BMW 130i M Tyres

Drive a BMW 130i M? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the BMW 130i M
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 (24) 87% 91% 83% 84% 87% 90% 95% 89% 194,940
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (389) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,734,737
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (135) 90% 88% 83% 82% 83% 90% 81% 85% 1,127,374
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (158) 93% 91% 85% 87% 76% 81% 81% 85% 1,554,123
Syron Race 1 plus (15) 86% 81% 74% 74% 84% 86% 83% 81% 73,600
Pirelli CINTURATO P1 (19) 86% 79% 79% 73% 81% 89% 78% 81% 121,108
Winrun R330 (14) 83% 69% 70% 75% 83% 87% 69% 77% 357,500
Falken FK452 (209) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73% 73% 74% 2,690,411
Goodride SV308 (32) 75% 64% 64% 63% 77% 69% 65% 68% 312,033
Goodyear Eagle NCT5 (88) 75% 61% 68% 61% 78% 69% 57% 67% 2,031,921
Continental Sport Contact 5 SSR Runflat (18) 89% 77% 77% 71% 41% 63% 51% 67% 156,717
Yokohama ADVAN Sport (34) 76% 66% 64% 65% 47% 50% 45% 59% 314,562
Wanli S1088 (82) 57% 35% 40% 38% 58% 37% 30% 42% 643,289

BMW 130i M Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Syron Race 1 plus given 100% (225-35-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
Wow, excellent tyres! Replaced my Dunlop Sport SP01 run-flats at the back with these and they are amazing. Although I've only travelled around 500 miles on them the winter performance is outstanding. Not even a hint of wheel spin under maximum acceleration, even when it's -2. Accelerating off a roundabout or leaving a junction is also much better than the Dunlops.
The tyres to have a tendency to tramline although this can be almost eliminated with a few extra PSI. The extra wide tread pattern disperses water as if it wasn't even there.
Treadwear is an unknown at present, having only travelled 500 miles but even if they only last half as long as the Dunlops they were less than 1/3rd the price!
My advice is to try them at manufacturers recommended pressure and if the sidewalls move slightly on heavy cornering, or you feel the car following ruts in the road, add 2-3psi and try again.
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-03 16:00:12
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 15000 average miles
Masterpiese tyre!
Its name - BALANCE
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-01 08:40:07
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 90% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
wery nice tire , wet king
tyre reviewed on 2011-06-27 10:31:09
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 SSR Runflat given 87% (225-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
just to let you know i've run goodyears nct5's on my 130i for most of its life as i've found the wear on these has been exceptional, last batch, i wasn't too pleased with and the NCT5 tyre technology is so old, so after many days and nights of research i switched my rear sets to the conti sport contacts ssr 5, and driven those tyres back to back... and I'm very impressed with the Dry and Wet linear acceleration and grip of these conti's. Obviously when you pull out of a minor road on to a major road to get up to speed if you floor it as your turning you will get some wheel spin as in all BMW rear drive cars, no matter what rubber you have. But i have found the conti's to be pretty comfortable, but a little nosiey above 50 MPH. I cant comment on wear as i haven't driven enough miles. Its -2.5 Degrees today and the tyre grip is still exceptional. The biggest thing i like about these tyres is the confidence in the wet going into a bend, which is great, as in england the roads are always damp in the mornings... :) There is a lot to be said about tyre technology and it has come on a lot since the original run flat tyres were released, this is evident in the compound and wet & dry grip on the conti's.
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-16 14:01:29
Writing about the Yokohama ADVAN Sport given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on track for 8000 spirited miles
Very Good tyres. BMW 130i M
tyre reviewed on 2010-10-16 22:26:11
Writing about the Goodride SV308 given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Amazed by these tyres. I wasn't expecting a lot as I just needed 4 cheap tyres for the MOT, but what a surprise. They grip as well as the Dunlops I replaced in the dry and grip much better in the wet (but that may be more to do with tred than tyre!)I little less progressive when pushing it.
They are a LOT better on fuel economy, over 10% improvement immediately.
For anybody looking for a budget tyre these really are just superb and as good as many premium tyres I have used over the year and a lot better than any other budgets.
tyre reviewed on 2013-11-19 15:12:52
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P1 given 80% (245-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
My previous experience with pirellis are kinda mixed. Used to use the scorpions on our old 7 series. Had good grip when it's new but loses grip below half it's life.

Previously before these Cinturatos, I had the P Zeros. They were good but are kinda expensive from im from. Replaced em with the cinturatos. Didnt expect much from these but they oerformed quite well for their price. Had some aggresive drives. I can even drive at 250kmh with confidence on the highway. Cornerings could've been better. But that's if you're pushing these tyres. They drive pretty comfortably too. Absorbs shocks from bumps quite well than the p zeros and quieter too. Having driven 6k miles with a lot of spirited driving. I was actually hoping it'd wear out so I can get new sets to play with.

My only gripe is the design. The P Zeros were beautiful. In my area, good alternatives would be the good year assymetric 2 and bridgestone adrenaline re003. As they're just slightly priced a lil higher. If you're into performance, get those or spend a lil more for the continental csc5 or Michelin Pilot Sport 3/4. Avoid the Dunlops and Bridgestones at the higher range. They kinda don't perform as well as i thought they would, nor did they last as long. But if you do casual driving but want safe and comfortable quiet and great performing tyres that kinda lasts. These cinturatos are for you.
tyre reviewed on 2016-04-05 19:40:07
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle NCT5 given 76% (225-40-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
I am probably one of the only few that did like these tyres, but i ran them with a Y speed rating, which for some reason has better grip in the wet, this is also evident from the tyre label. You can no longer buy them in a Y speed rating. so i will not be buying them again. i also found that the last set of these i had did not wear as well as the original set i had. Could be down to a number of factors.
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-28 11:35:23
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 given 76% (225-40-18-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 14000 spirited miles
This will be my 4th winter on the Ultragrip Performance Gen 1.
Ran them on a BMW 130i and now an M135i, initially 225/40/18 all round, last year I changed the rears to 235/40/18.
Overall very happy with the tyres, excellent in the cold & damp/wet UK winter and very good in the limited use they've had in snow. Perfectly acceptable when dry although like all winter tyres they do feel a little vague compared to a decent summer tyre. Not often mentioned in reviews but they are also very good on the muddy rural roads around here.
Approx 12k miles from the rears which were changed at 4mm tread depth, the fronts will see me through this winter for a total of approx. 16k miles.
Would buy again but most likely opt for the newer Goodyear Ultragrip Performance + when the fronts need changing for next winter.
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-02 09:53:21
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 73% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
Fitted these 225/40 R18 all round, replacing the runflats (Goodyear nct5) shortly after buying the car. Anything was an improvement on those, which were harsh! The runflats were also surprisingly (on many an occasion..) low on grip, very eager to break traction at the rear which was kinda fun but sadly also the front, understeering like crazy at times, which was disappointing on a RWD car..
The Michelins offered a HUGE increase in grip - in the dry but most notably in the wet when there really was an astonishing level of grip. Very confidence inspiring, enabling controlled high speed cornering and hard braking in dry and wet conditions. Which brings me to the only negative.
I don't often drive slow, but the wear rate has been simply appalling. The 12000 miles I have covered applies to the fronts which are finished, but the rears were gone after 5000! I then changed the rears for 235/40 R18 and they have fared slightly better and were noticeably grippier again on this car - they did 7000miles but now need changing again.
I should just slow down I guess but I expected more from Michelin, who are supposedly known to be more durable if you believe their advertising. But driving style has no doubt been a big factor, so YMMV.
I haven't had any other (non-rft) on this car so perhaps it just eats tyres? The runflats weren't on long enough to appraise the wear rate, as I got rid as soon as possible (the rears were near dead when I got it so I took the opportunity to put 4 real tyres on. Plus, my fitter would not fit non-runflat to one axle with runflats still on the other, probably for the best as the handling , I had to agree, would be interesting.
Even with the wear issue I may still buy another set as they really were excellent otherwise, but right now I'm changing these for Pirelli PZero PZ4.
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-11 17:50:50
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre