MINI Cooper S Tyres

Drive a MINI Cooper S? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the MINI Cooper S
Cooper Zeon CS Sport (8) 93% 96% 86% 76% 80% 93% 85% 87% 42,500
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,266,907
Falken Azenis FK510 (61) 91% 89% 86% 85% 78% 78% 87% 85% 538,071
Zeetex HP2000 vfm (4) 93% 93% 87% 87% 63% 93% 78% 85% 10,140
Bridgestone Potenza RE070 (16) 96% 71% 94% 89% 79% 66% 90% 83% 144,200
Maxxis MA Z4S Victra (16) 91% 79% 83% 81% 79% 81% 87% 83% 218,400
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (104) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 77% 82% 82% 880,927
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (250) 84% 93% 79% 79% 64% 83% 77% 80% 1,784,205
Uniroyal RainExpert 3 (25) 84% 93% 76% 73% 65% 84% 82% 80% 156,303
Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2 (6) 90% 73% 77% 83% 77% 80% 77% 80% 256,000
Sumitomo HTR Z III (8) 83% 73% 80% 69% 83% 84% 73% 78% 55,178
Toyo R888 (33) 95% 69% 86% 85% 63% 59% 86% 77% 180,961
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 (54) 85% 79% 77% 80% 70% 79% 71% 77% 554,137
Michelin Primacy 3 (146) 86% 81% 78% 77% 68% 81% 68% 77% 2,137,473
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (160) 83% 76% 77% 76% 72% 75% 77% 77% 2,601,523
Continental Sport Contact 3 (239) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,175,337
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74% 74% 76% 1,643,400
Momo Outrun M3 (17) 84% 73% 73% 76% 70% 82% 72% 76% 72,727
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (117) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71% 76% 75% 1,453,372
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66% 73% 75% 818,878
Federal 595RSR (45) 86% 68% 79% 81% 73% 59% 79% 75% 190,203
Falken ZE912 (197) 82% 74% 76% 70% 71% 79% 73% 75% 2,160,908
Hankook Ventus S1 evo (43) 81% 73% 76% 73% 75% 73% 70% 74% 544,521
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (122) 84% 74% 73% 75% 73% 75% 66% 74% 1,619,302
Davanti DX640 (52) 79% 71% 76% 75% 66% 80% 70% 74% 426,046
Toyo T1R (275) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,599,183
Goodyear Excellence (116) 79% 71% 72% 71% 72% 75% 62% 72% 2,514,856
Pirelli P Zero (100) 85% 72% 78% 74% 62% 67% 58% 71% 1,738,173
Yokohama Advan Sport ZPS (3) 83% 73% 70% 73% 70% 57% 60% 70% 36,000
Firestone Firehawk SZ90 (23) 77% 69% 75% 71% 71% 60% 59% 69% 261,525
Pirelli PZero Nero (129) 83% 66% 71% 71% 68% 64% 60% 69% 2,197,506
Goodride SV308 (32) 75% 64% 64% 63% 77% 69% 65% 68% 312,033
Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat (25) 82% 72% 70% 72% 68% 55% 54% 68% 312,086
Nankang NS2 (201) 76% 58% 66% 62% 74% 63% 61% 66% 1,755,759
Wanli S1063 (77) 74% 58% 63% 61% 76% 65% 62% 66% 5,673,081
Pirelli P5000 (10) 70% 73% 59% 66% 70% 57% 64% 65% 96,200
Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT (33) 74% 61% 64% 67% 70% 54% 52% 63% 417,570
Dunlop SP Sport 9000 (58) 74% 65% 64% 60% 65% 62% 52% 63% 1,281,195
Landsail LS988 (36) 75% 51% 58% 53% 71% 66% 52% 61% 175,032
Yokohama ADVAN Sport (34) 76% 66% 64% 65% 47% 50% 45% 59% 314,562
Pirelli Eufori (10) 79% 59% 68% 66% 54% 39% 42% 58% 100,000
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (125) 70% 48% 56% 54% 69% 48% 43% 55% 1,243,457
Dunlop SP Sport 01 ROF (9) 71% 60% 60% 57% 49% 46% 41% 55% 138,000
Wanli S1086 (6) 58% 47% 53% 62% 72% 45% 43% 54% 88,000
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat (132) 72% 53% 55% 49% 56% 32% 29% 49% 2,066,852
Mohawk M112 (27) 59% 34% 45% 39% 54% 47% 28% 44% 95,152
Autogrip F107 (125) 57% 27% 44% 37% 60% 50% 28% 43% 1,112,261
Compasal Smacher (2) 55% 30% 25% 30% 70% 70% 10% 41% 4,150
Forceum HEXA (8) 53% 34% 45% 31% 40% 34% 31% 38% 85,030

MINI Cooper S Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Avon ZZ3 given 100% (205-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
Avon RR3 runflats fitted to a R53 MINI Cooper S to replace the OEM fitment Pirelli runflats. Good progressive grip and low noise, with outstandingly good behaviour in the wet, especially standing water. Very much more comfortable ride quality than the standard fitment runflats. Highly recommended
tyre reviewed on 2010-08-18 22:58:43
Writing about the Zeetex HP2000 vfm given 95% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Put these zeetex on my r52 cooper S . 215 40 r17 And firstly . They are so quiet compared to the P8s if just took off . I took them on a spirited dry B road run really gave it some round the lanes . No squealing just grip good feed back through the steering . Even lifted a rear wheel whilst cornering fast and only felt a little flex .totally happy .comfy quiet grippy i havent had them long enough to see how they wear . But I've done a bout 500 miles on them so far on all road types . Motorway . A road . B road . Urban . Speed humps potholes etc . No complaints . 👍👍👍👍👍
tyre reviewed on 2018-06-21 22:51:25
Writing about the Maxxis MA Z4S Victra given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
I went to check Maxxis after a friend recomendation, they are really great, I could compare this with the Bridgestone Potenza. Simply great.

Also I drove with the terrible Pirelli Runflats for a while,and

This Maxxis are better!, great grip and excellent wear.
tyre reviewed on 2015-09-22 01:35:54
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 93% (215-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Had these fitted on the front of the car as a result of a puncture emergency. Not ideal and I was a bit nervous, however, they got a good write up in the EVO magazine (available in the waiting area!) so I went for it.. Shouldn't have been worried. They really are excellent in all conditions and provide confidence. Actually they are much better than the Yokos that they replaced, and given the cost I wouldn't hesitate to fit again.
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-23 20:01:02
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 91% (215-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
By far the best tyres I've had on a car, I've had various sets of Yoko's, Pirelli's, Goodyear's & Toyo's over the years all on poweful hot hatches and these just poo all over them.
I run a 04 Mini Cooper S tuned to 237BHP and a decent Brake and suspension setup which I thought I had wasted money on untill I changed the Toyo T1R's that came on the car for these, it was night and day. In the dry I can now come out of 2nd gear corners without smoking the inside tyre and now feel the benifit of the money spend on brakes. In the wet they feel like you only lose 10% of your grip, even my girlfriend commneted on how the car still feels totally planted when were driving though what can only be described as a monsoon in the south of France. 4 of my mates with an Evo 6, E46 M3, R32 Golf and a Leon Cupra running 300BHP have also bought these and mightliy impressed for the money. I've now done about 6,000 miles on them and they still look new back and front. They aren't the cheapest but are worth every penny the only downside is they can be a little noisy and they are quite heavy when compared to the Toyo's I took off but then again nothing is perfect and I can live with this for the sheer levels of grip & confidence they inspire behind the wheel due to the feedback and progressive breakaway.
tyre reviewed on 2012-08-13 16:48:46
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
Just bought two of these tyres for the front on my mini cooper s (r53). Delighted!
previously had run flats which were terrible, tendency to slightly slip out at normal road speed around a roundabout, totally reduced confidence in the car. When floored in the wet, the traction control would step in right up to 3rd gear.
Just been out in the reasonably heavy rain just now, tyres stuck to road at higher speeds round the roundabout (same one). Floored it from standstill, traction control never stepped in once!
Ride is much more comfortable!
Softer rubber gives me the impression they will wear faster and they were not cheap to have fitted (£240 for 2) but really don't care, so much more grip, feels like a different car, would recommend these to anyone with a cooper s and other cars (although not in a position to do so)
tyre reviewed on 2014-11-22 01:08:47
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 90% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 spirited miles
Purchased my MINI Cooper S 6months ago and was shocked to see the prices of PS4 for MINI fitment in my country. 215/40/18 is gonna set be back about $1040 SGD after "discounts". Was given the option of Falken FK510 through recommendation but was hesitant to go ahead as I normally go ahead with either Michelin, Goodyear or Pirelli. Thank god I made the leap of faith.

Going through corners spiritually and having an average rpm of 4k for acceleration on a daily basis with 20,000km done and these tyres are only down at 60%.

Dry handling is amazing for its value, just a tad bit less grippy comparable to PS4 but it's really negliable. Still till date one of the best handling summer tyres I've fitted on.
Wet handling is fault less. Minimal pull towards the side for Aquaplaning even at 90kmph.
Comfort too is an immediate difference after changing out Stock Tyres (Pirelli P7 Runflat). But yeah, runflats comfort are horrible.
Will definitely fit them on again if the prices for PS4 is still more than S$50/piece.
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-05 17:28:06
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 given 90% (215-40-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 40 spirited miles
Okguys only 40 miles covered so far so early days. Bought purely for wet/cold roads & spirtited use.
REview :- Roads cold/wet/muddy/plus a few puddles but no torrential rain yet. Dry grip (in winter) very good, & excellent lateral grip. I'm running XL version,plus 40 profile and a bit of extra front pressure ( 2.8 bar front, 2.3 bar rear), so turns in well. Noise is lowish, comfort ok too . Probably won't last as long as other tyres but I want grip . Carves through puddles like a knife and very confidence inspiring ..almost with Dunlop Racing Wet performance! Standing on the brakes on wet roads I can still get abs to cut in but much less than say Contisport 3's. Flooring it in first/second traction control still cuts in but less than before...In summary I'll run these in winter and a set of Yokohama AD08R in summer...simple....Regards Roland GT Tuning Ltd
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-08 19:02:46
Writing about the Maxxis MA Z4S Victra given 89% (215-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
A Fansastic tyre in all conditions fitted to my MINI Cooper S, superb grip never let go even when giving plenty of stick and at rediculous speeds!!
would i buy again 100% i reccommend these to everyone.

Follow me in the mini challenge!!
tyre reviewed on 2011-06-07 17:58:59
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE070 given 89% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 7000 spirited miles
Great tyre used for the every day commute, weekend B-road thrash and even on the track. I fitted a full set back in July 2018 and have only changed due to going for Cup 2’s. These tyres have proved to be very capable on track with astonishing good grip levels at the price point (well under other sport tyres). 100% will buy these again!
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-22 13:59:11
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre