 87T XL   C B 71 7.18kgs
195/55 R16 91H XL   C B 72 7.56kgs
195/55 R16 87H   E B 72 7.57kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL   C B 72 8.58kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C B 72 8.69kgs
205/55 R16 91T   C B 72 8.24kgs
215/55 R16 93H   C B 72 8.93kgs
215/55 R16 97V XL   C B 72 8.66kgs
215/55 R16 97H XL   C B 72 8.66kgs
185/60 R16 86H   C B 71 7.30kgs
195/60 R16 89H   C B 72 8.08kgs
205/60 R16 92T   C B 72 8.81kgs
195/65 R16 92H   C B 72 8.66kgs
205/65 R16 95H   C B 72 8.78kgs
195/45 R17 81H   E B 72 7.50kgs
225/45 R17 94H XL   C B 72 9.36kgs
225/45 R17 91H   E B 72 9.36kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   C B 72 9.36kgs
225/50 R17 98H XL   E B 72 9.85kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   E B 72 9.85kgs
205/65 R17 96V   C B 72 10.20kgs

Questions and Answers for the Continental WinterContact TS 860

2016-10-30 - is this an RFT (Run Flat Tire) ?

There are currently no runflat sizes of the TS860, however there are 5 planned runflat sizes due for introduction in winter 2017.


2017-10-10 - How noisy are the tyres?

The Continental WinterContact TS 860 was recently tested by Auto Bild and found to have mid-pack noise characteristics, but still quieter than the summer tyre on test.


2018-09-15 - Hello, I have watched your videos regarding Winter tyres recommendation and also the latest one talking about All Season tyres. I own a Mercedes E 350 CDI fitting 245/45/17 in winter. I was looking forward to try the Conti TS860 or TS860S but they donít make them on this size. My other alternatives are the Dunlop WinterSport 5 or the Goodyear Ultragrip Performance Gen 1. As I only use them from October to March, am I chosing a good tyre ? I wanted to try the Contis but they are not available. Where I live it rains a lot during the winter and we eventually have snow. Thanks in advance!

Both the Goodyear and Dunlop are good alternatives, as is new Michelin winter tyre. Expect a full winter tyre video in the near future!


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
185/65 R15 £50.99 - £70.31 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £47.70 - £66.23 (22 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £64.80 - £103.72 (38 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £90.99 - £108.65 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 44 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Continental WinterContact TS 860 Review

Given 100% while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TDi 170 S Line (215/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
went on this tire after Michelin PA3 and I was amazed at how this tire is better in all aspects then my previous Michelin PA3 tires!
210 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2016   

Latest Continental WinterContact TS 860 Reviews

Have you driven on the Continental WinterContact TS 860 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the WinterContact TS 860.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 91% while driving a Mercedes Benz 250D (1991) (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 18,000 average miles
WHAT A TYRE!! I couldn't think of better winter tyre atm... Had Bridgestone Blizzak LM001 before that were good for aprox. 3000 miles, and after that they basically became hard plastic (all in same winter that I bought them and installed them on car)... Got TS860 because my friend recommended them for winter 2017/2018... As I have really really really really steep hill to my house, where even 4x4 car with moderate tyres struggle on even a little wet road, just imagine what my 30 years old Mercedes with rwd and without traction control feels like... On that hill I am not only able to go without any wheelspin on wet road (which i found impossible with any tyre before) but I can come to full stop at any point and start driving again like it is totally dry road, just mindblowing... Sometimes I feel that they even have better grip on wet road than ecocontact6 have on dry road in summer... I only had 1 chance to drive on snow and ice, as it doesn't snow in my area, and they performed fantastic... This set is at end of their life after cca 25-30k km (15-18k miles), maybe half mm until "minimum depth" mark, so I am going to buy new set in few days...

Until Continental launches new tyre to replace TS860 I won't think of trying other winter tyre... I can't even think how can winter tyre be improved over this
0 - tyre reviewed on January 5, 2020   
Given 82% while driving a CitroŽn C4 (195/65 R15 H) on mostly country roads for 14 spirited miles
Not much snow in my area and not many steep hills or bad off camber bends, but many roads will not be salted or ploughed. Always lots of rain and a fair bit of frost and ice.

Great on cold wet roads below 10 C, especially deep puddles. I was willing to trade some snow and ice performance for these characteristics.

Very good on dry roads, chippings, frost and snow.

Good on sheet ice, if they did slip they tended to catch again within an inch or 2. I found it best to drive with my foot off the throttle and use gears to set my speed.

Comfort is very good, although the tyres do thrum a bit and the sidewalls are a bit flexible, tyre flex is especially noticeable with a loaded car and my car is light.

Tyres are on their third and probably last season as I always bin tyres way ahead of the legal limit, which will be about 20000 miles, which for me is about 1/3 less than most tyres.
Unless something way better is introduced I will most probably get these again, but I might change to 16 inch rims and/or XL rated versions.

HTH




0 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2019   
This is the ultimate tyre test! Watch now!
Given 83% while driving a Opel Vectra C 2.0T (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
Substituted some old Pirelli Snow Sport 210, which were nice for the snow but not good tyres overall. The change was very noticeable. These tyres perform well enaough in the dry. Only when braking very hard the high treadpattern limits the grip. I guess they would improve on this as they wear.
Feedback is just fair in the dry too. Comfort is average. On the bright side, they are quiet and rolling resistance seems to be moderate.
In the wet the tyre is very good. As good as any summer tyree as far as I could test it. Very ressitant to aquaplaning and grippy on every surface.
Snow performance is better than any other tyre I have tried. Grip is good enough to drive normally, just being moderate. Traction is good even on a loaded FWD car going up steep slopes. I never got stuck or had significant wheelspin, and I had the chance to drive several times on hard conditions. Just Great.
Wear has been low for 11.000Km
Overall the tyre is very good, I would go for them again anytime. It's a pity ther is no size of this for my new car.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 14, 2019   
Toyota (205/55 R16 H) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
The TS860 is a really good tire, I have them on my car, which doesn't have traction control or anything to moderate slip, I also had worn discs and pads and not once did I feel insecure this winter.
Dry conditions: They grip well, but they're not for hotter days as they feel too soft on a hot road but they're a winter tire after all.
Wet conditions: I felt confident in these which were a big step up from my previous tires but they did make a lot of noise, a bit too much for my taste, which was unsettling as the noise it made sounded like I was losing grip but I wasn't.
Snow & ice : They were wonderful, grip was good but the highlight is the braking, I had a few emergency stops and they did not slide at all.
Comfort: I live in Belgium in a rural area and the roads are in catastrophic state and on those roads they're not the most comfortable tire and they make a bit of noise which I don't mind as it's a way to communicate to the driver. However on a smooth or slightly cracked road they do well.

I would definately buy them again and recommend them to a friend. They fit a normal driving style on a regular car, they're okay with taking corners quickly and don't produce early understeer.
4 - tyre reviewed on April 9, 2019   

See all 22 customer reviews of the Continental WinterContact TS 860 (newest first) >>