Mercedes Benz C250 CDI Blutec Tyres

Drive a Mercedes Benz C250 CDI Blutec? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Mercedes Benz C250 CDI Blutec
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (100) 94% 92% 87% 89% 82% 83% 85% 87% 883,134
Continental Sport Contact 3 (234) 87% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,093,337
Zeetex HP1000 (10) 80% 73% 75% 62% 83% 74% 70% 74% 167,030
Continental Sport Contact 5 (168) 88% 84% 80% 77% 52% 74% 57% 73% 1,805,461
Pirelli P Zero Runflat (22) 83% 73% 74% 71% 59% 69% 64% 70% 180,820
Continental Sport Contact 5 SSR Runflat (15) 90% 77% 78% 77% 38% 64% 52% 68% 101,717

Mercedes Benz C250 CDI Blutec Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Zeetex HP1000 given 100% (225-45-17-P)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
Love this tire. Plus it performs better than the Continental for a lot less money.
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-31 07:31:33
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 SSR Runflat given 76% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I got 12.5k out of the rear tyres fitted from the factory. Front tyres are over half way worn but still some left. Combination of comfort and sport mode, town and motorway driving. Great tyres but I wish they lasted longer cos for my wide wheels they cost a bomb! If I mash the throttle on a corner in the wet the back will step out but in the dry I cant get them to let go at all with 205bhp RWD - Mercedes C250 AMG Line.
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-30 16:02:33
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero Runflat given 70% (225-45-19-)
Driving on mostly town for 6000 average miles
I know the roads are in poor condition after a very harsh winter, but I am angry and frustrated about how these tyres have let me down of late. 5 weeks ago the front offside completely blew out when hitting a pothole leaving us stranded by the roadside (no spare wheel!!) and requiring recovery. The very same, new tyre has now blown out in the same way (6cm split at the junction with the wheel rim) once again leaving us stranded and having to abandon a journey, not to mention the cost of recovery, damage to the wheel rim and the car being off the road while the wheel is taken to a tyre shop. These failures make a mockery of the run-flat claim. The original tyre had only 6000 miles on a 20 000 total, my other tyres have always gone close to 20k mileage before replacement so wear was not good. I will never buy run-flat again or be left without a spare wheel option. Not fit for purpose.
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-23 11:29:53
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 given 59% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
The grip levels are great but i cannot stand how quickly they wear. I have done 6000 miles from new and i have to replace them soon. I know i drive hard some times (great grip then) but i couldn't buy again based on the wear rate and high price.
tyre reviewed on 2015-05-25 17:55:26
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given 42% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 easy going miles
These tyres came from the factory, from day one they weren't as good as any other tyre fitted previously to any of my merc's. The only thing that was one consolation was that they weren't Run-flats other wise I can imagine are just as worse. After just 6000 of easy going driving the rears were gone completely, not only on mine but other people who have the new C Class weren't faring any better with these, shortest distance being just 5k. Also the fronts had really bad wear inner and outer on all the ones we looked over. Wouldn't use these tyres again instead the other tyre these left factory with is the Pirelli option which faired a lot nicer overall.
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-14 00:15:06
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 0% (255-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
First opinions on new Pilot Sport 4

I have today (11/01/16) received some of the first available Pilot Sport 4's in the UK. They are to replace my worn out Goodyear Eagle ASY 2's on the rear of my GAD Tuned C250 Cdi.

I will review again in a few weeks when I have had chance to thoroughly try the tyre out, however my initial observations are as follows:

Aesthetic appeal: They look good and sit well on the rims, a pleasant development over the PS3, both in tread pattern and sidewall appearance, without being 'over the top'.

Cost: For my size I paid £145 per corner delivered from mytyres, however tyreloader(?) have them currently at £135. As they are new on the market I expected to pay a premium, and I anticipate as they become more established the price will come down in the coming months.

Other: They have a good size/width kerbing protection ring which is welcome, especially as they did not state they had one in the sellers description. A must for expensive alloys!

Potential downsides are that when measured from new I have gotten a reading of 7.2mm tread depth, as opposed to the 8mm once seen from new on sport tyres. This seems to be a growing trend as the Hankooks and Bridgestones I have used on my other cars in recent months have also been supplied with 7mm from new as opposed to the 8mm expected.
I have also noticed that the grooves (in my size at least) seem wider than the PS3's I have used in the past. Whereas I am sure that the performance of this tyre on our British roads esp. in the wet will excel, I am concerned about the longevity of this tyre and its potential wear rate as simply there is less rubber contacting the road. Lets hope the compound will make up for it! I have found on my other cars that these wider grooves and lesser tread depth is causing my tyres to need to be changed much more often than their predecessors (under much the same driving conditions and mileages), so despite the marketing bluff about increased longevity, I am sceptical.

I will re-review when I have had chance to get some miles done on these tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-11 16:05:17
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre