BMW M240i Tyres

Drive a BMW M240i? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the BMW M240i
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (50) 93% 89% 87% 88% 84% 88% 86% 88% 186,600
Vredestein Wintrac Pro (7) 90% 91% 86% 80% 76% 90% 87% 87% 28,700
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (51) 88% 90% 86% 79% 91% 90% 91% 87% 359,525
Toyo Proxes Sport (7) 79% 77% 69% 69% 73% 59% 63% 70% 19,312
Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT (33) 74% 61% 64% 67% 70% 54% 52% 63% 417,570

BMW M240i Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate Plus given 90% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
I bought the CrossClimate Plus as a winter only tyre having spent last winter scrabbling around on the standard fitment Michelin Pilot Supersport summer tyres. I'll obviously be switching back to the Supersports for the summer so don't take this as a true "All Season" review but my reasons for going Crossclimates for winter over a full winter tyre is a) living down south so we don't see a lot of snow, and b) having had them previously Ive got a real aversion to the way winter tyres have a soft vague feeling in all conditions due to the flexibility of the blocks. Weather down here in Southern England over the past month has ranged from mild days in the low teens centigrade both wet and dry right down to -3c on a couple of mornings plus one particular night when it rained then cleared leaving greasy damp roads barely above freezing. No snow to test them in yet but I think I've now driven in the majority of normal southern winter weather and in all conditions they've been excellent so far.

They obviously don't have the carcass or block stiffness of the Supersport so the tyre does feel a little softer generally, but a bit of additional comfort (plus less road noise) isnt a bad thing in winter and thankfully there's certainly none of the vagueness or floaty block feeling I was desperate to avoid from previous expreriences on full winter tyres. They grip well when cornering and traction is excellent despite chosing a square setup with the same size tyres both ends so a narrower 225/40-18 on the rear of a 340bhp car. Things like pulling sharply out of damp or wet junctions is no longer the nervous will it grip or will it spin up event that it used to be on the Supersports, plus the annoying suspension knock/thump from cold rubber tyre blocks skipping over tarmac when reversing with some steering lock on has gone completely which is a bonus. I actually think when compared against the Supersport the usual 7c crossover rule of thumb does a slight disservice to the CrossClimate as they seem to grip better in every condition below about 10c and by the time it gets towards zero they're in another league. Standing water performance also seems fine despite what some of the reviews suggest, they might not be as good as some but I've driven some very wet roads recently through standing water at reasonable speeds and they've always felt secure (better than the Supersport anyway!). To sum up, obviously we need some snow before I'll be 100% certain I made the right winter tyre choice but so far I'm very impressed.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-12 19:48:07
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac Pro given 85% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 200 average miles
I've had several types / makes of winter tyres fitted to different cars over the years (Mini Cooper S, BMW X5's), although this is an initial review and we haven't had any severe weather yet these tyres seem excellent and better that I have had in the past (plus this car is more powerful (340bhp) and rear wheel drive...). We've only driven the car in temperatures at zero degC and above but we've had some horrendous weather with heavy rain and high winds, driving with these tyres really in both small country roads and main dual carriageways with aquaplane conditions these have been sure footed, I have to commend them. I hope that come snow and the real harsh weather that will come shortly they will continue to impress.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-30 17:36:29
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT given 50% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Really struggled with these tyres, which came as standard on the car, a 2017 BMW M240i.
Did several track days, and experimented with wildly varying pressures to try and find some kind of decent compromise between extreme outside wear and grip. Low pressures gave the best track times (~2.2bar) but they wore very quickly, all the way over the edge of the tyre, scraping off the Bridgestone marking. Totally inadequate grip for the power of the car, but good for practicing throttle control with DSC off.
They tramline horribly, to address this I ended up running at 3bar, which gave the most comfortable feel for normal daily driving.
Very good wet traction though, and completely adequate for road use, but not a good tracking option
tyre reviewed on 2018-08-25 12:36:07
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT given 33% (225-35-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 4000 easy going miles
Came with the car new and having come from Michelin Pilot Super Sports on my previous car these tyres are quite simply awful. I dread the trip to/from work if it's ever raining! In all conditions they're very uncomfortable and feel more like a solid rubber tyre and tramline on anything less than billiard table smooth roads. Totally agree with a previous review that they make driving in the wet an unpleasant and dangerous experience. Only done 4,000 easy miles on them still look like new but wet grip is like a set of worn out remoulds. Would never buy a car again with them on!
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-20 14:59:18
Writing about the Toyo Proxes Sport given 33% (245-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
I drive a BMW M240i with Michelin Pilot Super Sport. Since I installed a limited slip differential (for improved grip and handling) I needed a set of less expensive tyres to play around a little (make drifts), so I bought a set of these just for the rear.

What I expected was medium quality tyres with less grip, especcially on wet, where most cheaper tyres show their difference with the premium types. But the difference was way bigger than expected!

The car feels unbelievable sloppy in the back. Even when I drive just 120km/h on the highway it is very sensible to tracks in the road and I have to steer all the time to make the car go straight. When I accellerate really hard to 200km/h the back feels like all my bushings are made of gum instead of hard rubber. It scares me to drive it fast.

I am really suprised how bad these tyres are. They have some okay grip, also in wet, but the stability is really bad. I would not have believed new Toyo tyres can make the car feel this much worse.

With my old Michelins back on all the problems were gone. By the way, I also tried a set of supercheap Chinese tyres and the feeling was somewhat alike these Toyo's. So if you want your car to handle in a way it gives you confidence, don't go for these Toyo's. I even doubt I would fit them on my wifes car who drives very slow all the time. Because it really pulls down the quality of the ride. Imagine steering all the time on the highway, instead of going perfectly straight with 1 finger at the wheel.

And for the record, I choose the exact same size as the Michelins.
tyre reviewed on 2018-09-13 16:06:11
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 0% (245-45-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
I changed wheels to 19 inch genuine 361 rims with PS4S on my BMW M240i.
Totally different car, no tyre shiver under full acceleration,
huge levels of grip, great lateral strength in side walls allowing
great handling through the corners, comfortable ride & different car when overtaking at high speed.
I had a 135i with P Zero tyres on last car which were pretty good but these tyres are on another level should also be great on a 135.
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-27 10:49:48
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement