Ford Mustang gt Tyres

Drive a Ford Mustang gt? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Ford Mustang gt
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (51) 93% 89% 87% 88% 84% 88% 86% 88% 216,600
Continental ExtremeContact Sport (5) 92% 77% 80% 86% 0% 88% 100% 87% 31,364
Nokian WR A4 (12) 85% 90% 88% 79% 80% 88% 86% 85% 28,599
Pirelli PZero System (3) 100% 85% 85% 80% 75% 75% 85% 84% 34,500
Winrun R330 (13) 83% 73% 72% 77% 84% 88% 73% 78% 352,500
Nitto NT01 (4) 100% 67% 100% 90% 53% 45% 90% 78% 28,000
Pirelli P Zero PZ4 (12) 90% 82% 82% 84% 58% 79% 63% 77% 80,327
Nitto Invo (16) 79% 67% 74% 74% 63% 68% 58% 69% 95,770
Pirelli PZero Nero (129) 83% 66% 71% 71% 68% 64% 60% 69% 2,197,506
Nitto NT555 (6) 75% 63% 70% 72% 65% 67% 67% 68% 42,018
Hankook Dynapro HP2 (5) 82% 66% 66% 64% 63% 70% 50% 66% 16,132
Maxxis MA V1 (19) 69% 61% 61% 53% 65% 61% 49% 60% 342,500
Accelera PHI (128) 70% 47% 55% 54% 67% 59% 53% 58% 1,140,962
Radar Dimax R8 (27) 66% 49% 48% 48% 66% 55% 50% 55% 208,906
Zeta Alventi (10) 67% 59% 48% 46% 48% 55% 49% 53% 58,285
Sunew YS618 (55) 61% 36% 47% 45% 53% 49% 33% 46% 413,762

Ford Mustang gt Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental ExtremeContact Sport given 96% (275-40-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
Just had these put on 4 days ago and have already put on 300 miles and made a trip to the drag strip. My initial experience with this is that the lateral grip is quite impressive (10/10), and the longitudinal is very impressive as well, but could be just a little bit better (9/10).
I find them to be a bit on the soft side, which is excellent for my use since these are going to be used primarily for everyday driving; they'll soak up the bumps and undulations in the roads very well. (I have a separate set of wheels and tires for autocross and track use). Because of this soft tendency I wouldn't recommend them over the Michelin PS4S if you plan to use them for double duty. These Conti's are supposed to be even better than the Michelin's in the wet, but I don't have any first hand experience with this, so I can't comment.
Thus-far I am very impressed with these, and would absolutely recommend them for those looking for a good daily set of tires with maybe a couple autocross/short track sessions a year.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-20 13:17:07
Writing about the Nokian WR A4 given 92% (275-40-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1999 spirited miles
Despite them being released nearly a year before my purchase, there were very few reviews for these tyres available online at the time I ordered them. I also struggled with a relatively limited range of tyres available in both 255/40/19 for my fronts and 275/40/19 for the rears, and mixed reviews for the few premium brands available in those wide, low-profile configurations. Nevertheless, I took the plunge and ordered these Nokians off the back of reviews for their other tyres and the WR A4's focus (according to their marketing blurb) on higher performance vehicles.

I've now had the tyres fitted for about 1,000 to my 5.0 litre V8 2015 Mustang, which I use as a daily driver, primarily around town but with the occasional early morning thrash through the countryside. I've been really impressed with the performance offered by these tyres. Despite the mid-level price point, they've proved adept at dealing with the slippery conditions of a coldish winter in the UK. Wet grip is excellent, with a reasonable level of feel and a very progressive breakaway at the limit. Dry grip also seems good from the few drier days there have been since I had the tyres fitted. These tyres are a world away from the OEM fit Pirelli P Zeros, which were good in the warmer months but hopeless as soon as the temperatures dipped in November - the compound becoming so hard that the tyres were constantly overwhelmed by the power and spinning at the slightest provocation.

It's too early to assess wear or form a conclusion on whether I'd buy again, and likewise I haven't yet had chance to test them over a proper covering of snow (which will, I suspect, be 'interesting' in a 415bhp RWD car regardless of how good the tyres are...), but my initial impressions of these tyres are very positive. The Nokian WR A4s have allowed me to go back to enjoying the drive at the limits rather than nannying the car around on the summer tyres. If these are on your shortlist and suit your budget, then I doubt you'll be disappointed with them.
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-29 22:24:46
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 87% (275-50-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Fitted these tyres on my 600+ BHP Supercharged Mustang GT. Let me say this: I rarely if at all give feedback or review anything. However these tyres live up to their hype and then some. Shockingly amazing wet grip as if you are driving on the ground. Exceptional handling even when put at limit on both motorways and track. But above all the comfort on these tyres is exceptional after a spirited driving on track or motorway you get back to the city and enjoy driving in comfort of a true Grand Tourer.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-24 11:50:16
Writing about the Zeta Alventi given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-07-03 17:28:41
Writing about the Radar Dimax R8 given 75% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 500 average miles
just brought a 98 gt mustang for my wife , tires handle great at 90mph dry and at 75 mph wet on nj parkway. on a dry straight road from a dead stop i was unable to break the tires free , all traction no wheel spin. please note tires are used w/ about 1/4 of tread life already gone.
tyre reviewed on 2013-07-07 15:27:57
Writing about the Pirelli PZero Nero given 74% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 63000 average miles
These tyres came as OEM with the mustang.
68000km on them now, and I think they still can go a little bit more.The noise remained fairly low at this mileage.
At 60000km the traction started to decrease, as I could easily spin the wheels without pressing hard on the gas.
Yes, I would buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-20 12:40:26
Writing about the Nitto NT01 given 74% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Very good dry traction with these tires. Hard to even spin the tires off the line. However, keep a watchful eye for standing water as this tire does hydroplane in wet conditions. Otherwise, regular wet traction is pretty good as well. Painted lines and markings on the road do not go well with this tire too. Especially when wet.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-20 18:17:13
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero PZ4 given 70% (275-45-19-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 12000 spirited miles
Good tire, but wear out too fast.
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-15 02:22:37
Writing about the Accelera PHI given 66% (245-50-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 2000 spirited miles
These were recommended by the garage that services my 2011 Mustang GT. I am based in the UK but regularly drive to Spain and I was fed up with the lack of wet weather grip and noise from the original Pirelli P Zero Nero's.

Given these were less than 1/3 of the price of the Pirelli's I was unsure but gave them a try anyway.

What a difference - the car is completely changed for the better.
The tyres were fine in the UK in the wet and on the run down to Spain via Germany (where it rained from time to time) Austria, Switzerland and France.

The car feels more stable in the wet with better grip. With the Pirellis the back end was away at the slightest hint of dampness - no more with these.

In the dry the tyres are just as good as the P Zeros but the most significant change is the almost 100% reduction in road noise. Over the 2000' trip the car has been a joy at high speed prolonged cruising, with little road noise we were actually able to listen to the radio at 90mph (on the autobahns of course).

Given the Pirellis are 250 a corner the Accelera's are a bargain.

tyre reviewed on 2012-08-07 07:52:45
Writing about the Nitto Invo given 61% (285-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 18000 average miles
I'll try another brand next time, for me it is not worth its value(Nitto Invo).
I have tried (Nitto 555) previously, it was better than (Invo).
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-07 11:33:07
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre