GT Radial SportActive

Dry Grip 77%
Wet Grip 61%
Road Feedback 70%
Handling 71%
Wear 92%
Comfort 76%
Buy again 66%

The GT Radial SportActive is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the GT Radial Champiro HPY

Show All

Tyre review data from 9 tyre reviews averaging 73% over 42,308 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2019 Summer 53 Tyre Braking Shootout - 26th of 45 tyres

2016 GTU Performance Summer Tyre Test - 12th of 14 tyres

    Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the GT Radial SportActive

    Questions and Answers for the GT Radial SportActive

    2019-06-15 - Is the sport active SUV 235/55R19 suitable for my 2017 Ford Edge , the recommended pressure when towing is 45 psi but the writing on the tyre wall states not to inflate above 41psi with a maximum inflation pressure of 50psi cane you help .

    Here's an answer from GT: Although I don’t have the tyre in front of me, I will assume the 41psi figure references bead seating, it will probably have more text before and after the figure that refers to this process. It does have a max inflation pressure of 50psi to carry 925kgs.


    2019-10-20 - A couple of months ago I bought a BMW Z4 privately and it has Giti SportActive GT Radial tyres size 225/40 R18 92Y XL on the front. Having no spare wheel the car tyres should be run-flat. Are the fitted tyres run-flat?

    If the SportActive fitted is a runflat version, it will have a marking on the side indicating it. It would usually say "runflat", ROF, RF, ZP or a similar marking.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


     
    Size Price Range  
    215/45 R17 £55.00 - £55.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/40 R18 £59.00 - £59.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £53.00 - £53.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R19 £82.00 - £82.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 29 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top GT Radial SportActive Review

    Given 83% while driving a Volkswagen 1.8 20vT Sport (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 8,300 spirited miles
    The tyre is excellent in dry conditions, sharp reactions, superb handling. It has an unbelievable mileage! I have now driven over 7.000 miles and has used LESS than 1MM !!! Expected life OVER 30.000 MILES!!!

    On the wet, the tyre is not a s good as the premium brands, but still very effective. Handling is sharp again, and the tyre give a very good feeling to the steering.
    Could be a bit more quiet at high speed , and it is very hard. This is excellent for the track, maybe a bit less for daily home to office journey.
    Still, a very good tyre !! Good job!
    74 - tyre reviewed on August 19, 2016   

    Latest GT Radial SportActive Reviews

    Have you driven on the GT Radial SportActive tyre?

    Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the SportActive.

    Review Your Tyres >>

    Given 64% while driving a SEAT Leon FR 1.4 EcoTSI (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
    Just not worth the money, they are at a price point where there is no significant saving over a premium tyre. These feel way too hard and have at times been a little frightening in the wet. Just cough up the extra and get yourself something which feels and handles better. Biggest pro would probably be that wear appears very slow, probably due to a hard compound.
    0 - tyre reviewed on September 29, 2019   
    Given 70% while driving a Hyundai coupe 2.0 gls (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
    Been on the rear (non-driven) wheels for a year now. Its a bit harder to judge the rear tyres but I'll relay my impressions. This is a decent tyre for the price, feels safe in the wet though I'm not pushing it to extremes. It did seem to take a while to scrub in (suppose because its so hard wearing). So if the big tyre names were say segment A and this tyre a 'B' segment tyre then within that segment I would rank it A in the dry and B in the wet. If you're after a genuinely long lasting tyre thats cheap and performs well (actually in my view quite a bit better than magazine test GTU/AZ would have you believe as DEKRA retested it with better results) then I would definitely put this on your list. It is what it is ...competent, long lasting and inexpensive.
    0 - tyre reviewed on March 4, 2019   
    Are cheap winter tyres safe, or a false economy? Watch this video to find out!
    Given 79% while driving a SEAT Leon FR tdi (225/45 R17 V) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
    Had the tyres for approx 5000 miles now, they replaced some older Bridgestones. I'm sure they are not as good as a set if new premium tyres, but they do a good job at their price point. Sometimes struggle to put the power down in the wet. Wear seems good. Looks almost brand new after 5k
    2 - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2018   
    Given 47% while driving a Audi TT (245/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    These tyres came fitted to my 2015 TT TFSI Quattro when bought as an approved used car - They seem to be ok when the roads are dry and warm in these conditions the handling is reasonable. I have much less confidence in the wet though . In a straight line they are fine but are dreadful in corners. I'm not sure whether they do not suit my car with it being 4 wheel drive but they loose traction really easily in corners so much so I have no confidence in them when driving in damp/wet conditions. I think they must be a really hard compound as there are no visible signs of wear whatsoever and after 5000 miles are still showing 8mm on all 4 corners. According to the other reviews They appear to work well on other types of vehicles but recommend you don't use if you have a TT Quattro. Will be changing as soon as I can before winter sets in.
    4 - tyre reviewed on August 29, 2018   
    Given 86% while driving a Mazda 6 Estate 2.2D Soport (225/45 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
    Couldn't justify the cost of Bridgestones that my Mazda 6 Sport came with at nearly £200 a corner fitted, so glad, as these new GT Radial Sportactive are far smoother with less noise and half the price. So far handling has been equally as good as the Premium Brand for the type of driving I do.

    At this price point will deffo look at these again for my next change, which is hopefully in a few year's time!
    1 - tyre reviewed on May 30, 2018   

    See all 9 customer reviews of the GT Radial SportActive (newest first) >>