tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Achilles ATR Sport


Show all: Achilles tyres, Passenger Car Summer Ultra High Performance tyres
The Achilles ATR Sport is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 15 tyre reviews averaging 63% over 103,862 miles driven.
 


Achilles ATR Sport
Dry Grip
70%

Wet Grip
54%

Road Feedback
68%

Progressiveness
61%

Wear
67%

Comfort
70%

Buy again
54%


Tyre Test Results:

Achilles ATR Sport Reviews

Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Vios (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 easy going miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on February 21, 2014   
Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Jazz (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 10,000 easy going miles
budget tires. wear is nearly good. these tires not soft rubber. feels hard bumpy (not soft bumpy). soft noise for daily use. definitely buy again!!! because its price and wear for daily use. specially for "stance car" hard suspension combine with hard tire :D
tyre reviewed on January 25, 2014   
Looking to buy the Achilles ATR Sport? Click here to search for the best price for the Achilles ATR Sport or any other tyre.
 
Given 60% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Altea Freetrack (225-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 16,000 easy going miles
Purchased these with a 2nd hand Seat Altea 4 x 4. The previous owner had fitted at 29k in 2011. Two years later I have driven 16,000 miles and swapping them over a year ago, the tread is down to 3mm all round. As a summer tyre snow grip was OK, but wet performance is poor. More concerning is that the casing is starting to develop hairline cracks inside the sipes and grooves. Would not buy these again due to rapid perish and questionable wet grip.
tyre reviewed on October 12, 2013   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Ford 2.5 cougar (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I have just been to have a budget tyre fitted at motorsave for mot.£55 and only just noticed its one of those crapy event tyres. Motorsave used to fit really good budgets . Anyway the tyers i already have on my 2.5 ford are budgets. They have been on for two years and still plenty of wear . Amazing grip in all weathers. I only needed to change one because i had a shock changed on front n/s. and they didnt tighteng the top bolt corectly so tyer tread worn out on inside. Took car for test and guy said they should not have put that on your drive wheel. They wont change it so it goes in boot before winter gets here. But as far as tyres go. Fit Acchilles or Autogrip. Really good
tyre reviewed on August 21, 2013   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 330d SE (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 17,000 spirited miles
I put a full set on a BMW 330d and was amazed, grip in both dry and wet was superb, obviously they are not the same as the expensive brands but for the price they did everything well. I covered 17000 miles and they looked hardly worn before I sold the car, wish I had kept them for my next one.
tyre reviewed on June 30, 2013   
Given 41% (breakdown) while driving a Nissan Skyline V35 (235-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
These tyres are ok in the dry, but in the wet they are extremely dangerous and could quite easily cause an accident if your not on the ball and can drive a car very well.
Roundabouts are a death trap with these tyres, and nursing it around is the only safe way to drive with these tyres.
The braking test from 100km/hr was appalling and could hardly feel the seat-belt load on my chest, and the ABS was working overtime, you would want to stop quickly if someone stepped out in front of you. These tyres should be banned in Australia with no question about it, these have the potential to kill someone very easily indeed. The compound is the issue, but tread pattern is fine for dispersing water.
tyre reviewed on June 30, 2013   
Given 43% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
These tyres are positively lethal in the wet. My Ford Focus Coupe Cabriolet has absolutely no grip in the wet with the tyres losing grip at low speed and the car changing lanes in roundabouts. Avoid these tyres at all cost. I even went back to the tyre supplier to double check that they were installed in the correct direction. I cannot believe these can be sold in Australia.
tyre reviewed on June 25, 2013   
Given 24% (breakdown) while driving a Audi TT (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10,000 average miles
I have 4 of these on my TT, they were brand new when I bought it 7 months ago. They are 245/35/19. And now need replacing. I am not a fan of budget tyres and these are bordeline unsafe. Firstly wear; tread wear they has worn too badly, however that is not the problem with these tyres. They have cracked along almost every tread groove and they tyre edges are perished and cracked. Dry Grip; my TT is tge fwd 197bhp, frankly these tyres would struggle with half that power and despite initially gripping quickly loose traction under moderate acceleration. Wet Grip; This is where these tyres fall down and in my opinion should not be used by anyone expcting to do more than a gentle trip to the shops when in rains. They hold the road when cornering and steady braking is just about acceptable, but any hint of an acceleration in the wet and they will quickly break traction. The term ditch finders is perhaps a bit harsh but considering the fashion in which these tyres wear it wouldnt be long until a structural tyre wall failure occurred.check out the images online for proof. If you buy these for a third of the price of a branded tyre expect to replace them very quickly and dont expect anything more than a disapointing experience.Onee last thing, they offer no rim protection either which sucks and will inevitably end up in a kerbed alloy or two which a branded tyre would prevent.
tyre reviewed on May 16, 2013   
Given 76% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Civic (205-40-17-W)
Driving on track for 100 spirited miles
I had these on the back of a type r that I track day'd recently. I initially thought "Oh oh", gonna have to watch these, but they were suprisingly good for a cheepo tyre. I used tham in the dry at Castle Combe, and did 140 flat out track miles on std suspension. They 'smeared' over nicely on the back, and were fun to drive on.
I've yet to try them on the front, but I would deffo buy some of these over other brands.
tyre reviewed on April 22, 2013   
Given 49% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Caldina GT 4 (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 12 spirited miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on March 31, 2013   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: