tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Dunlop SportMaxx RT


Show all: Dunlop tyres, Passenger Car Summer Max Performance tyres
The Dunlop SportMaxx RT is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 88 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 531,095 miles driven.

This tyre replaced the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT
 


Dunlop SportMaxx RT
Dry Grip
90%

Wet Grip
87%

Road Feedback
84%

Progressiveness
82%

Wear
62%

Comfort
85%

Buy again
73%


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £54.73 - £54.73 (1 prices)
225/45 R17 £68.74 - £85.89 (7 prices)
225/40 R18 £78.06 - £105.74 (5 prices)
235/35 R19 £109.44 - £116.08 (2 prices)
Available in 53 tyre sizes - View all.

Dunlop SportMaxx RT Reviews

Given 63% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall Vectra SRI 1.9 (150) (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 8,000 average miles
Initially bought these as they were on offer. Fitted rear tyres last May, then the 2 front tyres in October. It's now February, and after 8000 miles the rear tyres are down to 3mm. On a FWD Vectra. The front tyres have covered just over 4000 miles and they're now at 4/5mm. Needless to say, I will not be buying them again.
tyre reviewed on February 26, 2015   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz C220 Cdi Avantgarde Estate (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 25,000 average miles
Outstanding grip and handling at limits. But high wear..
tyre reviewed on February 8, 2015   
Looking to buy the Dunlop SportMaxx RT? Click here to search for the best price for the Dunlop SportMaxx RT or any other tyre.
 
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz C220 Cdi Avantgarde Estate (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 25,000 average miles
Outstanding grip and handling at limits. But high wear..
tyre reviewed on February 8, 2015   
Given 63% (breakdown) while driving a Honda 1.8 iVTEC Es (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
15k miles of normal family driving and they need replacing. Whilst I accept front wheel drive will not last as long I expected more than this.
tyre reviewed on December 8, 2014   
Given 97% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A3 (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
Fantastic tyre, sticks to the road really well, excellent feedback, quiet, comfortable, and as already said, grip is absolutely spot on. Would highly recommend these tyres!!
tyre reviewed on November 29, 2014   
Given 73% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Octavia (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 9,000 easy going miles
After 9,000 miles on 225/45/17 the fronts are 4/5 mm and the rears 5/6 mm.

Drive well. Summer braking and cornering no problems.

A little noisy though.

Looking at the tread pattern these will be useless in snow so they are now off until April.
tyre reviewed on November 16, 2014   
Given 48% (breakdown) while driving a BMW E46 330d (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
Very disappointed!!! Only 7000 miles,Lack of words
tyre reviewed on October 16, 2014   
Given 69% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo V70 T5 (205-50-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 9,000 average miles
Initially these were very good: grip in the wet and dry was good. They are quiet.

However after just 9000 miles, the tread is down to 3mm, and on the wet autobahn in the slow lane (which in Germany collects lots of water), the grip was poor (wheel spin on accelerating getting onto the motorway at relatively low speeds) and risk of aquaplaning with not enough water dispersal when tread thickness is low. Dry grip when the tread is low is still very good, but some tendency also to get wheelspin on hard accelration which never happened when the tyres had more tread.

So initially very pleased, and now disppointed that they have worn out so quickly and will need replacement so soon.
tyre reviewed on September 30, 2014   
Given 73% (breakdown) while driving a Renault Laguna 1.9 dCI (215-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9,500 easy going miles
Very good performance tyres, I would only not buy again because those are first tires what I have to excchange after driving 15 000Km I drive family car, any other brands I had before lasted minimum 30 000Km if not more I find the short lasting as very expensieve variant, that is why I will not buy those tires any more, but if I would drive some light sport car, I would definitely buy them because of very good performance on road, becasue with sport car you do not watch on the tires long lasting :) but perfomance only....
tyre reviewed on September 19, 2014   
Given 77% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk6 1.4 TSI 160 (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
The RTs are really decent tyres, with amazing dry grip when warm and new and excellent wet grip, although I always go very cautiously when it rains. Dry grip does deteriorate with age and tread getting more shallow. The tyre also needs to get slightly warm to grip really well.

Although Dunlop calls it SportMaxx, it ain't really that max(x)... It is sporty and goes through corners very nicely, not letting go easily, but you don't get much information through the steering wheel. But I guess the same can be said of many a "sporty" tyre of today...

Comfort-wise, it is very quiet and compliant. You do lose some of the compliance if you increase the air pressure to get it to talk to you though. And the noise increases with age and the tread getting shallower.

The most troubling thing for me about this tyre is that at some point one of the tyres developed a fault that caused it to vibrate. The tyre originally was at the rear and the vibration was slight, but when I rotated and it got at the front, it made the steering wheel vibrate at 120-140 kph, which is really annoying. Yes, I went through multiple wheel-balancing sessions and I checked the car's alignment, everything was fine, so I blame the tyres. I guess their light construction (their weight is very low) didn't cope too well at some point with the Greek roads..
tyre reviewed on September 12, 2014   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: