Continental WinterContact TS 860

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 95%
Road Feedback 87%
Handling 88%
Wear 82%
Comfort 89%
Buy again 89%
Snow Grip 85%
Ice Grip 69%

The Continental WinterContact TS 860 is a Premium Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Continental WinterContact TS 850

This tyre has been replaced by the Continental WinterContact TS 870

Show All

Tyre review data from 32 tyre reviews averaging 86% over 252,671 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2019 ADAC 185/65 R15 Winter Tyre Test - 4th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent results on wet roads, Good results on dry roads and snow
  • Negative - Relatively weak grip on ice
  • Overall - Excellent

2019 Auto Center Winter Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - High aquaplaning resistance, very well balanced tyre, excellent snow braking.
  • Negative - None mentioned.

2019 Auto Express Winter Tyre Test - 2nd of 12 tyres

  • Positive - Best in dry handling, excellent in the wet, best wet braking, good in snow, low fuel use.
  • Negative - Average dry braking.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
155/70 R13 75T   E B 71 5.31kgs
165/70 R13 79T   E B 71 5.77kgs
155/80 R13 79T   E B 71 5.70kgs
185/55 R14 80T   E B 71 6.81kgs
165/60 R14 79T XL   E B 71 5.97kgs
185/60 R14 82T   C B 71 6.47kgs
155/65 R14 75T   E B 71 5.59kgs
165/65 R14 79T   E B 71 6.01kgs
175/65 R14 82T   E B 71 6.44kgs
175/65 R14 86T XL   E B 71 6.43kgs
185/65 R14 86T   E B 71 7.10kgs
165/70 R14 81T   C B 71 6.17kgs
175/70 R14 84T   E B 71 6.64kgs
175/70 R14 88T XL   C B 71 6.65kgs
185/70 R14 88T   C B 71 7.30kgs
175/80 R14 88T   C B 71 7.52kgs
195/50 R15 82H   E B 72 6.80kgs
195/50 R15 82T   E B 72 6.80kgs
185/55 R15 86H XL   E B 71 6.94kgs
185/55 R15 82T   E B 71 6.94kgs
185/55 R15 82H   E B 71 6.94kgs
195/55 R15 85H   E B 72 7.48kgs
165/60 R15 77T   E B 71 6.34kgs
175/60 R15 81T   E B 71 6.66kgs
185/60 R15 84T   E B 71 7.43kgs
185/60 R15 88T XL   C B 71 7.43kgs
195/60 R15 88T   E B 72 7.52kgs
195/60 R15 88H   E B 72 7.52kgs
205/60 R15 91T   C B 72 8.04kgs
205/60 R15 91H   C B 72 8.04kgs
155/65 R15 77T   E B 71 5.72kgs
165/65 R15 81T   E B 71 6.16kgs
185/65 R15 92T XL   C B 71 7.59kgs
185/65 R15 88T   C B 71 7.27kgs
195/65 R15 95T XL   C B 72 7.70kgs
195/65 R15 91H   C B 72 7.68kgs
195/65 R15 91T   C B 72 7.53kgs
205/65 R15 94H   C B 72 8.61kgs
205/65 R15 94T   C B 72 8.61kgs
215/65 R15 96H   C B 72 9.43kgs
195/45 R16 84H XL   C B 72 7.08kgs
195/45 R16 80T   E B 72 7.08kgs
205/45 R16 87H XL   C B 72 7.53kgs
215/45 R16 90V XL   C B 72 7.73kgs
185/50 R16 81H   E B 71 6.60kgs
205/50 R16 87H   E B 72 8.45kgs
185/55 R16 87T XL   C B 71 7.18kgs
195/55 R16 91H XL   C B 72 7.56kgs
195/55 R16 87H   E B 72 7.57kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL   C B 72 8.58kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C B 72 8.69kgs
205/55 R16 91T   C B 72 8.24kgs
215/55 R16 93H   C B 72 8.93kgs
215/55 R16 97V XL   C B 72 8.66kgs
215/55 R16 97H XL   C B 72 8.66kgs
185/60 R16 86H   C B 71 7.30kgs
195/60 R16 89H   C B 72 8.08kgs
205/60 R16 92T   C B 72 8.81kgs
195/65 R16 92H   C B 72 8.66kgs
205/65 R16 95H   C B 72 8.78kgs
195/45 R17 81H   E B 72 7.50kgs
225/45 R17 94H XL   C B 72 9.36kgs
225/45 R17 91H   E B 72 9.36kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   C B 72 9.36kgs
225/50 R17 98H XL   E B 72 9.85kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   E B 72 9.85kgs
205/65 R17 96V   C B 72 10.20kgs

Questions and Answers for the Continental WinterContact TS 860

2016-10-30 - is this an RFT (Run Flat Tire) ?

There are currently no runflat sizes of the TS860, however there are 5 planned runflat sizes due for introduction in winter 2017.


2017-10-10 - How noisy are the tyres?

The Continental WinterContact TS 860 was recently tested by Auto Bild and found to have mid-pack noise characteristics, but still quieter than the summer tyre on test.


2018-09-15 - Hello, I have watched your videos regarding Winter tyres recommendation and also the latest one talking about All Season tyres. I own a Mercedes E 350 CDI fitting 245/45/17 in winter. I was looking forward to try the Conti TS860 or TS860S but they dont make them on this size. My other alternatives are the Dunlop WinterSport 5 or the Goodyear Ultragrip Performance Gen 1. As I only use them from October to March, am I chosing a good tyre ? I wanted to try the Contis but they are not available. Where I live it rains a lot during the winter and we eventually have snow. Thanks in advance!

Both the Goodyear and Dunlop are good alternatives, as is new Michelin winter tyre. Expect a full winter tyre video in the near future!


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
185/65 R15 £55.10 - £68.69 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £52.20 - £107.29 (19 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £71.50 - £114.10 (38 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £98.10 - £116.39 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 47 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Continental WinterContact TS 860 Review

Given 100% while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TDi 170 S Line (215/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
went on this tire after Michelin PA3 and I was amazed at how this tire is better in all aspects then my previous Michelin PA3 tires!
210 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2016   

Latest Continental WinterContact TS 860 Reviews

Have you driven on the Continental WinterContact TS 860 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Continental WinterContact TS 860? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Continental WinterContact TS 860 >>

Given 71% while driving a Audi A6 2.0 TDI (205/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
My first winter tire and I'd say I have mixed feelings about them. The pros are they give nice feedback in spite of winter tires making steering feel lackadaisical but it was still tolerable, very nice dry grip even during spring which makes it feel almost like a summer tire, moderate rolling resistance and they are super comfortable. You can kind of drive them sporty and spirited but the understeer gets present at certain corners and tire squeal might occur at even lower speeds but it is rare. Braking is progressive and excellent. Ice grip definitely a joke and snow grip is above average as they seem to be made for western European climate and not Baltic States climate but this can be solved with lower pressure. These tires love low pressures so keep them around 29-35 PSI. Above 15C temperature outside they feel lackluster but below that they function just fine so a very good tire if you consider dry grip, glue-like wet grip, some snow grip if you live where weather can be bipolar and often damp without changing tires until for summer as it appears these tires seem to last long tread life wise as I still have 5.7mm left. By admission I'd like to point out that yes, Continentals have a tendency to tramline as the notorious rumours suggest. I'd like to highlight comfort as these have very soft sidewalls as well as they roll quietly and give the car the characteristics of dampers being on par with air dampers(may help to soften up stiff cars as well for some gain in comfort) however for my style of driving these do not suit me so avoid these if you want a winter tire that offers fun so consider Blizzaks or Winter Maxx as WinterContacts of this model do not suit my driving style although I may be incorrect and should try the S versions of that tire which might satisfy my enthusiast needs but I fear the softness is the mantra of Continental.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 20, 2020   
Given 89% while driving a BMW 318D (195/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
Bought a set of 4 continentals for my first car. Unfortunately as a student I didn't have much to go for and had to drive these all year round for 2 years. But, as a winter tire it was very good, I recommend these to anyone I can. In the winter these performed so well in the snow, it can dig you out of even the worst situations. Cant say much about ice. Dry performance during spring conditions can be comparable to premium summer tires. In short, you just cant go wrong with these.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 14, 2020   
Want the best 18" Sports tyre? Watch this!
Given 84% while driving a BMW E90 (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
A safe and comfortable tire. Best on wet and unbelievably quiet! slightly worse in a bend at higher temperatures. I highly recommend!
0 - tyre reviewed on June 8, 2020   
Given 91% while driving a Toyota Auris (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
Those are really premium tires. I had GoodYear before.. i mean they weren't bad or anything but with Continental the whole driving in rain and snow felt more safe! Would recommend!
0 - tyre reviewed on April 8, 2020   
BMW (225/50 R17 V) on mostly town for 4,000 average miles
Excellent
0 - tyre reviewed on March 11, 2020   

See all 27 customer reviews of the Continental WinterContact TS 860 (newest first) >>