Continental Premium Contact 6

Dry Grip 94%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 87%
Handling 89%
Wear 79%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 80%

The Continental Premium Contact 6 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

The new PremiumContact 6 replaces both the PremiumContact 5 and the SportContact 5, unifying the comfort and efficiency of the PremiumContact range, with the high performance, steering precision and grip of the SportContact.

This tyre replaced the Continental Premium Contact 5

Show All

Tyre review data from 45 tyre reviews averaging 86% over 240,181 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2020 ADAC 18 Inch Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Top marks in the wet (especially in brakes and handling)
  • Negative - A little noisy, a little weak in the dry compared to the best
  • Overall - Highly Recommended

2020 Tyre Market Overview Braking Test - 4th of 49 tyres

2020 Teknikens 17 Inch Summer Tyre Test - 4th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Short braking distance on wet roads, very good elk test result, low fuel consumption.
  • Negative - Low comfort levels.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/65 R15 91H   C A 71 8.36kgs
195/65 R15 91V   C A 71 8.28kgs
205/45 R16 83W   C A 71 7.70kgs
205/50 R16 87W   C A 71 8.35kgs
225/50 R16 92Y   C A 71 9.28kgs
205/55 R16 91V   C A 71 8.67kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C A 71 8.79kgs
205/60 R16 96H XL         8.20kgs
235/60 R16 100W   C A 71 10.87kgs
215/65 R16 98H   C A 71 9.79kgs
205/40 R17 84Y XL   C A 72 7.67kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   C A 72 8.41kgs
245/40 R17 91Y   E A 71 10.10kgs
255/40 R17 94Y   C A 72 10.24kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL   C A 72 8.07kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 72 8.10kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 72 9.06kgs
215/45 R17 87V   C A 71 9.06kgs
215/45 R17 87Y   C A 71 9.06kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 72 9.59kgs
225/45 R17 91V   C A 71 9.03kgs
225/45 R17 91W   C A 71 8.85kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   C A 71 9.42kgs
235/45 R17 94Y   C A 71 9.76kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 72 9.59kgs
235/45 R17 94W   C A 71 10.04kgs
245/45 R17 95Y   C A 71 10.05kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 72 10.05kgs
205/50 R17 89V   C A 71 8.51kgs
205/50 R17 93Y XL   C A 72 8.82kgs
215/50 R17 91Y   C A 71 8.90kgs
215/50 R17 95Y XL   B A 72 8.97kgs
225/50 R17 94W AR B A 71 9.97kgs
225/50 R17 94Y   C A 71 9.46kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 72 9.50kgs
225/50 R17 94V   C A 71 9.37kgs
215/55 R17 94V   B A 71 9.72kgs
225/55 R17 97W * C B 71 12.14kgs
225/55 R17 101Y XL   C A 72 9.90kgs
225/55 R17 97Y   C A 71 13.75kgs
235/55 R17 103W XL   C A 72 10.30kgs
235/55 R17 103W XL   C A 72 14.00kgs
235/55 R17 103W XL MO-V B A 72 11.41kgs
275/55 R17 109V   C A 72 14.52kgs
235/60 R17 102V VOL C A 71 12.15kgs
255/60 R17 106V   C A 72 14.09kgs
215/65 R17 99V   C A 71 10.46kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 73 10.10kgs
205/40 R18 86W XL   B A 72 7.95kgs
205/40 R18 86W XL   C A 72 9.22kgs
205/40 R18 86Y XL   C A 72 8.11kgs
215/40 R18 89Y XL   C A 72 8.79kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL   C A 71 9.38kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 72 9.15kgs
235/40 R18 91Y   C A 71 9.75kgs
235/40 R18 91Y         13.38kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 72 9.76kgs
245/40 R18 93Y   C A 71 10.32kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL MO C A 72 11.45kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 72 10.17kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL MO C A 72 11.45kgs
275/40 R18 103Y XL   C A 73 11.61kgs
215/45 R18 93Y XL   C A 72 9.10kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 72 9.77kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL MO C A 72 10.01kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL MO       10.00kgs
235/45 R18 98W XL   B A 72 10.58kgs
235/45 R18 94Y AO C A 71 11.32kgs
235/45 R18 98W XL VOL C A 72 11.82kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 72 10.07kgs
245/45 R18 96Y   C A 71 10.56kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL MO B A 72 10.90kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 72 10.42kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL MOE C B 72 14.69kgs
255/45 R18 99Y   C A 72 10.91kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   B A 73 10.80kgs
225/50 R18 99W XL * A B 72 9.75kgs
225/50 R18 99W XL * A B 72 9.75kgs
225/50 R18 95W * C B 71 12.36kgs
235/50 R18 97V   B A 71 9.79kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   B A 72 10.39kgs
245/50 R18 100Y   C A 71 11.23kgs
215/55 R18 95H   B A 71 10.17kgs
215/55 R18 99V XL   C A 72 9.98kgs
225/55 R18 102Y XL AO B A 71 12.10kgs
225/55 R18 98V   C A 71 12.17kgs
235/55 R18 100V VOL B A 71 11.98kgs
235/55 R18 100V   B A 71 11.03kgs
235/55 R18 100H   C A 71 10.98kgs
235/55 R18 100W XL MO B A 71 11.45kgs
235/55 R18 100V AO       12.32kgs
235/55 R18 100W XL MO B A 71 11.45kgs
255/55 R18 109Y XL   C A 73 13.11kgs
225/60 R18 104V XL   B A 72 12.51kgs
235/60 R18 103V   C A 71 14.32kgs
235/60 R18 103V   C A 71 12.63kgs
235/60 R18 107V XL   B A 72 12.31kgs
255/60 R18 112V XL   C A 72 15.19kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL * B B 72 9.89kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL * B B 73 14.32kgs
235/40 R19 96W XL VOL C A 72 11.20kgs
235/40 R19 96W XL   B A 72 10.25kgs
235/40 R19 96W XL VOL C A 72 11.52kgs
235/40 R19 96W XL VOL C A 72 11.90kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   C A 72 10.00kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL * B B 72 13.09kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 72 12.02kgs
225/45 R19 92W * C B 71 11.17kgs
235/45 R19 99V XL VOL C A 72 12.08kgs
235/45 R19 99V XL VOL C A 72 11.77kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL AO B A 72 12.50kgs
245/45 R19 102V XL   B A 72 14.45kgs
275/45 R19 108Y XL NF0 B B 73 14.28kgs
235/50 R19 103V XL   B A 72 10.39kgs
235/50 R19 99W XL MOE C A 71 15.15kgs
235/50 R19 103Y XL AO B A 72 11.92kgs
235/50 R19 99W MO C A 71 11.86kgs
235/50 R19 99V VOL B A 71 12.10kgs
245/50 R19 101Y   C A 71 13.00kgs
255/50 R19 107Y XL   B A 73 13.47kgs
265/50 R19 110Y XL   C A 73 13.89kgs
205/55 R19 97V XL   C A 72 9.70kgs
225/55 R19 103V XL   A B 71 10.78kgs
225/55 R19 99V   C A 71 10.87kgs
225/55 R19 103Y XL NF0 B B 72 13.35kgs
235/55 R19 105V XL   B A 72 12.73kgs
255/55 R19 111V XL   B A 73 14.05kgs
255/55 R19 111H XL MO C B 72 15.14kgs
255/55 R19 111H XL AO B A 73 14.98kgs
265/55 R19 113Y XL AO B A 73 15.57kgs
265/55 R19 113Y XL AO B A 73 15.58kgs
275/55 R19 111W XL MO B B 72 16.24kgs
235/65 R19 109W XL   C A 72 13.85kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL   C A 73 19.27kgs
225/40 R20 94Y XL * B B 72 11.11kgs
245/40 R20 99V XL POL B A 72 14.54kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL   C A 72 13.15kgs
275/40 R20 106Y XL   C A 73 13.04kgs
235/45 R20 100W XL   C A 72 10.72kgs
245/45 R20 99V   C A 71 12.22kgs
245/45 R20 103Y XL AO C A 72 13.48kgs
255/45 R20 105Y XL   C A 73 12.82kgs
255/45 R20 105V XL   C A 73 14.86kgs
275/45 R20 110Y XL   C A 73 14.50kgs
285/45 R20 112H XL AO B A 73 17.55kgs
295/45 R20 114W XL   C A 75 16.72kgs
255/50 R20 109H XL AO B A 73 12.11kgs
255/50 R20 109Y XL   C A 73 14.27kgs
265/50 R20 111V XL   C A 73 16.18kgs
275/50 R20 113Y XL AO C A 73 15.28kgs
285/50 R20 116W XL   C A 75 16.88kgs
255/55 R20 110V XL   C A 73 15.33kgs
255/55 R20 110W XL   C A 73 20.94kgs
255/55 R20 110Y XL   C A 73 14.89kgs
255/55 R20 110V XL   C A 73 15.60kgs
315/35 R21 111Y XL * B B 75 19.86kgs
245/40 R21 100Y XL   C A 72 11.36kgs
265/40 R21 105Y XL   C A 73 13.64kgs
275/40 R21 107Y XL   B A 73 13.45kgs
275/40 R21 107Y XL * B B 73 16.49kgs
285/40 R21 109H XL AO       14.44kgs
265/45 R21 108H XL AO B A 73 15.77kgs
285/45 R21 113Y XL * B B 73 19.91kgs
315/45 R21 116Y MO C A 74 15.29kgs
275/50 R21 113Y XL MO C A 73 15.35kgs
315/30 R22 107Y XL * B B 73 16.24kgs
315/30 R22 107Y XL * B B 73 15.60kgs
275/35 R22 104W XL VOL A A 73 13.69kgs
275/35 R22 104Y XL * B B 73 14.59kgs
275/35 R22 104Y XL * B B 73 14.55kgs
315/35 R22 111Y XL * B B 75 20.05kgs
255/40 R22 103V XL J C A 73 14.48kgs
255/40 R22 103V XL J C A 73 19.52kgs
255/40 R22 103V XL J C A 73 15.15kgs
275/40 R22 107Y XL * B B 73 17.55kgs
325/40 R22 114Y XL MO B A 73 19.14kgs
325/40 R22 114Y MO-S B A 73 19.52kgs
285/45 R22 114Y XL MO C A 73 17.00kgs
285/45 R22 114Y XL MO-S B A 73 17.95kgs
285/45 R22 114Y XL MO B A 73 17.59kgs

Questions and Answers for the Continental Premium Contact 6

2017-02-28 - Will the Premium Contact 6 be available in 205/55/16 size and when? Thank you!

It's a very likely the Premium Contact 6 will be released in 205/55 R16 in 2017, however there has been no date announced by Continental yet.


2017-10-23 - I have nearly new contisportcontact 5 on the rear of my focus mk3 Zetec S & worn ones on the front. Can I put the rear to the front & put the new conti premium contact 6 on the rear without upsetting the grip/ride etc. The car has always had Continental tyres on since new, then contact 5 so I would like to keep using Continental.

Moving your PC5s to the front and then fitting the new PC6 to the rear would be the ideal :)


2018-03-13 - What does it mean when the wear has a higher or lower % means? Higher % means wear faster ? Or higher % means can last longer

A higher percentage in wear means the tyre lasts longer.


2018-05-01 - Continental have designed the Premium Contact 6 for good ride comfort and sporty feel, how does it compare to Goodyear Asym.3, which also has good ride comfort and is a summer tyre?

I have not had the opportunity to test the two tyres directly back to back, but looking at other tests the Premium Contact 6 often scores poorly in terms of comfort meaning it is likely the Asymmetric 3 which has the edge in comfort.


2018-06-24 - Conti states the premium contact 6 is 15% better wear than CSC5. Review of CSC5 last no longer than 30000km. Can you verify that the premium contact 6 has less than 35000km? Wear rate is a bit concern for most conti tires from what I gather.

Wear is very subjective and difficult to compare between different driving cars and driving style. It's best to look at the tests and reviews on this site to help you understand the real world mileage you could achieve.


2018-07-26 - Time to replace front tyres on Mazda CX6, 225x55x19. I'm pretty much settled on the Premium Contact 6. But I see there's a "standard" 99 load index, rated C rolling - A wet, and an XL version, 103 load index, A rolling - B wet. Two questions - are the C/A and A/B rating differences significant to daily handling (I've seen what happened yo your little foam friend in your budget/premium video, with only a 5% difference in residual speed) and will the increase in load index make the ride rougher over bumps and potholes? Thanks for your help, and a really useful website

The answer is yes to both of your questions, but it will likely be a small amount in both categories. It's interesting these tyres have such differing label grades, are you sure one of the tyres isn't an OE marked tyre which will have OE specific changes to it?


2018-10-05 - I own a 2006 Mercedes E-Class 550 V8 sedan. I was actually pretty much settled for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 for next season. Yet I feel tempted to go for the Premium Contact 6 instead, since steering Response was praised in a couple of tests. I'm not seeking ultimate grip and fast lap times, but a sporty feel is welcome. Have you guys been able to test them back to back? Second part of the question: both tyres are offered in 93 and 97 LI. The 93 is sufficient and I rarely drive the car fully packed. Would the 93 LI be the obvious choice? Thanks in advance.

Sadly I've not yet driven the two back to back, looking at the various tests it seems the steering feedback switches depending on the size used, so make sure you're referencing a tyre review in or near your size. If you're interesting in steering feel, the higher load rating might be the smarter choice.


2019-03-10 - I am going to replace my factory tires Cont Premium Contact 5 (205/55 R16 91V) at my Golf Mk7 (122 PS).I want to choose between Cont Premium Contact 6 (205/55 R16 91V) and Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (205/55 R16 91W).Which ones would you recommend when grip and braking distance is the priority? Michelin Sport Pilot 4 for this size is available only at higher speed index (W) than the recommended by a manufacturer (V).Does the putting on stiffer tires with a higher speed index (W) can cause significant changes in handling, electronic traction control systems, comfort or grip (when the car is unloaded)? Can stiffer tires cause faster wear to the suspension or other parts of the car?

Both tyres are extremely close in performance, you won't be disappointed with either the PC6 or PS4. There's no concern fitting the W either, the differences would be negligible if at all.


2019-07-05 - Hi I'm planing to replace the current Bridgestone tires (245/40/20) on my Cadillac XTS V-sport to PC6 but I only found this size in SSR (run-flat) spec which I don't like that much. my question: would SSR spec alter any of the characteristics / performance aspects of PC6? & 2nd: what are the alternative non-run-flat options you recommend ?

The comfort and handling would be fairly different, so if you don't want runflats I'd avoid. This website should show you the rivals, but the usual suspects would be the Asymmetric 5 and Pilot Sport 4.


2019-09-12 - Hello, I own a C200 Mercedes 1.8 163bhp. On the front rims the tyres are 205/55/16, but on the rear are 225/50/16. As you may know the size 225/50/16 is a kind of rare for most tyre brands so I ended using a set of Hankook VP3. However i have another set of wheels 205/55/16 and i was thinking to use it on my rear axle using the Continental PC6. So my question is this: Which would be better for my rear axle? A set of 225/50/16 with the Hankooks or a set 205/55/16 with the Conti PC6? Thank you in advance

Unfortunately we cannot comment on tyre size changes as there's too many factors involved, but I will say the PC6 is an excellent tyre.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £82.10 - £105.76 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £72.00 - £94.49 (39 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £99.06 - £122.27 (38 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R17 £82.49 - £107.39 (30 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R18 £123.95 - £164.77 (39 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 96 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Continental Premium Contact 6 Review

Given 87% while driving a Renault Megane (205/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 1,000 easy going miles
Ready to test! Cheers GC
225 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2017   

Latest Continental Premium Contact 6 Reviews

Have you driven on the Continental Premium Contact 6 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Premium Contact 6.

Review Your Tyres >>

Mercedes Benz C350 RWD (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 1 spirited miles
Thoughts on initial receipt of the tyres in 255/35/18 94Y size. 7-7.2 tread, seemingly the norm these days, so effectively only 5.4mm usable tread vs. 6.4mm at 8mm new. VERY wide longitudinal grooves - leaving not much 'rubber on the road'/contact patch compared to the CSC5 s ive previously used. (Or much rubber to wear through at all) Despite the publication reviews showing the best wear on test at date, having used PS4s a while back, also with very wide grooves and 7mm tread, which did not last well at all for a Michelin, I'm sceptical of how well these will last. Full review to follow in the coming weeks once I've got the winter wheels off and ive managed to run them in.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 20, 2020   
Given 74% while driving a Audi A3 Sportback (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
very good and soft tyre good handling far less noisy than my previous Bridgestone s001s but much less sporty. yes they grip well at both dry and wet road but they are too soft with stability problems when driving on "s" turns and high speed. slow response from the steering wheel. definitely NOT a sport tyre.
1 - tyre reviewed on March 19, 2020   
This is the ultimate tyre test! Watch now!
Given 56% while driving a Volvo XC40 (235/50 R19 V) on mostly town for 8,000 average miles
Repeat of another review, too soft. Tyres squirm and slip at the slightest road discrepancy. No confidence with these tyres if in icy conditions. At brand new, they slipped as if already badly worn and now 8k miles, they need replacing. Be glad to get rid of them for something more stable.
18 - tyre reviewed on January 22, 2020   
Given 91% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI (235/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 22,000 spirited miles
Excellent tires in every category apart from wear. (I guess it is the trade-off) From new(7,2mm) to wear indicator (3mm)it takes me dead on 22K miles, so 2 years in my driving style. Still I am buying it every two years as they are just superb.
10 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2020   

See all 40 customer reviews of the Continental Premium Contact 6 (newest first) >>