Mitsubishi Pajero 4x4 wagon Tyres

Drive a Mitsubishi Pajero 4x4 wagon? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Mitsubishi Pajero 4x4 wagon
Kumho Road Venture MT KL71 (7) 86% 84% 82% 59% 93% 77% 76% 80% 100,123
Cooper Discoverer AT3 (10) 86% 81% 82% 73% 74% 86% 60% 78% 230,344
Accelera Iota (35) 80% 68% 65% 65% 72% 66% 73% 70% 449,210
Infinity INF200 (5) 80% 74% 56% 64% 74% 68% 64% 69% 530,500
Yokohama Geolandar HT G039 (2) 75% 55% 65% 60% 45% 55% 50% 58% 125,000

Mitsubishi Pajero 4x4 wagon Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Cooper Discoverer AT3 given 92% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 45 average miles
I have just fitted these tyres to my Pajero and already I am very impressed. A lot quieter than the ATR's and the grip in the dry is exceptional. I got 70,000 k's from my ATR's and I expect to get the same or more from the AT3's.
tyre reviewed on 2011-03-14 22:15:15
Writing about the Infinity INF200 given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 120000 average miles
Had NO problem with these tyres and am now looking for more at a reasonable price.
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-07 10:19:00
Writing about the Cooper Discoverer AT3 given 80% (265-70-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 average miles
Bought set of 4 for my Pajero and done 20k km with them. They great for normal high way driving.
Totally disappointed in their strength, durability and build quality, picked up 2 tiny pin hole leaks on the side wall, south African bush is tough.

The final straw came when on the freeway and I picked up a slow puncture, didn't hit any object. Took tyre off and found a large tear on the inside of the tyre. Now Cooper tire is saying its a wrong application. Really why pay premium price and when you do 10% offroad you EXPECT tyres to perform. I've also been told from reliable source that the AT3 is not suitable for AFRICA (South African) condition and that the AT3 LT is the tyre they should have been selling in out Market (subsequently now being offered in SA)
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-07 20:50:45
Writing about the Cooper Discoverer AT3 given 67% (235-75-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 72222 easy going miles
When bought I saw no rim protecting was there, but many haven't. As long as quite new, all OK. Good grip on rocks, trails, mud and snow. When some 4mm left, you start to feel the road's inclinations, etc. When they are at the advised tyre pressure, they still look and feel like far too soft. Now 117,000 kms done and that's great. Two of the four need replacement. Only if they are competitive in price I would buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2017-08-30 09:27:02
Writing about the Kumho Road Venture MT KL71 given 64% (275-75-15-Q)
Driving on a combination of roads for 35000 average miles
This is the 3rd set I have run on, the first 2 set succeeded in surprising me at the ability to handle anything I chucked at them.
Wear is exceptional for a directional tyre, even the tread laying on the road gave considerable feedback with surprisingly little road noise for a mud tyre.
Even on their last legs they performed as they did new.
In the dry they were superb gripping like mad on the road and off road wow, the best tyre I have ever been on.
In the wet they gripped just as well as in the dry and surprisingly the tyres gave you the confidence to drive on anything and I did just that, snow, mud, rocks, grass, tarmac and even river beds, you name it they held up to the challenge passing every time.
So good I bought a 3rd set which are now on the motor and thats where it has all gone wrong...
I dont know what has happened with this set, 1stly I had diffaculty obtaining them and then they wouldnt balance properly,it was found one tyre of the set was 'deformed' as the garage put it.
There is somewhat considerably more road noise than my other 2 sets and they rumble along on tarmac vibrating every nobble on the tyre through the steering wheel.
(Yes they are correctly fitted, yes they are at the correct pressures and yes they are on the correct rotation direction and no there is nothing wrong with steering or suspension) they just arent the same tyres as the other 2 sets.
I did managed to get a puncture through the side wall (a massive piece of sharply pointed wood I could have put 3 fingers into the hole) I could not get a new tyre anywhere in the country, I was informed by Kumho that there was only 6 tyres available in the country and a new delivery wouldnt be in for another 2 weeks so I ended up running around without a spare for a time until the local dealer managed to get one for me.
No good when you need a tyre - a national shortage.
The wear isnt even on all 4 tyres and they haven't done as many miles either.
I have done nothing different to this set than the other 2 sets before - I cant wait to get this set off my motor (sometime this year I hope) this set is the worst tyre I have ever driven on!
Whats happened to the tyres I havent a clue but what I do know is I wont be buying a 4th set with all the problems I have had.
Ask me before this set of tyres I have now and I would have said they were the best tyre in the world, now I can only say they are the worst.
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-10 00:17:02
Writing about the Accelera Iota given 59% (295-30-22-)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 average miles
Purchased these for my Shogun as there is not really any other option for budget 22" tyres. So far had them since November 2015 and done about 1000 miles. The dry is very good, as good as on my other car (bridgestone) and wet grip is very good for the price. Never had any slip or issues with braking, always on point and stops as it should. The MAJOR issue is the road noise...i have never had a tyre make this much noise once you hit 50mph!! I have used some really budget tyres (three-a, kumho etc.) and never had noise come out of a tyre like this. It cannot be 74db as stated it is more like 78db it really is noisy i had one person ask me is that your engine i said no ever since i changed tyres the noise from these tyres is crazy!! I travel once a month on a motorway and even around north circular and it really is noisy, i cant wait for them to wear down and change them!
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-27 14:15:33
Writing about the Yokohama Geolandar HT G039 given 40% (235-80-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 25000 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2011-12-23 12:39:23
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement