Barum Polaris 3

Dry Grip 81%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 83%
Handling 81%
Wear 86%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 87%
Snow Grip 100%
Ice Grip 100%

The Barum Polaris 3 is a Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Barum Polaris 2

This tyre has been replaced by the Barum Polaris 5

Show All

Tyre review data from 17 tyre reviews averaging 88% over 129,740 miles driven.

Latest Group Test Results

2018 Auto Bild Winter Tyre Test - 16th of 22 tyres

  • Positive - Good snow performance, short wet braking distances, low price.
  • Negative - Understeer in the wet, long dry braking, poor wear.

2018 51 Winter Tyre Shootout - 12th of 52 tyres

2017 Auto Bild Winter Tyre Test - 16th of 21 tyres

  • Positive - Low price, stable snow performance.
  • Negative - Poor wet braking and handling, average aquaplaning reserves.
  • Overall - Average.
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Barum Polaris 3
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Barum Polaris 3. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
Available in 15 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Barum Polaris 3 Review

Given 91% while driving a Skoda Rapid TSI (185/60 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 7,500 easy going miles
Review update.
I've don't 7500 miles on these tyres now and have just rotated them. After 7500 miles the front tyres tread depth is 6.5mm and the rear tyres tread depth is 7mm. Original depth was 8mm. So they are wearing well and evenly. Better than other winter tyres I've used in the past.
Wet traction over the last month has been very impressive both handling and braking are sharp and precise. The last few weeks has allowed me to test them on ice. Again very good, offering good steering feedback when accelerating and cornering. Ice braking is quite impressive for a non studded tyre (around 25mph). Not yet tried it on snow.
Only down side would be fuel consumption. But it could be due to fitting heavier steel wheels. Fuel consumption has dropped 3.5mpg over summer tyres.
Still joint top safest tyre for winter I've used. 9/10
86 - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2016   

Latest Barum Polaris 3 Reviews

Have you driven on the Barum Polaris 3 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Polaris 3.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 91% while driving a SEAT Ibiza 1.4 Sportrider (195/55 R15 H) on mostly country roads for 10,000 miles
I've bought them in january 2016 for my winter set on steel wheels. Seat Ibiza 1,4 86HP. First two seasons very good,after that they are a bit harder but quite ok. Driving on them here in Vojvodina(Serbia) and Hungary from oktober to march. During january 2019 tested in very hard snow and icy roads,job well done. Satisfied. They are cheaper brand of Continental-made in Slovakia,for my dimensions, but they are Czech brand. Wear is excellent. Not loud tyre. Good choice for normal drive. Recommendations. Closest relatives are Viking,Matador,Sportiva and Gislaved tyres...mid range,should buy it. Winter is not for sporty drive. I wish u all many happy kilometres and drive carefully.
2 - tyre reviewed on July 17, 2019   
Mazda (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
The basic tyre for moderate driving. When I want to push it to the limit, it isn't perfect. But for 90% of journeys it is OK. When you want cheap and good tyre, Barum is the right choise.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2019   
Are cheap winter tyres safe, or a false economy? Watch this video to find out!
Given 56% while driving a Mercedes Benz CLK 320 CDI (225/45 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Bought winter 2017. Snow grip was ok and I was able to get up steep hills covered in snow.
Dry and wet grip was adequate on the move, but the rear tyres would often struggle to grip from standstill in wet or dry.
Tyre wear was poor with the rears only having 3mm tread after 6,000 miles. The fronts had 6mm remaining.
I will use the fronts for another Winter, but the rears need replacing.
4 - tyre reviewed on November 18, 2018   
Given 85% while driving a BMW 335i (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
I use these tires on a tuned 400hp BMW 3-series with rear-wheel drive traction. Let me tell you, I am simply amazed by these tires for the price. Snow grip is incredible, effortless in any type of snow, but what's shocking is that the dry and wet grip are almost on the same level too ! The only real con for this tire is the braking distance on both dry and wet, it is below the stellar traction characteristics. Fuel consumption is also not stellar, but it's in line with other tires that I have used. Just make sure you inflate your tires as recommended in order to maintain optimum mileage.

All in all, I would recommend this tire if you need a good winter tire that has great traction in any conditions.
9 - tyre reviewed on December 21, 2017   
Given 90% while driving a Skoda Rapid TSI (185/60 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 19,700 easy going miles
An update on my previous review.
I've done just under 20,000 miles on these Polaris 3 tyres now and they've been nothing short of incredible.
Rear tyres are down to 4mm, the sipes in the tyre are just about visible.
Front tyres are down to 3mm and there are no more sipes visible.
The tyres are perfectly drive able, still perform well in the wet and dry. I have just ordered a replacement set because the sipes in the tread are pretty much worn and from previous experience this can severely impact the traction and braking on snow and ice. Although the tread depth and the tyres could safely go on for a few more thousand miles.
To sum these tyres up there a perfect mix from the motorway to the snowy hills.
Last winter I drove from the south of Devon through sheet rain for 7 hours then further on to Inverness through a pretty nasty snow storm. The last 50 minuites of the trip in particular were through 4" of fresh snow up and down hills. Did not at any point feel out of place in those conditions. Really designed well and when your commuting at 50mph+ there quiet and comfortable.
Only bad points is the fuel consumption. It's not really bad, but going from Goodyear efficient grip performance tyres with a fuel B rating to these barum Polaris 3 tyres that are a fuel E rated tyre it's about 3-5 MPG less depending on speeds.
But seriously for cold wet weather safety there great!
Shibby
16 - tyre reviewed on November 18, 2017   

See all 17 customer reviews of the Barum Polaris 3 (newest first) >>