tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Dunlop SportMaxx RT


Show all: Dunlop tyres, Passenger Car Summer Max Performance tyres
The Dunlop SportMaxx RT is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 89 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 533,595 miles driven.

This tyre replaced the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT
 


Dunlop SportMaxx RT
Dry Grip
90%

Wet Grip
87%

Road Feedback
84%

Progressiveness
83%

Wear
61%

Comfort
85%

Buy again
73%


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £54.73 - £54.73 (1 prices)
225/45 R17 £67.59 - £85.89 (7 prices)
225/40 R18 £74.79 - £105.74 (5 prices)
235/35 R19 £107.46 - £112.89 (2 prices)
Available in 53 tyre sizes - View all.

Dunlop SportMaxx RT Reviews

Given 79% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 525D (245-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2,500 average miles
These really are a tyre with outstanding grip and comfort and most of all silence . they have some of the best wet grip i have ever experienced in a tyre and provide serious peace of mind but my god they wear fast . i have only gotten 2500 miles out of mine over a little over 2 months. i have them fitted to my 2003 BMW E39 525d Touring .its not a sporty car or particularly fast so i wouldn't have expected this kind of wear . so overall i can say they have excellent grip and comfort but the wear is ridiculous
tyre reviewed on March 26, 2015   
Given 63% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall Vectra SRI 1.9 (150) (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 8,000 average miles
Initially bought these as they were on offer. Fitted rear tyres last May, then the 2 front tyres in October. It's now February, and after 8000 miles the rear tyres are down to 3mm. On a FWD Vectra. The front tyres have covered just over 4000 miles and they're now at 4/5mm. Needless to say, I will not be buying them again.
tyre reviewed on February 26, 2015   
Looking to buy the Dunlop SportMaxx RT? Click here to search for the best price for the Dunlop SportMaxx RT or any other tyre.
 
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz C220 Cdi Avantgarde Estate (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 25,000 average miles
Outstanding grip and handling at limits. But high wear..
tyre reviewed on February 8, 2015   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz C220 Cdi Avantgarde Estate (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 25,000 average miles
Outstanding grip and handling at limits. But high wear..
tyre reviewed on February 8, 2015   
Given 63% (breakdown) while driving a Honda 1.8 iVTEC Es (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
15k miles of normal family driving and they need replacing. Whilst I accept front wheel drive will not last as long I expected more than this.
tyre reviewed on December 8, 2014   
Given 97% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A3 (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
Fantastic tyre, sticks to the road really well, excellent feedback, quiet, comfortable, and as already said, grip is absolutely spot on. Would highly recommend these tyres!!
tyre reviewed on November 29, 2014   
Given 73% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Octavia (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 9,000 easy going miles
After 9,000 miles on 225/45/17 the fronts are 4/5 mm and the rears 5/6 mm.

Drive well. Summer braking and cornering no problems.

A little noisy though.

Looking at the tread pattern these will be useless in snow so they are now off until April.
tyre reviewed on November 16, 2014   
Given 48% (breakdown) while driving a BMW E46 330d (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
Very disappointed!!! Only 7000 miles,Lack of words
tyre reviewed on October 16, 2014   
Given 69% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo V70 T5 (205-50-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 9,000 average miles
Initially these were very good: grip in the wet and dry was good. They are quiet.

However after just 9000 miles, the tread is down to 3mm, and on the wet autobahn in the slow lane (which in Germany collects lots of water), the grip was poor (wheel spin on accelerating getting onto the motorway at relatively low speeds) and risk of aquaplaning with not enough water dispersal when tread thickness is low. Dry grip when the tread is low is still very good, but some tendency also to get wheelspin on hard accelration which never happened when the tyres had more tread.

So initially very pleased, and now disppointed that they have worn out so quickly and will need replacement so soon.
tyre reviewed on September 30, 2014   
Given 73% (breakdown) while driving a Renault Laguna 1.9 dCI (215-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9,500 easy going miles
Very good performance tyres, I would only not buy again because those are first tires what I have to excchange after driving 15 000Km I drive family car, any other brands I had before lasted minimum 30 000Km if not more I find the short lasting as very expensieve variant, that is why I will not buy those tires any more, but if I would drive some light sport car, I would definitely buy them because of very good performance on road, becasue with sport car you do not watch on the tires long lasting :) but perfomance only....
tyre reviewed on September 19, 2014   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: