Volkswagen Scirocco 1,4 TSI 160hp Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen Scirocco 1,4 TSI 160hp? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen Scirocco 1,4 TSI 160hp
Sava eskimo hp (17) 84% 87% 85% 84% 88% 86% 98% 87% 135,050
Nokian zLine (78) 92% 92% 90% 89% 77% 86% 85% 87% 614,390
Hankook Ventus RS3 Z222 (2) 100% 75% 90% 95% 80% 65% 100% 86% 15,715
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (390) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,740,737
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,266,907
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (138) 90% 88% 83% 82% 82% 90% 82% 85% 1,155,474
Bridgestone Potenza RE070 (16) 96% 71% 94% 89% 79% 66% 90% 83% 144,200
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (277) 90% 88% 85% 84% 74% 83% 80% 83% 3,731,734
Continental WinterContact TS 830 P (31) 86% 89% 81% 81% 85% 89% 89% 82% 302,850
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 (67) 91% 79% 83% 86% 69% 74% 84% 81% 745,006
Landsail LS588 UHP (57) 86% 81% 74% 73% 79% 88% 80% 80% 615,651
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (263) 84% 92% 78% 78% 64% 83% 76% 79% 1,941,205
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 (57) 85% 79% 76% 79% 69% 78% 70% 77% 576,137
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (132) 84% 75% 74% 76% 74% 75% 67% 75% 1,772,642
Achilles 123S (10) 90% 69% 82% 81% 61% 61% 77% 74% 51,200
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (111) 85% 74% 78% 77% 69% 66% 64% 73% 1,226,403
Continental Sport Contact 5 (186) 87% 83% 79% 76% 51% 73% 55% 72% 2,002,948
Pirelli P Zero (104) 85% 72% 78% 73% 62% 67% 58% 71% 1,787,673
Continental Sport Contact 2 (225) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66% 60% 71% 4,138,532
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (202) 83% 70% 75% 72% 66% 60% 58% 69% 3,421,628
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (119) 78% 67% 70% 68% 69% 65% 58% 68% 2,355,806

Volkswagen Scirocco 1,4 TSI 160hp Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 99% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
Superb tyre, replaced front yokohama c drive,and rear bridgestone potenzas with full set for £380.yokohamas grippy but noisy,bridgestones a hard tyre,which does wear very well,but with a harsher ride on my roc.Would recommend bridgestones for your bmw reviewer who asked for advice,they go on and on but too hard for me.After 13000 miles yokohamas worn out.This tyre is brilliant on my Scirocco,A very quiet tyre even in XL which I have.Braking and handling sublime.Simple choice buy them!
tyre reviewed on 2016-07-15 21:36:52
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 93% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
After reading the high ratings of this tyre I replaced the factory fitting Conti SC2 (dreadful) with the GY A2's. Although they are still brand new and don't have many miles on them, I saw a total transformation compared with the previous ones. Dry grip is excellent, and my tuned turbo FWD can now accelerate from standstill with ease, my wheel hop problem was also eliminated. I can carry much higher speeds on a corner until ESP kicks in. But the real stoey is in the wet, where grip is phenomenal. Preivously, I had wheelspin all the way up to 3rd gear, and launching was impossible. Now there is no wheelspin at all in second gear, no matter how hard I try. I can say that the GY is better in wet than the Conti's in dry! Road noise is also greatly reduced. I think that they will last much longer than Conti's whom I changed after 18000 miles.
tyre reviewed on 2013-11-26 12:01:22
Writing about the Sava eskimo hp given 91% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2010-11-23 16:30:07
Writing about the Achilles 123S given 90% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Recently bought it & travelled 500KM on it. I do admit it will take another 500KM to fully see its potential but so far, grip on both dry & wet is awesome. It is semi slick, usable on both track & daily driving. There is a whizzing sound when you break during mid-high speeds due to its aggressive grooves. The tyres looks really aggressive by the way. Price wise, certainly way much cheaper than the usual brands. Would certainly recommend it & will purchase it again.
tyre reviewed on 2014-01-02 04:23:50
Writing about the Nokian zLine given 89% (235-35-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2500 average miles
I absolutelly recommend this tyres for Scirocco. I think it is best choice for someone, who don't want to spend whole salary for tyres like PZero etc :)
tyre reviewed on 2014-11-22 20:12:58
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 87% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-20 21:05:24
Writing about the Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 spirited miles
I'm very happy with these tyres and have had many positive comments on them.

Unbelievable grip both in dry and wet conditions - I don't push my car to extraordinary limits but sometimes do go hard on it!! No loss of control with the RE003s and amazing handling capabilities and road feedback.

Was considering swapping to Michelin PS4 which I have in another car but very happy I did not. The price of the tyres are way cheaper than the PS4 but offer nearly the same performance - so excellent value.

The Scirocco is my daily driver and it's also worth pointing out that the tyres offer great comfort and road noise is low when cruising around town or the motorway. Small bumps/imperfections in roads are also well absorbed up until the tyres are 80% worn out.

Only downside is that they wear a bit faster than the PS4s for example - held on for about 35,000kms. Should not be an issue though as the RE003s are way better priced and doesn't compromise on grip, performance and safety!
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-12 08:04:08
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 86% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly town for 16000 spirited miles
Michelin seems to have found the perfect balance between grip in the dry and the wet; these tyres gripped very well on dry tarmac, yet also managed to avoid understear on wet surfaces, leading the water away to the sides quickly. The dry grip might have been a little bit better if the tyre had been harder, but then I think the wet-weather abilities would have suffered.
tyre reviewed on 2017-08-19 23:11:43
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero given 84% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2014-06-04 15:34:45
Writing about the Hankook Ventus RS3 Z222 given 84% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6215 spirited miles
I have done 10,000km so far with these tyres and I am exceptionally satisfied with them. I use them as my daily-drive tyres and I have been through all kind of weather condition and roads, except for snow.
They are much better than the RS2 which I also had and was pretty satisfied and by far better than the Continental SC 5P. Just another higher class.
Their treadwear is 180 and they feel medium soft but with hard sidewalls.

Dry: Really sticky tyre when it comes to its temperature. Even in hard accelerations from standstill they will response perfectly. Only on very bad surfaces and roads like glass they will spin but even then, they will grip again themselves.
Their extra stiff side wall, has tightened the ride during cornering, turn-in is enhanced and the steering wheel now feels much more responsive and sharper.
During hard cornering they wont let you down. They keep the car well stuck on the road even when you accelerate a bit during cornering as if they find new grip. Understeer phenomena on good surfaces is a word they don't know!

Wet: Don't expect from them to act like a rain focused tyre, you know what you're buying. But It will behave perfectly when driving on wet and soaking wet motorways and B-roads at speeds of 110-130km/h. They will give you the feeling of safety and good stability.
When cornering hard in tight turns on normal roads and low speeds, the car will understeer a bit but I found it normal to happen.

Track: on dry conditions the grip is phenomenal, no other words to express it!
On wet conditions the grip is also exceptionally good. I didn't expect them to behave that good. The car was stuck on the road even when load was transferred during S turns. Only in tight turns with a lot of water on the surface the car would understeer.

Roadnoise is more than regular tyres but bearable even when travelling for many hours.

Overall I am really amazed by these tyres and the fact that I have done so far 10,000km and they look like they can handle 10,000-15,000km more, is more amazing considering the type of the tyre.
I would definitely buy them again and definitely recommend these tyres!
tyre reviewed on 2014-09-14 14:16:43
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre