Michelin Pilot Sport 4

Dry Grip 94%
Wet Grip 92%
Road Feedback 87%
Handling 89%
Wear 80%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 85%

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

Show All

Tyre review data from 116 tyre reviews averaging 87% over 1,049,138 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2018 AMS Summer UHP Tyre Test - 1st of 11 tyres

  • Positive - A very balanced tyre with excellent dry and wet braking.
  • Negative - None mentioned.
  • Overall - Highly recommended.

2018 Test World Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Short braking distances in the dry and wet, excellent handling in all conditions, excellent balance during emergency maneuvers, excellent feedback in all conditions.
  • Negative - Relatively high rolling resistance.

2018 AZ Summer AND All Season Tyre Test - 1st of 9 tyres

  • Overall - A leading performance in both the dry and wet ensured the Pilot Sport 4 wins the test convincingly, despite having a right rolling resistance.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
245/40 R17 95Y XL   C A 71  
205/45 R17 88Y XL   E A 71  
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 71  
225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 71  
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 71  
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 71  
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 71  
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 71  
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 71  
275/35 R18 99Y XL   C A 71  
215/40 R18 89Y XL   E A 71  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 71  
225/40 R18 92W XL   C A 71  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 71  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 71  
255/40 R18 99Y XL   C A 71  
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 71  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 71  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 71  

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4

2016-06-21 - I have a Nissan Leaf (electric). The fuel economy is important to me. How does the fuel economy of the Pilot Sport 4 compare with the original factory fitted Bridgestone Ecopia

The OE Ecopia tyre is a dedicated low rolling resistance tyre, whereas the Pilot Sport 4 is a sport tyre with low rolling resistance. While they've not been tested together, we would expect the Bridgestone to have the slight edge in rolling resistance, but the PS4 to have vastly better wet grip. You can also check the EU rolling resistance label score in your size to give you a better idea.


2016-05-21 - Are the pilot sport ok for a lotus evora 2009 na?

Assuming you can get the correct tyre size, there's no reason the Pilot Sport 4 wouldn't be a great tyre on a light car like the Evora. If you're coming from a more dry / track focused tyre, you might find you lose some steering feel with the Pilot Sport 4, but gain comfort.


2016-08-08 - Which is the country origin of the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 , 245/45/17 ?

Here is the response from Michelin:
Pilot Sport 4 is made in Germany, France, Spain and Italy (in that order predominantly) but may be the odd ones from other plants.
We never have a definitive list size by size, because our quality structures are the same country to country, plant to plant and in most cases the compounds and carcass materials come from the same plants and are "assembled".
We know from testing we've done, we don't have the big differences with identical tyres made in different plants that some manufacturers have.


2016-10-13 - I am about to change my tyres on my merc E220. I have opted for the reviews on the Michelin Pilot sport 4 but cannot find a 225/50/R17 /98W or Y. Is it available and from where?

It doesn't look like a 225/50 R17 Pilot Sport 4 is available yet. More sizes are being produced all the time.


2017-04-05 - I have a mazda mx 5 . Is this tyre too good for this car . ? Is it quiet and comfortable ?

Yes, the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 is both quiet and comfortable. There are quieter tyres on the market however you would lose some sporty feel, which is important on a car like the MX5.


2017-08-17 - I am driving 2013 BMW 330D Xdrive with dimensions 225/45/R18 and I cant decide is it better to purchase Michelin Pilot Sport 4 or Continental Premium Contact 6??? It is very hard to find those two tyres in comparison in this dimensions! I am looking only for the best tyre!

This test should answer your questions. Pilot Sport 4 in 1st place, Premium Contact 6 in 3rd, using your size.


2017-09-06 - Hi there, I have an e39 M5.. usually use Michelin Super Sports which are priced the same as the PS4.. I have 18" wheels to PS4s isn't available in my size.. Which is a better tyre the Super Sport or the standard PS4 (no s)...

In 99% of cases, the newer PS4 is the better tyre. The PSS has the edge in dry grip, feedback and track day work, but if you're using the tyre on the road you won't be disappointed with the PS4.


2017-11-14 - BMW 318i with Contipremiumcontact 2, im looking to get some new tires didn't mind how these handled although they had slight under steer in wet if pushed im looking at PS4 and the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance only problem is the PS4 dont come in the current size on the car and the Goodyears do. My question is would there be a benefit coming down from 225/50/16 to 205/55/16 so i can fit these tires are they really that much better in the wet/dry/ect... that the loss of with wont matter

Without specific testing it is too difficult to answer properly, however it's worth noting you will have to declare the new tyre size as a modification to your insurance company which is reason enough to stay with the OE size.


2018-02-27 - Shouldn't this tire be labeled as "Ultra High Performance" and not "Max Performance" as it is the direct replacement for the Pilot Sport 3? The Pilot Sport 4 S is the "Max Performance" as it is the direct replacement for the Pilot Super Sport.

It's an interesting question. The Pilot Sport 4 is the direct replacement of the Pilot Sport 3, but Michelin moved the game on so much with regards to sporty handling and feel of the tyre it deserves to be in the higher category.


2018-03-17 - Hi, for a Honda Civic 1.8 petrol 2010 tyres 225/40/R18 Y XL would Michelin PS4 or Pirelli PZero PZ4 give best ride comfort? I know Goodyear Asmm. 3 offer good ride but currently I have Potenza S001 at front PS3 rear so concerned about softer sidewall of Goodyears. Many thanks.

I've not tested them back to back so I'm unsure which would be more comfortable, but if I had to guess based on experience I would say the P Zero PZ4 would be slightly more comfortable than the Pilot Sport 4.


2018-05-07 - Hello. My Audi A4 Quattro needs only Front Tyres at the moment. I would like to fit Pilot Sport 4. Do you think these will behave ok with the standard fit Hankook Ventus S1evo2 that are on the back? Thanks

Both tyres are produced within the allowable size guidelines so technically they should work fine together, however it might be worth checking owners forums to be sure.


2018-06-15 - Hi guys! I am using this tyre (Pilot Sport 4) on a Hyundai Genesis Coupe also equipped with B14 Bilstein coilovers... I have 225/40/19 front and 245/40/19 rear... BUT I still haven’t found a proper pressure tyre to set, in order to feel a good feedback and feeling from the car... I feel it not coumicative, and on the fast straight I find a little vagueness in the center if I move left/right of few cm on the steering (with pressure at 2.3 bar) What di you recommend??

Sadly the PS4 is a little vague due to the higher levels of comfort. I can't recommend anything specific, but a small amount of over inflation can help with steering response.


2018-07-31 - I really want PS4"S" for my 18inch E46 M3. BUT they are only 19 inch at the moment right? So given I want decent performance on track, do I go Cup2 or would these non "S" PS4's be ok?

Good news, subscribe to our youtube channel and hit the bell icon as in the next 2 weeks we have a PS4 vs PS4S vs Cup 2 video :)
https://www.youtube.com/user/tyrereviews


2018-09-05 - Hey there. I own a '06 Mercedes E550. I just bought a set of lighter 18'' rims and next summer, I want to fit new 245/40 tyres. I only drive 4000kms in the summer, rarely spirited, so wear is not a concern. Yet I demand a good steering response and light weight to make for a more nimble feel of the car. I think I wanna go with the PS4, yet I think about the Falken 510 also. In the past, I regretted fitting mid range tyres. But due to the low miles, and the good test, I feel like giving the 510s a try. Yet I fear that they will be overwhelmed by the weight of the car and the V8 on the front axle. Would you recommend just going with the PS4 or could the 510s be an option?

I'm not sure either the PS4 or FK510 will be the answer to your question, both have quite soft sidewalls. If steering precision is your drive above all else, something like the Vredestein Vorti R might be a good tyre to look into.


2018-10-29 - I going to replace my Jaguer XF3.0 tyre, previously I tried Pzero and Pilot Super sport. could you please comment if I change to PS4 (no S), I'm not an aggressive driver, want maintain the sport feeling but a little more comfort and silent...

The PS4 won't feel as sporty as the Pilot Super Sport, but will certainly more comfortable and quieter and it has excellent wet grip, so would be a good choice for your Jag.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £91.80 - £108.48 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £83.70 - £109.36 (36 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £131.24 - £180.23 (39 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 £147.34 - £154.60 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 47 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin Pilot Sport 4 Review

Mercedes Benz C250 CDI Blutec (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
First opinions on new Pilot Sport 4

I have today (11/01/16) received some of the first available Pilot Sport 4's in the UK. They are to replace my worn out Goodyear Eagle ASY 2's on the rear of my GAD Tuned C250 Cdi.

I will review again in a few weeks when I have had chance to thoroughly try the tyre out, however my initial observations are as follows:

Aesthetic appeal: They look good and sit well on the rims, a pleasant development over the PS3, both in tread pattern and sidewall appearance, without being 'over the top'.

Cost: For my size I paid £145 per corner delivered from mytyres, however tyreloader(?) have them currently at £135. As they are new on the market I expected to pay a premium, and I anticipate as they become more established the price will come down in the coming months.

Other: They have a good size/width kerbing protection ring which is welcome, especially as they did not state they had one in the sellers description. A must for expensive alloys!

Potential downsides are that when measured from new I have gotten a reading of 7.2mm tread depth, as opposed to the 8mm once seen from new on sport tyres. This seems to be a growing trend as the Hankooks and Bridgestones I have used on my other cars in recent months have also been supplied with 7mm from new as opposed to the 8mm expected.
I have also noticed that the grooves (in my size at least) seem wider than the PS3's I have used in the past. Whereas I am sure that the performance of this tyre on our British roads esp. in the wet will excel, I am concerned about the longevity of this tyre and its potential wear rate as simply there is less rubber contacting the road. Lets hope the compound will make up for it! I have found on my other cars that these wider grooves and lesser tread depth is causing my tyres to need to be changed much more often than their predecessors (under much the same driving conditions and mileages), so despite the marketing bluff about increased longevity, I am sceptical.

I will re-review when I have had chance to get some miles done on these tyres.
4294967295 - tyre reviewed on January 11, 2016   

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 4 Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Pilot Sport 4.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 89% while driving a Audi S4 (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Excellent tyre. Very good grip in all conditions.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 17, 2019   
Given 77% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class Estate (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
Michelin Pilot Sport 4. Great tyres but fast wearing.
Mercedes-Benz E350 Estate 2010. Road conditions: Australia. These tyres are great. Very low road noise. Fantastic low noise transfer into the cabin from Australian rough aggregate road surfaces which make up the majority of roads in this country. Fantastic feedback and handling. Great breaking ability in both the wet and dry. Biggest problem is they wear out faster than a daily change of clothes! Yes I drive a 2 tonne E Class Wagon, but all the reviews say that the tyres are good wearing. I was expecting at least 30,000 kms, not barely 20,000kms. Considering the price, I did expect more for my dollar. Hardly got double the distance of a set of Pirelli P7's and they were the worst tyre I have ever owned. Not going back to the Michelin any time soon. Think it's time for a set of Falken ZE914 again. Brilliant performance with very reasonable wear.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 10, 2019   
What's better in the snow, a 4x4 or winter tyres? Watch the video to find out!
Given 71% while driving a BMW 120d M sport (205/55 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 25,000 spirited miles
These tyres replaced Bridgestone Potenza Adrenalin 002, which was discontinued and 003 wasn't available locally.

In such direct comparison I have scored the Sport 4 quite low in feedback and progressiveness because the Potenza was so much more communicative, firm and direct in feel. The steering always a had solid feel, only lightening up as the limit approached.

Sport 4 contradicts itself in that the steering became quite springy/spongy and not very direct...but the ride comfort was no better than the Potenza. Like the Sport 4 is stiff only in the vertical plane, but soft in transverse.

The Sport 4 has BAGS of grip in the dry and almost shocking grip in wet conditions. THAT is an achievement and for anyone looking for lots of safe grip will love this tyre. If you want a more engaging drive, you might be dissappointed. Obviously, a lower profile than the 55 tested might improve feedback...but the Potenzas were ace in the same size.
5 - tyre reviewed on January 23, 2019   
Given 97% while driving a Nissan Juke (225/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Replaced Conti Sport Contact 5s on a Juke NISMO RS. The Contis were awful; spinning up the tyres all the time, not to mention an abysmal wear rate.
Got these and they totally transformed the car. Keeps the power down so much better, less torque steer or spin (much less). Also, the brakes themselves instantaneously felt so much better (same tyre pressures too). Can't express in words how much they transformed the car for the positive. 11 out of 10.
2 - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2019   
Given 86% while driving a BMW 135i (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Great tyre - high speed stability 120mph+ Excellent
Handling on B roads excellent
Braking wet & dry both excellent
Wear very well for being on a 400bhp rear wheel drive car
Previous Tyres continental sport 5. I would say these Michelin’s are 20% better in all conditions & I thought I’d struggle to find a better tyre than the conti sports - great tyre but wear was appalling on those.
Fun in the sun & safe in the wet.

7 - tyre reviewed on January 6, 2019   

See all 99 customer reviews of the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (newest first) >>