Smart roadster Tyres

Drive a Smart roadster? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Smart roadster
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (39) 90% 86% 86% 84% 83% 83% 77% 84% 150,624
Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 (49) 86% 82% 79% 78% 75% 80% 83% 80% 409,960
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (238) 85% 93% 79% 79% 63% 83% 77% 80% 1,678,405
Bridgestone B340 (1) 80% 70% 70% 70% 100% 80% 80% 79% 40,000
Toyo T1R (274) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 73% 3,519,183
Star Performer TNG HP (1) 90% 70% 50% 70% 50% 80% 70% 69% 5,000

Smart roadster Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Dry grip and braking is excellent. Wet braking is excellent beyond belief for a summer tyre. Comfortable tyre and pretty quiet also. I have driven Bridgestone potenza r050, Falken FK452, Yoko C and S , toyo T1R, Kumho KH31 so far and this tyre beats all of them in all aspects of the game apart from the precision on the limit. Unfortunately i cannot comment on the wear yet

It feels like a TOYO TIR but 2 steps ahead in everything.
tyre reviewed on 2014-12-08 13:47:52
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
Put these on the Roadster as a summer tyre (was using Toyo Snow Proxes over the winter) and have found them to be rather excellent.
I went up an inch in width from standard and down 5% in profile and can say the car feels much more planted than ever before and just grips and grips and grips where in the past it would have been starting to slither about (compared to previous Goodyear summer tyres).
At the price (£50 per corner plus fitting) they've been astounding.
tyre reviewed on 2014-05-21 15:45:08
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 given 79% (205-45-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
I had a pair of these on the rear of my smart Roadster as the Proxes they replaced would step out in wet weather. They are not lying when they say these are THE wet weather tyre. They just would not lose grip in the wet. And were pretty phenomenal in the dry too. The only real down side was the wear time. 15k in a not particularly heavy or powerful car and they were done. Going to try the Hankook Ventus V12 Evo 2 next as I've heard good things about them.
tyre reviewed on 2015-12-19 18:10:38
Writing about the Bridgestone B340 given 79% (205-45-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40000 spirited miles
Exceptional durability with very good grip. I suspect this durability/grip combination might not work this well with heavier or bulkier cars.
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-01 17:07:15
Writing about the Star Performer TNG HP given 69% (205-50-15-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
not sure if i would buy again .... they are very good for the cost and are not dangerous like some cheap tyres i have bought previously. i have not really had the courage to test them at the limit in the wet, but they are very good in the dry and brake very well in wet and dry. appear resistant to aquaplaning. they have covered 5000 miles and show no signs of abnormal wear. They are not particularly noisy but also don't transmit much 'feel' from the road. They do give excellent value for money being 50% of the cost of mky preferred premium choice.
tyre reviewed on 2013-09-29 23:04:48
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 given 0% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 spirited miles
Had 11 year old BF Goodrich before I switched to these ones (Smart Roadster just does not eat the tyres, they had 7mm left!). So the previous tyres were really hard as they were old. Consider this for the rest of this comment.

These felt very soft compared to the older tires, meaning less feedback from the road. Dry grip in curves is just the same as the old tires or even less so I'm a bit disappointed. Also, if the tyres need to warm to grip well.

However they are rather comfortable and quiet and work well in the rain, but I would buy some other model next time at least for the Roadster.
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-08 07:56:32
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre