Volkswagen Golf MK7 R 300 BHP Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen Golf MK7 R 300 BHP? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen Golf MK7 R 300 BHP
Toyo Proxes CF2 (64) 89% 87% 83% 84% 85% 87% 91% 87% 436,409
Michelin CrossClimate (111) 89% 86% 85% 81% 86% 91% 87% 82% 1,336,839
Avon WV7 (11) 82% 85% 85% 75% 80% 88% 83% 80% 33,200
Bridgestone Potenza RE001 (40) 87% 72% 78% 80% 70% 63% 70% 74% 864,661
Pace Toledo TL1000 (11) 68% 51% 57% 55% 64% 58% 44% 57% 93,900

Volkswagen Golf MK7 R 300 BHP Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Toyo Proxes CF2 given 96% (195-45-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
What an under rated tyre. My favorite yet and I've been through loads of hugh and low end sets.

Such a quiet tyre, handles great, wears reasonably (you want a tyre to wear or its a rubbish tyre)

I would put these up against my Michelin Pilot Sport 3's.
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-05 00:29:58
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate given 93% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 23000 spirited miles
Excellent tyre and they work on snow as well. They are certainly quieter than the Contis fitted originally to this car. Handling is great and wear is phenomenal (normal changing time on Contis is about 18k) - the dealers could not believe the mileage when I was in for a service. Combined with the car's 4-wheel drive, snow is no problem. Will definitely be buying these again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-20 11:58:05
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE001 given 83% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-02 01:16:18
Writing about the Avon WV7 given 81% (225-45-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
I just recently completed a 4000mile road trip from London (10c) to the Arctic Circle in Swedish Lapland where the coldest reported temperature was -19c. I drove on every possible combination of surface including snow storms, packed ice, freezing rain, deep slush etc...

I was initially very worried that my tyre choice was wrong as I learned of the existence of Nordic Winter Tyres which are supposedly designed for especially harsh winters which European Winter Tyres are not designed for. However my worries were totally unfounded. The Avon VW7 proved itself to be a very capable tyre. There aren't conditions on earth which this tyre can't deal with.

As we drove north the conditions got worse. The rain turned to freezing rain and snow. Eventually we arrived at our destination and spent the next 10 days traversing the cold wilderness in my 300bhp Golf R. I noticed that the majority of cars were running studs however I found grip with the VW7s more than adequate. Even driving on dangerous ice roads I was able to maintain control and make good progress.

High speed handling was also tested on the German Autobahn. We reached the maximum rated tyre speed of 149mph (GPS) indicated. The car remained controlled.

I was stunned at how good these mid range winter tyres are.

My only fault with this tyre is that it can feel quite soft and vague at the front end during the warmer temperatures e.g mild 10c in London. However once you get down to 3-4c the tyre hardens up and feels more controlled.

I also had to do an emergency stop from 130kmh in typical cols winter greasy conditions and the car stopped so quickly I was honestly shocked at the levels of grip and control.

Truly a fantastic tyre.

tyre reviewed on 2020-01-04 12:57:05
Writing about the Pace Toledo TL1000 given 37% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Tyres came with a set of alloys I bought, they had quite a lot of tread left on them so figured why not use them until they're worn down. Fine in the dry but show them some rain and they let go very easily, two lots of understeering at relatively slow speeds on roundabouts later and they're getting replaced. Will maybe keep them as back ups for the summer but definitely not for wet weather or winter driving.
tyre reviewed on 2019-09-24 12:16:03
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre