Nokian WR D4

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 84%
Road Feedback 80%
Handling 79%
Wear 66%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 73%
Snow Grip 93%
Ice Grip 79%

The Nokian WR D4 is a Premium Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Nokian WR D3

This tyre has been replaced by the Nokian WR Snowproof

Show All

Tyre review data from 57 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 438,243 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2019 ADAC 185/65 R15 Winter Tyre Test - 9th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent in snow and ice, low fuel consumption
  • Negative - Relatively poor dry grip, high wear
  • Overall - Good

2018 ADAC Winter Tyre Test - 175/65 R14 - 4th of 12 tyres

  • Positive - Good in the wet and on ice
  • Negative - Relatively weak in the snow

2018 ADAC Winter Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 - 10th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Top marks in the snow and low fuel consumption
  • Negative - Relatively weak in the wet, high wear
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
155/70 R13 75T   E B 68  
175/70 R13 82T   E B 68  
155/80 R13 79T   E B 68  
165/70 R14 81T   E B 68  
195/50 R15 82H   C B 69  
185/55 R15 86H   C B 68  
165/60 R15 77T   C B 68  
185/60 R15 88T   C A 68  
185/60 R15 84T   C A 68  
185/60 R15 88T   C B 68  
185/60 R15 84T   C B 68  
195/60 R15 92H   B B 69  
175/65 R15 84T   C B 68  
185/65 R15 92T   C A 68  
195/65 R15 95H   B B 69  
195/65 R15 91H   C B 69  
205/65 R15 99H   C B 69  
215/45 R16 90H   C B 69  
195/50 R16 88H   C B 69  
195/55 R16 91H   C B 69  
195/55 R16 87H   E B 69  
205/55 R16 91H   C B 69  
205/55 R16 91T   C B 69  
205/55 R16 91H   E B 69  
205/55 R16 91T   C A 69  
215/55 R16 97H   C B 69  
195/60 R16 89H   C B 69  
205/60 R16 92H   E A 69  
205/60 R16 92H   C A 69  
205/60 R16 96H   B A 69  
205/60 R16 96H   C B 69  
205/60 R16 92H   C B 69  
215/60 R16 99H   C B 69  
205/65 R16 95H   C B 69  
215/65 R16 102H   B A 69  
225/45 R17 94V   C A 69  
225/45 R17 94V   C B 69  
205/50 R17 93V   C A 69  
205/50 R17 93H   C A 69  
225/50 R17 98H   C A 69  
225/50 R17 98V   C A 69  
215/55 R17 98H   C B 69  
225/55 R17 97H   E B 69  
225/55 R17 97H   C B 69  
215/60 R17 96H   C A 69  
225/40 R18 92V   C B 69  
225/45 R18 95V   C A 69  
245/45 R18 100V   C B 69  
225/50 R18 95H   E B 69  
225/50 R18 99H   C B 69  
195/55 R20 95H   B B 69  

Questions and Answers for the Nokian WR D4

2018-04-30 - I have 2017 My WR D4 (195/55/16) winter tires on my Honda CR Z sports model. Can I keep on using them for the summer season at the average temperature of btw 25-35 Celcius? What is the max temperature?

There is no maximum temperature for the WR D4, they are heat tested like all other tyres. That said, the compound will be much less effective at warmer temperatures, especially in the wet so it is not advised to use them in the summer months.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £46.10 - £72.89 (34 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £63.20 - £94.95 (32 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £89.50 - £115.99 (31 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £107.00 - £142.60 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/55 R17 £91.40 - £116.49 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 43 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Nokian WR D4 Review

Given 66% while driving a SEAT Leon (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 easy going miles
As for grip, fantastic tyres, I am however disappointed with the wear. I use winter tyres all year round and I have found these tyres are starting to break down around the edges of the tread. The sipes are delaminating and falling off in chunks around the edges of my front wheels.
They are fuel efficient and quiet, but the wear is terrible. Wouldn't buy them again Because of wear.
206 - tyre reviewed on August 6, 2016   

Latest Nokian WR D4 Reviews

Have you driven on the Nokian WR D4 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Nokian WR D4? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Nokian WR D4 >>

Given 53% while driving a (215/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Very bad on wet roads. Not buying again
0 - tyre reviewed on February 6, 2020   
Given 76% while driving a SEAT LEON 1.8TSI (225/40 R18) on mostly town for 3,000 spirited miles
Used for 2 months. First I can say that these tires are really quiet. Snow handling is great, I was driving in a snow storm on a highway and felt very safe. Haven’t tested too much icy roads yet, but seems to be okay by the first impression.
Sometimes tends to be searching for a path on a straight road, need to adjust with the steering wheel. But not too bad, considering the 225 width.
Dry grip is average, wet grip is bit loose, powerful FWD car cannot put the torque onto the tarmac, gets wheel spin little too easy. Although aquaplaning is great, deep thread works well.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2019   
Want the best 18" Sports tyre? Watch this!
Given 87% while driving a SEAT Ibiza FR SC 1.2 TSI (215/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
See my winter review: https://youtu.be/5xcEHoJ_Sd0

Although there are possibly better winter tyres suited to the British climate, I really wanted to try out the Nokian WR D4 in snow, so was hopeful for a cold winter.

I've had the tyres on from November to March and I've used them in a range of temperatures from sub zero to the mild winter days we've had this time round

My initial reactions when I first had them fitted and it was mild, was that I felt the car frequently understeer on country road corners - obvious, I guess, as there's less rubber on the road. I'm not a particularly fast driver, but I did have to change my driving style slightly whilst cornering.

When the temperature dropped though these tyres felt amazing. Especially 4°c and below the soft compound really gripped the road. I noticed on frosty and icy mornings that the grip level was superior to my summer tyres.

Then it snowed. Wow! I almost felt like I was driving in my summer tyres on a bone dry road. The Nokians gripped the road to get my up steep hills without a problem, the breaking response was amazing as the car easily slowed or stopped and just general driving in the snow felt normal.

These tyres gave me so much confidence in the snow and, having a young child, I felt safe.

They're definitely going back on next winter.
6 - tyre reviewed on March 18, 2019   
Given 96% while driving a Opel Corsa C (175/65 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 1,800 average miles
I drove Nokian WR D4 on 14inch wheels for more than 2500 km (all season) and i am very satisfy from the tires, about their feedback on dry and snowy roads, especially on snow when i had no problems with grip or the most important braking. after 2500 km i still got 7 - 7.5 mm of thread on my tires, i higly recomend WR D4 especially because of the price/performance ratio, and their silent wall technology which makes them very quit tyre even on 120km/h speed on high way....
11 - tyre reviewed on March 8, 2019   
Given 87% while driving a Citron C5 (225/55 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
If you use that tyre with correct pressure, you can not complain about any other items and no need to look for any other tyres for winter. I had lost first 4mm after 9000 km by 32 psi. Then i increased the pressure to 35 psi and lost other 3 mm after 14.000 km. For wet, dry and snow i cannot offer any other tyre since i had almost used 12 different tyres in winters and covered more than 200k km. for ice, performance is a little bit behind of UG and Alpin.
14 - tyre reviewed on February 8, 2019   

See all 53 customer reviews of the Nokian WR D4 (newest first) >>