Renault Clio 1.4 16v Tyres

Drive a Renault Clio 1.4 16v? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Renault Clio 1.4 16v
Dunlop Winter Response 2 (9) 84% 89% 91% 80% 85% 92% 97% 88% 69,000
Vredestein Hi Trac (10) 90% 91% 83% 75% 83% 80% 93% 85% 315,500
BFGoodrich gGrip (41) 90% 80% 80% 81% 86% 85% 89% 84% 479,042
Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2 (6) 90% 73% 77% 83% 77% 80% 77% 80% 256,000
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (161) 83% 76% 77% 76% 72% 75% 78% 77% 2,601,523
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (149) 87% 85% 80% 75% 60% 83% 66% 77% 1,353,496
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (117) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71% 76% 75% 1,453,372
Continental Premium Contact 5 (105) 87% 83% 76% 77% 58% 80% 65% 75% 1,120,638
BCT S602 (2) 90% 70% 85% 50% 100% 70% 55% 74% 42,600
Nexen CP661 (10) 77% 71% 69% 72% 80% 76% 71% 74% 151,433
Toyo T1R (277) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,609,683
Continental Premium Contact 2 (183) 84% 77% 75% 72% 62% 73% 62% 72% 4,209,189
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (126) 70% 48% 57% 54% 69% 48% 43% 55% 1,244,457
Roadstone CP661 Classe Premiere (9) 59% 44% 54% 51% 66% 53% 53% 54% 63,060

Renault Clio 1.4 16v Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Dunlop Sport BluResponse given 100% (185-55-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6500 average miles
Only on the rear at present, purchased and fitted as soon as they became available. Replaced the dreadful Federal SS-595 that were on my car when I bought it and caused a sudden loss of traction on a roundabout in the wet still with 3mm of tread left. Very impressed with the BluResponse so far, hardly any wear with 6,500 miles on them although this is on the rear.

Can't really assess feedback or progressiveness as yet, but when my current Coninental Premium Contact2's on the front wear out I will be replacing them with Sport BluResponse and I will then re-review.
tyre reviewed on 2014-02-28 15:01:29
Writing about the Dunlop Winter Response 2 given 98% (185-55-15-T)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3500 easy going miles
I bought two of these in October 2015 for my Clio. In the dry below 7 degrees these tyres are grippy but also allow good progress for when you want to get moving :) In addition to this, dry braking is not an issue as I have done a few emergency stops in the dry and wet and have had enough room spare when I came to a halt. There is a bit of roll in the corners above 50mph but if driven sensibly you wouldn`t notice it.

In the wet, these tyres are the best for 185 55 R15, I have driven in heavy rain at -1 at 4am for work and I did not experience any aquaplaning or loss of control on the motorway doing 70. My dad also had a drive in my car (legally of course) and he said how much better the car handles compared to his Mondeo with Nexen summer tyres on them. This pretty much says everything, as my dad didn`t believe winter tyres were any good- Since he has bought 4 winters for his car.

In snow, these tyres are brilliant for FWD as there are plenty of sipes for the snow but also how the tread is angled in the middle to 45 degrees to help with snow clearance.
https://www.dunlop.eu/en_gb/consumer/tires/winter_response_2.WINRESP2.html

Wear- I have only driven 3500 miles on them and they are down to 7mm but I am happy with this as I have summer tyres (conti premium 5) so these tyres will last a few years until they get to 4mm then I`ll change them. They also have a winter marker in the tread so you know to replace them at 4mm since traction wears off significantly after this.

Noise wise, they are silent at 66 Decibels I couldn`t find a tyre any quieter with the fuel economy and wet grip ratings.
https://www.tyreleader.co.uk/car-tyres/dunlop/winter-response-2/185-55-r15-82t-74210

The EU tyre label for this size is Fuel- C Wet grip B noise 66 decibels.

The comfort is excellent being a winter the compound is softer so pot holes are dealt with nicely. Compared to the Dunlop winter response 1 that were on the front the response 2 wipe the floor with the previous make in every aspect, noise wet grip, dry grip fuel economy especially.

Fuel wise, I used to get around 33mpg for my 7 mile commute to work now when the tyres were on I get 40mpg!

So at £80 a corner fully fitted and balanced I feel these tyres are good value for money, just remember to get one for a spare if you have the space!
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-17 20:07:58
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 5 given 93% (185-55-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 easy going miles
In the dry these tyres fir 185 55 R15 are really great. With low rolling resistance you can glide up to lights and still be able to move off in second as the car is still moving- allows quick progress on motorway junctions. Do note that these tyres roll better compared to Dunlop winter tyres so you do need to watch how fast you come to lights as sometimes you can misjudge the timings and end up nearly going through red.

Wet- Very good, have driven in heavy rain up north and have been able to change lanes with ease and did not experience aquaplaning at all, compared to the Nexen`s that were on before.

Noise, the tyres are quite on smooth tarmac and are a pleasant to drive on however, on rough surfaces it is really loud and intrusive.

Wear, in 3000 miles they are now at 7mm compared to 8mm when new. so about average really.

Only thing to note is that regular checking of tyre pressure is needed as the sidewalls seem thin as I have had to have one tyre put on the back due to uneven tyre wear caused by low pressure. They seem to leak a bit of air but by checking tyre rpessures weekly and before long journey`s then this shouldn`t be a problem really.

For 185 55 R15 the fuel economy is C rated, Wet is A rated and noise is 70 decibels.

Once these tyres wear out I wont be buying again (there`s nothing wrong with them) as I will be going to Nokian Weatherproofs for all year round driving with the M+S three peak mountain snowflake I want for winter driving.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-17 21:31:58
Writing about the BCT S602 given 93% (185-60-14-R)
Driving on mostly town for 12600 average miles
Replaced all four on clio 2 and been very happy with them so far (more than 2.5 years and 20,000 km). Went for a real budget tyre to save on costs. Wear is almost non-existent after rotating twice so far. Not used for performance or racing- only simple commuting. Tyres perform excellently for this purpose- and the tread pattern is quite stylish. I would buy them again, mainly due to good wear thus far...
tyre reviewed on 2013-04-22 09:52:57
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2 given 90% (195-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2015-09-10 11:38:31
Writing about the Yokohama Parada Spec 2 given 90% (195-50-15-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
Noticeable improvement over the toyo t1r and kumho ecsta sports I have had fitted previously.
Dry grip is immense, even on cold roads during the winter months.
Wet grip seems fine in my opinion, I can only see people getting into trouble if they drive the same as if it was dry.
Another thing I noticed is that the sidewalls seem a lot stiffer than the previous tyres I have mentioned giving the tyres pin-point precision.
In terms of wear these tyres seem to be holding out well despite being driven pretty hard on most of the time.

Overall these are a superb tyre and I cannot understand how people can see them in any other light.
tyre reviewed on 2013-02-28 12:22:10
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 2 given 84% (185-55-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 spirited miles
They were the best choice for my car when I bought them two years ago, but I've marked them down on buy again because there are newer, better tyres out there now for the same or lower price, eg Dunlop Sport BluResponse which is now my first choice.

The PremiumContact2's were however an improvement over the Toyo Proxes T1-R that I had previously in every area except for treadwear. I was happy to sacrifice some wear for better grip and comfort, however. Down to 4mm tread after 13,000 miles on front wheels so still acceptable given the tyre's performance in all other areas.
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-01 12:04:51
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU31 given 84% (205-45-16-)
Driving on track for 3000 average miles
Awesome tires, really nice look and excellent behaviour on dry and wet surfaces!!
tyre reviewed on 2014-05-13 21:10:45
Writing about the Roadstone CP661 Classe Premiere given 81% (185-60-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
I often spend too much time researching my new purchases and analysing their worth, but I found these by accident!
bought a second hand clio and these were on the front, that was last summer and they weren't new. Drove it over the warm, then wet and somewhat cold winter we have just had and have no complaints! I drive so dual carriageway some town/CITY and some often bad country roads. I have found them very good grip wise, not loud enough to be anything to write about, and have yet to get them to wheelspin when I tried quite hard! Car had a fault with tc light so we were testing to see if it was on or off but after a short drive, no wheelspin could be done and tc working well. On my car they have been amazing and good value, tried many other well known brands and have bought my second set of these as they did so well! They are also called nexen with the same CP661 I have heard. Just named in Europe differently... to uk I think..
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-04 22:46:17
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 80% (185-55-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 spirited miles
Fitted to my car when I bought it, had to replace because the outer shoulders were shot before the central tread. Mileage was good though, around 18,000 miles and they were already part-used when I got them on a second hand car.

Not the comfiest of tyres and the rolling resistance is high, but good grip.
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-01 12:25:25
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre