Alfa Romeo 155 Tyres

Drive a Alfa Romeo 155? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Alfa Romeo 155
Vredestein Sportrac 3 (60) 85% 91% 80% 80% 76% 79% 85% 82% 658,266
Yokohama C Drive2 (30) 78% 71% 70% 68% 70% 81% 67% 72% 326,462
Firestone TZ200 (26) 80% 70% 70% 70% 75% 72% 69% 72% 555,558
Avon ZV3 (28) 72% 63% 65% 66% 58% 66% 52% 63% 465,030
Tigar Prima (5) 56% 46% 56% 48% 48% 52% 46% 50% 63,000

Alfa Romeo 155 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Yokohama C Drive2 given 67% (185-65-14-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
i live in northern Italy and i had the Michelin Energy Saver before.they came with the car and they were great.except on the wet, when they tended to slip quite a bit, but i think that was fair enough, the car being a very "tain happy one".still dangerously slippery,don't get me wrong.when those wear out i went to an unkown tyre dealer and he said he had these yokohama c drive 2 on a discount. by his descripsion they were the perfect tyres for me: did exceptionally good on the wet ,good in the dry too, even if they were just summer tyres.i've had them for about 1000 miles already and these past few days a snow storm hit my part of the world, with snow rising to alarming levels.since recently in Italy it's obligatory to either have tyre chains or winter ones,during these conditions i've mounted my chains.i had no choise , because i had the feeling that without them, with only the yokohamas on i would sail on snow, rather then drive. i was bitterly dissapointed by them, since even with the chains on, driving at no more then 40 km/h the car was trembling allarmingly and the tail slipped a lot.i would definetly not buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-02 13:03:07
Writing about the Avon ZV3 given 63% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
Quite a comfortable tyre let down by its wet grip. Wouldn't buy again, will spend a little more and buy something like a toyo t1r or uniroyal rainsport.

They lasted 8000 miles a set.
tyre reviewed on 2008-01-08 20:59:21
Writing about the Firestone TZ200 given 63% (205-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Decent but unexceptional mid-range tyres. Dry grip and feel are fine. Fairly poor in the wet - they break traction easily on damp roads, but are resistant to aquaplaning at least. They last pretty well - in 10,000 miles they went from about 6mm to 3mm tread.
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-19 06:57:40
Writing about the Vredestein Sportrac 3 given 49% (205-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
I used them whole spring and summer in Georgia.
negative sides: noisy like wheel hub bearing is out, no stability and screaming when cornering in summer.
positive: perfect traction in rain, perfect stability in water, avoiding aquaplaning
I still have this tires but not going buy again
tyre reviewed on 2016-11-09 12:38:19
Writing about the Tigar Prima given 26% (205-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
I bought an Alfa 155 1.8 16V with these fitted. Immediately, I found them to be remarkable for being about the worst tyre I have experienced. Brands like Fate, Autogrip, Event spring to mind but these are probably worse. Incidentally, the Riken Maystar 2 B2 is exactly the same tyre so be aware.

Even the rather worn Nangkang EX500s on the other end were significantly better in every respect. The good points of the Tigars are fairly reasonable ride comfort, not the noisiest and they don't tramline too badly. The only plus point is that because they were always drifting, they only lasted 5000 miles (6 months since fitting).

Minus points are megre grip, abysmal in the wet, lack of adjustment so not controllable, poor feedback so corner speeds were a bit pot luck and traction and braking were predictably rubbish.

I replaced these tyres with Michelin Pilot Exalto 2 tyres which are the anthesis of every Tigar I've ever had the misfortune of trying. These tyres are only useful for mobile chicanes or people tired of living.
tyre reviewed on 2017-09-06 00:00:25
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre