Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2

Dry Grip 92%
Wet Grip 90%
Road Feedback 93%
Handling 90%
Wear 91%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 85%

The Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Dunlop SportMaxx RT

Show All

Tyre review data from 26 tyre reviews averaging 90% over 74,210 miles driven.

Reports

Tyre Test Highlights

2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Very good premium tire with no obvious weaknesses, good handling on wet and dry surfaces, precise steering response and good feedback, very high resistance to aquaplaning, good wear
  • Negative - Relatively high rolling resistance
  • Overall - Exemplary

2016 Sport Auto UHP Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Good balance with quick steering response, short wet braking, good dry handling, very low rolling resistance
  • Negative - Relatively poor resistance to longitudinal aquaplaning
  • Overall - Particularly recommended

2016 GTU Performance Summer Tyre Test - 3rd of 14 tyres

  • Overall - Highly Recommended
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/40 R17 84W XL   E A 67 7.81kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL   C A 69  
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 67  
225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 71 9.05kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 68  
225/45 R17 91Y   E A 68  
235/45 R17 94Y   C A 68  
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 69  
245/45 R17 95Y   C A 68  
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 68  
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 68 9.36kgs
225/50 R17 94Y   C A 66 9.20kgs
225/55 R17 97Y   B B 69 10.05kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 68  
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 69  
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 70 10.15kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 68 9.00kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 69  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 69 9.92kgs
245/40 R18 93Y   C A 69  
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 67 9.59kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 69  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   B A 68  
255/45 R18 103Y XL   B A 69  
255/45 R18 99Y   C A 69  
225/35 R19 88Y XL   C A 68  
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 68 9.42kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   C A 67 9.53kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 69  
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 69  
225/45 R19 92W   C A 68  
255/30 R20 92Y XL   C A 69  

Questions and Answers for the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2

2016-12-01 - Dunlop sportmaxx rt2 or coopers zeon cs sport. both A rating for wet. Which one would be better? i have an Insignia.

The Dunlop SportMaxx RT2 has shown to be better than the Cooper in the 2016 Sport Auto UHP Tyre Test.


2016-11-02 - I'm considering buying a set of these tyres but the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance tyres look good too. So my main question is, If both sets of these tyres were the same price (Dunlop Vs Goodyear), which set would you go for? I currently drive a FWD Hyundai Coupe 1.6 ( A car which I find very heavy ) on Irish roads and need to upgrade my tyres immediately. At present, the tyres on my car are Landsail items, and are utter rubbish. Between horrible handling, a hard ride and high noise levels, I have to contend with the fact that 4 separate tyre dealers in my area couldn't balance my wheels correctly, so I have to swap them asap for a quality set-up.

That depends on your requirements from the tyre. The Dunlop Sport Maxx RT2 is intended as a performance tyre, whereas the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance is a touring tyre. As such, the Dunlop will have a more sporty feel, and the Goodyear will offer more comfort. Both are excellent tyres and will offer significant improvements over your current landsail tyres.


2017-08-14 - The Dunlop Sport Max RT 91W factory fitted front tyres on my Octavia estate(64 plate) are coming up to their limit after 25500 miles.( the back ones have lots of tread left) I am not a performance driver, preferring comfort and good mpg( 58 mpg over this mileage). What do I go for to replace them?

Depending on size, the Continental Premium Contact 6 looks to be an excellent blend of comfort and performance.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £79.60 - £94.58 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £69.40 - £95.87 (25 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £116.20 - £141.10 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £127.33 - £154.33 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 46 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 Review

Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Renault Megane RS250 CUP (235/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
I have changed my ContiSportContact 5Ps with these. Quite happy so far. The car feels like more responsive and quiter. I have preferred these over SportContact6s purely because of the price advantage but it doesnt feel like a wrong choice so far. The rim protectors, which dont exist on 5Ps, are also nice. I have just painted my rims before installing these and these protectors have already save me from scratching the rims couple of times.
107 - tyre reviewed on April 30, 2016   

Latest Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 Reviews

Have you driven on the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the SportMaxx RT 2.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 71% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda 3 2014 (225/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 6,000 average miles
More than 6000 miles driven up and down hill on country roads.
OEM tyre was Dunlop maxx TT, very happy with them. Was a bit softer than those, did 40000 kilometers.
Dont know if is the size that make the different or the fact they made in different factory. Car must have 215/45/18 but they are hart to find so we go for 225/40/18. The car is only 120hp, so wheel spin is no issue, but now is no big problem, considering that traction control is on all times. Maybe is a harder compound.
Taking in consideration that they cost a good amount of money i have to wait until they show a good amount of wear to start thinking to replace them.
Over all not a bat tire, a good i may say, maybe the size or the compound make the difference, time will show.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 2, 2017   
Given 94% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda Mazda3 1.6dTRS (205/50 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
Excellent tires.

Very durable, excellent traction.
In the dry, they are superb, in Wet, they have never failed me even though I also have some extra care.

I made about 100000kms with a set of SportMaxx RT. I hope to achieve the same goal with the Sportmaxx RT2
7 - tyre reviewed on August 3, 2017   
Given 77% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 325d M Sport (225/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 300 average miles
Mounted these on my bmw 325d e90, the tire walls are too soft even when inflated at 3,0 bar. I have take them down and sold them as I could not live with them. I recommend buying goodyear asymmetrics instead
9 - tyre reviewed on June 27, 2017   
Given 59% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Golf mk6 GTD (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Replaced bridgestone potenza tyres with these because of the good reviews, but i must say i'm quite disappointed. the Bridgestones are far better in handling and road feedback. The side walls of the dunlop's are way too soft in my opinion. Not sporty at all. They collapse under hard cornering, even with 2.8bar pressure. The only thing i like about them is the comfort level on highway. This tyre should not be presented as sport maxx performance tyre. Touring tyre suits better. Thanks you all for reading.
11 - tyre reviewed on June 17, 2017   

See all 20 customer reviews of the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (newest first) >>